Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 06/05/2026, 06/09/2026, and 08/03/2026 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Applicants’ arguments are rendered moot in view of the present Office Action.
Applicant respectfully requests that the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection of Claims 1-8 over Claims 1-9 of co-pending application no. 18/842,515 be held in abeyance until all other issues are resolved in this application. Hence, the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is currently upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakomori (US 20110176809) in view of Mizutani (US 8331784).
Consider Claim 1, Hakomori discloses an optical communication system comprising: a master station device (Figure 8, element P2); and a slave station device (Figure 8, element P6), and transmits an optical signal including the generated digital signal and an analog main signal, to the slave station device via an optical fiber (Figure 8, where element P23 takes digital signal and analog signal and transmits them to fiber to elements P6), but does not disclose wherein the master station device generates a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored and the slave station device acquires at least one piece of control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received from the master station device via the optical fiber.
However, Mizutani discloses the master station device generates a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored (Figure 4, where element 622 generates frame for downstream transmission and Column 23, Lines 12-20, where downstream frame includes control information such as PLOAM messages and line in G.984.3) and the slave station device acquires at least one piece of control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received from the master station device via the optical fiber (Figure 45 and Column 39, Lines 54-60, where element 311 extracts control information from received Ethernet frame within ONU received in downstream from OLT), wherein the one frame is an Ethernet frame (Figure 45 and Column 39, Line 29-30 where ONU receives Ethernet frame) and the plural pieces of control information are stored in a payload section of the Ethernet frame (Column 23, Lines 20-22, where control information is stored in payload of frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Mizutani into Hakomori to enable dynamic bandwidth allocation to lower latency.
Consider Claim 5, Hakomori discloses The optical communication system according to claim 1, wherein the master station (Figure 8, element P2) device generates a first optical signal based on the digital signal, generates the optical signal by wavelength-multiplexing (Figure 8, element P23 performs WDM) the generated first optical signal (Figure 8, element P22 supplies digital signal) with a second optical signal based on the main signal (Figure 8, element P4 provides analog signal), and transmits the generated optical signal to the slave station device via the optical fiber (Figure 8, element P3, transmits signal to element P6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Mizutani into Hakomori to enable dynamic bandwidth allocation to lower latency.
Consider Claim 6, Hakomori discloses a master station (Figure 8, element P2) device, comprising: circuitry (Figure 1, element P23) configured to transmit an optical signal including the digital signal generated by the circuitry, and an analog main signal, to another device via an optical fiber (Figure 8 and Paragraph 004, where P23 takes analog signal and digital signal and transmits them to elements P6) but does not disclose a generation unit configured to generate a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored.
However, Mizutani discloses generating a digital signal including one frame (Figure 4, where element 622 generates frames) in which plural pieces of control information are stored (Figure 4, where element 622 generates frame for downstream transmission and Column 23, Lines 12-20, where downstream frame includes control information such as PLOAM messages and line in G.984.3) and wherein the one frame is an Ethernet frame (Figure 45 and Column 39, Line 29-30 where ONU receives Ethernet frame; Column 39, Lines 58-60, where downstream/Ethernet frame originates from OLT) and the plural pieces of control information are stored in a payload section of the Ethernet frame (Column 23, Lines 20-22, where control information is stored in payload of frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Mizutani into Hakomori to enable dynamic bandwidth allocation to lower latency.
Consider Claim 7, Hakimori discloses a slave station device (Figure 1, element 6), configured to receive an optical signal that includes a digital signal (Figure 1, where WDM signal from element 23 contains digital signal), and an analog main signal (Figure 1, where WDM signal from element 23 contains analog signal signal), from another device via an optical fiber (Figure 1, WDM signal comes from element 23 and is transmitted via optical fiber) but does not disclose including a digital signal one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored and an acquisition unit configured to acquire at least one control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received by the reception unit. While Hakimori does not explicitly disclose circuitry within the slave device (Figure 1, ONU element 6), paragraph 0057 indicates that the ONU demultiplexes the WDM optical signal into an analog and digital signal. It would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art that the ONU must include a demultiplexing unit to demultiplex the WDM signal and that the demultiplexing unit acts as the “circuitry” to receive the incoming optical signal.
However, Mizutani discloses a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are (Figure 4, where element 622 generates frame for downstream transmission and Column 23, Lines 12-20, where downstream frame includes control information such as PLOAM messages and line in G.984.3), acquiring at least one control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received by the circuitry (Figure 45 and Column 39, Lines 54-60, where element 311 extracts control information from received Ethernet frame within ONU received in downstream from OLT) and wherein the one frame is an Ethernet frame (Figure 45 and Column 39, Line 29-30 where ONU receives Ethernet frame) and the plural pieces of control information are stored in a payload section of the Ethernet frame (Column 23, Lines 20-22, where control information is stored in payload of frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Mizutani into Hakomori to enable dynamic bandwidth allocation to lower latency.
Consider Claim 8, Hakomori discloses an optical communication method in an optical communication system including a master station device (Figure 8, element P2) and a slave station device (Figure 8, element P6), the method comprising:, and transmitting an optical signal including the generated digital signal and an analog main signal, to the slave station device via an optical fiber (Figure 8, where element P23 takes digital signal and analog signal and transmits them to fiber to elements P6); but does not disclose by the master station device, generating a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored and by the slave station device, acquiring at least one piece of control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received from the master station device via the optical fiber.
However, Mizutani discloses the master station device, generating a digital signal including one frame in which plural pieces of control information are stored (Figure 4, where element 622 generates frame for downstream transmission and Column 23, Lines 12-20, where downstream frame includes control information such as PLOAM messages and line in G.984.3) and by the slave station device, acquiring at least one piece of control information out of the plural pieces of control information, from the digital signal included in the optical signal received from the master station device via the optical fiber (Figure 45 and Column 39, Lines 54-60, where element 311 extracts control information from received Ethernet frame within ONU received in downstream from OLT), wherein the one frame is an Ethernet frame (Figure 45 and Column 39, Line 29-42 where ONU receives Ethernet frame) wherein the one frame is an Ethernet frame (Figure 45 and Column 39, Line 29-30 where ONU receives Ethernet frame) and the plural pieces of control information are stored in a payload section of the Ethernet frame (Column 23, Lines 20-22, where control information is stored in payload of frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Mizutani into Hakomori to enable dynamic bandwidth allocation to lower latency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634