DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 15-24 are is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the last line of claim 1, it is suggested that the “WD” be replaced with “wireless device (WD)”.
In the last line of claim 11, it is suggested that the “WD” be replaced with “wireless device (WD)”.
Claims 3, 5-10 and 21-24 are depending on claim 1, and claims 13 and 15-20 are depending on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1).
Consider claims 1 and 11:
Nilsson discloses a method for determining precoder weights to be applied to antenna elements of an array of antenna elements in a network node (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, where Nilsson describes a method performed by a radio transceiver device for beam management), the method comprising:
for each of a plurality of phase offset trial values (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0044, step S102, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device receives reference signals; see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0066, step S106, where Nilsson describes that the received reference signals are used to determine a set of phase adjustment settings):
determining a first reward in response to first phase offset trial value applied to each of at least one antenna element having a first polarization (see paragraph 0059, where Nilsson describes that the received reference signals include a first reference signal and a second reference signal, differ by a time delay value δ; see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049, step S102a, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device measures received power of the received first reference signal; see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0059-0061, where Nilsson describes that the first reference signal is transmitted through antenna element set 430a having a first polarization; Examiner’s note: on page 3, lines 8-9 of the Specification, Applicant states “the first reward is based at least in part on at least one mean value of reference signal received power”); and
determining a second reward in response to a second phase offset trial value applied to each of at least one antenna element having a second polarization (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049, step S102a, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device measures received power of the received second reference signal; see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0059-0061, where Nilsson describes that the second reference signal is transmitted through antenna element set 430b having a second polarization);
determining a subsequent first phase offset to be applied to each of the at least one antenna element having the first polarization based at least in part on the plurality of first rewards (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0066-0067, steps S106 and S108, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device determines a set of phase adjustment based on the measured received power and applies the set of phase adjustment to the phase shifters 450 which is connected to the antenna element set 430a having a first polarization) and based at least in part on a probable reward in response to the subsequent first phase offset (see paragraph 0073, where Nilsson describes that a phase shift will result in all possible polarization states; see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048, steps S102a and S102b, where Nilsson describes that a polarization state has a corresponding measured received power of the received first reference signal);
determining a subsequent second phase offset to be applied to each of the at least one antenna element having the second polarization based at least in part on the plurality of second rewards (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0066-0067, steps S106 and S108, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device determines a set of phase adjustment based on the measured received power and applies the set of phase adjustment to the phase shifters 450 which is connected to the antenna element set 430b having a second polarization) and based at least in part on a probable reward in response to the subsequent second phase offset (see paragraph 0073, where Nilsson describes that a phase shift will result in all possible polarization states; see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048, steps S102a and S102b, where Nilsson describes that a polarization state has a corresponding measured received signal power of the received second reference signal);
at least one of the first reward and the second reward being based at least in part on a feedback signal from each of at least one WD (see paragraph 0058, step S104, where Nilsson describes that a report is transmitted from a wireless device to indicate that the reference signal was received).
Nilsson does not specifically disclose: determining a subsequent phase offset being based at least in part on a Thompson sampling algorithm.
HE teaches: determining a subsequent adjustment being based at least in part on a Thompson sampling algorithm (see paragraph 0154, where HE describes selecting an MRTTHD adjustment value based on estimated distribution of already-observed MRTTHD adjustment value using Thompson sampling algorithm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: determining a subsequent phase offset being based at least in part on a Thompson sampling algorithm, as taught by HE to modify the method of Nilsson in order to give a highest reward, as discussed by HE (see paragraph 0154).
Consider claims 5 and 15:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. Nilsson discloses: the first reward is based at least in part on at least one mean value of reference signal received power, RSRP, received from at least one WD in a cell (see paragraph 0006, where Nilsson describes that a terminal device can measure average reference signal received power (RSRP) over two orthogonal polarizations).
Consider claims 9 and 19:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. Nilsson discloses: a subsequent phase offset corresponds to a phase offset of the plurality of phase offset trial values that provides a highest reward (see paragraph 0092, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device receives the reference signal CSI-RS and performs reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement to determine the highest RSRP; see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0066-0067, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device determines a set of phase adjustment based on the measured reference signal received power and applies the set of phase adjustment to the phase shifters 450).
Claims 3, 13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Balakrishnan et al. (US 2020/0019871 A1).
Consider claims 3 and 13:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. HE teaches: the Thompson sampling algorithm is configured to model the probable reward based at least in part on a distribution (see paragraph 0154, where HE describes selecting an MRTTHD adjustment value likely to give a highest reward based on an estimated distribution at a high probability using Thompson sampling algorithm).
HE does not specifically disclose: the distribution is a Gaussian distribution.
Balakrishnan teaches: a Gaussian distribution (see paragraph 0027, where Balakrishnan a Thompson sampling algorithm that can utilize Gaussian distribution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the distribution is a Gaussian distribution, as taught by Balakrishnan to modify the method of Nilsson and HE in order to execute various operations, as discussed by Balakrishnan (see paragraph 0027).
Consider claim 21:
Nilsson in view of HE and Balakrishnan discloses the method of claim 3 above. Nilsson discloses: the first reward is based at least in part on at least one mean value of reference signal received power, RSRP, received from at least one WD in a cell (see paragraph 0006, where Nilsson describes that a terminal device can measure average reference signal received power (RSRP) over two orthogonal polarizations).
Consider claim 23:
Nilsson in view of HE and Balakrishnan discloses the method of claim 3 above. Nilsson discloses: a subsequent phase offset corresponds to a phase offset of the plurality of phase offset trial values that provides a highest reward (see paragraph 0092, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device receives the reference signal CSI-RS and performs reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement to determine the highest RSRP; see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0066-0067, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device determines a set of phase adjustment based on the measured reference signal received power and applies the set of phase adjustment to the phase shifters 450).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1), as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US 2016/0162783 A1).
Consider claims 6 and 16:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 5 and 15 above. Nilsson discloses: the first reward is based at least in part on mean RSRP values (see paragraph 0006, where Nilsson describes that a terminal device can measure average reference signal received power (RSRP) over two orthogonal polarizations).
Nilsson does not specifically disclose: mean RSRP values that fall between two RSRP thresholds.
Tan teaches: mean RSRP values that fall between two RSRP thresholds (see paragraph 0183, where Tan describes an average RSRP which is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: mean RSRP values that fall between two RSRP thresholds, as taught by Tan to modify the method of Nilsson in order to represent a coverage status, as discussed by Tan (see paragraph 0183).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US 2016/0162783 A1).
Consider claims 7 and 17:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. Nilsson discloses: the second reward is based at least in part on a WD having a reference signal received power, RSRP (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049, step S102a, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device measures received power of the received second reference signal).
Nilsson does not specifically disclose: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold.
Tan teaches: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold (see Fig. 9 and paragraphs 0124-0125, where Tan describes a network system that includes a good coverage 902 and a weak coverage 904 which has a weak edge 906 that has a percentage of user equipment (UE) devices with corresponding RSRP values below a threshold, therefore, the good coverage 902 has a percentage of UE devices with corresponding RSRP values exceed the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold, as taught by Tan to modify the method of Nilsson in order to group like cells, as discussed by Tan (see paragraph 0123).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 2017/0141894 A1).
Consider claims 8 and 18:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. Nilsson does not specifically disclose: the plurality of phase offset trial values selected from a set of values within a range of zero to 360 degrees.
Wei teaches: a plurality of phase offset trial values selected from a set of values within a range of zero to 360 degrees (see Fig. 6A and paragraph 0048, where Wei describes a base station that transmits a reference signal in each of the 24 different time slots covering a range of 0-360 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the plurality of phase offset trial values selected from a set of values within a range of zero to 360 degrees, as taught by Wei to modify the method of Nilsson in order to concentrate power to discover all UEs, as discussed by Wei (see paragraph 0048).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0337931 A1).
Consider claims 10 and 20:
Nilsson in view of HE discloses the invention of claims 1 and 11 above. Nilsson does not specifically disclose: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained from applying a subsequent phase offset corresponding to the probability density function.
Wang teaches: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained corresponding to the probability density function (see paragraph 0056, where Wang describes that a user equipment (UE) calculates a probability density function which is associated with a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained from applying a subsequent phase offset corresponding to the probability density function, as taught by Wang to modify the method of Nilsson in order to provide a cell access selection value, as discussed by Wang (see paragraph 0056).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1) and Balakrishnan et al. (US 2020/0019871 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US 2016/0162783 A1).
Consider claim 22:
Nilsson in view of HE and Balakrishnan discloses the method of claim 3 above. Nilsson discloses: the second reward is based at least in part on a WD having a reference signal received power, RSRP (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049, step S102a, where Nilsson describes that the radio transceiver device measures received power of the received second reference signal).
Nilsson does not specifically disclose: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold.
Tan teaches: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold (see Fig. 9 and paragraphs 0124-0125, where Tan describes a network system that includes a good coverage 902 and a weak coverage 904 which has a weak edge 906 that has a percentage of user equipment (UE) devices with corresponding RSRP values below a threshold, therefore, the good coverage 902 has a percentage of UE devices with corresponding RSRP values exceed the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: a percentage of WDs having a reference signal received power, RSRP, that exceeds a threshold, as taught by Tan to modify the method of Nilsson in order to group like cells, as discussed by Tan (see paragraph 0123).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1) in view of HE et al. (US 2024/0205775 A1) and Balakrishnan et al. (US 2020/0019871 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0337931 A1).
Consider claim 24:
Nilsson in view of HE and Balakrishnan discloses the method of claim 3 above. Nilsson does not specifically disclose: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained from applying a subsequent phase offset corresponding to the probability density function.
Wang teaches: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained corresponding to the probability density function (see paragraph 0056, where Wang describes that a user equipment (UE) calculates a probability density function which is associated with a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: updating a probability density function based at least in part on a reward obtained from applying a subsequent phase offset corresponding to the probability density function, as taught by Wang to modify the method of Nilsson in order to provide a cell access selection value, as discussed by Wang (see paragraph 0056).
Conclusion
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631