DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on August 13, 2024, February 17, 2025 and May 13, 2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Twenty-Six (26) sheets of drawings were filed on August 13, 2024.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the splice holder in the second interior work surface of claim 2 and the optical cable and outerjacket of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is
advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of
each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in
order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding “…the second piece including a second surface…” “Second surface” should be changed to “second work surface” to correct antecedent bases issues.
Appropriate actions is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 13-14, 16, 18, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg.
Regarding claim 1, Holmberg discloses an optical fiber management tray assembly (FIGs. 19-22. adapter trays 130), comprising: a closed configuration (FIG.19) defining an assembly interior (FIG. 20) and an assembly exterior (FIG. 19); an access configuration (FIG. 20); a first piece (base 182) configured to pivotally attach (Par. [0051]) to a tray support (Shaft 136) and including a first interior work surface (See annotated FIG. 20); and a second piece (cover 184) pivotally attached to the first piece (Par. [0052]: base 182 hingedly connected to 184. It is known that all hinges inherently pivot) and including a second interior work surface (See annotate FIG. 20) , the first interior work surface and the second interior work surface defining the assembly interior and facing each other when the assembly is in the closed configuration (When the cover 184 closes on the base 182, the interior work surface as seen in annotated FIG. 20, would be facing each other); and a fiber management component integral with or attached to the second interior work surface (Based on Par. [0098] of the publication of the present application, US 2025/0147258 A1, fiber management component can include splice holders, signal splitters, wave division multiplexers, and/or adaptors; fingers 193, intermating connectors 172, and adapter mounts 186 of Holmberg can be considered fiber management components) , the fiber management component being: positioned in the assembly interior (lower side 190) when the assembly is in the closed configuration (FIG. 20 and 21); and accessible when the assembly is in the access configuration (Par. [0052]: outgoing mating connectors 172 are accessible at the opposite, lower side 190 of cover 184 and intermating connectors 172 mounted on lower side 190 are visible when cover 184 is in the open position).
Regarding claim 3, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses the fiber management component includes a fiber routing structure or a fiber retaining lip (fingers 193).
Regarding claim 4, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses the fiber management component includes an adapter (adapter mount 186) configured to optically couple optical fibers (cables 194) terminated at optical fiber connectors (intermating connectors 172) when the connectors are mounted in the adapter (FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 5, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 4. Holmberg further discloses the first piece includes a recess or a material void within the first interior work surface (The area of the interior that is lower than the outer rim of 182 and above the components 196 and 198, is considered to be a material void within the work surface), the adapter or a housing of the adapter being positioned in the recess or the material void when the assembly is in the closed configuration (A shown in FIG. 21, the adapter housing 186 extends beyond the lower side 190 of cover 184. Thus, in order to close, the adapter is necessarily positioned in the material void in the closed configuration).
Regarding claim 6, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses another fiber management component (Based on Par. [0098] of the publication of the present application, US 2025/0147258 A1, fiber management component can include splice holders, signal splitters, wave division multiplexers, and/or adaptors; fingers 196 and cable slack storage spools 198 can be considered fiber management components) is integral with or attached to the first interior work surface (see annotated FIG. 20).
Regarding claim 7, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 6. Holmberg further discloses the another fiber management component includes a fiber routing structure (cable slack storage spools 198) or a fiber retaining lip (fingers 196) (FIG. 20).
Regarding claim 8, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses at least a portion of the second piece nests within an outer wall of the first piece when the assembly is in the closed configuration (See annotated FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 10, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses the first piece (base 182) is configured to pivotally attach (Par. [0051]) to the tray support (shaft 136) at a first hinge (hinge structure 180) ; and wherein the second piece (cover 184) is pivotally attached to the first piece (base 182) at a second hinge (Par. ]0052]: Main housing 176 is formed from a base 182 and a hingedly connected cover 184).
Regarding claim 13, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 10. Holmberg further discloses the first piece (base 182) and/or the second piece includes a fiber passage (Par. [0055]: cables 194 are led into base portion 182) for routing an optical fiber through the fiber passage. between the first interior work surface (base 182) and the second interior work surface (Cover 184. See annotated FIG. 20).
Regarding claim 14, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 13. Holmberg further discloses the fiber passage is not defined by the second hinge (See annotate FIG. 20. This limitation is interpreted as the fiber passage is not routed through the second hinge).
Regarding claim 16, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses the first piece (base 182) is a fiber management tray (Par. [0055]: Base portion 182 also includes cable storage and management structures); and wherein the second piece (Cover 184) is a tray cover for covering an interior of the fiber management tray (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses the tray support (shaft 136), wherein the tray assembly (adapter trays 130) is pivotally attached to the tray support (Par. [0051]) in a stack of trays, each of the trays being pivotally attached to the tray support (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Holmberg device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a method of using the assembly of claim 18, comprising: pivoting one of the trays (adapter tray 130) in the stack in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction relative to the tray support (Par. [0050-0051]) ; and, subsequent thereto, pivoting the second piece (cover 184) in the other of the clockwise or counterclockwise direction relative to the first piece (base 182) to access the second interior work surface (Par. [0052]) .
Regarding claim 24, Holmberg discloses an optical fiber management tray assembly (FIGs. 19-22. Adapter trays 130), comprising: a closed configuration defining an assembly interior and an assembly exterior (FIG. 19) ; an access configuration (FIG. 20) ; a first piece (base 182) configured to pivotally attach (Par. [0051]) to a tray support (shaft 136) and including a first work surface (See annotated FIG. 20) and a first fiber retaining lip for retaining an optical fiber between the first work surface and the first fiber retaining lip (Fingers 196. FIG. 20) ; and a second piece (cover 184) pivotally attached to the first piece at a hinge positioned (Par. ]0052]: Main housing 176 is formed from a base 182 and a hingedly connected cover 184) at or exterior to an outer wall of the second piece and positioned at or exterior to an outer wall of the first piece (FIG. 20), the second piece including a second surface (see annotated FIG. 20) and a second fiber retaining lip for retaining the optical fiber between the second work surface and the second fiber retaining lip (Fingers 193. FIG. 20), wherein the second piece includes a fiber passage for routing the optical fiber through the fiber passage from the second work surface to the first work surface (see annotated FIG. 20) ; and wherein the fiber passage is not defined by the hinge (See annotate FIG. 20. This limitation is interpreted as the fiber passage is not routed through the second hinge).
Regarding claim 25, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 24. Holmberg further discloses the first piece (base 184) is a fiber management tray (Based on Par. [0098] of the publication of the present application, US 2025/0147258 A1, fiber management component can include splice holders, signal splitters, wave division multiplexers, and/or adaptors; fingers 196 and cable slack storage spools 198 can be considered fiber management components); and wherein the second piece (Cover 184) is a tray cover for covering an interior of the fiber management tray (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 26, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 24. Holmberg further discloses at least a portion of the second piece nests within an outer wall of the first piece when the assembly is in the closed configuration (See annotated FIG. 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Vastmans et al. (US20040175090A1), hereafter Vastmans.
Regarding claim 2, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses cable 200 may be spliced to an output cable within tray 130 (Par. [0055]: multi-fiber ribbon cable 200 may be spliced to an output customer cable within tray 130). Holmberg fails to disclose the fiber management component includes a splice holder.
Vastmans teaches the fiber management component includes a splice holder (Splice holder 17 in the main tray 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg with the splice holder of Vastmans in the second piece for organizing and protecting fiber splices inside the tray.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Bran De Leon et al. (US20110299823A1), hereafter Bran De Leon.
Regarding claim 9, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a first (base 182) and second piece (cover 184). Holmberg fails to disclose the first piece and the second piece include complementary locking elements to releasably lock the first piece and the second piece together in the closed configuration.
Bran De Leon discloses the first piece (splice tray 100) and the second piece (Cover 150) include complementary locking elements (latches 115 and recesses 154) and to releasably lock the first piece and the second piece together in the closed configuration (FIG. 11. Par. [0092]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the device of Holmberg with the locking mechanism of Bran De Leon to securely contain components within a fiber management tray and prevent displacement.
Claims 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Deipstraten et al. (WO2011131505A1), hereafter Diepstraten.
Regarding claim 11, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 10. Holmberg further discloses a first (hinge structure 180) and second hinge (Par. ]0052]: Main housing 176 is formed from a base 182 and a hingedly connected cover 184) when the assembly is in the closed configuration and pivotally mounted (Par. [0051]) to the support structure support (shaft 136). Holmberg fails to disclose the first hinge and the second hinge are at opposite ends of the assembly when the assembly is in the closed configuration.
Diepstraten teaches the first hinge (FIG. 1. hinge-base elements 126) and the second hinge (FIG. 5. lower and upper hinge 118 and 212) are at opposite ends of the assembly when the assembly is in the closed configuration (FIG. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg to have a first and second hinge on opposite ends of the assembly as taught by Deipstraten since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 11. Holmberg further discloses a second hinge (Par. [0052]: Main housing 176 is formed from a base 182 and a hingedly connected cover 184), a first interior work surface and a second interior work surface (see annotated FIG. 20). Holmberg fails to disclose the second hinge includes a fiber passage for routing an optical fiber through the fiber passage between the first interior work surface and the second interior work surface.
Diepstraten teaches the second hinge (FIG. 5. lower and upper hinge 118 and 212) includes a fiber passage for routing an optical fiber through the fiber passage between the first interior work surface and the second interior work surface (FIG. 5. Axial element 218. Column 8 lines 10-12).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg to include the fiber passage for routing an optical fiber between the work surfaces as taught by Diepstraten. This modification would have been obvious in order to securely route and protect the optical fiber from pinching, sharp bends, or mechanical damage when the hingedly connected cover of Holmberg is opened or closed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this combination. Applying the axial element and internal fiber passage of Diepstraten to Holmberg’s hinge structure involves only the predictable use of known mechanical elements to achieve organized cable management and smooth pivoting movement.
Regarding claim 17, Holmberg the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a second piece (cover 184) defines fiber entryway (See annotated FIG. 19) for routing optical fibers (distribution cables 148) form off the assembly onto the second piece (cover 184. Par. [0053]) . Holmberg fails to disclose the first piece defines fiber entryways for routing optical fibers from off the assembly onto the first interior work surface.
Diepstraten teaches the first piece (Lower tray 100) defines fiber entryways (lower entrance 152) for routing optical fibers from off the assembly onto the first interior work surface (front surface side 104. Column 9 lines 6-8).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device Holmberg with entryway in the first piece for routings optical fibers on the first interior work surface as taught by Diepstraten since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Simmons et al. (US20110052133A1) hereafter Simmons.
Regarding claim 15, Holmberg device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a second piece (cover 184) pivots away from a first piece (base 182). Holmberg fails to disclose a pivot stop configured to hinder pivoting of the second piece from the access configuration further away from the closed configuration.
Simmons teaches a pivot stop (stops 158) configured to hinder pivoting of the second piece (tray 150) from the access configuration further away from the closed configuration (FIG. 1A and 1B).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg with the pivot stop of Simmons because preventing over-rotation protects the hinge mechanism as taught by Simmons (Par. [0062]) and improves user convenience. Applying a known mechanical stop (Simmons’s stops) to a known hinged assembly (Holmberg's cover) yields entirely predictable results.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Solheid et al. (US20060093302A1), hereafter Solheid.
Regarding claim 19, Holmberg device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a telecommunications closure (telecommunication cabinet 100), comprising, first (enclosure 104) and second housing (Cover 104) pieces configured to define a sealable and re-enterable closure volume (Par. [0041]); the assembly of claim 18 positioned in the closure volume (FIG. 1); and an optical cable entering the closure (Input cable 112) , an outer jacket of the cable being fixed within the closure volume (Par. [0042]) , an optical fiber of the cable being routed to the first interior work surface and the second interior work surface (FIG. 20. Par. [0055]: customer equipment cables 194 are led into base portion 182 of tray 130). Holmberg fails to explicitly disclose the telecommunication closure is re-enterable.
Solheid teaches the telecommunication closure (cabinet 10) is re-enterable (Par. [0022]: Pivoting doors 16 provide front access to housing 12).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg with re-enterable means to facilitate routine maintenance access to the fiber management tray assembly.
Claim 20-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Solheid et al. (US20060093302A1), hereafter Solheid, and in further view of Simmons et al. (US 20110052133A1), hereafter Simmons.
Regarding claim 20, Holmberg/Solheid discloses the device of claim 19. Holmberg further discloses cable 200 may be spliced to an output cable within tray 130 (Par. [0055]: multi-fiber ribbon cable 200 may be spliced to an output customer cable within tray 130), a cable (input cable 116) and a fiber optic connector (fiber optic connectors 172). Holmberg fails to disclose the optical fiber includes a splice between a portion of the optical fiber extending from the cable and another portion of the fiber that is connectorized with a fiber optic connector.
Simmons discloses the optical fiber (cable 133) includes a splice (splice management insert 190) between a portion of the optical fiber extending from the cable (drop cable 130) and another portion of the fiber that is connectorized with a fiber optic connector (SC connector 138).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg to position a splice between the cable and the fiber optic connector as taught by Simmons because doing so protects delicate fiber connections while optimizing space inside the enclosure. Applying this configuration to Holmberg's tray structure provides a highly organized, modular layout that allows technicians to easily service, reconfigure, or replace individual fiber lines without disturbing the main input cable.
Regarding claim 21, Holmberg/Solheid discloses the device of claim 20. Holmberg further discloses fiber optic connectors (fiber optic connectors 172). Holmberg fails to disclose the connectors are SC connectors.
Simmons disclose the fiber optic connectors are SC connectors (SC connectors 138. Par. [0054]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connectors of Holmberg with the SC connectors as taught by Simmons, as SC connectors are a known type of standard fiber optic connector widely utilized in telecommunications and data networks due to their low cost, high durability, and simple push-pull latching mechanism.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select SC connectors from a finite number of predictable alternatives to achieve a reliable, standardized connection with low insertion loss. Therefore, substituting Holmberg’s generic fiber optic connectors with industry-standard SC connectors represents nothing more than the predictable application of known elements according to their established functions KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 22, Holmberg/Solheid discloses the device of claim 20. Holmberg further discloses the splice is supported in one of the trays in the stack (Par. [0055]: multi-fiber ribbon cable 200 may be spliced to an output customer cable within tray 130).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bran De Leon et al. (US20110299823A1), hereafter Bran De Leon.
Regarding claim 27, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 24. Holmberg further discloses a first (base 182) and second piece (cover 184). Holmberg fails to disclose the first piece and the second piece include complementary locking elements to releasably lock the first piece and the second piece together in the closed configuration.
Bran De Leon discloses the first piece (splice tray 100) and the second piece (Cover 150) include complementary locking elements (latches 115 and recesses 154) and to releasably lock the first piece and the second piece together in the closed configuration (FIG. 11. Par. [0092]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the device of Holmberg with the locking mechanism of Bran De Leon to securely contain components within a fiber management tray and prevent displacement.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Deipstraten et al. (WO2011131505A1), hereafter Diepstraten.
Regarding claim 28, Holmberg discloses the device of claim 24. Holmberg further discloses a first piece (base 182) is configured to pivotally attach to the tray support (shaft 136) at another hinge (hinge structure 180) when the assembly is in the closed configuration and pivotally mounted (Par. [0051]) to the support structure support (shaft 136). Holmberg fails to disclose the hinge and the another hinge are at opposite ends of the assembly when the assembly is in the closed configuration.
Diepstraten teaches the first hinge (FIG. 1. hinge-base elements 126) and the second hinge (FIG. 5. lower and upper hinge 118 and 212) are at opposite ends of the assembly when the assembly is in the closed configuration (FIG. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg to have a first and second hinge on opposite ends of the assembly as taught by Deipstraten since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 30, Holmberg the device of claim 1. Holmberg further discloses a second piece (cover 184) defines fiber entryway (See annotated FIG. 19) for routing optical fibers (distribution cables 148) form off the assembly onto the second piece (cover 184. Par. [0053]). Holmberg fails to disclose the first piece defines fiber entryways for routing optical fibers from off the assembly onto the first interior work surface.
Diepstraten teaches the first piece (Lower tray 100) defines fiber entryways (lower entrance 152) for routing optical fibers from off the assembly onto the first interior work surface (front surface side 104. Column 9 lines 6-8).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device Holmberg with entryway in the first piece for routings optical fibers on the first interior work surface as taught by Diepstraten since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al. (US 20080279522 A1), hereafter Holmberg as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Simmons et al. (US20110052133A1) hereafter Simmons.
Regarding claim 29, Holmberg device of claim 24. Holmberg further discloses a second piece (cover 184) pivots away from a first piece (base 182). Holmberg fails to disclose a pivot stop configured to hinder pivoting of the second piece from the access configuration further away from the closed configuration.
Simmons teaches a pivot stop (stops 158) configured to hinder pivoting of the second piece (tray 150) from the access configuration further away from the closed configuration (FIG. 1A and 1B).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Holmberg with the pivot stop of Simmons because preventing over-rotation protects the hinge mechanism as taught by Simmons (Par. [0062]) and improves user convenience. Applying a known mechanical stop (Simmons’s stops) to a known hinged assembly (Holmberg's cover) yields entirely predictable results.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874