Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/053502 (02/13/2023)
and claims foreign priority to UNITED KINGDOM 2201935.0 (02/14/2022).
Drawings
The drawings filed 8/13/24 are objected to for not conforming to the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) (“View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.” Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear.”). MPEP 608.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikezoe et al. (Cancer Research, 64, p. 7426-7431 (2004)).
Ikezoe teaches the anticancer combination of ritonavir with docetaxel in vivo in drug resistant cancers (title, abstract, p. 7431). Thus, claims 1-5, 10-11 are anticipated.
Regarding claim 7, Ikezoe determined responsiveness to DU-145 cell lines (Abstract, p. 7429).
Regarding claim 8-9, Ikezoe teaches oral and IV administration (p. 7428: “Ritonavir (10 mg/kg/mouse) was administered five times a week orally. Docetaxel (25 mg/kg/mouse) was admin istered intravenously once a week.”).
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 54-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beijnen et al. (WO2020127607, publ 2020-06-25).
Beijnen teaches the anticancer combination of ritonavir with docetaxel in vivo in drug resistant cancers (Abstract, claim 11, 13-15). Thus, claims 1-5, 10-11 are anticipated.
Regarding claims 12-17, Beijnen teaches “ritonavir is administered in a weekly dosage in the range of 200-300 mg” (claim 14), “docetaxel is administered orally in a weekly dosage of 50 mg” (claim 13), with clinical study of daily dose (page 20).
Regarding claims 54-56, Deijnen teaches a combination kit (claims 29-31).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 54-56, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beijnen et al. (WO2020127607, publ 2020-06-25) in view of Sissung et al. (Clin Cancer Res (2008) 14 (14): 4543–4549.).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-17, 54-56, the prior art anticipates and renders obvious the claims as detailed above in the 35 USC 102 rejection.
Regarding claim 58, Beijnen teaches the anticancer combination of ritonavir with docetaxel in vivo in drug resistant cancers (Abstract, claim 11, 13-15). Although Beijnen teaches ABCB1 is involved in docetaxel transport (p. 6: “the P-glycoprotein (P-gp, MDR1, ABCB1) plays a role in the metabolic route and transport of docetaxel”), Bijnen does not teach determining expression of ABCB1 in the patient.
Sissung teaches assessment of ABCB1 expression in cancer patients treated with docetaxel to improve treatment efficacy (title, abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art of cancer therapeutics would have considered assessing expression levels of biomarkers known to be related to the efficacy of a chemotherapy. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Beijnen would have readily considered assessing ABCB1 as taught by Sissung and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 54-56, and 58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11571408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a combination of docetaxel with ritonavir (i.e., claim 11) that anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 54-56, and 58 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,5,12,15,18,20-25,28 and 32-36 of copending Application No. 17416946 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a combination of docetaxel with ritonavir that anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626