DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/002353 02/17/2023
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0023811 02/23/2022
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-12 recite “high-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid.” The term “high” in claims 1 and 3-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification provides an exemplary molecular weight range 5.0 x 105 to 2.0 x 106 (page 11), but it is not a definition of “high.” Limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and recites the molecular weight range 5.0 x 105 to 2.0 x 106. Because claim 2 depends from claim 1, the range recited in claim 2 is presumably narrower than the range encompassed by claim 1. It is unclear which molecular weight range is required to meet the limitation “high.”
Claims 1-12 recite a viscosity or an intrinsic viscosity, but do not recite the conditions under which the viscosity or intrinsic viscosity is measured. Viscosity or intrinsic viscosity depends on the conditions under which it is measured, so the meaning of viscosity or intrinsic viscosity in the claims is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aragona (TVST 2019, Vol. 8, No. 6).
Aragona teaches hyaluronic acid-based lubricant eye drops. See title. The eye drops are used to alleviate dry eye disease. Page 1, Introduction. Table 2 describes HA-based commercially available artificial tear solutions. Hylo-Comod contains 0.10% HA, has a molecular weight of 2026 kDa, and a standard viscosity of 13.2 cP. Hylo-Parin contains 0.10% HA, has a molecular weight of 1428 kDa, and a viscosity of 9.1 cP. Vismed Multi contains 0.18% HA, has a molecular weight of 918 kDa, and has a viscosity of 11.5 cP. All the products contained sodium, which is a tonicity regulator. An eye drop composition necessarily comprises a container for dispensing drops.
Claims 1-12 are product-by process claims. Page 8 of the current specification states that “high molecular weight hyaluronic acid structure” refers to a structure having a single polymer chain structure formed by applying shear stress to high-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid having a pair of polymer chain structures. In this instance, Aragona’s viscosity is determined under shear (Table 2). Furthermore, Aragona’s products contain HA which meets the structural limitations of the claims, so the product is the same regardless of how it was prepared. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.). See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aragona (TVST 2019, Vol. 8, No. 6) as evidenced by Pashier (Opthalmol Ther (2024) 13:2799-2812).
Aragona teaches Vismed Mulit eye drops as set forth above but is silent about the intrinsic viscosity of the composition.
Pashier teaches that Vismed Multi eye drops have an intrinsic viscosity of 2.2 m3/kg. Table 2.
MPEP 2131.01 states that the critical date of extrinsic evidence showing a universal fact need not antedate the filing date.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aragona (TVST 2019, Vol. 8, No. 6) as evidenced by COMOD (The COMOD system – the safe solution for your eyes, internet article downloaded September 24, 2026, https://hylodryeye.net/comod-system/1000/).
Aragona teaches as set forth above but does not teach the volume of the drops dispensed by the eye drop formulation.
COMOD teaches that the COMOD system provides 300 drops in 10 ml. Page 3. This corresponds to 0.03 ml per drop.
MPEP 2131.01 states that the critical date of extrinsic evidence showing a universal fact need not antedate the filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aragona (TVST 2019, Vol. 8, No. 6) in view of Van Santvliet (Surv Ophthalmol 49:197–213, 2004.).
Aragona teaches as set forth above but is silent about the droplet size.
Van Santvliet teaches that eye drop volumes range from .025-.069 ml, and 0.05-.015 ml should be preferred. See page 197.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to prepare eye drop formulations having a droplet size of 0.05-0.015 ml because Van Santvliet teaches that 0.05-0.015 ml is ideal from bioavailability and toxicological points of view.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/838,139 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims HA which has a single polymer chain, has a molecular weight of 5.0 x 104 to 5.0 x 106 g/mol (claim 4) and a viscosity of 10 to 700 cP (claim 10), and an intrinsic viscosity of 0.1-2.0 m3/kg (claim 14). The ratio of a/b is 0.10 to 0.99 (claim 11). The concentration may be 0.1-2.0% (claim 10).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05. In the current instance, the claimed molecular weight range lies inside the reference molecular weight range. In the current instance, the claimed viscosity range overlaps with the reference viscosity range. In the current instance, the claimed intrinsic viscosity range overlaps with the reference intrinsic viscosity range. In the present instance, the claimed a/b ratio lies inside the reference a/b ratio. In the present instance, the claimed concentration range lies inside the reference concentration range.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693