DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the following species:
applying the aqueous composition to a surface of a nasal cavity by inserting a swab having the aqueous composition borne on a surface thereof into the nasal cavity; wherein the aqueous composition comprises an amine oxide surfactant, lactic acid and malic acid as hydroxycarboxylic acids, water, and a cellulose-based thickening agent; wherein the aqueous composition is at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent; and wherein the aqueous composition has a viscosity of between 2,000 cps and 100,000 cps as the species of aqueous composition; and wherein the mucosal tissue is nasal cavity tissue
in the reply filed on August 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method taught by the cited reference (Scholz et al.) is drawn to a method of decolonizing or disinfecting tissues rather than preventing transmission of a virus; and further argues the compositions taught by Scholz et al. are iodine-containing whereas the claimed aqueous composition is at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered by the Examiner; However, the technical feature share among the groups of species still lack unity of invention in view of the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth above. Thus, the requirement is still deemed proper.
Please note that applicant indicated the elected species read on instant claims 1-13 (see page 6 of the reply); However, upon careful consideration, the Examiner determined claims 2-3 are drawn to a non-elected surfactant because they do not include the elected amine oxide. The Examiner further determined claim 6 is drawn to non-elected hydroxycarboxylic acid, because the claim does not include the combination of lactic acid and malic acid in the list. Please also note the elected amine oxide surfactant, when reasonably construed in view of the specification (see e.g., [0113]-[0116]), is an anionic surfactant rather than the non-ionic surfactant as claimed in claim 2 nor the amphoteric surfactant as claimed in claim 3.
Please note claims 14-15 are drawn to a method species non-elected, because applicant does not identify that the elected species are encompassed by claims 14-15; Additionally, Applicant does not particularly elects a species that includes applying the aqueous composition to the mucosal tissue of the first mammalian subject and second mammalian subject; nor elects an application species that includes applying the composition at least 24 hours before allowing the mammalian subject to interact.
Please note that applicant elects “water” as one of the ingredients of the aqueous composition. It is noted that the claims submitted on August 25, 2026 do not have claims drawn to water as one of the ingredients of the aqueous composition, thus, the examiner is going to limit the examination to the elected surfactant (amine oxide surfactant), hydroxycarboxylic acid (lactic acid and malic acid) and the elected cellulose-based thickening agent; However, to the extent that applicant amends the claims to include water, it would require further search and consideration.
Claims 2-3, 6 and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 25, 2026.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 25, 2026, wherein claims 1, 6-7 and 13-14 are amended; claims 2-5, 8-12 and 15 are unchanged.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 6 and 14-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-13 are under examination in accordance with the elected species.
Priority
The instant application 18/838,021 filed on August 13, 2024 is a 371 of PCT/IB2023/051294 filed on February 13, 2023, which claims priority to, and the benefits of U.S. Provisional Application No.
63/268,493 filed on February 25, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/13/2024 and 1/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Table 1: the designation or alternative name of Ammonyx LMDO appears to contain a typographical error; particularly, a dollar sign “$” is used to express the range of percentage (see e.g., “(30%-33$)”).
The use of the terms “Celquat”, “NIKKOL”, “BRIJ”, “PLURAFAC”, “ICONOL”, “TRITON”, “RHODAPEX”, “PLURONIC”, “TETRONIC”, “MACKAM”, “ALPHASTE”, “LANTHANOL”, “STEPANOL”, “HOSTAPHAT”, “CRODAPHOS”, “AMMONYX LO, LMDO, and CO”, and “ALPHASTEP”, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. Each of these terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. While the Examiner has made every attempt to check the specification for trade name or mark compliance, Applicant is required to carefully check the entire specification for any and all issues regarding trade name or mark.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claimed term “the aqueous composition at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent”, when reasonably construed in view of the specification (see e.g., p. 9, line 16-21) shown below:
, is taken to include the aqueous composition that include antimicrobial agent(s) in an amount in which the difference between the aqueous composition with the antimicrobial agent(s) relative to the composition without the antimicrobial agent(s) is less than 3 logs kill, 2 logs kill, or 1 log kill.
The claimed term “a” in the phrase of “a hydroxycarboxylic acid”, when reasonably construed in view of the special definition provides on page 3, line 20-22 of the specification, is taken to refer to “one or more”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the present case, instant claim 1 (drawn to a method genus of preventing transmission of a virus from a mammalian subject) encompasses a genus of aqueous composition comprising a surfactant and a hydroxycarboxylic acid, wherein the aqueous composition is at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent and wherein the aqueous composition has a viscosity between 2,000 cps and 100,000 cps. The claim recites the transitional term “comprising” in the context of aqueous composition, which is inclusive or open-ended, and does not exclude any other ingredient(s) from being present together with the surfactant and hydroxycarboxylic acid. The dependent claims narrow the surfactant or the hydroxycarboxylic acid to a specific amount range expressed in weight percentage based on the total weight of the aqueous composition. The dependent claims also further recite additional cellulose-based thickening agent and a specific amount range of said cellulose-based thickening agent expressed in weight percentage based on the total weight of the aqueous composition; as well as, an additional properties of the aqueous composition (“exhibits a log reduction of microbes no greater than 3 logs”).
Accordingly, the claim encompasses compositions in the form of aqueous with substantial qualitative variation resulting from the independent selection and combination of a surfactant and a hydroxycarboxylic acid, and does not exclude the presence of other components but an antimicrobial agent, each can be in any amount expressed in the unit of weight-by-weight percentage to achieve a specific physicochemical property instantly claimed. Thus, the claims encompass a genus of compositions defined by its physicochemical properties, which is simply a wish to know the identity of such composition that will satisfy those physicochemical properties.
Per the Enzo court’s example, (Enzo Biochem., Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 63 USPQ2d 1609 (CA FC 2002) at 1616) of a description of an anti-inflammatory steroid, i.e., a steroid (a generic structural term) couched “in terms of its function of lessening inflammation of tissues” which, the court stated, “fails to distinguish any steroid from others having the same activity or function” and the expression “an antibiotic penicillin” fails to distinguish a particular penicillin molecule from others possessing the same activity and which therefore, fails to satisfy the written description requirement. Similarly, a generic description of the aqueous composition having particular properties, e.g., “a viscosity of between 2,000 cps and 100,000 cps” or “exhibits a log reduction of microbes no greater than 3 logs”, does not distinguish the composition from other compositions comprising the same surfactant and hydroxycarboxylic acid.
The claim invention does not satisfy the written-description requirement. While the specification provides definition and examples of the meanings of “surfactant” and “hydroxycarboxylic acid” (see e.g., p. 2, line 35 to p. 3, line 4; p. 8, line 10-37; and p. 3, line 29 to p. 7, line 33 of the specification), such generic definitions identify the universe encompassed by the claimed terminology do not themselves demonstrates possession of the claimed composition genus spanning the full range of independently selectable surfactant and hydroxycarboxylic acid to achieve the entire scope of physicochemical properties instantly claimed. The Examiner acknowledges that the specification expressly identifies “thickeners, such as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, can be employed to increase the viscosity of the compositions” (see e.g., p. 11, line 10-11); and defines “thickener” as a substance that increases the viscosity of a liquid without substantially changing its other properties (see e.g., p.3, line 12-13); However, the thickener, which contributes to the viscosity of the aqueous composition according to the specification, are not positively recited in the claim. Rather, the positively recited surfactants are established in the specification to alter the surface tension between two immiscible liquids (see e.g., p. 2 line 35 to p. 3, line 4); and the positively recited hydroxycarboxylic acid are established in the specification to use as a buffer to prevent PH drift of the composition during storage (see e.g., p. 8, line 6-9). Accordingly, while the specification identifies thickener as the thickening agent contributes to the viscosity of the composition, such component is not required by the claimed genus. Applicant has not disclosed any representative species of compositions or preparation thereof such that the presence of surfactant and hydroxycarboxylic acid together would achieve the physicochemical properties as broadly encompassed by the claims. The mere idea or function of the composition is insufficient to satisfy written description inquiry; isolation and characterization at a minimum are required. A description of what a material does, rather than what it is, usually does not suffice. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Lastly, the Examiner acknowledges that the specification exemplified the treatment composition with a viscosity of 5,180 cps and a PH level of 3.2 in the working examples, which comprise lactic acid (5% w/w), malic acid (2% w/w), surfactants (Hetoxyl Sta-100 (1.4% w/w), Crodafos SG (1% w/w), Ammonyx LMDO (0.75% w/w)), xylitol (10.0% w/w), and thickener (Celquat SC-230M (1 % w/w), with the balance being water (see e.g., p. 14, line 9-15); and the alternative names of Hetoxyl Sta-100, Crodafos SG, Ammonyx LMDO, Celquat SC-230M are disclosed in Table 1 of the specification. The species demonstrates possession of said composition. However, the single disclosed composition species does not resolve the written description inquiry where the claimed genus contains substantial qualitative structural variations that are not adequately represented by said species. Here, the disclosed composition species occupy particular combination involving the selected hydroxycarboxylic acid(s), surfactant(s) and thickener, each at a particular weight-by-weight percentage to achieve a particular pH and viscosity. The specification does not identify a general, structural principle demonstrating that the disclosed species are representative of the full genus generated by independently selecting the substantial broader surfactant(s) and hydroxycarboxylic acid(s) to achieve the physicochemical properties instantly claimed. In other words, one skilled in the art will not know which other components (if any) and in which weight-by-weight percentage should be present in the claimed aqueous composition besides surfactant(s) and hydroxycarboxylic acid(s) to satisfy the above viscosity, and antimicrobial profile. Therefore, it does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that applicant is in possession of the full scope of aqueous composition in the method genus.
This is a written description rejection.
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “wherein the aqueous composition is at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent” renders the claim indefinite, because the aqueous composition set forth in the claim positively requires “a surfactant; and a hydroxycarboxylic acid”, both of which may possess intrinsic an antimicrobial properties while simultaneously requiring the composition to be at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent. For instance, Alakomi et al. (Applied and environmental microbiology, 2000. Vol. 66 (5): 2001-5) reports lactic acid functions as a natural antimicrobial (see e.g., p. 2001, right column, 1st paragraph); and Falk et al. (J Surfact Deterg, 2019. Vol. 22: 1119–1127) reports studies of antimicrobial efficacy from the four major classes of surfactants (cationic, anionic, amphoteric, and nonionic)(see e.g., abstract). Although the specification provides examples of antimicrobial agents (see e.g., page 9, line 21-26 of the specification) and the definition of the “compositions are at least substantially free of antimicrobial agents” (see e.g., page 9, line 18-19 of the specification), it is unclear whether the claimed surfactant and hydroxycarboxylic acid, when exhibiting antimicrobial activity, are themselves considered antimicrobial agent(s) within the meaning of the claim. The lack of clarity renders the claim indefinite, because one cannot determine the metes and bounds of the aqueous composition with a reasonable certainty. Accordingly, claims 4-5 and 7-13 are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the aqueous composition are subject to “the Time-Kill test”: however, “a” time-kill test is not mentioned prior to said recitation, and it is not clear what is being referred to as “the” time-skill test.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over New (US 9,744,125 B2), in view of Scholz et al. (US 2006/0177511 A1) and Scholz et al. (US 2013/0108576 A1; referred to herein as “Scholz#2”).
New teaches a method of reducing or inhibiting the contraction or communication of viral illnesses, and application of a virucidal preparation containing one or more organic acids with or without a surfactant in a carrier agent to the face of well individuals will reduce the chance that they contract illness with viral illnesses such as, inter alia, viral upper respiratory illnesses, influenza (see e.g., abstract). New further teaches the embodiments includes methods of, inter alia, reducing or inhibiting transmission of a viral illness to a user; and reducing or inhibiting transmission of a viral illness from a user; and “reducing” means decreasing the likelihood of something occurring, and “inhibiting” means stopping something from occurring (see e.g., Col. 3, line 26-37). New further teaches the preferred embodiments include: reducing or inhibiting access for active viral particles to mucous membranes, such as oral, nasal or conjunctival mucous membranes (see e.g., Col. 3, line 42-45); and application on entry areas to such mucous membranes, for example, embodiments include applying a preparation on the nares, lips or skin surrounding the eye (see e.g., Col. 3, line 45-50). New further teaches lips refer to visible body part at the mouth of humans and many animals (see e.g., Col. 3, line 58-59). New further teaches the organic acids which are effective against viruses and are therefore appropriate for use in this disclosure include: valeric acid, lactic acid, glycolic acid, pelargonic acid, aspartic acid, malic acid, and citric acid (see e.g., Col. 5, line 47-50); and any combination of one or more of these organic acids are appropriate (see e.g., Col. 5, line 50-52). New further teaches the appropriate viscosity for skin preparations at 25° C may be at least 10 P, or at least 25 P, or at least 50 P, or at least 200 P, or at least 1000 P (see e.g., Col. 7, line 21-23). New further teaches two formulations (malic acid 2%/Bio-Terge®[sodium C14-C16 olefin sulfonate] 1% and malic acid 0.4%/Bio-Terge®[sodium C14-C16 olefin sulfonate] 0.1%) demonstrated greater than 3 log reduction in titer of all 25 viruses tested and greater than 4 log reduction in 18 of 25 viruses (including all four influenza viruses) with a 60 second exposure time (see e.g., Col. 6, line37-50; Figure 2a-d). New further teaches Hendley et al. investigated the antiviral activity of several compounds including iodine, ethyl alcohol, benzalkonium chloride (BAK), and hexachlorophene; these agents were known for their anti-bacterial activity, but all except iodine performed poorly as antiviral agents; unfortunately, iodine is too irritating to the skin to be frequency applied (see e.g., Col. 2, line 15-20). New further teaches nares refer to the skin at the entrance to the nostril; the nasal mucous membranes are not considered part of the nares, though application of a preparation to the nares may result in application to a small part of the nasal mucous membranes (see e.g., Col. 3, line 53-57). New further teaches the preparation may comprise, consist essentially of or consist of up to 10% w/v of each organic acid, preferably 0.1-5% w/v (see e.g., Col. 60-62). New further teaches for ophthalmic use, the preparation would typically be provided in an aqueous solution provided in a container appropriate to allow for eye drop application (see e.g., Col. 4, line 54-55).
While New teaches the virucidal preparation can be provided in an aqueous solution (see e.g., Col. 4, line 54-55), New does not expressly teach the virucidal preparation is an aqueous composition for nasal use.
Scholz et al. teaches aqueous formulations are preferred since these formulations are gentle to both skin and mucosal tissue and may even be suitable for use on open wounds as a wound cleanse (see e.g., [0034]); it is particularly advantageous to customers to have a single product that can be used on both in-tact skin and mucosal tissue (e.g. vaginal, oral, nasal, and ocular tissue) (see e.g., [003]). Scholz et al. further teaches a composition of Example 97 having a pH of 3.5-4 in Table 14 shown below (see e.g., Table 14):
, which comprises 5 wt-% of lactic acid; 2 wt-% of malic acid; and 1% wt-% of AMMONYX LMDO (C12-14 amidopropyldimethylamine oxide)(see e.g., Table 6a; [0116]). Please note the weight percentage of each ingredient is based on the total weight of the composition (see e.g., [0054];[0087]). Scholz et al. further teaches examples of amine oxide surfactants include those commercially available under the trade designations AMMONYX LO, LMDO, and CO, which are lauryldimethylamineoxide, laurylamidopropyldimethylamine oxide, and cetyl amine oxide, all from Stepan Company (see e.g., [0116]); Scholz et al. further teaches the substantivity of Example 97 was far greater than that of BETADINE SOLUTION, which is a commercially available, 10% povidone-iodine solution that typically lasts less than 10 seconds (see e.g., [0225]; [0123]); and the tack of said example was very low, and was transparent and dark (stable) at room temperature (see e.g., [0225]). Scholz et al. further teaches the hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer in the compositions contributes significantly to such good bacterial kill; by comparison, a composition reduces normal skin flora by at least about 0.5 log more than the same composition without the hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer present (see e.g., [0042]); and surprisingly, the placebo compositions (i.e., compositions without an antimicrobial agent) but still including the hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer are relatively inactive; by comparison, a composition of the present invention reduces normal skin flora by at least about 0.5 log more than the same composition without the antimicrobial agent present when tested on a dry human skin site ( e.g., back or abdomen) according to ASTM testing method El 173-93 measured 2 minutes after completion of a 30-second scrub with gauze soaked in the composition using moderate pressure (see e.g., [0043]). Scholz et al. further teaches the hydroxycarboxylic acid buffers include preferably beta- and alpha-hydroxy acids (collectively referred to as hydroxy acids [HAs]), and preferred HAs includes lactic acid, malic acid, and citric acid (see e.g., [0059]). Scholz et al. further teaches these compositions (i.e., with a pH preferably adjusted to about 3.0 to about 4.5, and more preferably to about 3.5 to about 4.2, and a relatively high hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer concentration-at least about 5 wt-%, and more preferably at least about 6 wt-%) are substantially nonirritating to tissue (e.g., skin and mucosal tissue), as indicated by studies conducted by instilling aliquots (of use concentrations) into rabbit eyes (see e.g., [0055]). Scholz et al. further teaches the compositions of are gentle and thus useful on mucosal tissue as well as in-tact skin (see e.g., [0007]), wherein the mucosal tissue is nasal tissue (see e.g., claim 15); the compositions may be applied to the skin using any suitable means; ordinary an absorbent of some type, such as, inter alia, cotton swabs or balls, and the like, are soaked with the composition which is used to wipe the composition over the intended site (see e.g., [0135]). Scholz et al. further teaches surfactants help the compositions to wet the skin and ensure a smooth uniform coating (see e.g., [0086]); If used, one or more surfactants are generally added to the antiseptic compositions in an amount of at least about 0.5 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition; preferably, one or more surfactants are generally added to the antiseptic compositions of the present invention in an amount of no greater than about 10 wt-% (see e.g., [0087]). Scholz et al. further teaches the compositions are preferably buffered with hydroxycarboxylic acid buffers to prevent pH drift during storage (see e.g., [0053]); the concentration of hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer in weight percent of the use composition is at least about 5 wt-% and often at least about 7 wt-%, based on the weight of the use composition; the concentration of hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer is preferably no greater than about 15 wt-% (see e.g., [0062]).
Scholz et al. does not expressly teach a cellulose-based thickening agent.
Scholz#2 teaches antiseptic compositions for use on wound and mucosal tissues such as in the nose and anterior nares, however, have a higher viscosity in order to retain the composition on the tissue (which is often wet) longer and to prevent dripping and mess; These compositions preferably have a viscosity in excess of 100 cps, even more preferably in excess of 2000 cps (see e.g., [0106]); and these compositions may be thickened with one or more of the following, inter alia, polymeric thickeners et al. (see e.g., [0106]-[0107]). Scholz#2 further teaches the compositions for use on moist tissue, such as most mucosal and wound tissue, preferably are formulated to have a higher viscosity; these compositions may not dry out upon application and therefore, use of higher viscosity compositions may help to retain the composition on the tissue for longer periods of time (see e.g., [0126]). Scholz#2 further teaches these compositions may be thickened by means known in the art and in particular by use of one or more of the following, inter alia, polymeric thickener including water-soluble or colloidally water-soluble polymers like cellulose ethers (see e.g., [0126]-[0127]). Scholz#2 further teaches cationic polymers such as, inter alia, polyquaterium 4, 10, 24, 32, and 37 are useful herein (see e.g., [0128]) and teaches that cationic modified cellulosic polymers are reported in the literature to be soluble in water (see e.g., [0129]). Please note the cationic modified cellulosic polymers taught by Scholz#2 reading on the cellulose-based thickening agent in instant claim 8. Scholz#2 further teaches in certain embodiments, one or more polymeric thickeners and/or film-forming polymers (preferably substantive film-forming polymeric thickeners), are present in the antiseptic composition in a total amount of a
at least 2 wt-%, based on the total weight of antiseptic composition; and no greater than 10 wt-%, and more preferably no greater than 8 wt-%, based on the total weight of antiseptic composition (see e.g., [0123]). Scholz#2 further teaches composition of Example 3A having a pH of 3.2 shown below (see e.g., Table 6):
, which comprises 0.75 wt-% of AMNX (laurarnidopropylamine/myristarnidopropylamine oxide [30%-33%]; also referred to therein as “Ammonyx LMDO”); 5 wt-% of LA (lactic acid [90%]); 2 wt-% of MA (malic acid); 1 wt-% of PolyQ-10 (polyquaternium-10) (see e.g., Table 1). Scholz#2 further teaches Eample 4A-4C were identical compositions and were prepared in the same manner as Example 3A (see e.g., [0174]), and Example 4A has a viscosity of 5675 centipoise (cps) (see e.g., Table 4).
In the present case, New clearly teaches a method of reducing or inhibiting transmission of a viral illness, including influenza viruses, from a user by applying an virucidal preparation containing one or more organic acids effective against viruses, including lactic acid, malic acid and combination thereof, with or without a surfactant in a carrier agent to the face of an individual, such as an entry area to the nasal mucous membrane including the skin at the entrance to the nostril and small part of the nasal mucous membranes (reading on a surface of nasal cavity); and the appropriate viscosity for the virucidal preparations can be at least 25 P. Although the prior art does not expressly disclose the viscosity in the unit of centipoise (cps), converting between the unit of dynamic viscosity (e.g., centipoise [cps] and poise [p]) would have been routine mathematical conversion within the ordinary skill of pharmaceutical formulator. For instance, 25 poise (P), which when calculated by
25
P
×
100
c
p
1
P
=
2,500
c
p
s
, is equivalent to 2,500 centipoise (cps). While New does not expressly teach the user is a human or animal, the prior art clearly teaches said virucidal preparation can also be applied to visible body part at the mouth of humans and many animals. Accordingly, New itself would have suggested that the user can be a human, reading on “a mammalian subject” instantly claimed. Although New does not expressly states that its virucidal preparation is free of an antimicrobial agent, the absence of an express exclusion does not, by itself, prevent the prior art from disclosing or rendering obvious the claimed negative limitation
drawn to “at least substantially free of an antimicrobial agent”. The difference between the method of New and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not expressly teach the virucidal preparation is an aqueous composition for nasal use, even though New teaches the virucidal preparation can be provided in an aqueous solution (see e.g., Col. 4, line 54-55).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of New by incorporating the composition of Example 97 taught by Scholz et al. (comprising 5 wt-% of lactic acid; 2 wt-% of malic acid; and 1% wt-% of C12-14 amidopropyldimethylamine oxide/”AMMONYX LMDO” [an amine oxide surfactant]), and then further modifying said composition by incorporating the cationic modified cellulosic polymers taught by Scholz#2 into the composition in order arrive at an aqueous-based virucidal preparation suitable for applying to the skin at the entrance to the nostril and the nasal mucous membranes.
One would have been motivated to do so, because New teaches that while iodine demonstrates antiviral activity in addition to its anti-bacterial activity, said agent is too irritating to the skin to be frequently applied; and further teaches the organic acids that are effective against viruses, including lactic acid, malic acid, and combinations thereof, are contemplated for use. Scholz et al. expressly identifies the composition of Example 97 (comprising 5 wt-% of lactic acid; 2 wt-% of malic acid; and 1% wt-% of C12-14 amidopropyldimethylamine oxide/”AMMONYX LMDO” [an amine oxide surfactant]), which is an exemplary aqueous-based, stable composition, demonstrates far greater substantivity than the commercially available 10% povidone-iodine solution; and further teaches the aqueous-based compositions are gentle to both skin and mucosal tissue. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to reduce or inhibit transmission of a viral illness would have had a reason to investigate the known aqueous-based composition comprising the same organic acids taught by Scholz et al. as the virucidal preparation because it is gentle to both skin and musical tissue, stable, and has great substantivity.
With regard to incorporating the cationic modified cellulosic polymers as the polymeric thickener to the composition above, one would have been motivated to make the proposed modification because New teaches the appropriate viscosity for skin preparations at 25° C can be at least 10 P or at least 25 P, which is equivalent to 1,000 cp and 2,500 cp, respectively. Scholz#2 teaches the compositions for use on the mucosal tissues, such as in the nose and anterior nares, preferably have a viscosity in excess of 2,000 cp, because higher viscosity can retain the composition on the tissue longer and prevent dripping and mess; and further teaches polymeric thickener, including cationic modified cellulosic polymers that are known to be water-soluble, can be used to thicken the composition. Accordingly, the prior arts would have suggested that cationic modified cellulosic polymer is a suitable thickening agent to increase the viscosity of the composition above 2,000 cp in order to retain the composition on the nasal tissue longer and prevent undesired dripping and mess.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because New expressly demonstrates the composition comprising malic acid demonstrates anti-viral activities against viruses including influenza in an in vitro assay, as demonstrated in Figure 2a-d; Scholz et al. expressly demonstrates the preparation of an aqueous composition comprising lactic acid and malic acid as the organic acids, and an amine oxide surfactant (“Ammonyx LMDO”) in Example 97; and Scholz#2 demonstrates successful preparation of a composition with a higher viscosity value of 5,675 cp in Example 3A, comprising the same organic acids (lactic acid and malic acid) and the same amine oxide surfactant (”Ammonyx LMDO”) with the use of cationic modified cellulosic polymers polyquaternium-10. Therefore, Scholz#2 provides evidence that the incorporation of cationic modified cellulosic polymer, such as polyquaternium-10, is technically feasible to provide a composition with a viscosity greater than 2,000 cp, which is suitable for use on mucosal tissues such as in the nose and anterior nares. New also provides evidence that the incorporation of malic acid as an organic acid demonstrates anti-viral activity against viruses such as influenza. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonably expected that by further incorporating cationic modified cellulosic polymer as the thickening agent to the known aqueous composition comprising the same organic acids and amine oxide surfactant as taught by Scholz et al. would have successfully arrive at another aqueous composition comprising malic acid as the virucidal preparation with a viscosity greater than 2,000 cp useful for the same purpose.
Regarding “wherein the surfactant is present in the aqueous composition in an amount of between 0.1 and 10 wt.%, based on the total weight of the aqueous composition” in claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to selectively choose to incorporate the amine oxide surfactant set forth above in an amount of between about 0.5 wt-% and about 10 wt-% based on the total weight of the composition. One would have been motivated to do so, because Scholz et al. teaches surfactants can help the compositions to wet the skin and ensure a smooth uniform coating and teaches surfactant can be in an amount of at least about 0.5 wt-% and no greater than about 10 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition. Accordingly, the prior art established that the weight-percentage of the surfactant based on the total weight of the composition is a result effective variable known to improve skin wetting and allow smooth, uniform coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by incorporating the amine oxide surfactant in a weight percentage amount taught by Scholz et al. would have successfully arrive at the compositions with smooth uniform coating and desired skin-wetting properties.
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the hydroxycarboxylic acid is present in the aqueous composition in an amount of between 1 wt.% and 20 wt.% based on a total weight of the aqueous composition” in claim 7, the limitation of “wherein the aqueous composition has a pH of between 2.5 and 5” in claim 10, and the limitation of “wherein the aqueous composition has a pH of between 3 and 3.5” in claim 11, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to selectively choose to incorporate the hydroxycarboxylic acids set forth above in an amount of between about 5wt-% and about 15 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition, and then adjusting the pH of the virucidal preparation by optimizing the amount of hydroxycarboxylic acids through routine experimentation. One would have been motivated to do so, because New expressly teaches the virucidal preparation may comprise up to 10% w/v of each organic acid, including lactic acid and malic acid. Scholz et al. teaches hydroxycarboxylic acids, including lactic acid and malic acid, are buffers useful for preventing pH drift during storage; teaches the concentration of the hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer in the composition is at least about 5 wt-% and no greater than about 15 wt-% based on the total weight of the composition; and further teaches the compositions with a pH preferably adjusted to about 3.0 to about 4.5 are substantially not irritating to skin and mucosal tissues. Although New does not expressly disclose the amount of each organic acid in the unit of w/w %, converting between concentration format (e.g., w/v and w/w) or determining the corresponding w/w percentage based on the density of the formulation would have been routine mathematical conversion within the ordinary skill of pharmaceutical formulator. For instance, to the extent that the formulation has a density of 1.00 g/mL, 10% w/v is equivalent to 10 wt-% based on the total weight of the composition. Accordingly, the prior arts established that the amount of each organic acid, which is also a hydroxycarboxylic acid, in the composition is result-effective variables known to impact antiviral activity and pH of the composition; and also established that pH level of about 3.0 to about 4.5 is preferred given that it is not irritating to the skin and mucosal tissues. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by incorporating the organic acid in an amount taught by New and further adjusting said amount in the range taught by Scholz et al. to achieve the desired pH level of about 3.0 to about 4.5, including the claimed weight % and claimed pH, would have successfully arrive at the composition that is non-irritating to the skin and mucosal tissues while retaining antiviral activity with less pH drift.
Regarding “wherein the cellulose-based thickening agent is present in an amount of between 0.5 and 10 wt.%, based on a total weight of the aqueous composition” in claim 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to selectively choose to incorporate the cationic modified cellulosic polymer set forth above in an amount of between 2 wt-% and 10 wt-% based on the total weight of the composition. One would have been motivated to do so, because Scholz#2 teaches polymeric thickeners, including the cationic modified cellulosic polymer, can thickened the compositions and increase the viscosity in order to retain the composition on the tissue longer and to prevent dripping and mess; and further teaches one or more polymeric thickeners can be in an amount of at least 2 wt-% and no greater than 10 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition. Accordingly, the prior art established that the weight-percentage of the cationic modified cellulosic polymer based on the total weight of the composition is a result effective variable known to increase the viscosity of the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by incorporating the cationic modified cellulosic polymer in a weight percentage amount taught by Scholz#2 would have successfully arrive at the compositions with higher viscosity.
Regarding “wherein the aqueous composition, when subjected to the Time-Kill test, exhibits a log reduction of microbes no greater than 3 logs” in claim 12, the claimed limitation is drawn to the characteristics or properties of the aqueous composition instantly claimed. While New is silent that the virucidal preparation (comprising organic acids, including lactic acid, malic acid and combinations thereof) provided in an aqueous solution exhibits “a log reduction of microbes no greater than 3 logs”, the characteristics or properties associated with the organic acids (including lactic acid, malic acid and combinations thereof) and a surfactant would naturally be present in the virucidal preparation even though New does not expressly teach it. According to MPEP 2112.01, II, “’[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.’ In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id”. In the alternatives, Scholz et al. expressly teaches in Table 14 that the compositions of Example 92, 93, and 94, comprising an antimicrobial agent and hydroxycarboxylic acid buffer, exhibits microbial log reductions of 1.9, 2.6, and 2.5, respectively. In particular, the composition of Example 94 comprising lactic acid, malic acid and amine oxide surfactant (“AMMONYX LMDO”) at concentrations corresponding to those employed in the proposed formulation. Accordingly, Scholz et al. expressly demonstrates that compositions containing the recited hydroxycarboxylic acid and surfactant can exhibit microbial log reductions no greater than 3 logs. The experimental findings evidence relevant to antimicrobial activity of the proposed aqueous composition. To the extent that the addition of cellulose-based thickening agent does not materially change or alter the antimicrobial activity under the claimed Time-Kill test conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the modified composition would retain microbial log-reduction characteristics within the claimed range.
Regarding “wherein the applying to a surface of the nasal cavity comprises inserting a swab having the aqueous composition borne on a surface thereof into the nasal cavity” in claim 13, it would have been prima face obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to apply the virucidal preparation by using an absorbent, such as cotton swab, soaked with said preparation and wipe it over the nasal tissues. One would have been motivated to do so, because Scholz et al. teaches the composition suitable for in-tact skin and mucosal tissues (e.g., nasal) can be applied to the skin using any suitable means; and particularly teaches, an absorbent of some type, such as cotton swabs or balls, and the like, are soaked with the composition which is used to wipe the composition over the intended site. Accordingly, the prior art established that using an absorbent, such as a cotton swab, soaked with the composition to wipe over the mucosal tissues in the nasal is a well-established and routine application technique in the art to deliver the composition to the surface of the nasal tissues, reading on inserting a swab. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by employing a known application technique to apply the virucidal preparation set forth in the method above would have successfully deliver the virucidal preparation to the intended site.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628 /JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628