DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 3-9 and 11 have text and reference numbers which are difficult to read. It will be better to resubmit each figure on a separate page, with the improved clarity in text and reference numbers. It is noted the priority document have figures on a separate page with the desired quality, but is missing figure 11.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai (US 2005/0040262).
In regards to claim 1, Nagai teaches an electrostatic coating system (2) for electrostatically paint/coat a workpiece (W)
by charging the paint with a voltage output supplied from a high voltage generator (7) (fig. 1; para. 50-51, wherein a safety mechanism (high voltage safety control unit) within a controller (11), the safety mechanism monitors the voltage output and lowers the voltage output of the high voltage generator based on a detected current being above a first overcurrent threshold (fig. 1, 5-7; para. 35, 62-70), and
the first overcurrent threshold is a first dynamic threshold based on the voltage output (fig. 6-7; para. 35, 65-67).
In regards to claim 2, Nagai teaches the safety mechanism stops the output of the high voltage generator based on the detected current being above a second overcurrent threshold, and the second overcurrent threshold is a second dynamic threshold based on the voltage output (fig. 6-7; para. 65-66).
In regards to claim 3, Nagai teaches the safety mechanism comprises at least one output voltage monitor to receive a detected voltage, the first dynamic threshold comprises at least one first overcurrent range and at least one second overcurrent range, and the first overcurrent range is lower than the second overcurrent range (fig. 6-7; para. 65-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henger (US 4,764,393) in view of Hamilton (US 6,437,963).
In regards to claim 1, Henger teaches electrostatic installation for coating vehicle bodies, to electrostatically adsorb paint on the workpiece by charging the paint with a voltage output supplied from a high voltage generator (fig. 1-2; col 3, lines 25-40)
a voltage safety control unit monitors the voltage output and a detected current being above a first overcurrent threshold (fig. 1-2; col 4, lines 5-20, col. 4, line 65- col. 5, line 15),
if the intermediate threshold values are exceeded, the high-voltage source (H) is not shut off and signals for the operating personnel is produced (fig. 1-2; col. 4, line 65- col. 5, line 15)
the improvement comprising: the first overcurrent threshold is a first dynamic threshold based on the voltage output (fig. 1-2; col 4, lines 5-25)
Hanger does not teach the first overcurrent threshold is a first dynamic threshold based on the voltage output.
However, Hamilton teaches that the electrostatic sprayer system that lowers the voltage output of the high voltage generator based on the current being above the first overcurrent threshold (fig. 1, 10-14; col. 8, line 55- col. 9, line 5, col. 9, lines 15-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the process for the electrostatic sprayer system of Hamilton onto the control unit of Hanger because Hamilton teaches
In regards to claim 2, Henger and Hamilton as discussed, where prior art combination teaches electrostatic installation with the high voltage safety control unit stops the output of the high voltage generator based on the detected current being above a second overcurrent threshold, and the second overcurrent threshold is a second dynamic threshold based on the voltage output (Henger-col 4, lines 5-20, Hamilton-col. 9, line 50- col. 10, line 10).
In regards to claim 3, Henger and Hamilton as discussed, where prior art combination teaches the voltage safety control unit comprises at least one output voltage monitor to receive a detected voltage corresponding to the absolute value of the voltage output (Henger-fig. 1; col. 5, lines 35-55).
In regards to claim 4, Henger and Hamilton as discussed, where prior art combination teaches the second dynamic threshold increases as the detected voltage increases within a first voltage domain (Henger-col 4, lines 5-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717