DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: this claim appears to contain a typo stating “subscribing the change information”. It is recommended that this be changed to “subscribing to the change information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Publication US 2025/0184940 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a control method for service communication control, performed by a first network element (See the abstract, paragraph 3,paragraph 100, and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to a method of controlling a wireless service between a UE and a satellite performed by an access mobility and management function (AMF), which is a first network element). Kim et al. also discloses obtaining satellite coverage information of an area where a user equipment (UE) is located (See paragraphs 124-125 and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF determining a value of the satellite coverage area and/or last visited satellite service area of a UE). Kim et al. further discloses determining whether to perform service communication with the UE according to the satellite coverage information (See paragraphs 124-132 and Figures 6A-6B of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF determining whether the UE accesses the 5GC via satellite radio access, and in response to the information regarding the satellite coverage area, determining whether or not to transmit a periodic registration update timer value for performing a service between the UE and a satellite via a request PDU session).
With respect to claim 2, Kim et al. discloses wherein obtaining the satellite coverage information of the area where the UE is located comprises: receiving the satellite coverage information of the area where the UE is located from a second network element (See paragraphs 124-125 and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF receiving the information regarding the satellite coverage area and/or last visited satellite service area of a UE from a network data analytics function (NWDAF), which is a second network element). Kim et al. also discloses wherein the satellite coverage information comprises: time period information of satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located; or change information of the satellite signal coverage of the area where the UE is located (See paragraphs 98-99, paragraph 124, and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including both time duration, i.e. T1, T2, and T3, as well as changes in satellite cell coverage over different time durations corresponding to tracking areas in which the UE is located).
With respect to claim 3, Kim et al. discloses wherein the time period information of the satellite signal coverage comprises at least one of: start time information and duration information when the area where the UE is located is covered by satellite signals; or start time information and end time information when the area where the UE is located is covered by the satellite signals; start time information and duration information when the area where the UE is located is not covered by the satellite signals; or start time information and end time information when the area where the UE is located is not covered by the satellite signals (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including time durations T1, T2, and T3, which are time periods having defined start and end times as well as durations, as illustrated in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 4, Kim et al. discloses wherein the change information of the satellite signal coverage comprises at least one of: first change information, indicating that the area where the UE is located changes from being covered by satellite signals to not being covered by satellite signals; second change information, indicating that the area where the UE is located changes from not being covered by satellite signals to being covered by satellite signals (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including change of satellite coverage for different tracking areas of the UE including an indication of when the UE is in coverage of a satellite and when the UE is out of coverage, as illustrated in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 5, Kim et al. discloses sending a subscription request for subscribing to the change information of the satellite signal coverage to the second network element (See paragraph 92, paragraph 124, and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF requesting subscription to an analytics subscription service to the NWDAF for information regarding the satellite coverage of the UE).
With respect to claim 6, Kim et al. discloses wherein determining whether to perform the service communication with the UE according to the satellite coverage information comprises: performing the service communication with the UE when determining, according to the satellite coverage information, that the area where the UE is located is covered by satellite signals (See paragraphs 98-99, paragraphs 124-133, and Figures 5 and 6A-B of Kim et al. for reference to determining to perform a service corresponding to a requested PDU session between the UE and the satellite based on determining that the UE is in coverage of the satellite from the obtained satellite coverage information).
With respect to claim 9, Kim et al. discloses wherein the area where the UE is located comprises: a tracking area (TA) where the UE is located; or a satellite cell where the UE is located (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the area where the UE is located being a tracking area or a cell coverage area).
With respect to claim 10, Kim et al. discloses a method for service communication control, performed by a second network element (See the abstract, paragraph 3,paragraph 100, and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to a method of controlling a wireless service between a UE and a satellite performed by an network data analytics function (NWDAF), which is a second network element). Kim et al. also discloses sending satellite coverage information of an area where a user equipment (UE) is located to a first network element (See paragraphs 124-125 and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to sending satellite coverage area of a UE and/or a satellite service area the UE last visited to an access mobility and management function (AMF), which is a first network element). Kim et al. further discloses wherein the satellite coverage information is used by the first network element to perform service communication with the UE when the area where the UE is located is covered by satellite signals (See paragraphs 124-132 and Figures 6A-6B of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF determining whether the UE accesses the 5GC via satellite radio access, and in response to the information regarding the satellite coverage area, determining whether or not to transmit a periodic registration update timer value for performing a service between the UE and a satellite via a request PDU session).
With respect to claim 11, Kim et al. discloses wherein the satellite coverage information comprises: time period information of satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located; or change information of the satellite signal coverage of the area where the UE is located (See paragraphs 98-99, paragraph 124, and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including both time duration, i.e. T1, T2, and T3, as well as changes in satellite cell coverage over different time durations corresponding to tracking areas in which the UE is located).
With respect to claim 12, Kim et al. discloses receiving a subscription request sent by the first network element; and sending the satellite coverage information of the area where the UE is located to the first network element comprises: after receiving the subscription request, sending change information of satellite signal coverage of the area where the UE is located to the first network element when the satellite signal coverage of the area where the UE is located changes (See paragraph 92, paragraphs 98-99, paragraphs 124-125, and Figures 5 and 6A of Kim et al. for reference to the NWDAF receiving a subscription request message from the AMF for the satellite coverage information, wherein the NWDAF sends the information to the AMF after receiving the request, wherein the information includes change information of satellite coverage over time for the UE in different tracking areas where the UE is located).
With respect to claim 13, Kim et al. discloses wherein the time period information of the satellite signal coverage comprises at least one of: start time information and duration information when the area where the UE is located is covered by satellite signals; or start time information and end time information when the area where the UE is located is covered by the satellite signals; start time information and duration information when the area where the UE is located is not covered by the satellite signals; or start time information and end time information when the area where the UE is located is not covered by the satellite signals (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including time durations T1, T2, and T3, which are time periods having defined start and end times as well as durations, as illustrated in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 14, Kim et al. discloses wherein the change information of the satellite signal coverage comprises at least one of: first change information, indicating that the area where the UE is located changes from being covered by satellite signals to not being covered by satellite signals; second change information, indicating that the area where the UE is located changes from not being covered by satellite signals to being covered by satellite signals (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the satellite coverage information including change of satellite coverage for different tracking areas of the UE including an indication of when the UE is in coverage of a satellite and when the UE is out of coverage, as illustrated in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 15, Kim et al. discloses wherein the area where the UE is located comprises: a tracking area (TA) where the UE is located; or a satellite cell where the UE is located (See paragraphs 98-99 and Figure 5 of Kim et al. for reference to the area where the UE is located being a tracking area or a cell coverage area).
With respect to claim 19, Kim et al. discloses a communication device, comprising a transceiver; a memory storing a program; and, one or more processors that are communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein when the program when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to collectively perform a method (See the abstract, paragraphs 79-82, and Figure 2B of Kim et al. for reference to a core network entity, which is a communication device, comprising a communication unit, which is a transceiver, a storage unit, which is a memory, and a controller that may include at least one processor coupled to the communication unit and the storage unit, wherein the storage unit stores data such as programs read and executed by the controller). Kim et al. also discloses obtaining satellite coverage information of an area where a user equipment (UE) is located (See paragraphs 124-125 and Figure 6A of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF determining a value of the satellite coverage area and/or last visited satellite service area of a UE). Kim et al. further discloses determining whether to perform service communication with the UE according to the satellite coverage information (See paragraphs 124-132 and Figures 6A-6B of Kim et al. for reference to the AMF determining whether the UE accesses the 5GC via satellite radio access, and in response to the information regarding the satellite coverage area, determining whether or not to transmit a periodic registration update timer value for performing a service between the UE and a satellite via a request PDU session).
With respect to claim 20, Kim et al. discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing an executable program that when executed by a processor of the first network element, cause the first network element to perform the method claim 1 (See paragraphs 79-82 and Figure 2B of Kim et al. for reference to a core network element comprising a storage unit that may be a non-volatile memory, which is a non-transitory computer storage medium, and stores programs executed by a processor of a controller; Further see the rejection of claim 1 above for reference to the AMF performing the method steps).
With respect to claim 21, Kim et al. discloses a communication device, comprising: a transceiver; a memory storing a program; and one or more processors that are communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein program when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to collectively perform the method according to claim 10 (See the abstract, paragraphs 79-82, and Figure 2B of Kim et al. for reference to a core network entity, which is a communication device, comprising a communication unit, which is a transceiver, a storage unit, which is a memory, and a controller that may include at least one processor coupled to the communication unit and the storage unit, wherein the storage unit stores data such as programs read and executed by the controller; Further see the rejection of claim 10 above for reference to the NWDAF performing the method steps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Liao (U.S. Publication US 2022/0141662 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Kim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein performing the service communication with the UE comprises: performing a service authorization request to a second network element; and determining to start the service communication with the UE when receiving a service authorization success instruction sent by the second network element.
With respect to claim 16, Kim et al. does not disclose receiving a service authorization request sent by the first network element; when service communication between the first network element and the UE is allowed, sending a service authorization success instruction to the first network element, wherein the service authorization success instruction is used by the first network element to determine to start the service communication with the UE.
With further respect to claims 7 and 16, Liao, in the field of communications, discloses that authorization requests for services may be sent to a PCF, which is a network element, wherein the PCF may determine whether the request is allowed and notify the requesting device if the request is authorized or not (See paragraph 173 of Liao). Requesting and providing service authorization has the advantage of allowing the network to control whether or not specific requested services are authorized to be performed. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Liao, to combine requesting and providing service authorization, as suggested by Liao, within the system and method of Kim et al., with the motivation being to allow the network to control whether or not specific requested services are authorized to be performed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al..
With respect to claim 8, although Kim et al. does disclose the network element comprising an AMF (See paragraphs 124-125 of Kim et al.), Kim et al. does not specifically disclose the network element comprising an application function (AF). However, Kim et al. also discloses the network including an AF providing services (See paragraph 42 and Figure 1 of Kim et al.), wherein the AF may also request and use satellite coverage area and/or the satellite service area the UE last visited from the NWDAF to control services between the UE and the satellite when the UE is determined to be in coverage of the satellite (See paragraph 91, paragraph 118, and Figure 6A of Kim et al.). Thus, since Kim et al. discloses the same information obtained and used by its AMF also being obtained and used by an AF, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with these teachings of Kim et al., that the claimed functions could equally be performed by any network device having access to the satellite coverage information, such that the AF of Kim et al. may be the claimed network device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Ly et al. (U.S. Publication US 2023/0056442 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Kim et al. discloses that the second network element is a NWDAF (See paragraph 92, paragraph 124, and Figure 6A of Kim et al.), but does not disclose wherein the second network element comprises a policy control function (PCF). However, Ly et al., in the field of communications, discloses the functions of a NWDAF may be introduced within a PCF as an alternative (See paragraph 139 of Ly et al.). Thus, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Ly et al., that the NWDAF functions taught by Kim et al. could be equally performed by a PCF, as suggested by Ly et al. Such a design choice provides flexibility regarding where specific network functions are implemented.
Conclusion
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461