DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on August 13, 2024 and June 05, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, numbers, and letters are not durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined in Figures 3 and 11-14 and the font in figures 2-10 is too small Figures 3 and 11-14 are all in grayscale which cause the lines, numbers, and letters to not be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on August 13, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on August 13, 2024. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-22, 26, and 29-30 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-22, 26, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2021230729 A1).
Consider claim 1, Lee et al. disclose a method of monitoring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP), performed by a first-type terminal and comprising:
monitoring N first-type initial downlink BWPs (“the base station provides two or more initial downlink BWPs for the cell, and the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3), where N=1. Specifically, the terminal may select “a second initial DL BWP supporting the second type of terminals based on its capability (A10)” (see page 19, paragraph 7)),
wherein the N is not greater than M (the selection is made from a set of two or more initial downlink BWPs, where M >= 2),
the first-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs specific to the first-type terminal (“the base station operating the cell can use the initial downlink BWP (Initial) that the R-UEs can use” (see page 19, paragraph 3)),
the N and the M are integers greater than 0 (N=1 and M >=2), and
the M indicates a maximum number of the first-type initial downlink BWPs configurable by a network device for the first-type terminal (see Figure 17, two initial DL BWPs are available to be configured by the UE).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lee et al. further disclose a wherein the M is not greater than 3 (see Figure 17, two initial DL BWPs are available to be configured by the UE).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving, in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages:
a system message, a random access message, or a paging message (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3)).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving first configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first configuration information relates to the N first-type initial downlink BWPs to be monitored by the first-type terminal (see Figure 17. The 1st System Info message includes “ a first CORESET setting and a first CSS setting related to control information for scheduling the first type SIB1 for the first type terminals from the MIB… Obtaining the second system information on the second DL BWP by the terminal is performed by applying a time/frequency offset to at least one of the first CORESET setting and the first CSS setting” (see page 32, paragraph 5-6)).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lee et al. further disclose monitoring
K second-type initial downlink BWPs (“The base station may transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal through a synchronization signal block (SSB) on the first DL BWP (e.g., BWP1 in FIG. 17) (D05). The UE may detect the PBCH signal through the SSB on the first DL BWP)” (see page 31, paragraph 5), where K=1. “The first DL BWP and the second DL BWP may be a first initial DL BWP and a second initial DL BWP, respectively” (see page 31, paragraph 8)),
wherein the second-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs usable by a second-type terminal (“The first DL BWP may be related to the bandwidth of the first type terminal” (see page 31, paragraph 9)),
a terminal capacity of the second-type terminal is greater than a terminal capacity of the first-type terminal (“The base station is a first type terminal (eg, Rel. 15/16 NR UE) and a second type terminal (eg, Rel. 17+ RedCap) with reduced performance (capability) to support a smaller bandwidth than the first type terminal UE) can be supported” (see page 31, paragraph 6)),
and the K is an integer greater than 0 (see Figure 17, K=1).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving, in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging massage (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of
the listed message types); or
receiving, in one of the K second-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging message (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 6 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving a random access message in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, and receiving a system message and a paging message in one or two of the K second- type initial downlink BWPs (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 6 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving a random access message and a paging message in one of the N first- type initial downlink BWPs, and receiving a system message in one of the K second-type initial downlink BWPs (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 6 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving a paging message in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types), and
receiving a random access message and a system message in one or two of the K second-type initial downlink BWPs (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lee et al. further disclose receiving, in at least one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging massage (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types); and
not monitoring K second-type initial downlink BWPs (“The terminal performs BWP-switching from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP based on the fact that the terminal is a second type terminal whose performance is reduced to support a smaller bandwidth than the first type terminal (D15)” (see page 31, paragraph 7). Inherently, switching to the second DL BWP indicates that the first DL BWP is not being monitored),wherein the second-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs usable by a second-type terminal (“The first DL BWP may be related to the bandwidth of the first type terminal” (see page 31, paragraph 9)), a terminal capacity of the second-type terminal is greater than a terminal capacity of the first-type terminal (“The base station is a first type terminal (eg, Rel. 15/16 NR UE) and a second type terminal (eg, Rel. 17+ RedCap) with reduced performance (capability) to support a smaller bandwidth than the first type terminal UE) can be supported” (see page 31, paragraph 6)), and the K is an integer greater than 0 (see Figure 17, K=1).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 5 above, Lee et al. further disclose wherein the first configuration information further relates to K second-type initial downlink BWPs to be monitored by the first-type terminal (see Figure 17. The 1st System Info message includes “obtaining a first CORESET setting and a first CSS setting related to control information for scheduling the first type SIB1 for the first type terminals from the MIB… Obtaining the second system information on the second DL BWP by the terminal is performed by applying a time/frequency offset to at least one of the first CORESET setting and the first CSS setting” (see page 32, paragraph 5-6)),
wherein the second-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs usable by a second-type terminal (“The first DL BWP may be related to the bandwidth of the first type terminal” (see page 31, paragraph 9)),
a terminal capacity of the second-type terminal is greater than a terminal capacity of the first-type terminal (“The base station is a first type terminal (eg, Rel. 15/16 NR UE) and a second type terminal (eg, Rel. 17+ RedCap) with reduced performance (capability) to support a smaller bandwidth than the first type terminal UE) can be supported” (see page 31, paragraph 6)),
and the K is an integer greater than 0 (see Figure 17, K=1).
Consider claim 15, Lee et al. disclose a method of monitoring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP), performed by a network device and comprising:
sending first configuration information to a first-type terminal (see Figure 17, the 1st System Info message),
wherein the first configuration information relates to N first-type initial downlink BWPs to be monitored by the first-type terminal (see Figure 17. The 1st System Info message includes “a first CORESET setting and a first CSS setting related to control information for scheduling the first type SIB1 for the first type terminals from the MIB… Obtaining the second system information on the second DL BWP by the terminal is performed by applying a time/frequency offset to at least one of the first CORESET setting and the first CSS setting” (see page 32, paragraph 5-6));
wherein the N is not greater than M (the selection is made from a set of two or more initial downlink BWPs, where M >= 2),
the first-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs specific to the first-type terminal (“the base station operating the cell can use the initial downlink BWP (Initial) that the R-UEs can use” (see page 19, paragraph 3)),
the N and the M are integers greater than 0 (N=1 and M >=2), and
the M indicates a maximum number of the first-type initial downlink BWPs configurable by the network device for the first-type terminal (see Figure 17, two initial DL BWPs are available to be configured by the UE).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Lee et al. further disclose wherein the M is not greater than 3 (see Figure 17, two initial DL BWPs are available to be configured by the UE).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 15 above, Lee et al. further disclose sending, in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging massage (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 15 above, Lee et al. further disclose wherein the first configuration information further relates to K second-type initial downlink BWPs to be monitored by the first-type terminal (“The base station may transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal through a synchronization signal block (SSB) on the first DL BWP (e.g., BWP1 in FIG. 17) (D05). The UE may detect the PBCH signal through the SSB on the first DL BWP)” (see page 31, paragraph 5), where K=1. “The first DL BWP and the second DL BWP may be a first initial DL BWP and a second initial DL BWP, respectively” (see page 31, paragraph 8)),
wherein the second-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs usable by a second-type terminal (“The first DL BWP may be related to the bandwidth of the first type terminal” (see page 31, paragraph 9)),
a terminal capacity of the second-type terminal is greater than a terminal capacity of the first-type terminal (“The base station is a first type terminal (eg, Rel. 15/16 NR UE) and a second type terminal (eg, Rel. 17+ RedCap) with reduced performance (capability) to support a smaller bandwidth than the first type terminal UE) can be supported” (see page 31, paragraph 6)),
and the K is an integer greater than 0 (see Figure 17, K=1).
Consider claim 21, and as applied to claim 19 above, Lee et al. further disclose sending, in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging message (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types); or
sending, in one of the K second-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages: a system message, a random access message, or a paging message (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 19 above, Lee et al. further disclose sending a random access message in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, and sending a system message and a paging message in one or two of the K second- type initial downlink BWPs (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types), or
sending a random access message and a paging message in one of the N first- type initial downlink BWPs, and sending a system message in one of the K second-type initial downlink
BWPs (see above, any distribution of the messages between the two DL BWPs is feasible), or
sending a random access message and a paging message in two of the N first- type initial downlink BWPs respectively, and sending a system message in one of the K second-type initial downlink BWPs (see above, any distribution of the messages between the two DL BWPs is feasible), or
sending a paging message in one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, and sending a random access message and a system message in one or two of the K second- type initial downlink BWPs (see above, any distribution of the messages between the two DL BWPs is feasible).
Consider claim 26, and as applied to claim 19 above, Lee et al. further disclose sending, in at least one of the N first-type initial downlink BWPs, at least one of following messages:
a system message, a random access message or a paging message (“the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3). Interpretably, either the first (K) or the second (N) DL BWP may be selected for transmission of the listed message types); and
not sending, in the second-type initial downlink BWPs, any one of following messages:
a system message, a random access message, and a paging message (see above, any distribution of the messages between the two DL BWPs is feasible).
Consider claim 29 Lee et al. disclose a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (see Figure 19, the processor 102 and memory 104),
wherein, the memory is configured to store computer programs (“the memory 104 may provide instructions for performing some or all of the processes controlled by the processor 102 , or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed herein” (see page 34, paragraph 1)); and
the processor is configured to execute the computer programs to implement (“The processor 102 controls the memory 104 and/or the transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed herein” (see Page 33, paragraph 6)):
monitoring N first-type initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) (“the base station provides two or more initial downlink BWPs for the cell, and the terminal selects one initial downlink BWP from among a plurality of initial downlink BWPs according to the capability it supports, and the cell's common channel (common channel) channel) and to propose a method of receiving system information, paging message, or random access response message through a common channel” (see page 19, paragraph 3), where N=1. Specifically, the terminal may select “a second initial DL BWP supporting the second type of terminals based on its capability (A10)” (see page 19, paragraph 7)),
wherein the N is not greater than M (the selection is made from a set of two or more initial downlink BWPs, where M >= 2),
the first-type initial downlink BWPs are initial downlink BWPs specific to a first-type terminal (“the base station operating the cell can use the initial downlink BWP (Initial) that the R-UEs can use” (see page 19, paragraph 3)),
the N and the M are integers greater than 0 (N=1 and M >=2), and
the M indicates a maximum number of the first-type initial downlink BWPs configurable
by a network device for the first-type terminal (see Figure 17, two initial DL BWPs are available to be configured by the UE).
Consider claim 30, and as applied to claim 15 above, Lee et al. further disclose a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (see Figure 19, the processor 202 and the memory 204),
wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs (“the memory 204 may provide instructions for performing some or all of the processes controlled by the processor 202 , or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed herein” (see page 34, paragraph 2)); and
the processor is configured to execute the computer programs to implement the method according to claims 15 (“The processor 202 controls the memory 204 and/or the transceiver 206 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed herein” (see page 34, paragraph 2)).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER WU/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642