DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 14, 17, 19-20 and 22 are cancelled
Claims 1-4, 8-13 and 21 are rejected
Claims 5-7, 15-16, 18 and 23-25 are objected to
Examiner’s Remarks
Note that this Non-Final Office Action supersedes the previously mailed Non-Final Office Action dated: 03/02/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-5, filed 06/02/02026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly applied prior art reference(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation: "each of the at least two stages being a gain stage ‘each’ provided by a preamplifier stage”. It is not clear as to what the applicant meant by the underlined phrase. For instance, it is not clear as to what the ‘each’ is referring to, whether it is referring to each ‘amplifier stage’, or to each of a ‘combined two amplifier stages’. In addition, the phrase ‘provided by’ appears to be ambiguous, because it is not clear if the applicant meant that the ‘at least two stages’ are combined as ‘a preamplifier stage’, or each one of the at least two stages is ’provided with’ a preamplifier stage, of which there is no support in the specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “THAT CORP: 2-Channel Low-Noise Programmable Gain Preamplifier- ADC Driver IC", THAT CORPORATION, 2 January 2018 (2018-01-02), (pages 1 – 20); (hereinafter THAT).
Regarding Claim 1, THAT discloses an amplifier for amplifying audio signals (see figure 1), comprising: a plurality of stages (e.g. a plurality of amplifiers CH1, CH2) at least two of the stages of the plurality of stages being connected in series (CH1 and CH2 are in series connection via coupling capacitors), (see figure 1), and each of the at least two stages being a gain stage each provided by a preamplifier stage (e.g. amplifier CH1 is a preamplifier stage) the at least two stages being arranged, in use, to apply gain to an input signal provided to the amplifier (e.g. each of the amplifier stages CH1 and CH2 is configured to apply gain to the input signal), (see THAT, pages 1 and 8, also figures 1 and 17).
Regarding Claim 2, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a preamplifier (e.g. CH1 is a preamplifier), (see THAT, figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages includes an analogue to digital converter, ADC, driver stage (e.g. CH2 is an ADC driver stage), (see THAT, figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 3, wherein at least one stage of the at least two stages and the ADC driver are part of an integrated circuit (see THAT, page 1, the description).
Regarding Claim 8, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 1, wherein the at least two stages are arranged in use to selectively apply gain to the input signal (e.g. the gain of the amplifier stages in programmable in 1, 3 or 6dB steps and selectively applied), (see THAT, page 8 and figure 12, see also table 2).
Regarding Claim 9, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 8, wherein the at least two stages are arranged in use to apply modifiable gain to the input signal (e.g. the gain can be modified through programmable gain settings), (see THAT, page 8 and figure 12, see also table 2).
Regarding Claim 10, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 9, wherein the at least two stages include a first stage and a second stage (CH1 and CH2 stages), (see THAT, figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 10, and wherein the first stage and the second stage each have a gain range, the first stage having a different gain range to the second stage (e.g. each of the CH1 and CH2 stages provides different gain ranges), (see THAT, page 8-9).
Regarding Claim 12, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 11, wherein the input signal provided to the amplifier passes to the first stage (CH1 stage) before passing to the second stage (CH2), the gain range of the first stage being greater than the gain range of the second stage (e.g. the preamp stage gain ranges from 0dB to +39dB, and the second stage has a gain ranging from -8dB, -7dB, and 6dB), (see THAT, page 9, and Table 2).
Regarding Claim 13, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 11, wherein the gain of the first stage and the gain of the second stage are modifiable in gain steps, the gain steps of the first stage are smaller than the gain steps of the second stage (see THAT, page 9, and Table 2).
Regarding Claim 21, THAT discloses the amplifier according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages are arranged, in use, to maintain input signal provided to the amplifier, when provided as an analogue signal, as an analogue signal (see THAT, page 1, and figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 15-16, 18 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695