Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 13 August 2024 has been entered. After entry of the amendment claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0213371 A1).
The reference teaches, in paragraph [0287], boron nitride particles C which have an average particle diameter of 15.0 μm or less, has an oxygen atom concentration on a surface of 1.5% or more detected by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopic analysis
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches an oxygen atom concentration of 1.5% or more. According to the specification in paragraph [0006] and claim 6 the boron nitride particles have a semiquantitative value calculated from an O1s peak intensity measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy which is 0.6 or more. As the reference teaches an oxygen atom concentration of 1.5% or more the boron nitride particles C of the reference would appear to meet the limitation of claim 1 absent evidence showing otherwise as the range overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore since the oxygen concentration would meet that of an embodiment of the invention the particles would therefore appear to meet the properties of claim 1.
As for claim 4, as the average particle diameter is 15.0 μm or less it would therefore meet the limitation of this claim.
As for claim 6, the reference teaches a concentration that overlaps the claimed range and overlapping ranges are deemed to be obvious.
As for claim 7, the composition may be used as a filler.
As for claim 8, paragraph [0050] teaches a composition comprising resin and boron nitride particles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or render obvious all of the cumulative limitations set forth in the independent claim.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
August 26, 2026