DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13, 27, and 28 in the reply filed on 9/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-26, 29, and 30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: it is not clear what the relationship is between the two instances of “multiple CSI-RS resources” in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the multiple CSI-RS resources associated with a respective TRP". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant does not define any CSI-RS resources associated with respective TRPs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0050955 by Park et al.
As to claim 1, Park shows a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (paragraph 401, terminal), comprising: a memory (paragraph 467); and one or more processors (paragraph 467), coupled to the memory (paragraph 467), configured to: receive a configuration for reporting channel state information (CSI) for multiple transmit receive points (TRPs), the configuration specifying a TRP data structure that maps TRP index values to TRPs (paragraphs 401, the TRP index may be configured in the CSI report/resource configuration); select one or more TRPs from the multiple TRPs for a CSI report (paragraph 408, TRPs with overlapped PUCCH resource can be selected); select a TRP index value from the TRP data structure based at least in part on the one or more TRPs selected for the CSI report (paragraphs 401 and 410); and transmit the TRP index value with the CSI report (paragraph 410).
As to claim 3, see paragraph 410. The applicant does not provide a limiting definition of the term CRI in their spec so the identified CSIs in read on the CRI.
As to claim 5, see paragraphs 344-346.
As to claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 7, 9-13, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0050955 by Park et al. in view of International Publication Number WO 2021/214713 by Zeineddine et al.
As to claim 2, Park teaches the subject matter of claim 1, however Park does not explicitly teach that the CSI report includes one or more eType-II codebooks with coherent joint transmission for the one or more TRPs.
Zeineddine teaches a CSI report including one or more eType-II codebooks with coherent joint transmission for one or more TRPs (paragraphs 129 and 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless network management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Park regarding transmitting TRP information with the CSI report with the teachings of Zeineddine regarding a CSI report including one or more eType-II codebooks because Zieneddine provides one potential implementation for the report more broadly described by Park regarding coherent joint transmissions (paragraph 312 of Park).
As to claim 6, Park teaches the subject matter of claim 1, however Park does not explicitly teach that the CSI report includes a bitmap that includes the one or more TRPs selected for the CSI report.
Zeineddine teaches a CSI report including a bitmap that indicates one or more TRPs selected for the report (paragraph 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless network management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Park regarding transmitting TRP information with the CSI report with the teachings of Zeineddine regarding bitmaps because Zieneddine provides one potential implementation for the report more broadly described by Park.
As to claim 7, Park teaches the subject matter of claim 1, however Park does not explicitly teach the subject matter of claim 7.
Zeineddine teaches the configuration specifies a parameter data structure that maps parameter index values with CSI report parameters, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to: calculate one or more CSI report parameters based at least in part on the one or more TRPs selected from the multiple TRPs; select a parameter index value from the parameter data structure that corresponds to the one or more CSI report parameters; and transmit the parameter index value in association with the CSI report (paragraph 129 and 130, the codebook example reads on the parameter index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless network management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Park regarding transmitting TRP information with the CSI report with the teachings of Zeineddine regarding a CSI report including one or more eType-II codebooks because Zieneddine provides one potential implementation for the report more broadly described by Park regarding coherent joint transmissions (paragraph 312 of Park).
As to claims 9 and 10, see paragraph 410 of Park and paragraph 129 of Zeineddine
As to claim 11, see paragraphs 129 and 130 of Zeineddine.
As to claims 12 and 13, see paragraphs 407 and 410 of Park and paragraph 129 of Zeineddine
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0050955 by Park et al. in view of International Publication Number WO 2021/214713 by Zeineddine et al. in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0158678 by Yu et al.
As to claim 8, the Park- Zeineddine combination teaches the subject matter of claim 7 however they do not teach the subject matter of claim 8.
Yu teaches one or more CSI report parameters include one or more linear combination coefficients, including at least a spatial basis configuration and frequency domain basis configuration, that are associated with one or more of a TRP number or a rank listed in the parameter data structure (paragraph 27, the antenna port is a TRP number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless network management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Park and Zeineddine regarding CSI reports with the teachings of Yu regarding the specific information included in the CSI report because such information would be useful to the base station for improving service to the UE.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454