CTNF 18/837,964 CTNF 79873 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Parzysz et al. (US 2021/0045072 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1 . Regarding claims 1, 7, and 8, D1 discloses a method and system for placing a base station on standby, which comprises: the wireless access scheduling device comprises a processor and is configured to assign a RE multiplexed in a time domain and a frequency domain to each of the terminals (Referring to Figures 2-4, the base station (wireless access scheduling device, comprising a processor) controlling for at least certain time intervals 120, multiple terminals as illustrated in Figure 1a, at a step E210 for optimizing the use of the resources, called a grouping step (FIG. 2), the set of resource blocks 140 carrying data intended for at least one terminal 110 is grouped in at least one sub-portion of the data portion 160, called an active sub-portion 300a, so as to prepare, in the data portion 160, at least one sub-portion containing no used resource blocks 140, called an inactive sub-portion 300b. The resource block (140): elementary time-frequency block carrying data intended for a terminal. See paragraphs 0077 and 0094-0096.) ; the processor is configured to: perform scheduling of assigning a resource by assigning the resource to one side of a time axis in a case where traffic between the terminal and the base station is equal to or less than a predetermined value (Referring to Figures 2-4, the active sub-portion 300a is placed, in time, immediately before (FIG. 3b) (perform scheduling of assigning a resource by assigning the resource to one side of a time axis in a case where traffic between the terminal and base station is equal to or less than a predetermined value, the value is interpreted as data portion intended for the terminal as less than the maximum possible data transmission in N sub T.) a synchronization portion 150. As a result, the duration of the inactive sub-portion 300b is maximized as well as the corresponding sleep-mode setting duration. See paragraphs 0100-0101.) ; distribute a scheduling result of assigning the resource as resource assignment information or sleepable time information to each functional unit that is a part of the base station and is capable of sleeping (Referring to Figures 2-4, determining the active sub-portions (resource assignment information) and inactive sub-portions (sleepable time information). Operation of distribution as such is carried out by a scheduler (distribute a scheduling result of assigning resources as a resource assignment/sleepable time information). It is adapted to the duration selected for the active sub-portion. Depending on the implementations, the step E210a can be integrated or not integrated into the scheduler and/or into the corresponding scheduling algorithm. The synchronization portions and the active portions are contiguous, to form a single duration during which the base station is out of sleep mode and to maximize the inactive period during which it is in sleep mode (to each functional unit that is a part of the base station and is capable of sleeping). See paragraphs 0101-0111.) Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses the processor is configured to deliver the resource assignment or the sleepable time information to an external functional unit that is at least one of the terminal, an antenna, or a core network, the external functional unit being outside the base station, capable of sleeping and connected to the base station (Referring to Figures 2-4, determining the active sub-portions (resource assignment information) and inactive sub-portions (sleepable time information). Operation of distribution as such is carried out by a scheduler (distribute a scheduling result of assigning resources as a resource assignment/sleepable time information). It is adapted to the duration selected for the active sub-portion. Depending on the implementations, the step E210a can be integrated or not integrated into the scheduler and/or into the corresponding scheduling algorithm. The synchronization portions and the active portions are contiguous, to form a single duration during which the base station is out of sleep mode and to maximize the inactive period during which it is in sleep mode (to each functional unit that is a part of the base station and is capable of sleeping). See paragraphs 0101-0111. In this manner, the base station controls the resource assignment for the terminal for either data communication or sleep mode of the base station. As a result, the signal sent out by the base station 100 to the terminal (capable of sleeping) comprises, for the time interval 120 considered, and more specifically, for the data portion 160, at least one active sub-portion 300a grouping together the data to be transmitted and at least one inactive sub-portion 300b, during at least one part of which no sending takes place. Thus, during a step E230 (FIG. 2), the base station 100 is put into sleep-mode during at least a part of the duration of the inactive sub-portion or sub-portions 300b. As a result, a sleep-mode setting cycle, during which the consumption of the base station 100 is reduced (no data sending), is obtained during a part of the duration of each time interval 120 in question. See paragraphs 0095-0098.) Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses the processor is configured to periodically review an RE for which assignment has already been completed and reassign the RE (Referring to Figures 2-4, the step E230 for putting into sleep mode (according to any one of the embodiments mentioned here above) is looped back to the step E210 for grouping (according to any one of the embodiments mentioned here above). As a result, the method for controlling a base station is successively applied to a sequence of time intervals 120 so as to follow the progress in time of the operational conditions of the base station 100 (configured to periodically review an RE for which assignment has already been completed and reassign the RE). See paragraphs 0110-0111.) Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses when a plurality of antennas are connected to the base station, the wireless scheduling device includes for each antenna, an RE assignment storage unit that stores therein assignment information of the RE, and the processor is configured to assign a resource for each antenna by referring to the RE assignment storage unit and assigning the resource to one side of the time axis (Referring to Figures 2-4, the base station (wireless access scheduling device, comprising a processor) controlling for at least certain time intervals 120, multiple terminals as illustrated in Figure 1a, each terminal comprising at least one antenna (plurality of antennas), at a step E210 for optimizing the use of the resources, called a grouping step (FIG. 2), the set of resource blocks 140 carrying data intended for at least one terminal 110 is grouped in at least one sub-portion of the data portion 160, called an active sub-portion 300a, (assigned resources to one side of the time axis) so as to prepare, in the data portion 160, (resources assigned to each terminal and antenna, stored by the base station per the scheduler) at least one sub-portion containing no used resource blocks 140, called an inactive sub-portion 300b. The resource block (140): elementary time-frequency block carrying data intended for a terminal. See paragraphs 0077 and 0094-0096.) Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses when a plurality of antennas are connected to the base station, the processor is configured to aggregate assignment in a time direction for each antenna and assign a time slot to each antenna (Referring to Figures 2-4, the base station (wireless access scheduling device, comprising a processor) controlling for at least certain time intervals 120, time slots, multiple terminals as illustrated in Figure 1a, each terminal comprising at least one antenna (plurality of antennas), at a step E210 for optimizing the use of the resources, called a grouping step (FIG. 2), the set of resource blocks 140 carrying data intended for at least one terminal 110 is grouped in at least one sub-portion of the data portion 160, called an active sub-portion 300a, (aggregate assignment in time direction for each antenna and assign a time slot to each antenna) so as to prepare, in the data portion 160, (resources assigned to each terminal and antenna, stored by the base station per the scheduler) at least one sub-portion containing no used resource blocks 140, called an inactive sub-portion 300b. The resource block (140): elementary time-frequency block carrying data intended for a terminal. See paragraphs 0077 and 0094-0096.) Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the processor is configured to select a time slot having a small noise content in wireless connection with the terminal and concentrate assignment on one side of a frequency axis so that the REs do not spread access the frequency axis (Referring to Figures 2-4, the base station (wireless access scheduling device, comprising a processor) controlling for at least certain time intervals 120, time slots, multiple terminals as illustrated in Figure 1a, each terminal comprising at least one antenna, at a step E210 for optimizing the use of the resources, called a grouping step (FIG. 2), the set of resource blocks 140 carrying data intended for at least one terminal 110 is grouped in at least one sub-portion of the data portion 160, called an active sub-portion 300a, so as to prepare, in the data portion 160, at least one sub-portion containing no used resource blocks 140, called an inactive sub-portion 300b (select a time slot having a small noise content in wireless connection with the terminal and concentrate assignment on side of a frequency axis so the REs do not spread across the frequency axis as demonstrated in Figure 3 inactive time sub-portion (time slot having a small noise content) comprising frequency in which data is not transmitted (concentrate assignment on side of frequency axis so the REs do not spread across the frequency axis)). The resource block (140): elementary time-frequency block carrying data intended for a terminal. See paragraphs 0077 and 0094-0096.) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsai et al. (US 2020/0367171 A1) - The UE may evaluate one or more conditions in order to determine whether to employ a discretionary on mode. For example, the UE may determine to conserve power based on one or more of a data traffic type, a battery level, a channel condition, a retransmission policy, or physical layer activities. Awoniyi-Oteri et al. (US 2022/0182928 A1) - The BS operates in the sleep mode for a sleep mode period. In one embodiment, a UE receives, from a BS, a communication signal indicating that the BS will enter a sleep mode for a sleep mode period. The UE refrains, during one or more sleep windows of the sleep mode period, from performing uplink communications. Parkvall et al. (US 2020/0028745 A1) - A fifth-generation wireless communications network, including an example method, in a wireless device, that includes determining a reporting quality threshold for a parameter related to channel state information (CSI) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONALD L MILLS whose telephone number is (571)272-3094. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9-5 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. DONALD L. MILLS Primary Examiner Art Unit 2462 /Donald L Mills/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 8 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/837,964 Page 9 Art Unit: 2462