Detailed Action
The communications received 05/11/2026 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1 and 3-17 are pending.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 05/11/2026 have removed the objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments filed 05/11/2026 have removed the rejections under 35 USC § 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For the rejections below, the Examiner notes:
In accordance with the MPEP, ‘ In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)’ therefore the overlapping range is obvious [see e.g. MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Claim(s) 1, 3-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiopol et al (US 2006/0270801 cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed 08/13/2024) hereinafter HAG.
As for claim 1, HAG teaches a composition for strengthening paper or board [Abstract], optionally an aqueous composition, said composition comprising:
(a) at least one cationic glyoxalated polyacrylamide ("GPAM") comprising a high molecular weight base polymer [0015-16; 0047]; and
(b) at least one anionic polysaccharide promoter ("APP"), optionally carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) [by being blended with other polymeric agents including anionic polymers such as CMC 0103; 0106];
wherein said high molecular weight base polymer has a weight average molecular weight selected from at least 50 kDa, at least 80 kDa, at least 100 kDa, at least 250 kDa, or between 100-5000 kDa [0.5-1000 kDA which overlaps the claimed range; 0047], inclusive, and a net charge density selected from the range of 0-5 meq/g (2-5 meq/g which has some positive charge removed by the addition of the anionic component and reactions which is still controlled to be positive in order to maintain a greater affinity for cellulose fibers, therefore understood to be less than 5 and greater than 0. In addition, a final product charge density can be 1.26 meq/g which falls within the claimed range) [0049; 0051; 0091; 0106; 0126].
As for claim 3, The composition or combination of claim 1, wherein said at least one cationic GPAM comprises one or more of the following:
(b) is obtained by reaction of glyoxal with said high molecular weight base polymer, wherein said high molecular weight base polymer comprises an acrylamide-based copolymer comprising neutral monomers, cationic monomers, and optionally anionic monomers, further wherein (i) said neutral monomers are selected from the group of primary amide-containing monomers comprising acrylamide, methacrylamide, ethyl acrylamide, crotonamide, N-methyl acrylamide, N-butyl acrylamide, N-ethyl methacrylamide, and any combination thereof;(ii) said cationic monomers are selected from acryloyloxyethyltrimethyl ammonium chloride ("AETAC"), methacryloyloxyethyltrimethylammonium chloride ("MAETAC"), methacrylamidopropyltrimethylammonium chloride ("MAPTAC"),acrylamidopropyltrimethylammonium chloride ("APTAC"),methacryloyloxyethyldimethylammonium sulfate, diallyldimethylammonium chloride ("DADMAC"); dialkylaminoalkyl acrylates and dialkylaminoalkyl methacrylates and their quaternary or acid salts, including but not limited to,dimethylaminoethyl acrylate ("DMAEA"), dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate ("DMAEA"), dimethylaminoethyl acrylate methyl chloride quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl acrylate methyl sulfate quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl acrylate benzyl chloride quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl acrylate sulfuric acid salt, dimethylaminoethyl acrylate hydrochloric acid salt, diethylaminoethyl acrylate methyl chloride quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate methyl chloride quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate methyl sulfate quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate benzyl chloride quaternary salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate sulfuric acid salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate hydrochloric acid salt, dimethylaminoethyl methacryloyl hydrochloric acid salt; dialkylaminoalkylacrylamides and methacrylamides and their quaternary or acid salts, including but not limited to,acryloylamidopropyltrimethylammonium chloride, dimethylaminopropyl acrylamide, dimethylaminopropyl acrylamide methyl sulfate quaternary salt,dimethylaminopropyl acrylamide sulfuric acid salt, dimethylaminopropyl acrylamide hydrochloric acid salt, methacrylamidopropyltrimethylammonium chloride, dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide, dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide methyl sulfate quaternary salt, dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide sulfuric acid salt, dimethylaminopropyl methacrylamide hydrochloric acid salt, diethylaminoethylacrylate,diethylaminoethylmethacrylate; and diallyldialkylammonium halides, including but not limited to, diallyldiethylammonium chloride and diallyldimethylammonium chloride ("DADMAC"), and any combination thereof [a reaction product from acrylamide, N-butyl acrylamide, N-methyl acrylamide, N-ethyl metharylamide 0024; 0044];
(c) is obtainable by reacting glyoxal with a cationic base copolymer comprised of acrylamide and DADMAC [0029];
(e) has a cationic charge density selected from the ranges comprising 0.02-5 meq/g, 1-4 meq/g, and 1.4-2 meq/g at pH 8.0 [2-5 meq/g at pH 8 which overlaps the claimed range 0049];
As for claim 4, The composition or combination of claim 1, wherein said at least one anionic polysaccharide promoter comprises one or more of the following:
(a) has a weight average molecular weight selected from 10-5000 kDa, 20-2000 kDa, and40-1000 kDa [0.5-1000 kDA which overlaps the claimed range; 0047];
(b) comprises an anionic polysaccharide selected from the group comprising anionic starch-based polysaccharides, anionic alginate-based polysaccharides, anionic guar- based polysaccharides, anionic cellulose-based polysaccharides including, but not limited to, carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), oxidized celluloses, anionic cellulose ethers, and any combinations thereof [CMC 0103; 0106];
(c) comprises carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) [CMC 0103; 0106].
As for claim 5, HAG teaches claim 1 and further teaches that
(a) the composition/combination of (a) and (b) are in at least one aqueous solution [0046],
(b) the ratio of GPAM:APP is anywhere from 1:3 – 99:1 (as the GPAM would be 40-99% of the total weight of GPAM and APP) which overlaps the claimed range [0109].
(c) a net charge selected from the range of -5-5 meq/g [2-5 meq/g 0049].
As for claim 6, HAG teaches claim 1 and wherein
(a) said at least one cationic GPMA comprises DADMAC and acrylamide [0029-30],
(b) said at least one APP is CMC [0103; 0106].
As for claim 7, HAG teaches claim 1 and wherein said paper product [0015] results in an improved dry tensile strength [0002]. In addition:
The Examiner notes that HAG has a similar composition as claimed by applicant, (i.e. the combination of composition of claim 1 and its inclusion in the formation of a paper product) which would result in the claimed properties. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the paper product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
As for claim 8, HAG teaches the combination of materials of claim 1 and that it is supplied in a furnish wherein the furnish is an aqueous slurry of cellulosic fibers obtained from recycled fiber [0015].
As for claim 9, HAG teaches the combination of claim 1 (which cover (a) and (b)) and that the two are added together as a pre-mixed composition (as a blended composition) [0015-16].
As for claim 10, HAG teaches claim 9 and are formulated as aqueous solution with a solids content of 5-30 wt.% which falls overlaps the claimed range [0111],
Are added in the corresponding ratio [see claim 5 which teaches the ratio],
Have the corresponding net charge when combined [see claim 5 for the net charge],
Are added either during wet-end, formation of the paper product, or after [0112-113],
Are added in the amounts of up to 10% by weight of the GPAM which would amount to up to 30% of the APP [0114 see claim 5 for the ratios], this in turn assuming 1 ton of dry wt. cellulose fibers is up to 0.1 ton of GPAM/ton of dry wt. cellulose fibers = up to 220 pound GPAM / ton dry wt. cellulose fibers and up to 661 pound APP / ton dry wt. cellulose fibers which overlaps the claimed range.
Are added during said process during spraying, impregnating (immersing) [0112].
As for claim 11, HAG teaches claim 9 and this is understood to be substantially claim 3 but in the context of a process [see claim 3].
As for claim 12, HAG teaches claim 9 and (a) at least one cationic glyoxalated polyacrylamide ("GPAM") comprising a high molecular weight base polymer [0015-16; 0047] wherein said high molecular weight base polymer (a) has a weight average molecular weight selected from at least 50 kDa, at least 80 kDa, at least 100 kDa, at least 250 kDa, and 100- 5000 kDa [0.5-1000 kDA which overlaps the claimed range; 0047]; and
(b) at least one anionic polysaccharide promoter ("APP"), optionally carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) [by being blended with other polymeric agents including anionic polymers such as CMC 0103; 0106];
As for claim 13, HAG teaches claim 9 and comprising recycled fibers at a pH of 5-8 which overlaps the claimed range [0111-113] and the fiber stock is selected from kraft pulp, bleached and unbleached pulp [0111-112], as it is added to a pulp before paper making, this is understood to include thick stock that in order to be produced as a stock must have been diluted with at least process water [0113].
As for claim 14, HAG teaches claim 9 and this is understood to be substantially claim 6 but in the context of a process [see claim 6].
As for claim 15, HAG teaches claim 9 and this is understood to be substantially claim 8 but in the context of a process [see claim 8].
As for claim 17, HAG teaches claim 1 and it is understood that the high molecular weight base polymer and the anionic polymeric promoter can be reacted to form a single molecule (as a polymer reaction solution, as the reactants are understood to be glyoxalated) therefore the high molecular weight base polymer would further comprise one or more anionic monomers [0125-126]
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiopol et al (US 2006/0270801 cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed 08/13/2024) hereinafter HAG as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 and further in view of Lu et al (US 2014/0262091 cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed 08/13/2024) hereinafter LU.
As for claim 16, HAG teaches the combinations of claim 1 and its inclusion in a paper product [0111-113] and it is understood that this is a combination of the claims 10 (as it is understood that the dry weight dosages would continue in the paper product especially if applied after, the dry weight dosages of up to 10% for GPAM and up to 30% of the APP overlapping the claimed range) and 15, however HAG fails to teach the production of a paperboard.
LU teaches that known papers to produce include paperboard with a strengthener [Abstract; 0043].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have produced a paperboard as the resultant paper of HAG and LU teaches that a known acceptable paper to produce is a paperboard. As both LU and HAG pertain to the art of papermaking with strengtheners, they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the production of a paperboard in the process of HAG.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 05/11/2026 have successfully overcome the double patenting rejection of the previous office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 20 that Hagiopol fails to teach a net charge density selected from the range of 0-5 meq/g of the combination. However Hagiopol teaches that the positive charge of the glyoxylated component would range from 2-5 meq/g which in the combination would have some positive charge removed by the addition of the anionic component and other reactions, the combination is still controlled to be positive in order to maintain a greater affinity for cellulose fibers i.e. serve as strength improving, therefore understood to be less than 5 and greater than 0. In addition, a final product charge density can be 1.26 meq/g which falls within the claimed range [0049; 0051; 0091; 0106; 0126]. Similarly for this reason as Hagiopol contains the charge density, there is no reason to expect that Hagiopol would fail to replicate the argued unexpected results.
Applicant argues on pg. 21-22 that the component (a) fails to have a sufficiently high molecular weight. The Applicant cites a paragraph that describes the typical and preferred molecular weights, however the Examiner notes that the invention of Hagiopol is determined by the suitable elements, not solely the typical. As such the teaching at paragraph 0047 of the suitable base polymer (cationic polyacrylamide) ranging from 0.5 to 1000 kDa overlaps the claimed range regardless of what would often be a typical use case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
1748 /RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748