Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claim 71 have been fully considered. The objection of claim 71 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 16 and 71 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1, 16 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 1 and 16 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16-17, 21, 71-72, 76-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240314879 A1 (hereinafter Jeong), in view of US 20250150874 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches A relaxed measurement method, performed by a terminal
device, comprising (Jeong [0033] With reference to FIG. 1A, a radio access network of a next generation mobile communication system (new radio (NR)) may be composed of a new radio node B (hereinafter, gNB) 1a-10 and an access and mobility management entity (AMF, new radio core network) 1a-05. A new radio user equipment (hereinafter, NR UE or UE or terminal) 1a-15 may access an external network through the gNB 1a-10 and the AMF 1a-05.
[0010] One aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method and a device for performing a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system. In particular, the method and the device can greatly save energy consumption by enabling a terminal to perform the relaxed RRM measurement not only in an inactive mode or an idle mode but also in a connected mode.):
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the terminal device is
in an RRC connected state (Jeong [0012] receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode;
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0037] A connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) (1b-05) may mean a radio access state in which a UE can perform data transmission/reception.);
setting a reference value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) as a current measurement
value after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, and the reference value is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP (Jeong [0012] receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode; determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based the first information;
[0013] the first information may include information for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal.
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0015] determining may include determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based on at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP).
[0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration) (1g-25). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }
[0108] If the base station separately transmits the relaxedMeasurement_connected through a dedicate message in accordance with Table 8, the UE may determine whether to perform the relaxed RRM measurement or the normal RRM measurement by checking the relaxation criteria in the same method as that of Rel. 16 legacy (1g-30). In this case, if the UE is in the situation of DC/CA, it may average the RSRP/RSRQ values of a plurality of serving cells, and may use obtained values in the low-mobility criterion.
Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: After selecting or reselecting a new cell, or If (Srxlev − Srxlev_Ref) > 0, or If the relaxed measurement criterion has not been met for T_SearchDeltaP: The UE shall set the value of Srxlev_Ref to the current Srxlev value of the serving cell.);
Although Jeong teaches and setting a reference value of an RSRP as a current measurement
value, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP (Jeong [0012] receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode; determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based the first information;
[0013] the first information may include information for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal.
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0015] determining may include determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based on at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP).
[0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration) (1g-25). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }
[0108] If the base station separately transmits the relaxedMeasurement_connected through a dedicate message in accordance with Table 8, the UE may determine whether to perform the relaxed RRM measurement or the normal RRM measurement by checking the relaxation criteria in the same method as that of Rel. 16 legacy (1g-30). In this case, if the UE is in the situation of DC/CA, it may average the RSRP/RSRQ values of a plurality of serving cells, and may use obtained values in the low-mobility criterion.
Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: After selecting or reselecting a new cell, or If (Srxlev − Srxlev_Ref) > 0, or If the relaxed measurement criterion has not been met for T_SearchDeltaP: The UE shall set the value of Srxlev_Ref to the current Srxlev value of the serving cell.), Jeong does not explicitly teach initiating a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); setting measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync.
Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches initiating a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); setting measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync (Kim [0279] The RRC message (the RRCReconfiguration message (6-70)) may include configuration information for a cell group. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of a plurality of pieces information below, and may indicate, for the cell group, a state or procedure or configuration information application or release for each cell group.
[0294] Indicator indicating addition of cell group configuration or an indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync) indicating cell group modification or an indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync or newly defined indicator) indicating a random access procedure; [0295] Indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync or newly defined indicator) indicating whether to activate a cell group by performing a random access procedure.
[0170] If the UE performs the CBRA-based 2-step random access procedure, [0171] 4> the UE may transmit a preamble in a transport resource for 2-step random access (e.g., PRACH occasion, transport resource configured by the RRC message by the BS, or transport resource broadcast in the system information), and may transmit data (e.g., MsgA MAC PDU) in a transport resource for data transmission (e.g., PUSCH occasion).
[0160] the UE may apply the first channel measurement configuration information, and may perform a channel measurement procedure or a channel measurement reporting procedure until one of conditions below is satisfied. [0161] In a case where the UE successfully completes a random access procedure (a 4-step random access procedure or a 2-step random access procedure) in the cell (e.g., PCell or SCell or PSCell) or the cell (e.g., PSCell or SCell) of the cell group.).
By modifying Jeong’s teachings of and setting a reference value of an RSRP as a current
measurement value, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP,
with Kim’s teachings of initiating a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); setting measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync,
the modification results in
initiating a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by
applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); and setting a reference value of an RSRP as a current measurement value after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync and at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeong with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing battery consumption of a UE (Kim [0018]).
Regarding Claim 71, Jeong teaches A terminal device, comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: (Jeong [0118] With reference to FIG. 1H, the UE includes a radio frequency (RF) processor 1h-10, a baseband processor 1h-20, a storage unit 1h-30, and a c ontroller (processor) 1h-40.). The rest of claim 71 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 16, Jeong teaches A relaxed measurement method, performed by a network
device, comprising (Jeong [0033] With reference to FIG. 1A, a radio access network of a next generation mobile communication system (new radio (NR)) may be composed of a new radio node B (hereinafter, gNB) 1a-10 and an access and mobility management entity (AMF, new radio core network) 1a-05. A new radio user equipment (hereinafter, NR UE or UE or terminal) 1a-15 may access an external network through the gNB 1a-10 and the AMF 1a-05.
[0010] One aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method and a device for performing a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system
[0016] a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system.):
sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the terminal device, wherein
the terminal device is in an RRC connected state (Jeong [0016] transmitting, to a terminal, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode;
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0037] A connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) (1b-05) may mean a radio access state in which a UE can perform data transmission/reception.);
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message is used to trigger the terminal device to set a
reference value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) as a current measurement value after the RRC reconfiguration message is received, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP (Jeong [0012] receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode; determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based the first information;
[0013] the first information may include information for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal.
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0015] determining may include determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based on at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP).
[0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration) (1g-25). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }
[0108] If the base station separately transmits the relaxedMeasurement_connected through a dedicate message in accordance with Table 8, the UE may determine whether to perform the relaxed RRM measurement or the normal RRM measurement by checking the relaxation criteria in the same method as that of Rel. 16 legacy (1g-30). In this case, if the UE is in the situation of DC/CA, it may average the RSRP/RSRQ values of a plurality of serving cells, and may use obtained values in the low-mobility criterion.
Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: After selecting or reselecting a new cell, or If (Srxlev − Srxlev_Ref) > 0, or If the relaxed measurement criterion has not been met for T_SearchDeltaP: The UE shall set the value of Srxlev_Ref to the current Srxlev value of the serving cell.);
Although Jeong teaches and to set a reference value of an RSRP as a current
measurement value, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP (Jeong [0012] receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information for determining whether the terminal is a terminal being able to perform a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement operation in a connected mode; determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based the first information;
[0013] the first information may include information for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal.
[0014] Further, the first message may be a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
[0015] determining may include determining whether the terminal is the terminal being able to perform the relaxed RRM measurement operation in the connected mode based on at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP).
[0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration) (1g-25). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }
[0108] If the base station separately transmits the relaxedMeasurement_connected through a dedicate message in accordance with Table 8, the UE may determine whether to perform the relaxed RRM measurement or the normal RRM measurement by checking the relaxation criteria in the same method as that of Rel. 16 legacy (1g-30). In this case, if the UE is in the situation of DC/CA, it may average the RSRP/RSRQ values of a plurality of serving cells, and may use obtained values in the low-mobility criterion.
Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: After selecting or reselecting a new cell, or If (Srxlev − Srxlev_Ref) > 0, or If the relaxed measurement criterion has not been met for T_SearchDeltaP: The UE shall set the value of Srxlev_Ref to the current Srxlev value of the serving cell.), Jeong does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC reconfiguration message is used to trigger the terminal device to initiate a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); to set measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync.
Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration message is used to trigger the terminal device to initiate a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); to set measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync (Kim [0279] The RRC message (the RRCReconfiguration message (6-70)) may include configuration information for a cell group. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of a plurality of pieces information below, and may indicate, for the cell group, a state or procedure or configuration information application or release for each cell group.
[0294] Indicator indicating addition of cell group configuration or an indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync) indicating cell group modification or an indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync or newly defined indicator) indicating a random access procedure; [0295] Indicator (ReconfigurationWithSync or newly defined indicator) indicating whether to activate a cell group by performing a random access procedure.
[0170] If the UE performs the CBRA-based 2-step random access procedure, [0171] 4> the UE may transmit a preamble in a transport resource for 2-step random access (e.g., PRACH occasion, transport resource configured by the RRC message by the BS, or transport resource broadcast in the system information), and may transmit data (e.g., MsgA MAC PDU) in a transport resource for data transmission (e.g., PUSCH occasion).
[0160] the UE may apply the first channel measurement configuration information, and may perform a channel measurement procedure or a channel measurement reporting procedure until one of conditions below is satisfied. [0161] In a case where the UE successfully completes a random access procedure (a 4-step random access procedure or a 2-step random access procedure) in the cell (e.g., PCell or SCell or PSCell) or the cell (e.g., PSCell or SCell) of the cell group.).
By modifying Jeong’s teachings of and to set a reference value of an RSRP as a current
measurement value, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP,
with Kim’s teachings of wherein the RRC reconfiguration message is used to trigger the terminal device to initiate a random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); to set measurement configuration after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync,
the modification results in
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message is used to trigger the terminal device to initiate a
random access procedure via media access control (MAC) of the terminal device by applying a reconfiguration information with synchronization (reconfigurationWithsync); and to set a reference value of an RSRP as a current measurement value after the MAC of the terminal device successfully completes the random access procedure, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the reconfigurationWithsync and at least one of a low mobility criterion configuration or a stationary criterion configuration, the reference value of the RSRP is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation of the terminal device, and the current measurement value comprises a measured RSRP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeong with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing battery consumption of a UE (Kim [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong in view of Kim (hereinafter combination) teaches The method of claim 2.
Jeong teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises one of:
a first evaluation parameter for the low mobility evaluation, wherein the first evaluation parameter comprises at least one of a first predetermined threshold S.sub.SearchDeltaP and a first duration T.sub.SearchDeltaP (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration) (1g-25). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } });
a second evaluation parameter for the stationary evaluation, wherein the second evaluation parameter comprises at least one of a second predetermined threshold S.sub.SearchDeltaP′ and a second duration T.sub.SearchDeltaP′; or
other configurations, wherein the other configurations are used for notifying the terminal device to perform UE assistance information (UAI) reporting for the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 3, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong teaches wherein the RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises one of:
an indication indicating that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
[0085] the relaxation parameters in the connected mode may be separately provided like the relaxedMeasurement_connected in Table 8 below.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }), radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement evaluation;
an indication indicating that the RRC reconfiguration message indicates that the stationary evaluation is used for at least one of RRM relaxed measurement evaluation (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and BFD relaxed measurement evaluation,
a switching indication, wherein the switching indication is used to indicate the terminal device to switch from a network device to a target access network device;
a secondary node add indication, wherein the secondary node add indication is used to indicate the terminal device to add a secondary node;
a secondary node modification indication, wherein the secondary node modification indication is used to indicate the terminal device to modify a secondary node; or
a secondary node change indication, wherein the secondary node change indication is used to indicate the terminal device to change a secondary node.
Claim 21 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 72, the combination teaches implement the relaxed measurement method
according to claim 16.
Jeong teaches A network device, comprising a transceiver, and configured to (Jeong [0125] With reference to FIG. 1I, the base station is configured to include an RF processor 1i-10, a baseband processor 1i-20, a backhaul communication unit 1i-30, a storage unit 1i-40, and a controller (processor) 1i-50.
[0127] The baseband processor 1i-20 and the RF processor 1i-10 transmit and receive the signals as described above. Accordingly, the baseband processor 1i-20 and the RF processor 1i-10 may be called a transmitter, a receiver, a transceiver, a communication unit, or a wireless communication unit.)
Regarding claim 76, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong does not explicitly teach further comprising at least one of: the MAC of the terminal device comprising an MAC corresponding to a cell group (CG) of the terminal device, and the CG comprising a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG), the reconfigurationWithsync being configured in a special cell configuration (spCellConfig) of the CG, or in a case that a low mobility criterion or a stationary criterion is configured, initiating the random access procedure via the MAC of the terminal device by applying the reconfigurationWithsync.
Kim teaches further comprising at least one of: the MAC of the terminal device comprising an MAC corresponding to a cell group (CG) of the terminal device, and the CG comprising a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG) (Kim [0403] In FIG. 11A, a first signaling procedure for configuring or releasing dual connectivity, or activating or resuming or suspending or deactivating an SCG configured with dual connectivity is as below.
[0404] In FIG. 11A, a UE may configure an RRC connection with a network or a BS as shown in FIG. 6 of the disclosure, and may perform data transmission or reception with the BS (e.g., MCG, master node (MN), or cells (PCells or SCells) of MCG).
Fig. 11 B, MCG MAC, SCG MAC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing battery consumption of a UE (Kim [0018]).
Claim 80 recites similar limitations of claim 76, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 77, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong teaches wherein the terminal device is configured with at least one of a low mobility criterion or the stationary criterion (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
[0085] the relaxation parameters in the connected mode may be separately provided like the relaxedMeasurement_connected in Table 8 below.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }),
wherein the method further comprises one of:
in a case that that the terminal device is configured with the low mobility criterion, initiating the random access procedure via the MAC corresponding to the CG by applying the reconfigurationWithSync in the spCellConfig of the CG; and setting the reference value of the RSRP as the current measurement value after the random access procedure is successfully completed via the MAC corresponding to the CG (given non-patentable weight since this method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.); or,
Claim 81 recites similar limitations of claim 77, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 78, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong teaches further comprising: determining a difference between the reference value and the current measurement value; and determining that the terminal device in at least one of a low mobility state or stationary state meets a relaxation measurement criterion based on the difference being lower than a first preset threshold or a second preset threshold (Jeong Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
The relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility is fulfilled when: - (Srxlev_Ref − Srxlev) < S_SearchDeltaP, Where: - Srxlev = current Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB). - Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB)).
Claim 82 recites similar limitations of claim 78, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 79, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong teaches wherein the reference value is a reference measurement value of an RSRP of a layer 3 (L3) in a serving cell and the current measurement value is a current measurement value of the RSRP of the L3 in the serving cell (Jeong Table 5 Relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility
The relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility is fulfilled when: - (Srxlev_Ref − Srxlev) < S_SearchDeltaP, Where: - Srxlev = current Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB). - Srxlev_Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB).
[0069] During the cell reselection, the reference signal received power (RSRP) may be considered. Srxlev may be calculated as follows.
Srxlev=Q.sub.rxlevmeas−(Q.sub.rxlevmin+Q.sub.rxlevminoffset)−P.sub.compenation−Q.sub.offsettemp
[0070] Here, the meanings of respective variables are as described in Table 2 below.
Table 2
Srxlev Cell selection RX level value (dB)
Q_rxlevmeas Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)
… ), Jeong does not explicitly teach the serving cell is in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary and secondary cell (PSCell).
Kim teaches the serving cell is in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary and secondary cell (PSCell) (Kim [0192] In the disclosure, the term ‘cell’ may indicate a Pcell, a PSCell (e.g., PCell of an SCG).).
By modifying Jeong’s teachings of wherein the reference value is a reference measurement value of an RSRP of a layer 3 (L3) in a serving cell and the current measurement value is a current measurement value of the RSRP of the L3 in the serving cell,
with Kim’s teachings of the serving cell is in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary and secondary cell (PSCell),
the modification results in
wherein the reference value is a reference measurement value of an RSRP of a layer 3 (L3) in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary and secondary cell (PSCell) and the current measurement value is a current measurement value of the RSRP of the L3 in the PCell or PSCell.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination as modified by Jeong with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing battery consumption of a UE (Kim [0018]).
Claim 83 recites similar limitations of claim 79, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 13 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Kim as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of US 20150141015 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Jeong teaches further comprising one of:
setting the reference value as the current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC
reconfiguration message (See Jeong [0012-0015], [0096], [0108], table 5 and 8 cited above in rejection of claim 1.)
Jeong does not explicitly teach and switching from a network device to a target access network device;
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and switching from a network device to a target access network device (Zhang [0011] receiving, by a user equipment UE, a radio resource control RRC connection reconfiguration message sent by a source base station, where the RRC connection reconfiguration message is used to instruct the UE to hand over from the source base station to a target base station.).
By modifying Jeong’s teachings of further comprising one of: setting the reference value as the
current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC reconfiguration message
with Zhang’s teachings of and switching from a network device to a target access network device,
the modification results in
further comprising one of:
setting the reference value as the current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC
reconfiguration message and switching from a network device to a target access network device;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have the combination as modified by Jeong with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is offloading a part of data in the mobile network to another available access technology (Zhang [0003]).
Claim 33 recites similar limitations of claim 13, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418