Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 16, 20, 23, 25, 26, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US PGPUB 20190250812) in view of Kijima (US PGPUB 20080198243).
[Claim 1]
Davydov teaches a method for displaying a thumbnail during shooting, applied to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a touch sensor that collects touch information (touch screen display 112), and wherein the method comprises:
displaying a shooting interface in response to a first operation of a user, wherein the shooting interface displays a shooting control and a thumbnail display region (when the user presses the camera app icon 430 in fig. 4a, the GUI for taking images like fig. 9a);
in response to second touch information, determining that the user lifts a hand after pressing the shooting control, and displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (FIG. 9C illustrates device 900 after liftoff of touch input 920. In FIG. 9C, media capture interface 904 returns to the same state as shown in FIG. 9A, however last captured media item area 914 now includes a representation of the current scene shown in viewfinder area 906, illustrating that device 900 captured a media item); and
in response to third touch information, determining that the user performs a continuous shooting operation or a sliding operation, and canceling generating the first thumbnail (Paragraph 250, FIG. 9H illustrates device 900 continuing to detect touch input 940 until after the threshold time has passed, however before the movement criteria has been met. Thus, input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9H shows that the user input 940 has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), but has been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: PASSED). Similar to the example describe above in FIGS. 9D-9F, in response to a touch input that is detected for longer than a threshold period, device 900 has begun capturing (e.g., recording) a video (e.g., an exemplary second type of media). In this example, touch input 940 is a touch input that is dragged from an initial location of contact (e.g., location of 910). As used herein a touch input that is “dragged” is also referred to as a touch input that “slides.” In FIG. 9H, touch input 940 has been dragged to the right of media capture affordance 910. In figs. 9H, 9I and 9J, the thumbnail generation area 914 is not displayed or in other words, the thumbnail generation has been canceled);
wherein the third touch information comprises that the user contacts the shooting control for a duration is longer than a preset duration (Paragraph 250, Paragraph 250, FIG. 9H illustrates device 900 continuing to detect touch input 940 until after the threshold time has passed, however before the movement criteria has been met. Thus, input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9H shows that the user input 940 has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), but has been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: PASSED). Similar to the example describe above in FIGS. 9D-9F, in response to a touch input that is detected for longer than a threshold period, device 900 has begun capturing (e.g., recording) a video (e.g., an exemplary second type of media). In this example, touch input 940 is a touch input that is dragged from an initial location of contact (e.g., location of 910). As used herein a touch input that is “dragged” is also referred to as a touch input that “slides.” In FIG. 9H, touch input 940 has been dragged to the right of media capture affordance 910).
Davydov fails to teach in response to first touch information, determining that the user presses the shooting control, and generating a first thumbnail before the user lifts a hand after pressing the shooting control. However Kijima teaches detecting pressing of the shutter button halfway down (S100) and completed adjustment of the diaphragm (S106), the camera 1 generates the thumbnail image data of the image data output from the image capturing section 10 and starts processing for recording the image data into the ring buffer 32 in association with the thumbnail image data (S108-2). Subsequently, upon detection of pressing of the shutter button all the way down, the camera 1 stops processing for recording image data into the ring buffer 32, and displays the thumbnail image data recorded in the ring buffer 32 on the screen (S114-2). The manner of displaying image data on the screen is as mentioned previously (Paragraph 49).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov and Kijima, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have in response to first touch information, determining that the user presses the shooting control, and generating a first thumbnail before the user lifts a hand after pressing the shooting control in order to as a result of thumbnail image data having been generated and recorded in the ring buffer in advance, the time required to display a list of frames of image data and display a plurality of images side by side can be shortened (Paragraph 50).
[Claim 16]
Davydov teaches wherein before the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region, the method further comprises: generating a second thumbnail; and replacing the first thumbnail with the second thumbnail; wherein the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region comprises: displaying the second thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (It would be clear to a person of ordinary skill that when the user takes another image, the first thumbnail would be replaced by another thumbnail).
[Claims 20]
Davydov teaches wherein the electronic device comprises a memory storing a camera application a processor, and wherein the generating the first thumbnail comprises:
controlling, by the camera application (fig. 4a shows a camera app 430), the processor to generate the first thumbnail and feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application; wherein the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region comprises controlling, by the camera application, the electronic device to display the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (Paragraph 244, In FIG. 9B, device 900 receives user input 920, which is a touch input at a location on touch screen display 902 corresponding to media capture affordance 910. As shown in input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9B, the user input 920 (also referred to as touch input 920) has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), and has not been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: NOT PASSED). In this example, device 900 ceases to detect touch input 920 (e.g., due to liftoff of the input) before the movement criteria has been met and before the threshold time has passed. Thus, in this example, touch input 920 is a tap input gesture. Therefore thumbnail is just generated).
[Claim 23]
Davydov teaches wherein the controlling, by the camera application, the processor to generate the first thumbnail comprises: sending, by the camera application, a first event to the processor, wherein the first event indicates to generate the thumbnail; obtaining, by the processor, the photo frame sequence based on frame sequence information (Paragraph 244, In FIG. 9B, device 900 receives user input 920, which is a touch input at a location on touch screen display 902 corresponding to media capture affordance 910. As shown in input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9B, the user input 920 (also referred to as touch input 920) has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), and has not been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: NOT PASSED). In this example, device 900 ceases to detect touch input 920 (e.g., due to liftoff of the input) before the movement criteria has been met and before the threshold time has passed. Thus, in this example, touch input 920 is a tap input gesture. Therefore thumbnail is just generated).
[Claim 25]
Davydov teaches wherein the feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application comprises sending, by the camera application, a second event to the processor, wherein the second event indicates to display the first thumbnail; and feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application in response to the second event (FIG. 9C illustrates device 900 after liftoff of touch input 920. In FIG. 9C, media capture interface 904 returns to the same state as shown in FIG. 9A, however last captured media item area 914 now includes a representation of the current scene shown in viewfinder area 906, illustrating that device 900 captured a media item).
[Claim 26]
Davydov teaches wherein the method further comprises: based on an operation performed by the user in the shooting interface being a continuous shooting operation or a sliding operation, sending, by the camera application, a canceling instruction to the processor, wherein the canceling instruction indicates to cancel generation of the first thumbnail; and based on the processor receiving the canceling instruction, not feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application (Paragraph 250, FIG. 9H illustrates device 900 continuing to detect touch input 940 until after the threshold time has passed, however before the movement criteria has been met. Thus, input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9H shows that the user input 940 has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), but has been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: PASSED). Similar to the example describe above in FIGS. 9D-9F, in response to a touch input that is detected for longer than a threshold period, device 900 has begun capturing (e.g., recording) a video (e.g., an exemplary second type of media). In this example, touch input 940 is a touch input that is dragged from an initial location of contact (e.g., location of 910). As used herein a touch input that is “dragged” is also referred to as a touch input that “slides.” In FIG. 9H, touch input 940 has been dragged to the right of media capture affordance 910. In figs. 9H, 9I and 9J, the thumbnail generation area 914 is not displayed or in other words, the thumbnail generation has been canceled).
[Claims 31-32]
These are apparatus and computer readable claims corresponding to method claim 13 and are therefore analyzed and rejected based upon methos claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17-19, 21, 22, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US PGPUB 20190250812), Kijima (US PGPUB 20080198243) and further in view of Gupta et al. (US PGPUB 20150310585).
[Claim 14]
Davydov in view of Kijima fails to teach wherein the first thumbnail is generated based on a target frame, and the target frame is a photo with a highest clarity in a photo frame sequence. However Gupta teaches in FIG. 6 illustrates an example of an image and its representative thumbnail image, according to one or more embodiments. The original photograph 602 may be of a different size than other photographs in a collection or gallery. Alternatively, the photograph may be loaded in a photo alteration application, where the output of one or more “Effects” can be previewed simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 6, the effects side-pane 604 contains various effects such as saturating the image, converting the image to grayscale, focusing the image, and the like. The photograph 602 is previewed as a thumbnail image 606. The image processing module 112 recognized that there was a face in the photograph 602 and created a representative area around the face. The photograph 602 was cropped to the representative area to show the important regions of the photograph, enabling a user of the alteration application to conveniently see how the chosen effect impacts the most important regions of the photograph 602, as opposed to the thumbnail 608. Thumbnail 608 is generated based on a method called center cropping, where a fixed width and length of pixels from the center are selected as the representative portion of the image. The difference between thumbnail 606 and 608 is apparent—the person in thumbnail 608 is cut off, while in thumbnail 606, the person is the primary focal point (Paragraph 56).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov, Kijima and Gupta, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have the first thumbnail is generated based on a target frame, and the target frame is a photo with a highest clarity in a photo frame sequence in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
[Claim 15]
Gupta teach wherein the target frame is determined based on a shooting parameter of each photo in the photo frame sequence, and the shooting parameter comprises a focus value and photosensitivity (Paragraph 28, If several faces are blurred and one or two faces are more in focus, those one or two faces that are more in focus are given a greater weight. The greater weight indicates that if the image were to be cropped to form a thumbnail, those faces would be more important to show than smaller or more blurred faces and Paragraph 48, For example, the faces may be judged according to size, focus, location, or the like. Those faces which are larger are considered more important than those faces that are smaller. Those faces which are in focus are considered more important than blurred faces) in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
[Claim 17]
Davydov teaches wherein before the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region, the method further comprises generating a second thumbnail; and
replacing the first thumbnail with the second thumbnail; wherein the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region comprises displaying the second thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (It would be clear that when the user takes another image, the first thumbnail would be replaced by another thumbnail).
[Claim 18]
Davydov fails to teach wherein the second thumbnail is obtained based on fusion of highest clarity regions of each photo in the photo frame sequence, and a clarity of the second thumbnail is higher than a clarity of the first thumbnail. However Gupta teaches FIG. 6 illustrates an example of an image and its representative thumbnail image, according to one or more embodiments. The original photograph 602 may be of a different size than other photographs in a collection or gallery. Alternatively, the photograph may be loaded in a photo alteration application, where the output of one or more “Effects” can be previewed simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 6, the effects side-pane 604 contains various effects such as saturating the image, converting the image to grayscale, focusing the image, and the like. The photograph 602 is previewed as a thumbnail image 606. The image processing module 112 recognized that there was a face in the photograph 602 and created a representative area around the face. The photograph 602 was cropped to the representative area to show the important regions of the photograph, enabling a user of the alteration application to conveniently see how the chosen effect impacts the most important regions of the photograph 602, as opposed to the thumbnail 608. Thumbnail 608 is generated based on a method called center cropping, where a fixed width and length of pixels from the center are selected as the representative portion of the image. The difference between thumbnail 606 and 608 is apparent—the person in thumbnail 608 is cut off, while in thumbnail 606, the person is the primary focal point (Paragraph 56).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov and Gupta, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have the second thumbnail is obtained based on fusion of highest clarity regions of each photo in the photo frame sequence, and a clarity of the second thumbnail is higher than a clarity of the first thumbnail in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
[Claim 19]
Gupta teaches wherein the second thumbnail is obtained based on fusion of highest clarity regions of each photo in the photo frame sequence, and a clarity of the second thumbnail is higher than a clarity of the first thumbnail (Paragraph 57, he grid in side-pane 604 represents uniformly generated thumbnails of the photograph 602. In other examples, different photos of different sizes may be represented uniformly in a gallery grid of images. In the photograph 602, if an effect is applied, a user would most likely want to see how the face of the person photographed is impacted. Therefore, the thumbnail generation described above with references to FIGS. 1-4 generates the previews shown in side-pane 604, showing how each effect would impact the user's face. Alternatively, if the photograph 602 contained an image of a boat, for example, the edges of the boat would be detected as described in FIGS. 1 and 5, and the generated thumbnail would show an image of the boat closely cropped, so that the user can see the effect of a particular filter on the important region of the photograph, i.e., the boat) in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
[Claims 21-22]
Davydov teaches wherein the electronic device comprises a memory storing a camera application a processor, and wherein the generating the first thumbnail comprises:
controlling, by the camera application (fig. 4a shows a camera app 430), the processor to generate the first thumbnail and feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application; wherein the displaying the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region comprises controlling, by the camera application, the electronic device to display the first thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (Paragraph 244, In FIG. 9B, device 900 receives user input 920, which is a touch input at a location on touch screen display 902 corresponding to media capture affordance 910. As shown in input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9B, the user input 920 (also referred to as touch input 920) has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), and has not been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: NOT PASSED). In this example, device 900 ceases to detect touch input 920 (e.g., due to liftoff of the input) before the movement criteria has been met and before the threshold time has passed. Thus, in this example, touch input 920 is a tap input gesture. Therefore thumbnail is just generated).
[Claim 24]
Davydov teaches wherein the controlling, by the camera application, the processor to generate the first thumbnail comprises: sending, by the camera application, a first event to the processor, wherein the first event indicates to generate the thumbnail; obtaining, by the processor, the photo frame sequence based on frame sequence information (Paragraph 244, In FIG. 9B, device 900 receives user input 920, which is a touch input at a location on touch screen display 902 corresponding to media capture affordance 910. As shown in input characteristic box 901 of FIG. 9B, the user input 920 (also referred to as touch input 920) has not met movement criteria (MOVEMENT CRITERIA: NOT MET), and has not been detected for longer than a threshold amount of time (THRESHOLD TIME: NOT PASSED). In this example, device 900 ceases to detect touch input 920 (e.g., due to liftoff of the input) before the movement criteria has been met and before the threshold time has passed. Thus, in this example, touch input 920 is a tap input gesture. Therefore thumbnail is just generated).
Davydov in view of Kijima fails to teach wherein the photo frame sequence comprises at least two photos; selecting, by the processor, a target frame from the photo frame sequence; generating, by the processor, the first thumbnail based on the target frame. However Gupta teaches in FIG. 6 illustrates an example of an image and its representative thumbnail image, according to one or more embodiments. The original photograph 602 may be of a different size than other photographs in a collection or gallery. Alternatively, the photograph may be loaded in a photo alteration application, where the output of one or more “Effects” can be previewed simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 6, the effects side-pane 604 contains various effects such as saturating the image, converting the image to grayscale, focusing the image, and the like. The photograph 602 is previewed as a thumbnail image 606. The image processing module 112 recognized that there was a face in the photograph 602 and created a representative area around the face. The photograph 602 was cropped to the representative area to show the important regions of the photograph, enabling a user of the alteration application to conveniently see how the chosen effect impacts the most important regions of the photograph 602, as opposed to the thumbnail 608. Thumbnail 608 is generated based on a method called center cropping, where a fixed width and length of pixels from the center are selected as the representative portion of the image. The difference between thumbnail 606 and 608 is apparent—the person in thumbnail 608 is cut off, while in thumbnail 606, the person is the primary focal point (Paragraph 56).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov, Kijima and Gupta, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have wherein the photo frame sequence comprises at least two photos; selecting, by the processor, a target frame from the photo frame sequence; generating, by the processor, the first thumbnail based on the target frame in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
[Claim 30]
Davydov in view of Kijima fails to teach wherein the electronic device further comprises an event processing interface, and the sending, by the camera application, the first event to the processor comprises: sending, by the camera application, the first event to the processor via the event processing interface.
However Gupta teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises an event processing interface, and the sending, by the camera application, the first event to the processor comprises: sending, by the camera application, the first event to the processor via the event processing interface (Paragraph 56, However Gupta teaches in FIG. 6 illustrates an example of an image and its representative thumbnail image, according to one or more embodiments. The original photograph 602 may be of a different size than other photographs in a collection or gallery. Alternatively, the photograph may be loaded in a photo alteration application, where the output of one or more “Effects” can be previewed simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 6, the effects side-pane 604 contains various effects such as saturating the image, converting the image to grayscale, focusing the image, and the like. The photograph 602 is previewed as a thumbnail image 606. The image processing module 112 recognized that there was a face in the photograph 602 and created a representative area around the face. The photograph 602 was cropped to the representative area to show the important regions of the photograph, enabling a user of the alteration application to conveniently see how the chosen effect impacts the most important regions of the photograph 602, as opposed to the thumbnail 608. Thumbnail 608 is generated based on a method called center cropping, where a fixed width and length of pixels from the center are selected as the representative portion of the image. The difference between thumbnail 606 and 608 is apparent—the person in thumbnail 608 is cut off, while in thumbnail 606, the person is the primary focal point) in order to have the best quality thumbnail for viewing by the user.
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov, Kijima and Gupta, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to an event processing interface to send by the camera application the first event to the processor comprises sending, by the camera application, the first event to the processor via the event processing interface in order to execute the event quickly and efficiently.
Claim(s) 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US PGPUB 20190250812), Kijima (US PGPUB 20080198243) and in further view of Tanaka et al. (US PGPUB 20050146621).
[Claims 27 and 28]
Davydov in view of Kijima fails to teach wherein the electronic device further comprises a gallery application stored in the memory, and after the feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application, the method further comprises: sending, by the camera application, the first thumbnail to the gallery application; storing, by the gallery application, the first thumbnail; generating, by the processor, the second thumbnail based on the photo frame sequence; sending, by the processor, the second thumbnail to the gallery application; and replacing, by the gallery application, the first thumbnail with the second thumbnail. However Tanaka teaches In step S359, display data and thumbnail data are created by using the raw data having undergone the processing executed in either of, or both of steps S356 and S358. This data creation processing, which is identical to that executed in step S337 in FIG. 34, is to be described in detail later. In step S360, the original thumbnail data are overwritten with the thumbnail data created in step S359, thereby updating the stored data. In step S361, the original display data are overwritten with the display data created in step S359, thereby updating the stored data (Paragraph 358).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Davydov, Kijima and Tanaka, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have a gallery application stored in the memory, and after the feeding back, by the processor, the first thumbnail to the camera application, the method further comprises: sending, by the camera application, the first thumbnail to the gallery application; storing, by the gallery application, the first thumbnail; generating, by the processor, the second thumbnail based on the photo frame sequence; sending, by the processor, the second thumbnail to the gallery application; and replacing, by the gallery application, the first thumbnail with the second thumbnail in order to have the latest thumbnail be used for viewing by the user giving the user an idea about the quality of the image.
[Claim 29]
Tanaka teaches wherein after the replacing, by the gallery application, the first thumbnail with the second thumbnail, the method further comprises when the electronic device displays the shooting interface, obtaining, by the camera application, the second thumbnail from the gallery application; and controlling, by the camera application, the electronic device to display the second thumbnail in the thumbnail display region (Paragraph 358, In step S359, display data and thumbnail data are created by using the raw data having undergone the processing executed in either of, or both of steps S356 and S358. This data creation processing, which is identical to that executed in step S337 in FIG. 34, is to be described in detail later. In step S360, the original thumbnail data are overwritten with the thumbnail data created in step S359, thereby updating the stored data. In step S361, the original display data are overwritten with the display data created in step S359, thereby updating the stored data) in order to have the latest thumbnail be used for viewing by the user giving the user an idea about the quality of the image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOGESH K AGGARWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637