DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/837,997, filed on 13 August 2024.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claim 1 recites an "elongate member"; however, the claim later recites an "elongated member". Dependent claims 6, 10, 12 and 14 also recite an "elongated member". It is recommended to amend all recitations of "elongated member" to be "elongate member" or vice versa. Additionally, claim 1 recites a plurality of "elongate members" even though the preamble only requires a singular elongate member. It is recommended to amend the "elongate members" to state "elongate member".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1-14
Regarding claim 1, the limitation reciting “a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into a lamination of the elongate members that have been stored” is indefinite. That is, the claim is indefinite because a “lamination” is not a term used in prior art. The specification and drawings do not make clear the meaning of the new term. See MPEP 2173.05(a). Claims 2-14 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 has will be read as stating "a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (US 20210114227 A1 and Hirata hereinafter), in view of Ryu (KR 20130120079 A and Ryu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Hirata teaches a robot configured to grasp an elongate member (see Figs. 1-2, robot 11; Figs. 7-8, food 40; [0007]), the robot comprising:
a robot body (see Figs. 1-2, base 12; [0007] and [0036 "FIG. 2 is a front view schematically illustrating an overall configuration of an example of the robot 11. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the robot 11 includes the base 12 fixed to a carriage, the pair of arms 13, 13 supported by the base 12, and a control device 14 accommodated in the base 12."]);
at least one arm member movable with respect to the robot body (see Figs. 1-2, first/right robot arm 13; [0007] and [0036 "Each arm 13 is a horizontal articulated robot arm configured to be movable with respect to the base 12."]); and
a control unit that controls a movement of the arm member (see Figs. 2 and 5, control device 14; [0045]-[0046 "The servo control unit 14 c is configured to control the driving of the servo motor corresponding to the joints J1 to J4 of each arm 13 of the robot 11 on the basis of the control command generated by the operation unit 14 a."]), wherein the arm member includes:
a grasping unit that grasps the elongate member (see Figs. 1-3, robot hand 18; [0007] and [0041 "FIG. 3(A) and FIG. 3(B) are a front view and a plan view illustrating a configuration of the end effector (18) provided to the right arm 13. The end effector (18) is a robot hand configured to hold the food 40. Hereinafter, the end effector (18) is referred to as a robot hand 18."]); and
an arm body that supports the grasping unit, the arm body having a plurality of joints (see Figs. 1-2, first robot arm 13 and/or arm section 15; [0007] and [0037 "In the present example, the arm section 15 is configured of a first link 15 a and a second link 15 b. The first link 15 a is connected to a base shaft 16 fixed to an upper surface of the base 12 by a rotational joint J1, and is rotatable around a rotation axis L1 passing through a shaft center of the base shaft 16. The second link 15 b is connected to a distal end of the first link 15 a by a rotational joint J2, and is rotatable around a rotation axis L2 defined in the distal end of the first link 15 a."]), the grasping unit includes:
a support portion disposed at a distal end of the arm body, the support portion being rotatable about a rotation axis (see Figs. 2-3, rotation portion 17b and rotation axis L3; [0038 "The rotation portion 17 b is connected to a lower end of the lift portion 17 a by a rotational joint J4, and is rotatable around a rotation axis L3 defined in the lower end of the lift portion 17 a."]-[0039 "The end effector (18, 19) is connected to the rotation portion 17 b of each of the right and left wrist sections 17. That is, the end effector (18, 19) is provided to a distal end of each of the right and left arms 13."]); and
a pair of grasping members attached to the support portion, the grasping members being movable closer to and away from each other with the rotation axis interposed therebetween (see Figs. 1-3, fingers 18b and closing driving device 18c; [0007], [0017] and [0041]-[0042 "The fingers 18 b are provided to the outer surface of the lower end of the base portion 18 a at a regular interval (for example, an interval of 120 degrees) via the opening/closing driving device 18 c. The finger 18 b is formed in a rod shape. The lower side of the finger 18 b is curved toward a central direction (hereinafter, referred to as a holding direction) of the rotation axis L3 of the base portion 18 a. The opening/closing driving device 18 c includes an actuator (not illustrated) such as a servo motor therein. By the driving of the actuator, the finger 18 b is operated in the holding direction (central direction of the rotation axis L3) and an opening direction which is a direction opposite to the holding direction."]), and the control unit causes the robot to execute:
a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 6, steps S2-S3; Fig. 7, steps (A)-(C); [0007], [0017], [0048] and [0049 "Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right arm 13, the control device 14 lowers the robot hand 18 from the vicinity just above the tray container 60, holds the food 40 by closing the fingers 18 b, and raises the robot hand 18 to a predetermined position. "]); and
a lifting step for lifting the grasping unit in a state in which the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members (see Fig. 6, all, especially steps S2-S3; Fig. 7, step (D); Fig. 8, steps (A)-(D); [0048] and [0049 "Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right arm 13, the control device 14 lowers the robot hand 18 from the vicinity just above the tray container 60, holds the food 40 by closing the fingers 18 b, and raises the robot hand 18 to a predetermined position. "]-[0052]).
Hirata is silent regarding a first rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a first direction about the rotation axis either during or after the lifting step.
Ryu teaches a robot configured to grasp an elongate member (see Figs. 1-5, all; Abstract; [0005]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference KR_20130120079_A), the robot comprising:
a robot body (see Fig. 1, robot 100 and/or arm support 130; [0005] and [0031]-[0033]);
at least one arm member movable with respect to the robot body (see Figs. 1-5, second robot arm 120; [0005 "... A second robot arm to which a handle of the fork is coupled at one end…";] and [0031]-[0033]); and
a control unit that controls a movement of the arm member (see Fig. 1, arm controller 150; [0036] and [0047 "Each step can be performed by the arm controller 150 controlling each robot arm."]), wherein the arm member includes:
a grasping unit that grasps the elongate member (see Figs. 2-5, fork 121; [0005 "... A second robot arm to which a handle of the fork is coupled at one end; The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork…";] and [0048]); and
an arm body that supports the grasping unit, the arm body having a plurality of joints (see Figs. 1-5, second robot arm 120; [0005] and [0031]-[0033 "The robot 100 may include a robot arm and a joint which are operated by an electric signal, and the joints may be operated by a motor."]), the grasping unit includes:
a support portion disposed at a distal end of the arm body, the support portion being rotatable about a rotation axis (see the joint connecting the second robot arm 120 and fork 121 in Figs. 2-5; [0005], [0033 "The robot 100 may include a robot arm and a joint which are operated by an electric signal, and the joints may be operated by a motor. The first robot arm 110 is coupled to the spoon, and the second robot arm 120 is coupled to the fork."], [0039 "The arm control unit 150 controls the second robot arm 120 to rotate the fork in the first direction about the extension direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork"...] and [0049]); and
a pair of grasping members attached to the support portion (see Figs. 2-5, fork 121; [0005 "... A second robot arm to which a handle of the fork is coupled at one end; The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork…";] and [0048]), and the control unit causes the robot to execute:
a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into
a lifting step for lifting the grasping unit in a state in which the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members (see Figs. 5-6(a), all; Abstract; [0005 "...The spoon is placed on the food receptacle of the spoon coupled to the arm..."] and [0050 "Referring to FIG. 5, the fork is lifted and the fork is positioned parallel to the ground."]); and
a first rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a first direction about the rotation axis during the lifting step (see Figs. 4(a)-(c), all, the fork 121 is rotated approximately 90 degrees; Abstract "... turns the fork around an extension direction of the fork in a first direction, rolls the noodle around the fork, lifts the fork…"; [0005 "...The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork...", [0039] and [0049]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control unit of the robot of Hirata to further include a first rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a first direction about the rotation axis either during or after the lifting step, as taught by Ryu, in order to wind the elongate member around the grasping members to facilitate the lifting step.
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the control unit further causes the robot to execute:
a second rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a second direction about the rotation axis (see [0016], [0038] and [0060 "In addition, the pasta (40) may be transported after the pasta (40) is gathered by rotating the robot hand (18) holding the pasta (40) on the spoon (19) as a person rotates pasta on the spoon by using a fork."]).
Hirata is silent regarding the second rotation step after the first rotation step, the second rotation direction being opposite to the first direction.
Ryu teaches wherein the control unit further causes the robot to execute:
a second rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a second direction about the rotation axis after the first rotation step, the second rotation direction being opposite to the first direction (see Figs. 5-6(a); Abstract "...placing the noodle rolled around the fork on the food receiving part of the spoon by turning the fork around an extension direction of the fork in a second direction which is in the opposite direction to the first direction."; [0005 "...The spoon is placed on the food receptacle of the spoon coupled to the arm and rotated in a second direction about the extension direction of the fork and in a direction opposite to the first direction so that the noodle wrapped around the fork...", [0039] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to include a second rotation step for rotating the grasping unit by a prescribed angle in a second direction about the rotation axis after the first rotation step, the second rotation direction being opposite to the first direction, as taught by Ryu, in order to unwind the elongate member from the grasping members during or after the lifting step.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the control unit further causes the robot to execute:
a vertical movement step for causing the grasping unit to reciprocate at least once in a vertical direction after the lifting step (see Fig. 6, step S3; Fig. 8, step (B); [0019] and [0049]-[0050 "Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right arm 13, the control device 14 lowers the robot hand 18, which is holding the food 40 as illustrated in FIG. 8(A), from a state in which the robot hand 18 is raised to a predetermined position, and then suddenly stops the robot hand 18 at a predetermined position (refer to FIG. 8(B)). In this manner, an excessive amount of pasta (40) is shaken off, and thus an appropriate amount of pasta (40) can be held. Note that, the number of times of performing the shaking-off operation of the food 40 is appropriately set according to the amount of pasta (40) corresponding to, for example, one serving."]).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction.
Ryu teaches wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction (see Figs. 4(a)-(c), all, the extending direction of the fork is inclined approximately 90 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction; Abstract; [0005 "...The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork...", [0039] and [0049 "Referring to Fig. 4, (a) to (c), the noodle is wound on the fork by rotating the extending direction of the fork in a first direction about the axis."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to carry out the first rotation step in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, as taught by Ryu, in order to wind the elongate member around the grasping members to facilitate the lifting step.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Hirata further teaches wherein the control unit further causes the robot to execute:
a vertical movement step for causing the grasping unit to reciprocate at least once in a vertical direction after the lifting step (see Fig. 6, step S3; Fig. 8, step (B); [0019] and [0049]-[0050 "Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right arm 13, the control device 14 lowers the robot hand 18, which is holding the food 40 as illustrated in FIG. 8(A), from a state in which the robot hand 18 is raised to a predetermined position, and then suddenly stops the robot hand 18 at a predetermined position (refer to FIG. 8(B)). In this manner, an excessive amount of pasta (40) is shaken off, and thus an appropriate amount of pasta (40) can be held. Note that, the number of times of performing the shaking-off operation of the food 40 is appropriately set according to the amount of pasta (40) corresponding to, for example, one serving."]).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction.
Ryu teaches wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction (see Figs. 4(a)-(c), all, the extending direction of the fork is inclined approximately 90 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction; Abstract; [0005 "...The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork...", [0039] and [0049 "Referring to Fig. 4, (a) to (c), the noodle is wound on the fork by rotating the extending direction of the fork in a first direction about the axis."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to carry out the first rotation step in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, as taught by Ryu, in order to wind the elongate member around the grasping members to facilitate the lifting step.
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction.
Ryu teaches wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction (see Figs. 4(a)-(c), all, the extending direction of the fork is inclined approximately 90 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction; Abstract; [0005 "...The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork...", [0039] and [0049 "Referring to Fig. 4, (a) to (c), the noodle is wound on the fork by rotating the extending direction of the fork in a first direction about the axis."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to carry out the first rotation step in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, as taught by Ryu, in order to wind the elongate member around the grasping members to facilitate the lifting step.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Ryu) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Obayashi et al. (US 20210039252 A1 and Obayashi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Hirata further teaches wherein in the vertical movement step, the grasping members are disposed at a position during when the grasping unit is lifted after being lowered from the initial position (see Fig. 6, step S3; Fig. 8, step (B); [0019] and [0049]-[0050 "Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right arm 13, the control device 14 lowers the robot hand 18, which is holding the food 40 as illustrated in FIG. 8(A), from a state in which the robot hand 18 is raised to a predetermined position, and then suddenly stops the robot hand 18 at a predetermined position (refer to FIG. 8(B)). In this manner, an excessive amount of pasta (40) is shaken off, and thus an appropriate amount of pasta (40) can be held. Note that, the number of times of performing the shaking-off operation of the food 40 is appropriately set according to the amount of pasta (40) corresponding to, for example, one serving."]).
Although it may be implied, Hirata does not explicitly teach the grasping members are disposed at a position higher than an initial position during when the grasping unit is lifted.
Obayashi teaches a robot configured to grasp an elongate member (see Fig. 1, article gripping device 100; [0006], [0053] and [0092 "For example, if the article A is spaghetti, the matter adhering to the gripping members may be noodles or ingredients and/or spaghetti sauce, etc."]), the robot comprising:
a robot body (see Fig. 1, see the base of the robot 10; [0062]);
at least one arm member movable with respect to the robot body (see Fig. 1, robot 10; [0061]-[0063]); and
a control unit that controls a movement of the arm member (see Fig. 2, controller 2; [0052]), wherein the arm member includes:
a grasping unit that grasps the elongate member (see Fig. 1, grippers 30; [0052]-[0054]); and
an arm body that supports the grasping unit, the arm body having a plurality of joints (see Fig. 1, robot 10; [0061]-[0063]), the grasping unit includes:
a pair of grasping members attached to the support portion, the grasping members being movable closer to and away from each other (see Figs. 3-5C, gripping members 32; [0068]-[0069 "The gripping members 32 can move in a radial direction of the gripper 30 when each gripper 30 is viewed from the gripping member 32 side (see FIG. 5A). The gripper 30 causes gripping members 32 in a mutually separated state (see FIG. 5B) to shift radially inward through use of the gripping member driving mechanism 34 so that the gripping members 32 are in a mutually close state (see FIG. 5C), and thereby holds an article A between a plurality of gripping members 32 to grip the article A."]), and the control unit causes the robot to execute:
a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into
a lifting step for lifting the grasping unit in a state in which the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members (see Fig. 6C, all; [0127 "Moreover, for example, when the controller 70 controls the robot 10 in a state in which the plurality of grippers 30 are gripping the articles A to cause the movable member 20 to move upward from the position depicted in FIG. 6B to the position depicted in FIG. 6C, the controller 70 may control the robot 10 such that the movable member 20 is moved downward one or more times before the loading unit 50 is moved from the first position to the second position."]);
wherein the control unit further causes the robot to execute:
a vertical movement step for causing the grasping unit to reciprocate at least once in a vertical direction after the lifting step (see Fig. 6C, all; [0127 " The controller 70 may also, for example, control the robot 10 such that after the movable member 20 has been moved upward, and before the loading unit 50 is moved from the first position to the second position, the movable member 20 is moved reciprocally upward and then downward. Through such operation of the movable member 20, articles adhering to the gripping members 32 can be shaken off."]);
wherein in the vertical movement step, the grasping members are disposed at a position higher than an initial position during when the grasping unit is lifted after being lowered from the initial position (see Fig. 6C, all; [0127 " The controller 70 may also, for example, control the robot 10 such that after the movable member 20 has been moved upward, and before the loading unit 50 is moved from the first position to the second position, the movable member 20 is moved reciprocally upward and then downward. Through such operation of the movable member 20, articles adhering to the gripping members 32 can be shaken off."]0.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to cause the robot to dispose the grasping members at a position higher than an initial position during when the grasping unit is lifted after being lowered from the initial position, as taught by Obayashi, in order to shake off articles adhering to the gripped elongate member and therefore improve the weighing precision of the elongate member.
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction.
Ryu teaches wherein the first rotation step is carried out in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction (see Figs. 4(a)-(c), all, the extending direction of the fork is inclined approximately 90 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction; Abstract; [0005 "...The second robot arm is controlled to rotate the first fork in a first direction about the extending direction of the fork after the fork is inserted into the noodle of the tableware to wind the noodle on the fork...", [0039] and [0049 "Referring to Fig. 4, (a) to (c), the noodle is wound on the fork by rotating the extending direction of the fork in a first direction about the axis."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the control unit of the robot of modified Hirata to carry out the first rotation step in a state where a posture of the grasping unit is held such that the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, as taught by Ryu, in order to wind the elongate member around the grasping members to facilitate the lifting step.
Claims 6-7, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Ryu) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Ota et al. (JP 2020179464 A and Ota hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see Fig. 6, steps S5-S6; [0052 "Finally, the robot 11 transports, to a predetermined position, the food 40 in a state where the food 40 is held by the robot hand 18 and the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 is supported by the end effector 19 (step S5 in FIG. 6). Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right and left arms 13, as illustrated in FIG. 8(D), the control device 14 moves the food 40 (in the left direction in the same drawing) while maintaining the state of holding the food 40 by the robot hand 18 and supporting the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 by the end effector 19. In this manner, it is possible to securely transport the food 40 to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor 51 of the combination weighing device 50 after reducing the dimension of the total length of the food 40 in the up and down direction (refer to FIG. 1).").
Hirata inherently teaches "then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members" because the food is transported by the robot to the weighing conveyor 51. For the purpose of compact prosecution and for the sake of the possible argument that "Hirata is silent regarding then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members.", Ota teaches the claim limitation.
That is, Ota teaches a robot configured to grasp an elongate member (see All Figs.; [0006]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2020179464_A), the robot comprising:
a robot body (see the base of robot 2 in Fig. 1; [0014]);
at least one arm member movable with respect to the robot body (see Fig. 1, robot 2; [0014]); and
a control unit that controls a movement of the arm member (see Fig. 1, controller 3; [0014]-[0015]), wherein the arm member includes:
a grasping unit that grasps the elongate member (see Figs. 1 and 14, tongs 6; [0014 "A tong 6 for gripping noodles is arranged as a tool on the hand of the arm of the robot 2."]-[0015]); and
an arm body that supports the grasping unit, the arm body having a plurality of joints (see Fig. 1, robot 2; [0014]), the grasping unit includes:
a pair of grasping members attached to the support portion (see Figs. 1 and 14, tongs 6; [0014 "A tong 6 for gripping noodles is arranged as a tool on the hand of the arm of the robot 2."]-[0015]), and the control unit causes the robot to execute:
a grasping step for inserting the grasping members into
a lifting step for lifting the grasping unit in a state in which the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members (see [0006] and [0022 "On the other hand, in step S27, if there is one or more hoppers 7 whose total does not exceed the threshold value (YES), the noodles gripped by the robot 2 are put into the hopper 7 and the weight of the hopper 7 is gripped by the gripping amount n. Is added and updated (S25, 4th step)."]-[0023]);
further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see [0006], [0020 "Therefore, after moving the hand of the robot 2 to the position where the noodles still remain in the number weight 4, the tongs 6 are opened and the noodles are returned to the number weight 4 (S29) to retry."] and [0022 "On the other hand, in step S27, if there is one or more hoppers 7 whose total does not exceed the threshold value (YES), the noodles gripped by the robot 2 are put into the hopper 7 and the weight of the hopper 7 is gripped by the gripping amount n. Is added and updated (S25, 4th step)."]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot of modified Hirata to release the grasping state by the grasping members, as taught by Ota, in order to deliver the elongate member to a destination position.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Hirata teaches an elongate member pick-up system comprising:
Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 6 (as discussed above in claim 6); and
a measuring device (see Fig. 1, weighing device 50 and/or weighing conveyor 51; [0035 "A combination weighing device 50 for the food 40 is disposed in front of the robot 11. The combination weighing device 50 includes a plurality of weighing conveyors 51 and a transporting conveyor 52, which are disposed on a table in front of the robot 11."] and [0052]), wherein
the measuring device includes at least one measuring unit having the predetermined position (see Fig. 1, weighing device 50 and/or weighing conveyor 51; [0035 "The robot 11 holds a predetermined amount (for example, an amount corresponding to one serving) of the food 40 from the tray container 60 by the end effector (18) connected to each of the arms 13, 13 and transports the food 40 to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor 51. The weighing conveyor 51 measures a weight of the food 40 disposed on a belt, and then sends the food 40 on the belt to the transporting conveyor 52 by the rotation of the belt."] and [0052]),
the measuring unit is driven and the elongate member is conveyed when a weight of the elongate member placed at the predetermined position of the measuring unit (see [0035 "The weighing conveyor 51 measures a weight of the food 40 disposed on a belt, and then sends the food 40 on the belt to the transporting conveyor 52 by the rotation of the belt. The transporting conveyor 52 sends the food 40 which is sent from each weighing conveyor 51 to a food supply port 53 at a predetermined interval."] and [0052]).
Although it may be inherent and/or implied, Hirata does not explicitly state conveying the elongate member when a weight of the elongate member is in a predetermined range.
Ota teaches a measuring device, wherein the measuring device includes at least one measuring unit having the predetermined position (see Figs. 1 and 8A-8D, small containers/hoppers 7; [0006] and [0020]-[0025 "For example, FIG. 8 shows an operation example by the discharge mechanism 8 when the combination of the hopper 7 (3) and the hopper 7 (6) achieves the target. (A) The discharge container 10 moves from below the hoppers 7 (1) and 7 (2), which are the initial positions"]),
the measuring unit is driven and the elongate member is conveyed when a weight of the elongate member placed at the predetermined position of the measuring unit is in a predetermined range (see [0006] and [0020]-[0025], especially [0006 "At that time, if the total of the weight of the food already put into any one or more of the plurality of small containers and the weight of the food grasped by the robot this time falls within the threshold range based on the predetermined weight. , The small container whose total is closest to the predetermined weight is selected and charged."], [0023 "By repeating the above process, when a combination of 0% to + 3% with respect to the target value is generated (S22; YES), the number of the hopper 7 which is the combination closest to the target value is determined as the discharge target (S). S23). Then, the noodles held by the robot 2 are thrown into the hopper 7 to be discharged, and the status of the "discharge flag" of the hopper 7 is turned on (S24)"."], [0025 "For example, FIG. 8 shows an operation example by the discharge mechanism 8 when the combination of the hopper 7 (3) and the hopper 7 (6) achieves the target. (A) The discharge container 10 moves from below the hoppers 7 (1) and 7 (2), which are the initial positions, to below the (B) hopper 7 (3) and stops. (C) Then, the hopper 7 (3) is tilted and the housed surface is dropped into the discharge container 10. (D) Next, the discharge container 10 moves below the hopper 7 (6) and stops. (E) And similarly, the hopper 7 (6) is tilted and the housed surface is dropped into the discharge container 10. (F) As a result, the weight of the surface housed in the discharge container 10 becomes a value equivalent to the target establishment."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further the robot of modified Hirata to convey the elongate member when a weight of the elongate member placed at the predetermined position of the measuring unit is in a predetermined range, as taught by Ota, in order to accurately weigh out an amount of elongated members required to be transported.
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Hirata further teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see Fig. 6, steps S5-S6; [0052 "Finally, the robot 11 transports, to a predetermined position, the food 40 in a state where the food 40 is held by the robot hand 18 and the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 is supported by the end effector 19 (step S5 in FIG. 6). Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right and left arms 13, as illustrated in FIG. 8(D), the control device 14 moves the food 40 (in the left direction in the same drawing) while maintaining the state of holding the food 40 by the robot hand 18 and supporting the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 by the end effector 19. In this manner, it is possible to securely transport the food 40 to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor 51 of the combination weighing device 50 after reducing the dimension of the total length of the food 40 in the up and down direction (refer to FIG. 1).").
Hirata inherently teaches "then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members" because the food is transported by the robot to the weighing conveyor 51. For the purpose of compact prosecution and for the sake of the possible argument that "Hirata is silent regarding then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members.", Ota teaches the claim limitation.
That is, Ota teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see [0006], [0020 "Therefore, after moving the hand of the robot 2 to the position where the noodles still remain in the number weight 4, the tongs 6 are opened and the noodles are returned to the number weight 4 (S29) to retry."] and [0022 "On the other hand, in step S27, if there is one or more hoppers 7 whose total does not exceed the threshold value (YES), the noodles gripped by the robot 2 are put into the hopper 7 and the weight of the hopper 7 is gripped by the gripping amount n. Is added and updated (S25, 4th step)."]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot of modified Hirata to release the grasping state by the grasping members, as taught by Ota, in order to deliver the elongate member to a destination position.
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Hirata further teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see Fig. 6, steps S5-S6; [0052 "Finally, the robot 11 transports, to a predetermined position, the food 40 in a state where the food 40 is held by the robot hand 18 and the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 is supported by the end effector 19 (step S5 in FIG. 6). Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right and left arms 13, as illustrated in FIG. 8(D), the control device 14 moves the food 40 (in the left direction in the same drawing) while maintaining the state of holding the food 40 by the robot hand 18 and supporting the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 by the end effector 19. In this manner, it is possible to securely transport the food 40 to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor 51 of the combination weighing device 50 after reducing the dimension of the total length of the food 40 in the up and down direction (refer to FIG. 1).").
Hirata inherently teaches "then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members" because the food is transported by the robot to the weighing conveyor 51. For the purpose of compact prosecution and for the sake of the possible argument that "Hirata is silent regarding then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members.", Ota teaches the claim limitation.
That is, Ota teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see [0006], [0020 "Therefore, after moving the hand of the robot 2 to the position where the noodles still remain in the number weight 4, the tongs 6 are opened and the noodles are returned to the number weight 4 (S29) to retry."] and [0022 "On the other hand, in step S27, if there is one or more hoppers 7 whose total does not exceed the threshold value (YES), the noodles gripped by the robot 2 are put into the hopper 7 and the weight of the hopper 7 is gripped by the gripping amount n. Is added and updated (S25, 4th step)."]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot of modified Hirata to release the grasping state by the grasping members, as taught by Ota, in order to deliver the elongate member to a destination position.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Ryu and Obayashi) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ota.
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Hirata teaches the robot according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Hirata further teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see Fig. 6, steps S5-S6; [0052 "Finally, the robot 11 transports, to a predetermined position, the food 40 in a state where the food 40 is held by the robot hand 18 and the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 is supported by the end effector 19 (step S5 in FIG. 6). Specifically, by controlling the operation of the right and left arms 13, as illustrated in FIG. 8(D), the control device 14 moves the food 40 (in the left direction in the same drawing) while maintaining the state of holding the food 40 by the robot hand 18 and supporting the longitudinal intermediate portion 40 a of the food 40 by the end effector 19. In this manner, it is possible to securely transport the food 40 to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor 51 of the combination weighing device 50 after reducing the dimension of the total length of the food 40 in the up and down direction (refer to FIG. 1).").
Hirata inherently teaches "then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members" because the food is transported by the robot to the weighing conveyor 51. For the purpose of compact prosecution and for the sake of the possible argument that "Hirata is silent regarding then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members.", Ota teaches the claim limitation.
That is, Ota teaches further comprising:
a step for driving the arm body, in a state where the elongated member is grasped by the grasping members, to move the grasping unit to a predetermined position, and then releasing the grasping state by the grasping members (see [0006], [0020 "Therefore, after moving the hand of the robot 2 to the position where the noodles still remain in the number weight 4, the tongs 6 are opened and the noodles are returned to the number weight 4 (S29) to retry."] and [0022 "On the other hand, in step S27, if there is one or more hoppers 7 whose total does not exceed the threshold value (YES), the noodles gripped by the robot 2 are put into the hopper 7 and the weight of the hopper 7 is gripped by the gripping amount n. Is added and updated (S25, 4th step)."]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot of modified Hirata to release the grasping state by the grasping members, as taught by Ota, in order to deliver the elongate member to a destination position.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656