DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Although the examiner indicated claim 5, presently in independent form as claim 1, as containing allowable subject matter, after secondary consideration claim 1 has been determined as to not be patentable in view of the prior art as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sales et al (U.S. Patent Number 9,910,298) in view of Ronzani et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163486).
With regard to independent claim 1, although Sales et al teaches a pair of smart glasses (Figure 1), comprising: temples (Figure 1, elements 102 and 114), wherein at least one temple is provide with a cavity therein (Figure 6, element 300), a first opening is provided in a front surface of the cavity (Figure 6, element 300 opening), and a second opening is provided in a side surface of the cavity (Figures 5 and 6, element 324); a panel, matching the first opening in shape and closing the first opening in front of the temple (Figure 6, element 106a), a circuit board (Figure 6, elements 308 and 310), fixedly connected to the panel and extending backward from the panel (Figure 6, elements 308 and 310 and column 8, lines 40-58), wherein the panel matches the cavity in shape (Figure 6); an electrical contact is provided on the circuit board (Figures 5 and 6, element 326); when the circuit board is inserted from the first opening into the cavity, the electrical contact is compressed under a pressure from a side wall of the temple; when the circuit board is inserted from the first opening to a predetermined position of the cavity (column 8, lines 40-58), the electrical contact faces the second opening and extends out of the second opening (Figure 5, wherein element 326 faces the second opening element 324), Sale et al fails to teach such a pair of smart glasses wherein the electrical contact has elasticity in an inner-outer direction, but does teach the electrical contact to be may be mounted in in any suitable manner (column 8, lines 44-45), including but not limited to, being partially or fully encased on a polymer material (column 9, lines 15-19, wherein the polymer would provide elasticity to the electrical contact), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the pair of smart glasses, as taught by Sales et al, with an elastic electrical contact, as suggested by Sales et al, to provide a snug fit within the cavity (column 9, lines 23-25).
Sales et al also fails to teach such a pair of smart glasses wherein the temple further comprises a third opening arranged in a rear wall of the temple, the circuit board comprises an interface arranged in the third opening. In a related endeavor, Ronzani et al teaches smart glasses (Figure 1, element 1) comprising an opening positioned in the wall of a temple of the glasses (Figure 1, element 38) comprising an interface with a circuit (page 4, paragraph [0099]), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the smart glasses, as taught by Sales et al, with the temple connector, as taught by Ronzani et al, to provide power and electronic signals for proper operation of the glasses.
With regard to dependent claim 6, although Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, wherein Sales et al further teaches such a pair of smart glasses wherein the temple is provided with a bending portion cooperating with an ear root (Figure 3, element 104), both fail to teach wherein a front end of the temple protrudes outward and downward to form the cavity; the cavity gradually narrows upward and inward from front to back. It should be noted that it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the temple, as taught by Sale et al, to have a flared shape to accommodate the electronics inserted therein.
With regard to dependent claim 7, Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, wherein Sale et al teaches wherein the circuit board is attached to a wall of the cavity at the rear of the cavity (column 8, lines 44-52).
With regard to dependent claim 8, Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, wherein Sales et al teaches such smart glasses comprising an optical device arranged on a front surface of the panel (column 6, lines 4-16; column 7, lines 37-40 and Figure 3, element 130).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, wherein Sales et al further teaches the temple comprises a first temple (Figure 3, element 102) and a second temple (Figure 3, element 114), and the first temple and the second temple are connected to each other through a crossbeam (Figure 3, element 108).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 9, wherein Sales et al teaches wherein the temples comprise a first temple (Figure 3, element 102) and a second temple (Figure 2, element 114); the first temple and the second temple are formed substantially symmetrically (column 7, lines 60-61), a first cavity is provided in the first temple (Figure 6, element 300), a second cavity is provided in the second temple (column 8, lines 16-18, wherein when substantially the same, the second temple will comprise a second cavity), both the first cavity and the second cavity are provided with said first opening facing forward, and at least one of the first cavity and the second cavity is provided with said second opening (Figure 5, element 314); the panel comprises a first panel and a second panel, the first panel closes the first cavity in front of the first temple (Figure 3, element 112), and the second panel closes the second cavity at the second temple (Figure 3, element 128); the circuit board comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board (Figure 7, elements 308 and 310), the first circuit board extends backward from the first panel (Figure 6, element 308), and the second circuit board extends backward from the second panel (column 8, lines 16-18, wherein when substantially the same, the second temple mirrors the structure of the first temple, thereby implying a second circuit board).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sales et al (U.S. Patent Number 9,910,298) in view of Ronzani et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163486), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wan (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0027275).
With regard to dependent claim 2, although Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, both fail to teach wherein the electrical contact is connected to the circuit board by a spring. In a related endeavor, Wan teaches a pair of smart glasses (Figure 2A, element 58) comprising an electrical contact, wherein the electrical contact is connected to the circuit board by a spring (page 8, paragraph [0099], wherein the circuit board (Figure 9C, element 138) is connected to the electrical contact (Figure 9C, element 140) via a spring (page 8, paragraph [0099], line 17), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the smart glasses, as taught by Sales et al in view of Ronzani et al, with the switch configuration, as taught by Wan, such that the contacts may be depressed.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sales et al (U.S. Patent Number 9,910,298) in view of Ronzani et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163486), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Howell et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0268013).
With regard to dependent claim 3, although Sales et al and Ronzani et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, both fail to teach wherein a receiving groove is provided in the circuit board, and the electrical contact is slidably received in the receiving groove. In a related endeavor, Howell et al teaches a pair of smart glasses (page 1, paragraph [0005]) comprising a printed circuit board (Figure 4, element 265) within the glasses temple (page 4, paragraph [0064]), wherein the temple further comprises a groove for retaining an electronic component (page 13, paragraph [0178]), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the smart glasses, as taught by Sales et al in view of Ronzani et al, with the groove, as taught by Howell et al, such that the electronics may be inserted or removed.
With regard to dependent claim 4, Sales et al in view of Ronzani et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163486) further in view of Howell et al teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, wherein Sale et al further teaches wherein the second opening is arranged in an inner side of the temple (Figure 5, element 324).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The reasons for indicating allowable subject matter are as set forth in the Office action mailed May 22, 2026.
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
16 September 2026