DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 August 2024 was filed after the mailing date of the patent applications on 13 August 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 13 August 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10-11, 13, 15, 19-20, 22, 26-28, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20210391907 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a sending method for an assistance communication device, applied to the assistance communication device (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for a relay user equipment (UE) 910 to communicate as a relay between a base station (BS) 110 and a user equipment (UE) 905. Examiner correlates the relay UE to "an assistance communication device"), comprising:
obtaining indication information for the assistance communication device (¶95 & ¶101 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses obtaining, by the UE for transmission to the relay UE, sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) reporting set for the relay UE. Examiner correlates the SL CSI reporting set to "indication information"), wherein the indication information comprises at least one of channel state information (CSI) (¶109 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes channel quality information (CQI). Examiner correlates the CQI values of the SL CSI reporting sets to "channel state information (CSI)) or a sending scheme (¶109 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes precoding matrix indicator (PMI). Examiner correlates the PMI of the SL CSI reporting sets to "a sending scheme"); and
executing precoding for the assistance communication device based on the indication information, to implement transceiving of signals (¶110 & Fig. 9 (940), Wang discloses communicating, between the relay UE with the UE, communication signals where the communication signals are based upon a precoding matrix of the SL CSI report).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein obtaining indication information for the assistance communication device, comprises:
obtaining the indication information sent by a network device (¶95 & ¶101 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses obtaining, by the UE for transmission to the relay UE, SL CSI reporting sets sent by the BS 110. Examiner correlates the BS 110 to "a network device");
wherein the CSI comprises at least one of:
a precoding matrix;
a precoding matrix index (PMI) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a precoding matrix indicator (PMI));
an offset phase value;
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (R1-RSRP)); or
a direct or indirect identifier of a measurement reference signal, for indicating the measurement reference signal corresponding to the CSI.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein executing precoding for the assistance communication device based on the indication information, comprises:
in response to determining that the indication information is the sending scheme for the assistance communication device, executing directly the precoding for the assistance communication device based on the obtained sending scheme (¶110 & Fig. 9 (940), Wang discloses directly performing, by the relay UE for communication with the UE, precoding on communication based upon a precoding matrix of the SL CSI report); or
in response to determining that the indication information is the CSI, determining the sending scheme based on the CSI (¶110 & Fig. 9 (940), Wang discloses determining, by the relay UE, transmission parameters of the communication between the relay UE and the UE in response to determining values of the SL CSI report); and
executing the precoding for the assistance communication device based on the sending scheme (¶110 & Fig. 9 (940), Wang discloses communicating, by the relay UE with the UE, communication where the communication is based upon a precoding matrix of the SL CSI report in order to implement the transceiving of signals for communication).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the assistance communication device is a smart repeater (¶69-70 & Fig. 5, Wang discloses that the relay UE is a UE that forwards communication between the UE and the BS), and the sending scheme comprises at least one of precoding information or sending power information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)), and the precoding information comprises a precoding matrix index (PMI) (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses a sending method for at least one assistance communication device, applied to a network device (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for a relay user equipment (UE) 910 to communicate as a relay between a base station (BS) 110 and a user equipment (UE) 905), comprising:
sending indication information for the at least one assistance communication device to the at least one assistance communication device (¶95 & ¶101 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses transmitting, by the UE to the relay UE, sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) reporting set for the relay UE. Examiner correlates the SL CSI reporting set to "indication information"), wherein the indication information comprises at least one of channel state information (CSI) (¶109 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes channel quality information (CQI). Examiner correlates the CQI values of the SL CSI reporting sets to "channel state information (CSI)) or a sending scheme (¶109 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes precoding matrix indicator (PMI). Examiner correlates the PMI of the SL CSI reporting sets to "a sending scheme").
Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses the method of claim 10.
Wang further discloses wherein the CSI comprises at least one of:
a precoding matrix;
a precoding matrix index (PMI) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a precoding matrix indicator (PMI));
an offset phase value, for indicating a difference value between a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for the at least one assistance communication device and a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for a reference assistance communication device, wherein the reference assistance communication device is any one selected assistance communication device;
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (R1-RSRP)); or
a direct or indirect identifier of a measurement reference signal, for indicating the measurement reference signal corresponding to the CSI.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang discloses the method of claim 10.
Wang further discloses wherein before sending the indication information for the at least one assistance communication device to the at least one assistance communication device,
the method further comprises:
obtaining the CSI for the at least one assistance communication device from a terminal device (¶95 & ¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses obtaining, by the BS, the CSI values of the SL CSI reporting set before sending, by the BS to the UE, the SL CSI reporting set); and
one of determining the CSI for the at least one assistance communication device as the indication information (¶95 & ¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses determining, by the BS, the CQI of the SL CSI reporting set for the relay UE before sending, by the BS to the UE, the SL CSI reporting set), or determining, based on the CSI for the at least one assistance communication device, the sending scheme for the at least one assistance communication device, and
determining the sending scheme for the at least one assistance communication device as the indication information (¶95 & ¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses determining, by the BS, the PMI of the SL CSI reporting set for the relay UE before sending, by the BS to the UE, the SL CSI reporting set).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses the method of claim 10.
Wang further discloses wherein the at least one assistance communication device is a smart repeater (¶69-70 & Fig. 5, Wang discloses that the relay UE is a UE that forwards communication between the UE and the BS), and
the sending scheme comprises at least one of precoding information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)) or sending power information, and the precoding information comprises a precoding matrix index (PMI) (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang discloses a sending method for an assistance communication device, applied to a terminal device (¶114-127 & Fig. 10, Wang discloses a method for a relay user equipment (UE) 910 to communicate as a relay between a base station (BS) 110 and a user equipment (UE) 905. Examiner correlates "the relay UE" to "an assistance communication device". Examiner correlates "the UE" to "a terminal device"), comprising:
sending indication information for the assistance communication device to a network device (¶95 & ¶101 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses transmitting, by the UE to the BS via the relay UE, sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) report. Examiner correlates "indication information" to "SL CSI report". Examiner correlate "the BS" to "a network device"), wherein the indication information comprises channel state information (CSI) (¶109 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes channel quality information (CQI). Examiner correlates the CQI values of the SL CSI reporting sets to "channel state information (CSI)).
Regarding Claim 20, Wang discloses the method of claim 19.
Wang further discloses wherein the CSI comprises at least one of:
a precoding matrix;
a precoding matrix index (PMI) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a precoding matrix indicator (PMI));
an offset phase value, for indicating a difference value between a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for the assistance communication device and a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for a reference assistance communication device, wherein the reference assistance communication device is any one selected assistance communication device other than the assistance communication device;
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) (¶97 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses that the SL CSI reporting set includes a Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (R1-RSRP)); or
a direct or indirect identifier of a measurement reference signal, for indicating the measurement reference signal corresponding to the CSI.
Regarding Claim 22, Wang discloses the method of claim 19.
Wang further discloses wherein the sending indication information for the assistance communication device to the network device, comprises at least one of:
directly sending the indication information for the assistance communication device to the network device; or
sending, through the assistance communication device, the indication information for the assistance communication device to the network device (¶95 & ¶101 & Fig. 9 (915 & 920), Wang discloses transmitting, by the UE to the BS via the relay UE, sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) report. Examiner correlates "indication information" to "SL CSI report". Examiner correlate "the BS" to "a network device").
Regarding Claim 26, Wang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus, such as a base station or user equipment, comprising a processor and a memory), wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor, when executing the computer program stored in the memory, causes the processor to execute the method (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses the memory of the apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) of claim 1 (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 27, Wang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus, such as a base station or user equipment, comprising a processor and a memory), wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor, when executing the computer program stored in the memory, causes the processor to execute the method (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses the memory of the apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) claim 10 (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 28, Wang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus, such as a base station or user equipment, comprising a processor and a memory), wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor, when executing the computer program stored in the memory, causes the processor to execute the method (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses the memory of the apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) of claim 19 (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses the memory of Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 32, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method of (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising a memory including a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) claim 1 is implemented (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 33, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method of (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising a memory including a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) claim 10 is implemented (¶94-113 & Fig. 9, Wang discloses a method for Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 34, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method of (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising a memory including a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the processor to perform a method) claim 19 is implemented (¶157-159 & Fig. 13, Wang discloses the memory of Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Abedini et al. (US 20230119750 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses the method of Claim 1.
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the offset phase value for the assistance communication device is a difference value between a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for the assistance communication device and a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for a reference assistance communication device; wherein the reference assistance communication device is any one selected assistance communication device other than the assistance communication device.
Abedini, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the offset phase value for the assistance communication device is a difference value between a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for the assistance communication device and a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for a reference assistance communication device (¶115 & Fig. 11B & Fig. 8, Abedini discloses a phase offset value for the repeater where the phase offset is a phase offset for communications between the repeater and the base station and communications between the repeater and the UE); wherein the reference assistance communication device is any one selected assistance communication device other than the assistance communication device (¶115 & Fig. 11B & Fig. 8, Abedini discloses that the base station is a device other than the relay UE and the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by requiring that the offset phase value for the assistance communication device is a difference value between a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for the assistance communication device and a phase of transceiving signals on a channel for a reference assistance communication device where the reference assistance communication device is any one selected assistance communication device other than the assistance communication device as taught by Abedini because network coverage is improved by employing a repeater in a network (Abedini, ¶74).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Walker et al. (US 20240356625 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Walker”).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Wang further discloses the sending scheme comprises precoding information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)), and the precoding information comprises at least one of a precoding matrix index (PMI) or incident angle information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)).
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS).
Walker, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) (¶286, Cheng discloses that the relay UE is a reconfigurable intelligent surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by requiring that the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) as taught by Walker because beam redirection is improved by setting a relay state of a reconfigurable relay device (Walker, Abstract & ¶2-4).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses the method of claim 10.
Wang further discloses the sending scheme comprises precoding information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)), and the precoding information comprises at least one of a precoding matrix index (PMI) or incident angle information (¶109 & Fig. 9 (935), Wang discloses that the SL CSI report include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)).
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS).
Walker, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) (¶286, Cheng discloses that the relay UE is a reconfigurable intelligent surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by requiring that the assistance communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) as taught by Walker because beam redirection is improved by setting a relay state of a reconfigurable relay device (Walker, Abstract & ¶2-4).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474