Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/13/2024 and 2/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 71, lines 1-2, “wherein the processor is configured to” should read “wherein the processor is configured to:”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 16-17 and 71-72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230134018 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches A relaxed measurement method, performed by a terminal device,
comprising (Li Fig. 1; [0057] FIG. 1 shows a schematic diagram of a system architecture of a wireless communication system provided by some embodiments of the present disclosure. In FIG. 1, the wireless communication system includes a terminal device and a network device.
[0054] how to perform relax measure in connected state and how to provide cell measurement controllable by network device are urgent problems to be solved.):
in case of being in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Li [0039] The three RRC states in 5G network environment are explained in the following respectively.
[0041] RRC_connected: RRC connection exists, the base station and UE have UE AS context, the network side knows that the location of UE is at the specific cell level, the mobility is the mobility controlled by the network side, and unicast data can be transmitted between UE and the base station.
[0056] The method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure can be applied to the terminal device in the connected state.),
setting a criterion value as a current measurement value (Li [0057] When the method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure is applied to the wireless communication system shown in FIG. 1, the network device of FIG. 1 may send an evaluation parameter of a low-speed mobility criterion to the terminal device of FIG. 1, so that the terminal device can evaluate the mobility state of the terminal device itself according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of the serving cell.),
wherein the criterion value is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation (Li [0062] As shown in FIG. 2, some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for indicating cell measurement. The method includes the following operations.
[0063] In operation 201, a network device sends an evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion to a terminal device.
[0064] Accordingly, the terminal device receives the evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion sent by the network device.
[0078] In operation 202, a mobility state of a terminal device is evaluated by the terminal according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of a serving cell.), and
the current measurement value comprises a measured signal strength of a reference signal (Li [0079] the above measurement result of the serving cell may include a reference signal received signal strength of the serving cell, i.e. a measurement value of RSRP, and/or, a measurement value of RSRQ are included.).
Claim 71 recites similar limitations of claim 1 (Li [0232] Exemplarily, the terminal device in the embodiments of the present disclosure may be a mobile phone. As shown in FIG. 6, the mobile phone may include … a processor 680.), is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches A relaxed measurement method, performed by a source access
network device, comprising (Li Fig. 1; [0057] FIG. 1 shows a schematic diagram of a system architecture of a wireless communication system provided by some embodiments of the present disclosure. In FIG. 1, the wireless communication system includes a terminal device and a network device.
[0054] how to perform relax measure in connected state and how to provide cell measurement controllable by network device are urgent problems to be solved.):
in case that a terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Li [0039] The three RRC states in 5G network environment are explained in the following respectively.
[0041] RRC_connected: RRC connection exists, the base station and UE have UE AS context, the network side knows that the location of UE is at the specific cell level, the mobility is the mobility controlled by the network side, and unicast data can be transmitted between UE and the base station.
[0056] The method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure can be applied to the terminal device in the connected state.),
sending an RRC dedicated signaling message to the terminal device, wherein the RRC dedicated signaling message is used to trigger the terminal device to set a criterion value as a current measurement value (Li [0057] When the method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure is applied to the wireless communication system shown in FIG. 1, the network device of FIG. 1 may send an evaluation parameter of a low-speed mobility criterion to the terminal device of FIG. 1, so that the terminal device can evaluate the mobility state of the terminal device itself according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of the serving cell.
[0075] the network device may carry the above evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion in RRC signaling … to send it to the terminal device.
[0076] the above RRC signaling may be RRC dedicated signaling.),
the criterion value is used for at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation (Li [0062] As shown in FIG. 2, some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for indicating cell measurement. The method includes the following operations.
[0063] In operation 201, a network device sends an evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion to a terminal device.
[0064] Accordingly, the terminal device receives the evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion sent by the network device.
[0078] In operation 202, a mobility state of a terminal device is evaluated by the terminal according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of a serving cell.), and
the current measurement value comprises a measured signal strength of a reference signal (Li [0079] the above measurement result of the serving cell may include a reference signal received signal strength of the serving cell, i.e. a measurement value of RSRP, and/or, a measurement value of RSRQ are included.).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein setting the criterion value as the
current measurement value comprises: setting the criterion value as the current measurement value in a case of receiving an RRC dedicated signaling message (Li [0057] When the method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure is applied to the wireless communication system shown in FIG. 1, the network device of FIG. 1 may send an evaluation parameter of a low-speed mobility criterion to the terminal device of FIG. 1, so that the terminal device can evaluate the mobility state of the terminal device itself according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of the serving cell.
[0075] the network device may carry the above evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion in RRC signaling … to send it to the terminal device.
[0076] the above RRC signaling may be RRC dedicated signaling.).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the RRC dedicated signaling
message comprises one of:
a first evaluation parameter for the low mobility evaluation, wherein the first evaluation parameter comprises at least one of a first predetermined threshold S.sub.SearchDeltaP and a first duration T.sub.SearchDeltaP ([0075] the network device may carry the above evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion in RRC signaling … to send it to the terminal device.
[0076] the above RRC signaling may be RRC dedicated signaling.
[0065] The evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion includes the following (1) and (2).
[0066] (1) the First Duration.
[0067] The first duration is the evaluation duration of the reference signal received signal strength change.
[0068] Alternatively, the reference signal received signal strength is represented by RSRP, or represented by RSRQ, or represented by RSRP and RSRQ.
[0069] Alternatively, if the reference signal received signal strength is RSRP, the first duration is TsearchDeltaP.
[0070] (2) A Change Threshold Value of a Reference Signal Received Signal Strength.
[0071] Alternatively, if the reference signal received signal strength is RSRP, the change threshold value of the reference signal received signal strength is a change threshold value of RSRP (i.e. SsearchDeltaP).);
a second evaluation parameter for the stationary evaluation, wherein the second evaluation parameter comprises at least one of a second predetermined threshold S.sub.SearchDeltaP′ and a second duration T.sub.SearchDeltaP′; or other configurations, wherein the other configurations are used for notifying the terminal device to perform UE assistance information (UAI) reporting for the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 3, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 72, Li teaches implement the relaxed measurement method according to claim
16.
Li teaches A network device, comprising a transceiver, and configured to (Fig. 1; [0057] FIG. 1 shows a schematic diagram of a system architecture of a wireless communication system provided by some embodiments of the present disclosure. In FIG. 1, the wireless communication system includes a terminal device and a network device.
[0208] Exemplarily, as shown in FIG. 5, the network device in some embodiments of the present disclosure may be a base station. The base station includes a transmitter 501 and a receiver 502.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, and further in view of US 20240314879 A1 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches The method of claim 2.
Although Li teaches the RRC dedicated signaling message, Li does not explicitly teach wherein
the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection reconfiguration message.
Jeong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection reconfiguration message (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Jeong’s above teachings. The motivation is greatly saving energy consumption (Jeong [0082]).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Jeong teaches The method of claim 6.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises one of: an indication indicating that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement evaluation; a switching indication, wherein the switching indication is used to indicate the terminal device to switch from a source access network device to a target access network device; a secondary node add indication, wherein the secondary node add indication is used to indicate the terminal device to add a secondary node; a secondary node modification indication, wherein the secondary node modification indication is used to indicate the terminal device to modify a secondary node; or a secondary node change indication, wherein the secondary node change indication is used to indicate the terminal device to change a secondary node.
Jeong teaches wherein the RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises one of:
an indication indicating that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
[0085] the relaxation parameters in the connected mode may be separately provided like the relaxedMeasurement_connected in Table 8 below.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }), radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement evaluation;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Jeong with Jeong’s above teachings. The motivation is greatly saving energy consumption (Jeong [0082]).
Claims 20 and 21 recite similar limitations of claims 6 and 7 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, and further in view of US 20250150874 A1 (hereinafter Kim) and Jeong.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches The method of claim 2.
Although Li teaches the RRC dedicated signaling message, Li does not explicitly teach wherein
comprises an RRC connection recovery message; wherein the RRC connection recovery message indicates that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement evaluation.
Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein comprises an RRC connection recovery message; wherein the RRC connection recovery message includes Relaxed RRM configuration information (Kim [0279] The RRC message (the RRCResume (6-25)) may include configuration information for a cell group. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of a plurality of pieces information below
[0296] Radio Resource Management (RRM) configuration information or frequency measurement configuration information or separate configuration information of RRM to be applied or performed to deactivate a cell group or frequency measurement configuration information (e.g., frequency measurement configuration information (Reduced or Relaxed RRM configuration information simplified for reduction of battery power consumption))
Note: RRCResume is the RRC connection recovery message.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing battery power consumption (Kim [0296]).
Kim does not explicitly teach Relaxed RRM configuration information indicates that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement evaluation, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement evaluation.
Jeong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches Relaxed RRM configuration information indicates that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.
[0085] the relaxation parameters in the connected mode may be separately provided like the relaxedMeasurement_connected in Table 8 below.
relaxedMeasurementconnected-r17 SEQUENCE { lowMobilityEvaluation_connected-r17 SEQUENCE { s-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { dB3, dB6, dB9, dB12, dB15, spare3, spare2, spare1}, t-SearchDeltaP_connected-r17 ENUMERATED { s5, s10, s20, s30, s60, s120, s180, s240, s300, spare7, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1 } }),
By modifying Li’s teachings of the RRC dedicated signaling message with Kim’s teachings of
wherein comprises an RRC connection recovery message; wherein the RRC connection recovery message includes Relaxed RRM configuration information and Jeong’s teachings of Relaxed RRM configuration information indicates that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation, the modification results in
wherein the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection recovery message; wherein the RRC connection recovery message indicates that the at least one of low mobility evaluation or stationary evaluation is used for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement evaluation,
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Kim with Jeong’s above teachings. The motivation is greatly saving energy consumption (Jeong [0082]).
Claim 24 recites similar limitations of claim 10, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220295318 A1 (hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches The method of claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach further comprising: sending capability information to a source access
network device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement.
Hwang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising: sending capability information to a source access network device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement (Hwang [0001] The disclosure relates to a method and terminal for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system.
[0224] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the UE may transmit, as UE capability information, indication indicating whether the UE supports a relaxed measurement state, to the BS.), radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Hwang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption (Hwang [0013]).
Claim(s) 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hwang and US 20230038753 A1 (hereinafter Tan).
Regarding claim 26, Li teaches The method of claim 16.
Li does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving capability information sent by the
terminal device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement; and forwarding the capability information to a target access network device.
Hwang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising: receiving capability
information sent by the terminal device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement (Hwang [0001] The disclosure relates to a method and terminal for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system.
[0224] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the UE may transmit, as UE capability information, indication indicating whether the UE supports a relaxed measurement state, to the BS), radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Hwang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption (Hwang [0013]).
Hwang does not explicitly teach forwarding the capability information to a target access network device.
Tan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches forwarding the capability information to a target access network device (Tan [0079] In 401, radio capability information is forwarded to a target gNB through a source gNB.
[0091] where the radio capability information includes UE capability information.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Hwang with Tan’s above teachings. The motivation is improving user experience (Tan [0013]).
Regarding claim 28, Li in view of Hwang and Tan teaches The method of claim 26.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein forwarding the capability information to the target access network device comprises: sending a switching request to the target access network device, wherein the switching request comprises the capability information, and the switching request is used to request the terminal device to switch from the source access network device to the target access network device; sending a secondary node add request to the target access network device, wherein the secondary node add request comprises the capability information, and the secondary node add request is used to request to add a secondary node for the terminal device; sending a secondary node modification request to the target access network device, wherein the secondary node modification request comprises the capability information, and the secondary node modification request is used to request to modify a secondary node for the terminal device; or sending a secondary node change request to the target access network device, wherein the secondary node change request comprises the capability information, and the secondary node change request is used to request to change a secondary node for the terminal device.
Tan teaches wherein forwarding the capability information to the target access network device comprises: sending a switching request to the target access network device, wherein the switching request comprises the capability information, and the switching request is used to request the terminal device to switch from the source access network device to the target access network device (Tan [0079] In 401, radio capability information is forwarded to a target gNB through a source gNB.
[0091] where the radio capability information includes UE capability information.
[0092] In an implementation, the UE capability information being the reduced capability NR UE information
[0080] In an implementation, that the radio capability information is forwarded to the target gNB through the source gNB includes the following.
[0083] Referring to FIG. 12, the reduced capability NR UE information of the UE transmitted during an Xn port based inter-gNB handover is used as an example, the source gNB may store the reduced capability NR UE information reported by the UE, and when the source gNB sends a handover request message to the target gNB, the reduced capability NR UE information of the UE may be added to the handover request message, in particular to a source to target transparent container cell.
Note: handover request message is the switching request message used for handover the UE from the source gNB to the target gNB.);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Hwang and Tan with Tan’s above teachings. The motivation is improving user experience (Tan [0013]).
Claim(s) 13 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jeong as applied to claims 6 and 20 above, and further in view of US 20150141015 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Jeong teaches The method of claim 6.
Although Li teaches setting the criterion value as the current measurement value in case of
receiving the RRC dedicated signaling message (Li [0057] When the method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure is applied to the wireless communication system shown in FIG. 1, the network device of FIG. 1 may send an evaluation parameter of a low-speed mobility criterion to the terminal device of FIG. 1, so that the terminal device can evaluate the mobility state of the terminal device itself according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of the serving cell.
[0075] the network device may carry the above evaluation parameter of the low-speed mobility criterion in RRC signaling … to send it to the terminal device.
[0076] the above RRC signaling may be RRC dedicated signaling.), Li does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection reconfiguration message.
Jeong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection reconfiguration message (Jeong [0096] the base station may provide the RRM relaxation parameter to the UE in a dedicate manner (e.g., through RRCReconfiguration). In this case, the provided parameter is a value for configuring the dedicate relaxation condition to the UE, and may be the same as the relaxedMeasurement_connected represented in Table 8.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Jeong with Jeong’s above teachings. The motivation is greatly saving energy consumption (Jeong [0082]).
Jeong does not explicitly teach and switching from a source access network device to a target access network device.
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and switching from a source access network device to a target access network device (Zhang [0011] receiving, by a user equipment UE, a radio resource control RRC connection reconfiguration message sent by a source base station, where the RRC connection reconfiguration message is used to instruct the UE to hand over from the source base station to a target base station.).
By modifying Li’s teachings of setting the criterion value as the current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC dedicated signaling message with Jeong’s teachings of wherein the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises an RRC connection reconfiguration message and Zhang’s teachings of and switching from a source access network device to a target access network device, the modification results in
wherein setting the criterion value as the current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC dedicated signaling message comprises: setting the criterion value as the current measurement value in case of receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message and switching from a source access network device to a target access network device;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Jeong with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is offloading a part of data in the mobile network to another available access technology (Zhang [0003]).
Claim 33 recites similar limitations of claim 13, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 29 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hwang and Tan as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of US 20210112493 A1 (hereinafter Adusumilli).
Regarding claim 29, Li in view of Hwang and Tan teaches The method of claim 28.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the switching request further comprises a relaxed
measurement parameter, the relaxed measurement parameter is configured by the source access network device for the terminal device, and the relaxed measurement parameter comprises a parameter for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement; wherein the secondary node add request further comprises a relaxed measurement parameter, or the secondary node modification request further comprises the relaxed measurement parameter, or the secondary node change request further comprises the relaxed measurement parameter; the relaxed measurement parameter is configured by the source access network device for the terminal device, and the relaxed measurement parameter comprises a parameter for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement, radio link monitoring (RLM) relaxed measurement, and bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) relaxed measurement.
Adusumilli in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the switching request further comprises a relaxed measurement parameter, the relaxed measurement parameter is configured by the source access network device for the terminal device, and the relaxed measurement parameter comprises a parameter for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) relaxed measurement (Adusumilli [0080] the source BS 110 may transmit, and the target BS 110 may receive, a request that provides an indication, as described above, that the UE 120 is in a power-saving mode. The request may be a handover request (e.g., an X2 handover request) of a handover preparation procedure.
[0081] the request may further include a power-saving configuration for the UE 120. For example, the source BS 110 may have determined a power-saving configuration for the connected state of the UE 120 based at least in part on the UE 120 providing an indication of the power-saving mode to the source BS 110. For example, the power-saving configuration may indicate one or more relaxed parameters, relative to a typical configuration for a UE not in a power-saving mode, as described above in connection with FIGS. 3A-3C.
[0048] Some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable a UE to provide an indication to a base station, or another node of a RAN, that the UE is in a power-saving mode. Accordingly, the base station may determine a configuration for the UE that is based at least in part on the UE indicating that the UE is in the power-saving mode. For example, the configuration may indicate relaxed cycles for DRX, measurement reporting, SRS and/or CQI transmission, and/or the like. In this way, the UE may operate according to the configuration, thereby improving battery conservation in the power-saving mode.),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Hwang and Tan with Adusumilli’s above teachings. The motivation is improving battery conservation (Adusumilli [0048]).
Regarding claim 32, Li in view of Hwang and Tan and Adusumilli teaches The method of claim
29.
Li teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameter comprises at least one of a first
evaluation parameter for the low mobility evaluation (Li [0057] When the method for indicating cell measurement provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure is applied to the wireless communication system shown in FIG. 1, the network device of FIG. 1 may send an evaluation parameter of a low-speed mobility criterion to the terminal device of FIG. 1, so that the terminal device can evaluate the mobility state of the terminal device itself according to the evaluation parameter and a measurement result of the serving cell. ),
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418