DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 09/09/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
No claim is/are amended.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 18-31, 34-37, 39 and 41 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant argument: (remark pages 9-12), filed on 09/09/2026, with respect to claim 18, ‘Chen does not disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:… But multiplexing a first uplink signal with only one of the two PUCCHs that overlap the first uplink signal does not disclose both "multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources result[ing] in a first one or more uplink control channel resources," and "multiplexing the second plurality of uplink control channel resources result[ing] in a second one or more uplink control channel resources," as recited in independent claim 18. … Therefore, for at least these reasons, independent claim 18 is allowable’.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches first UL signal with PUCCH resources for SR overlapping with first PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK and overlapping with second PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK (Chen: [FIG.2D]; [0044]) and based on preset rule, multiplex PUCCH resources for SR with first PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK resulting in a first uplink control resource (which carrying both HARQ-ACK 1 and SR) and multiplex PUCCH resources for SR with second PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK (PUCCH resources for SR overlapping with second PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK) resulting in a second uplink control resource (which carrying HARQ-ACK 2) (Chen: [FIG.2D]; [0111]). Therefore, Chen teaches the subject matters as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 9-13), filed on 09/09/2026, with respect to claims 18-31, 34-37, 39 and 41 have been considered but are not convincing. The claim rejections under 35 USC § 102 and under 35 USC § 103 are not withdrawn.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-21, 28-31, 34, 36-37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20220287010 A1), hereinafter “Chen”.
Per claim 18 and 39:
Regarding claim 39, Chen teaches ‘A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication’ (Chen: [FIG.4]: “TERMINAL”; [FIG.1A]; 0029]: “The terminal 110 in implementations of the disclosure may refer to a user equipment (UE) … with wireless communication functions”); ‘comprising: one or more memories’ (Chen: [FIG.4]: “MEMORY”); ‘storing processor-executable code’ (Chen: [0171]: “The one or more programs 421 are stored in the memory”); ‘one or more processors’ (Chen: [FIG.4]: “PROCESSOR”); ‘coupled with the one or more memories’ (this is implied); ‘operable to execute the code to cause the UE to’ (Chen: [0171]: “The one or more programs 421 are stored in the memory 420 and configured to be executed by the processor 410. The one or more programs 421 include instructions for performing the following operations”);
‘receive a first one or more control messages that schedule a first plurality of uplink control channel resources within a slot for transmission of first uplink control information that comprises hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information, scheduling information, channel state information, or a combination thereof’ (Chen: [FIG.1B]: “TRP1” -> UE: “DCI”; [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received. A transmission mode of at least one of a first uplink signal, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a second PUCCH is determined when the ACK/NACK feedback mode indicated by the indication information is separate feedback and the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with a time-domain resource of the first uplink signal, where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”; [0044]: “The first PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK, or may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying a schedule request (SR)”; [FIG.1E]: “PUCCH CARRYING CSI” overlap with “PUCCH CARRYING HARQ-ACK ON TRP1” within one slot; [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK SIGNAL IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0065]: “the first PUCCH caries HARQ-ACK 1, and the second PUCCH carries HARQ-ACK 2”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [0038]: “HARQ-ACKs of different TRPs may be transmitted on two PUCCH resources occupying different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in one slot”; a plurality of PUCCH (uplink control channel) resources within a slot for transmission first UCI);
‘wherein the first plurality of uplink control channel resources are associated with a first control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0005]: “where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”);
‘receive a second one or more control messages that schedule a second plurality of uplink control channel resources within the slot for transmission of second uplink control information that comprises hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information, scheduling information, channel state information, or a combination thereof’ (Chen: [FIG.1B]: “TRP2” -> UE: “DCI”; [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received … a second PUCCH”; [0044]: “The second PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK, or may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [FIG.1E]: “PUCCH CARRYING CSI” overlap “PUCCH CARRYING HARQ-ACK ON TRP2” within one slot; a plurality of PUCCH (uplink control channel) resources within a slot for transmission second UCI; [0053]: “the first PUCCH in this embodiment refers to one of two PUCCHs that overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain in a general sense rather than refer to a particular PUCCH. The second PUCCH in this embodiment refers to one of two PUCCHs that overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain in a general sense. There is no restriction on the order of time of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH. Therefore, the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable in the following descriptions”);
‘wherein the second plurality of uplink control channel resources are associated with a second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0005]: “where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”);
‘multiplex the first plurality of uplink control channel resources in accordance with one or more uplink multiplexing rules’ (Chen: [0111]: “when the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain, the terminal device determines a multiplexing mode of the first uplink signal and a target PUCCH according to the preset rule, where the target PUCCH is the first PUCCH and/or the second PUCCH. The first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different CORESET pool indexes”);
‘wherein multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources results in a first one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: first PUCCH: multiplex “SR” and “HARQ-ACK 1” and second PUCCH: “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [FIG.2E]: multiplex “CSI” and “HARQ-ACK 1” => drop “HARQ-ACK 2”; [0058]: “multiplexing information in the first uplink signal and information in the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [0070]: “After multiplexing information carried by the first PUCCH and information carried by the third PUCCH, the terminal may transmit on the first PUCCH, may transmit on the third PUCCH, or may transmit on the fourth PUCCH”; [0071]: “the fourth PUCCH may be a PUCCH resource that is dedicated for multiplexing and transmitting multiple pieces of uplink control information … In this case, HARQ-ACK 1 and the SR can be multiplexed and then transmitted on the first PUCCH”; [0072]: “the HARQ-ACK and the CSI can be multiplexed and then transmitted on the third PUCCH … the terminal drops transmission of the second PUCCH this time”);
‘multiplex the second plurality of uplink control channel resources in accordance with the one or more uplink multiplexing rules’ (Chen: [0111]: “when the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain, the terminal device determines a multiplexing mode of the first uplink signal and a target PUCCH according to the preset rule, where the target PUCCH is the first PUCCH and/or the second PUCCH. The first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different CORESET pool indexes”);
‘wherein multiplexing the second plurality of uplink control channel resources results in a second one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: [FIG.2D]: first PUCCH: multiplex “SR” and “HARQ-ACK 1” and second PUCCH: “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [FIG.2E]: multiplex “CSI” and “HARQ-ACK 1” within one slot => drop “HARQ-ACK 2”; [0058]: “multiplexing information in the first uplink signal and information in the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”; [0060]: “the terminal multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the second PUCCH”; [0053]: “the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable”);
‘transmit at least a portion of the first uplink control information on the first one or more uplink control channel resources and at least a portion of the second uplink control information on the second one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR” => multiplex “SR”, “HARQ-ACK 1” and “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH”).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 39 (see rejection of claim 39 above).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates an association between control resource set pool indices and uplink control channel resources available for transmission of scheduling requests or channel state information’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK SIGNAL IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0141]: “when the first PUCCH carries CSI, a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0144]: “when the first PUCCH carries an SR, a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH”; [0050]: “the first information includes the CORESET pool index associated with the first uplink signal”; receive control information about association between CORESET pool index and PUCCH resources for SR or CSI).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the first plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and the first control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and one of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH which is associated with the same CORESET pool index as the first uplink signal … the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH”).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the second plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the second plurality of uplink control channel resources and the second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and one of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH which is associated with the same CORESET pool index as the first uplink signal”; [0060]: “the terminal multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the second PUCCH”).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates two or more control resource set pool indices configured for the UE’ (Chen: [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received … where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”; [0141]: “a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0142]: “a CORESET pool index associated with the second PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the second PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”);
‘wherein multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and the second plurality of uplink control channel resources is based at least in part on the control signal’ (Chen: [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and one of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH which is associated with the same CORESET pool index as the first uplink signal”).
Regarding claim 29, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates a separate hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement feedback mode for the UE’ (Chen: [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received … the ACK/NACK feedback mode indicated by the indication information is separate feedback”);
‘wherein multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources separate from the second plurality of uplink control channel resources is based at least in part on the control signal’ (Chen: [0106]: “If the ACK/NACK feedback mode is separate feedback, the manner of multiplexing the first uplink signal and the target PUCCH includes multiplexing information carried by the first uplink signal and information carried by the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”).
Regarding claim 30, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates simultaneous uplink control channel transmissions are enabled for the UE’ ( [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received … the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with a time-domain resource of the first uplink signal”; Chen: [FIG.2E]: “THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI and HARQ-ACK 1” => simultaneous PUCCH CSI and HARQ-ACK transmission);
’wherein transmitting the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information is based at least in part on the control signal’ (Chen: [0072]: “the HARQ-ACK and the CSI can be multiplexed and then transmitted on the third PUCCH”; [0106]: “multiplexing information carried by the first uplink signal and information carried by the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”).
Regarding claim 31, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates a first one or more parameters associated with the first control resource set pool index and a second one or more parameters associated with the second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received. A transmission mode of at least one of a first uplink signal, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a second PUCCH is determined when the ACK/NACK feedback mode indicated by the indication information is separate feedback … where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”; [0100]: “The ACK/NACK feedback mode may be configured through RRC signaling”, receive feedback mode associated with CORESET pool index; [0075]: “a TCI state or spatial relation information of the first PUCCH”, parameter associated with first CORESET pool index; [0078]: “a TCI state of the second PUCCH”, parameter associated with second CORESET pool index; [0108]: “the CORESET pool index associated with the first uplink signal or the spatial relation information”; [0034]: “For a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the beam used can be indicated similarly. Specifically, for each PUCCH resource, multiple pieces of spatial relation information (PUCCH-spatialrelationinfo) are configured in RRC signaling”; receive parameters (spatial relation information) associated with CORESET pool index);
‘wherein the first plurality of uplink control channel resources is multiplexed in accordance with the first one or more parameters; and wherein the second plurality of uplink control channel resources is multiplexed in accordance with the second one or more parameters’ (Chen: [0053]: “the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable”; [0101]: “when the ACK/NACK feedback mode is joint feedback, information carried by the first PUCCH, information carried by the second PUCCH, and information carried by the first uplink signal are multiplexed and transmitted on a same PUCCH”; [0106]: “If the ACK/NACK feedback mode is separate feedback, the manner of multiplexing the first uplink signal and the target PUCCH includes multiplexing information carried by the first uplink signal and information carried by the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”, based on feedback mode; [0108]: “transmission modes to adopt can be determined according to the CORESET pool index associated with the first uplink signal or the spatial relation information”, based on spatial relation information associated with CORESET pool index; [0078]: “the first uplink signal is a third PUCCH, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is CSI-RS resource 0, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first PUCCH is also CSI-RS resource 0, and a reference source signal indicated by a TCI state of the second PUCCH is SRS resource 0. In this case, the third PUCCH and the first PUCCH are multiplexed and transmitted”, based on TCI state associated with CORESET pool index).
Regarding claim 34, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘the first one or more parameters define rules for multiplexing hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information and channel state information associated with the first control resource set pool index; and the second one or more parameters define rules for multiplexing hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information and channel state information associated with the second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0053]: “the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable”; [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received. A transmission mode of at least one of a first uplink signal, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a second PUCCH is determined when the ACK/NACK feedback mode indicated by the indication information is separate feedback … where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”; [0141]: “when the first PUCCH carries CSI, a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0142]: “When the second PUCCH also carries CSI, determination can be made in a similar manner, that is, a CORESET pool index associated with the second PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the second PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0101]: “when the ACK/NACK feedback mode is joint feedback, information carried by the first PUCCH, information carried by the second PUCCH, and information carried by the first uplink signal are multiplexed and transmitted on a same PUCCH”; [0104]: “If the ACK/NACK feedback mode is separate feedback, the manner of multiplexing the first uplink signal and the target PUCCH includes multiplexing information carried by the first uplink signal and information carried by the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first uplink signal without transmitting the second PUCCH”, feedback mode define rules for multiplexing HARQ-ACK and CSI).
Regarding claim 36, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘transmitting the first uplink control information on the first one or more uplink control channel resources and the second uplink control information on the second one or more uplink control channel resources based at least in part on determining that the first one or more uplink control channel resources and the second one or more uplink control channel resources at least partially overlap in time’ (Chen: [FIG.2E]: PUCCH for “CSI” and PUCCH for “HARQ-ACK 2” overlap).
Regarding claim 37, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the first one or more uplink control channel resources and the second one or more uplink control channel resources each comprise one or more physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources that are non-overlapping in time’ (Chen: FIG.2E]: PUCCH for “HARQ-ACK 1” and PUCCH for “HARQ-ACK 2” do not overlap).
Regarding claim 41, Chen teaches ‘A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication’ (Chen: [FIG.4]: “TERMINAL”; [FIG.1A]; 0029]: “The terminal 110 in implementations of the disclosure may refer to a user equipment (UE) … with wireless communication functions”);
‘comprising:
means for receiving a first one or more control messages that schedule a first plurality of uplink control channel resources within a slot for transmission of first uplink control information that comprises hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information, scheduling information, channel state information, or a combination thereof’ (Chen: [FIG.1B]: “TRP1” -> UE: “DCI”; [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received. A transmission mode of at least one of a first uplink signal, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a second PUCCH is determined when the ACK/NACK feedback mode indicated by the indication information is separate feedback and the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with a time-domain resource of the first uplink signal, where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”; [0044]: “The first PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK, or may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying a schedule request (SR)”; [FIG.1E]: “PUCCH CARRYING CSI” overlap with “PUCCH CARRYING HARQ-ACK ON TRP1” within one slot; [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK SIGNAL IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0065]: “the first PUCCH caries HARQ-ACK 1, and the second PUCCH carries HARQ-ACK 2”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [0038]: “HARQ-ACKs of different TRPs may be transmitted on two PUCCH resources occupying different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in one slot”; a plurality of PUCCH (uplink control channel) resources within a slot for transmission first UCI);
‘wherein the first plurality of uplink control channel resources are associated with a first control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0005]: “where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”);
‘means for receiving a second one or more control messages that schedule a second plurality of uplink control channel resources within the slot for transmission of second uplink control information that comprises hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information, scheduling information, channel state information, or a combination thereof’ (Chen: [FIG.1B]: “TRP2” -> UE: “DCI”; [0005]: “Indication information of an acknowledge/non-acknowledge (ACK/NACK) feedback mode configured by a network is received … a second PUCCH”; [0044]: “The second PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK, or may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [FIG.1E]: “PUCCH CARRYING CSI” overlap “PUCCH CARRYING HARQ-ACK ON TRP2” within one slot; a plurality of PUCCH (uplink control channel) resources within a slot for transmission second UCI; [0053]: “the first PUCCH in this embodiment refers to one of two PUCCHs that overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain in a general sense rather than refer to a particular PUCCH. The second PUCCH in this embodiment refers to one of two PUCCHs that overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain in a general sense. There is no restriction on the order of time of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH. Therefore, the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable in the following descriptions”);
‘wherein the second plurality of uplink control channel resources are associated with a second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0005]: “where the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes”);
‘means for multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources in accordance with one or more uplink multiplexing rules’ (Chen: [0111]: “when the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain, the terminal device determines a multiplexing mode of the first uplink signal and a target PUCCH according to the preset rule, where the target PUCCH is the first PUCCH and/or the second PUCCH. The first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different CORESET pool indexes”);
‘wherein multiplexing the first plurality of uplink control channel resources results in a first one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: first PUCCH: multiplex “SR” and “HARQ-ACK 1” and second PUCCH: “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [FIG.2E]: multiplex “CSI” and “HARQ-ACK 1” => drop “HARQ-ACK 2”; [0058]: “multiplexing information in the first uplink signal and information in the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”; [0070]: “After multiplexing information carried by the first PUCCH and information carried by the third PUCCH, the terminal may transmit on the first PUCCH, may transmit on the third PUCCH, or may transmit on the fourth PUCCH”; [0071]: “the fourth PUCCH may be a PUCCH resource that is dedicated for multiplexing and transmitting multiple pieces of uplink control information … In this case, HARQ-ACK 1 and the SR can be multiplexed and then transmitted on the first PUCCH”; [0072]: “the HARQ-ACK and the CSI can be multiplexed and then transmitted on the third PUCCH … the terminal drops transmission of the second PUCCH this time”);
‘means for multiplexing the second plurality of uplink control channel resources in accordance with the one or more uplink multiplexing rules’ (Chen: [0111]: “when the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH both overlap with the first uplink signal in time domain, the terminal device determines a multiplexing mode of the first uplink signal and a target PUCCH according to the preset rule, where the target PUCCH is the first PUCCH and/or the second PUCCH. The first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are associated with different CORESET pool indexes”);
‘wherein multiplexing the second plurality of uplink control channel resources results in a second one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: [FIG.2D]: first PUCCH: multiplex “SR” and “HARQ-ACK 1” and second PUCCH: “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [FIG.2E]: multiplex “CSI” and “HARQ-ACK 1” within one slot => drop “HARQ-ACK 2”; [0058]: “multiplexing information in the first uplink signal and information in the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”; [0060]: “the terminal multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the second PUCCH”; [0053]: “the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable”);
‘means for transmitting at least a portion of the first uplink control information on the first one or more uplink control channel resources and at least a portion of the second uplink control information on the second one or more uplink control channel resources’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR” => multiplex “SR”, “HARQ-ACK 1” and “HARQ-ACK 2” within one slot; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Xu et al. (US 20230261848 A1), hereinafter “Xu”.
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving an indication of an association between unified transmission configuration indicator states and uplink control channel resources available for transmission of scheduling requests or channel state information’ (Chen: [0034]: “For a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the beam used can be indicated similarly. Specifically, for each PUCCH resource, multiple pieces of spatial relation information (PUCCH-spatialrelationinfo) are configured in RRC signaling”; [0048]: “The transmission mode of at least one of the first uplink signal, the first PUCCH, and the second PUCCH may be determined according to the TCI state of the first uplink signal”; [0075]: “the first information includes the TCI state of the first uplink signal … Multiplex and transmit the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH when a reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is the same as that indicated by a TCI state or spatial relation information of the first PUCCH”; [0078]: “the first uplink signal is a third PUCCH, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is CSI-RS resource 0, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first PUCCH is also CSI-RS resource 0 … the third PUCCH and the first PUCCH are multiplexed and transmitted”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”, receive indication of an association between TCI states and PUCCH resources for SR or CSI). However, Chen fails to expressly teach unified TCI states.
Xu in the same field of endeavor teaches UE may be configured with ‘unified TCI states’ (Xu: [0214]: “FIG. 17 illustrates unified TCI states … Each of the one or more unified uplink TCI states may be used, by the wireless device, (or may be configured by the base station via RRC messages)”; [0215]: “Each unified TCI state of the unified TCI state pool (e.g., unified joint TCI state pool, unified UL TCI state pool, or unified DL TCI state pool) may be referred to as a common beam used for a reception and/or a transmission by the wireless device”; [0232]: “increases transmission and/or reception performances of the wireless device and base station with beam diversity gain in downlink and uplink”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s teaching with that of Chen in order to increase TX/RX performance with a common beam used for TX/RX (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the first plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and a unified transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to the first control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0048]: “The transmission mode of at least one of the first uplink signal, the first PUCCH, and the second PUCCH may be determined according to the TCI state of the first uplink signal”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH””; [0075]: “the first information includes the TCI state of the first uplink signal … Multiplex and transmit the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH when a reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is the same as that indicated by a TCI state or spatial relation information of the first PUCCH”; [0078]: “the first uplink signal is a third PUCCH, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is CSI-RS resource 0, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first PUCCH is also CSI-RS resource 0 … the third PUCCH and the first PUCCH are multiplexed and transmitted”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”, based an association between TCI states and PUCCH resources for SR or CSI). However, Chen fails to expressly teach a unified TCI state corresponding to the first CORESET pool index.
Xu teaches a unified TCI states associated with first CORESET pool index (Xu: [0230]: “The wireless device may receive, from the baser station, configuration parameters indicating first unified TCI states associated with the first TRP (e.g., TRP1) or first CORESET pool index (e.g., CORESET pool index0)”; [0232]: “a wireless device may transmit and/or receive: first uplink/downlink signals to/from the first TRP based on the unified joint TCI state 1 … ; and second uplink/downlink signals to/from the second TRP based on the unified joint TCI state 2, which increases transmission and/or reception performances of the wireless device and base station with beam diversity gain in downlink and uplink”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s teaching with that of Chen to select the first plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and a unified transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to the first control resource set pool index in order to increase TX/RX performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 24, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the second plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the second plurality of uplink control channel resources and a unified transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to the second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [0048]: “The transmission mode of at least one of the first uplink signal, the first PUCCH, and the second PUCCH may be determined according to the TCI state of the first uplink signal”; [0060]: “the terminal multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the second PUCCH”; [0075]: “the first information includes the TCI state of the first uplink signal … Multiplex and transmit the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH when a reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is the same as that indicated by a TCI state or spatial relation information of the first PUCCH”; [0078]: “the first uplink signal is a third PUCCH, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first uplink signal is CSI-RS resource 0, the reference source signal indicated by the TCI state of the first PUCCH is also CSI-RS resource 0 … the third PUCCH and the first PUCCH are multiplexed and transmitted”; [0069]: “The third PUCCH may be a PUCCH carrying CSI, or may be a PUCCH carrying an SR”, based an association between TCI states and PUCCH resources for SR or CSI; [0053]: “the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH are interchangeable”). However, Chen fails to expressly teach a unified TCI state corresponding to the second CORESET pool index.
Xu teaches a unified TCI state corresponding to the second CORESET pool index (Xu: [0230]: “The wireless device may receive, from the baser station, the configuration parameters indicating second unified TCI states associated with the second TRP (e.g., TRP2) or second CORESET pool index (e.g., CORESET pool index1)”; [0232]: “a wireless device may transmit and/or receive: first uplink/downlink signals to/from the first TRP based on the unified joint TCI state 1 … ; and second uplink/downlink signals to/from the second TRP based on the unified joint TCI state 2, which increases transmission and/or reception performances of the wireless device and base station with beam diversity gain in downlink and uplink”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s teaching with that of Chen to select the second plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the second plurality of uplink control channel resources and a unified transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to the second control resource set pool index in order to increase TX/RX performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Chen et al. (US 20230080392 A1), hereinafter “Chen2”.
Regarding claim 25, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘receiving a control signal that indicates an association between closed loop indices and uplink control channel resources available for transmission of scheduling requests or channel state information’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK CARRYING CSI”; [0141]: “when the first PUCCH carries CSI, a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; [0144]: “when the first PUCCH carries an SR, a CORESET pool index associated with the first PUCCH is a CORESET pool index associated with a PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH and configured by higher-layer signaling”; receive control receive control information about association between CORESET pool index and PUCCH resources for SR or CSI). However, Chen fails to expressly teach closed loop indices.
Chen2 in the same field of endeavor teaches determine index of closed loop power control based on CORESET pool index for PUCCH transmission (Chen2: [0117]: “When the CORESET group index of the uplink signal is 0, it is determined that the index of the closed-loop power control adjustment state of the uplink signal is 0; when the CORESET group index of the uplink signal is 1, it is determined that the index of the closed-loop power control adjustment state of the uplink signal is 1”; [0179]: “the terminal device determines the transmission power of the PUCCH according to the closed-loop power control adjustment state , and transmits the PUCCH with the determined transmission power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen2’s teaching with that of Chen for UE to receive a control signal that indicates an association between closed loop indices and uplink control channel resources available for transmission of scheduling requests or channel state information in order to adjust the transmission power of the PUCCH based on closed-loop power control (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 26, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the first plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and a closed loop index corresponding to the first control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and one of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH which is associated with the same CORESET pool index as the first uplink signal … the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the first PUCCH”). However, Chen fails to expressly teach a closed loop index corresponding to the first CORESET pool index.
Chen2 teaches a closed loop index corresponding to the first CORESET pool index (Chen2: [0177]: “When the CORESET group index of the uplink signal is 0, it is determined that the index of the closed-loop power control adjustment state of the uplink signal is 0”; [0179]: “the terminal device determines the transmission power of the PUCCH according to the closed-loop power control adjustment state, and transmits the PUCCH with the determined transmission power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen2’s teaching with that of Chen for UE to select the first plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the first plurality of uplink control channel resources and a closed loop index corresponding to the first control resource set pool index in order to adjust the transmission power of the PUCCH based on closed-loop power control (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 27, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘selecting the second plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the second plurality of uplink control channel resources and a closed loop index corresponding to the second control resource set pool index’ (Chen: [FIG.2D]: “FIRST UPLINK SIGNAL CARRYING SR”; [FIG.2E]: “FISRT UPLINK IS THIRD PUCCH CARRYING CSI”; [0052]: “the terminal device multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and one of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH which is associated with the same CORESET pool index as the first uplink signal”; [0060]: “the terminal multiplexes and transmits the first uplink signal and the second PUCCH”). However, Chen fails to expressly teach a closed loop index corresponding to the second CORESET pool index.
Chen2 teaches a closed loop index corresponding to the second CORESET pool index (Chen2: [0177]: “when the CORESET group index of the uplink signal is 1, it is determined that the index of the closed-loop power control adjustment state of the uplink signal is 1”; [0179]: “the terminal device determines the transmission power of the PUCCH according to the closed-loop power control adjustment state, and transmits the PUCCH with the determined transmission power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen2’s teaching with that of Chen for UE to select the second plurality of uplink control channel resources for multiplexing based at least in part on an association between the second plurality of uplink control channel resources and a closed loop index corresponding to the second control resource set pool index in order to adjust the transmission power of the PUCCH based on closed-loop power control (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Yi et al. (US 20160192350 A1), hereinafter “Yi”.
Regarding claim 35, Chen teaches the method of claim 18 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein transmitting the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information is based at least in part on a capability of the UE to support simultaneous uplink control channel transmissions’ (Chen: [0106]: “If the ACK/NACK feedback mode is separate feedback, the manner of multiplexing the first uplink signal and the target PUCCH includes multiplexing information carried by the first uplink signal and information carried by the first PUCCH and transmitting on the first PUCCH, and transmitting the second PUCCH on a different time-domain resource”). However, Chen fails to expressly teach based at least in part on a capability of the UE to support simultaneous uplink control channel transmissions.
Yi in the same field of endeavor teaches UE capability for simultaneous uplink control channel transmissions (Yi: [0106]: “the UE supports simultaneous PUCCH/PUCCH (this capability can be referred as dual connectivity capability”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi’s teaching with that of Chen in order to avoid multiplexing simultaneous PUCCH transmissions when UE could not support.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462