DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
1/ claims 1-6, and 9 are pending
2/ claims 1, 6, and 9 are independent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6,and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6 and 9 recite the limitation:
1/ “…adjust a section length of the communication path from each of the plurality of data sources to the server…”
However, is not clear as to what section length in “section length of the communication path” refers to either in the claims or the disclosure. It is not clear if section length refers to physical time, TTL, hop count or any distance parameter from the disclosure or the claims. Examiner suggests indicating what section length refers to.
2/ It is not clear how the section length is adjusted in “…adjust a section length of the communication path”.
3/ The claims recite “adjust a section length of the communication path from each of the plurality of data sources to the server so as to shorten a time for generating the communication path” However, It is not clear how adjusting section length shorten a time for generating communication path or what measures are taken to make it adjusted and it is not clear it is adjusted towards to.
Claim 5 recites “adjusting the section length of the communication path in the section”.
However, it is not clear how the section length is adjusted such as what measures are taken to make it adjusted and It is not clear it is adjusted towards to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryohei (WO2023012878A1), further in view of Yoshiteru (JPH07312768A).
Regarding claim 1. Ryohei discloses a system for collecting data from a plurality of data sources to a server (fig. 1 discloses a system to collect data from plurality of data sources 10 to server 40), the system comprising:
a memory; and at least one computer including a path management controller (fig. 1 discloses path management controller 30 that comprises a memory and processor) configured to:
manage a communication path between the plurality of data sources and the server (page 4, lines 15-23 the path management controller 30. As shown in FIG. The path management controller 30 has a path setting request reception function 31 , a path setting function 32 and a path setting location table 33. The path setup request reception function 31 receives a communication path creation request or release request from each data source 10 . The path setting function 32 creates or releases a communication path according to a communication path creation request or release request from each data source 10 . The path setting location table 33 manages communication path setting information (creation/release) from each data source 10 to the server 40),
But, Ryohei does not explicitly disclose: wherein: a component is configured to adjust a section length of the communication path from each of the plurality of data sources to the server so as to shorten a time for generating the communication path for transmitting the data from the plurality of data sources to the server.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yoshiteru discloses wherein: a component is configured to adjust a section length of the communication path from each of the plurality of data sources to the server so as to shorten a time for generating the communication path for transmitting the data from the plurality of data sources to the server (page 6-7 discloses since the frequency of use of each communication path is stored and the communication path search order is changed based on the frequency of use, communication with high frequency of use is performed…by shortening (adjusting) the route length (section length) and the search time, the communication path setting time (time for generating the communication path) is shortened. The limitation “…so as to shorten a time for generating the communication path” Is an intended use limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of eth invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Ryohei with Yoshiteru. The modification would allow adaptive segment length to enable path computation faster and establish path to data communication faster by reducing computation and path setting time by reducing unwanted segments from the communication path.
Regarding claim 3. The system according to claim 1 wherein:
Ryohei discloses in a case where there is a network device in which data from two or more data sources among the plurality of data sources join (Fig. 2 discloses data from data source 10A and data source 10B towards server 40 join at device 81A and 81A sends the data from both sources using distinct segments towards the server 40), the path management controller is configured to divide a section length by the network device (page 2 lines 22-39 discloses the data source 10A and server 40 are connected by network devices 81A and 81B, the data source 10B and server 40 are connected by network devices 81A and 81C, and the data source 10C and server 40 are connected by network devices 81D and 81E. When each of the network devices 81A-81E receives data addressed to the server 40 from the data sources 10A-10C, it knows to which network device it should be transferred. Therefore, even if the data sources 10A to 10C do not know which network device 81 to use, if they specify the server 40 and send data, the data will be sent to the server… the path management controller 30 to generate a communication path, and after establishing the communication path, the data source 10 transmits sensing data to the server 40).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses a method executed by a system for collecting data from a plurality of data sources to a server, wherein the system includes at least one computer, the method comprising:
All other limitations of claim 6 are similar with eth limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Regarding claim 9. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for implementing a computer as a path management controller, wherein execution of instructions of the program cause the computer to perform operations comprising:
All other limitations of claim 9 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryohei (WO2023012878A1), and Yoshiteru (JPH07312768A), further in view of Xiong (US pg. no. 20240314065).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses system according to claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the path management controller is configured to perform operations comprising:
Generating in advance a communication path for transferring data from two or more data sources among the plurality of data sources, and allocating the communication path to a data source when the data source using the communication path appears.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xiong discloses wherein the path management controller is configured to perform operations comprising:
Generating in advance a communication path for transferring data from two or more data sources among the plurality of data sources ([0035] discloses a controller sends an SR Policy carrying deterministic path information to an edge node of a network, wherein the SR Policy is used for instructing the edge node of the network to forward a deterministic flow according to the deterministic path information), and allocating the communication path to a data source when the data source using the communication path appears ([0038] That is to say, in order to satisfy the requirements of path determination and resource reservation in the deterministic network, the embodiments of the present disclosure propose a method for distributing the deterministic path of the SR Policy by extending the BGP/PCEP protocol. In some exemplary implementations, a controller distributes an SR Policy carrying deterministic path information to an edge node of a DetNet via a BGP/PCEP protocol, thereby providing functions of resource reservation and path determination for a DetNet flow, so that the edge node of the DetNet, after receiving a packet, forwards the deterministic flow according to the deterministic path distributed by the SR Policy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Xiong. The modification would allow establishing deterministic path to enable fast forwarding of flow using already established path. The modification would allow guaranteed resource reservation based on known characteristics of deterministic path.
Conclusion
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445