Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application no. 202210135667.7 filed in CN on 02/14/2022. It is noted that the applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024, 07/07/2025, 09/29/2025 and 12/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 501, 502 and 503 in Fig. 5, 601, 602 and 603 in Fig. 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 25-27 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 25 recites the limitation "the second information" in Line 6. Claim 25 depends on Claim 24, which depends on Claim 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis in Claims 16 or 24 for this limitation in the claim. Examiner advises applicant to introduce “a second information” in either Claim 16 or Claim 24 to provide sufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claims 26-27 are also objected to for depending on an objected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 16-21, 30 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karjalainen et al. (US 2024/0267181), Karjalainen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Karjalainen teaches a method for information transmission comprising: (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0100 - Some exemplary embodiments provide antenna-port-specific resource configurations and transmission procedures for an uplink reference signal, such as UL SRS);
transmitting sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching capability information to a network device, wherein the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises first information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations);
receiving SRS configuration information transmitted by the network device, (Fig. 3, 6 & ¶0108 - The base station indicates 604, to the UE, the UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS);
wherein the SRS configuration information is determined by the network device based on the SRS antenna switching capability information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0103 - In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns …);
and transmitting an SRS based on the SRS configuration information, (Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - The UE performs 607 a first UL RS transmission to the base station by applying the UL RS antenna switching configuration to the plurality of antenna ports based at least partly on the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values);
wherein the first information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
user equipment (UE) not supporting SRS antenna switching patterns in a first set;
UE not supporting SRS antenna switching;
one SRS antenna switching pattern supported by UE in the first set;
or a plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by UE in the first set (Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns. ¶0083 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Re. Claim 2, Karjalainen teaches Claim 1.
Karjalainen further teaches in case that the first information is for indicating the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns meet one or more of the following conditions: (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns);
any of the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns is not a downgrading pattern of other SRS antenna switching patterns in the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns; (¶0080 - NR Rel-17 may specify enhanced mechanisms for UL SRS to enable more flexible triggering on aperiodic SRS sets, for example by specifying SRS switching for up to 8 antenna ports. In NR Rel-17, for example the following additional antenna-switching configurations may be supported: 1T6R, 1T8R, 2T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R. Please also see ¶0064-¶0077. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
the number of receiving antennas corresponding to each of the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns is the same;
any of the other SRS antenna switching patterns among the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns are the downgrading pattern of one of the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns;
or the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to each SRS antenna switching patterns in the plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns is the same.
Re. Claim 3, Karjalainen teaches Claim 2.
Karjalainen further teaches the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises second information, and the second information is for indicating one or more of the following information: (Fig. 6 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations);
the UE not supporting SRS antenna switching patterns in a second set;
the UE not supporting SRS antenna switching;
one SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE in the second set;
or a plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set (Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns. Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Re. Claim 4, Karjalainen teaches Claim 3.
Karjalainen further teaches in case that the first information is for indicating one or more SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, and the second information is for indicating one or more SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, all SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information meet one or more of the following conditions: (Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Fig. 4-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations. ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns);
any of SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information is not a downgrading pattern of other SRS antenna switching patterns in the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information; (¶0080 - NR Rel-17 may specify enhanced mechanisms for UL SRS to enable more flexible triggering on aperiodic SRS sets, for example by specifying SRS switching for up to 8 antenna ports. In NR Rel-17, for example the following additional antenna-switching configurations may be supported: 1T6R, 1T8R, 2T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R. Please also see ¶0064-¶0077. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
the number of receiving antennas corresponding to each of the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information is the same;
all the other SRS antenna switching patterns among the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information are the downgrading pattern of at least one of the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information;
or the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to each of the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information is the same, wherein the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and the SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information comprise one or more SRS antenna switching patterns in the first set indicated by the first information and one or more SRS antenna switching patterns in the second set indicated by the second information.
Re. Claim 7, Karjalainen teaches Claim 1.
Karjalainen further teaches the SRS antenna switching patterns in the first set comprise one or more of the following information:
SRS antenna switching patterns supported by a system;
SRS antenna switching patterns configured by the network device; (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0062 - However, Rel-15 UL SRS resource configuration with antenna switching can provide support for UEs equipped with up to 4 RX antenna ports. In other words, even though a UE may be equipped for example with 8 RX antenna ports, in NR Rel-15 just 4 out of the 8 antenna ports can be used for DL CSI acquisition at gNB-based UL SRS sounding. ¶0064 - In NR Rel-15, depending on the reported UE antenna-switching capability, the UE can be configured with one of the following antenna-switching configurations, where T refers to transmission antenna port and R refers to reception antenna port at the UE side (herein antenna port refers to a logical antenna port. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
or preset SRS antenna switching patterns (¶0127 - When the UE is configured with UE-assisted operation, the UE is pre-configured with a set of pre-defined antenna-port-specific repetition pattern options, out of which the UE may select one antenna-port-specific repetition pattern option for a given antenna port … For example, the UE may be pre-configured with a first pre-defined antenna-port-specific repetition pattern, a second pre-defined antenna-port-specific repetition pattern, a third pre-defined antenna-port-specific repetition pattern, and a fourth pre-defined antenna-port-specific repetition pattern for a given antenna port … Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”, but mapped both).
Re. Claim 10, Karjalainen teaches Claim 1.
Karjalainen further teaches the first set is associated with an information domain including SRS antenna port switching capability information; or the first set is associated with signaling carrying the SRS antenna port switching capability information; or the first set is associated with an information domain including the first information; or the first set is associated with signaling carrying the first information (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching. The capability information may also be referred to as a capability report. The capability information may be transmitted via RRC signaling).
Re. Claim 16, Karjalainen teaches a method for information transmission, comprising: (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0100 - Some exemplary embodiments provide antenna-port-specific resource configurations and transmission procedures for an uplink reference signal, such as UL SRS);
obtaining sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching capability information transmitted by UE, wherein the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises first information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations);
determining SRS configuration information based on the SRS antenna switching capability information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0103 - In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns …);
and transmitting the SRS configuration information to the UE, (Fig. 3, 6 & ¶0108 - The base station indicates 604, to the UE, the UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS);
wherein the first information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
user equipment (UE) not supporting SRS antenna switching patterns in a first set;
UE not supporting SRS antenna switching;
one SRS antenna switching pattern supported by UE in the first set;
or a plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set (Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns. ¶0083 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Re. Claim 17, Karjalainen teaches Claim 16.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining SRS configuration information based on the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises: determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0103 - In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns … Please also see ¶0062).
Re. Claim 18, Karjalainen teaches Claim 17.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information comprises: in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 12 & ¶0062 - However, Rel-15 UL SRS resource configuration with antenna switching can provide support for UEs equipped with up to 4 RX antenna ports. In other words, even though a UE may be equipped for example with 8 RX antenna ports, in NR Rel-15 just 4 out of the 8 antenna ports can be used for DL CSI acquisition at gNB-based UL SRS sounding. ¶0103 - … the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns … ¶0104 - The base station may determine different repetition patterns for different antenna ports (e.g. a first repetition pattern for a first antenna port, a second repetition pattern for a second antenna port, and so forth). ¶0134 - FIG. 12 illustrates an example of an UL SRS antenna-switching resource set configuration for 4T8R comprising antenna-port-specific repetition pattern sets 1201, 1202).
Re. Claim 19, Karjalainen teaches Claim 16.
Karjalainen further teaches the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises second information, and the second information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
the UE not supporting SRS antenna switching patterns in a second set;
the UE not supporting SRS antenna switching;
one SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE in the second set;
or a plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set (Fig. 6 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations. Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Re. Claim 20, Karjalainen teaches Claim 19.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining SRS configuration information based on the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises: determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information and the second information (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations. ¶0103 - … the base station determines 603, based at least partly on … the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns … for the plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. ¶0104 - The base station may determine different repetition patterns for different antenna ports (e.g. a first repetition pattern for a first antenna port, a second repetition pattern for a second antenna port, and so forth).
Re. Claim 21, Karjalainen teaches Claim 20.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information and the second information comprises one or more of the following: Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, and the second information is for indicating that the UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the second set, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information;
or in case that the first information is for indicating that UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the first set, and the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information;
or in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, and the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0080 - NR Rel-17 may specify enhanced mechanisms for UL SRS to enable more flexible triggering on aperiodic SRS sets, for example by specifying SRS switching for up to 8 antenna ports. In NR Rel-17, for example the following additional antenna-switching configurations may be supported: 1T6R, 1T8R, 2T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R. ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Fig. 12 & ¶0134 - FIG. 12 illustrates an example of an UL SRS antenna-switching resource set configuration for 4T8R comprising antenna-port-specific repetition pattern sets 1201, 1202).
Re. Claim 30, Karjalainen teaches user equipment (UE), comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform operations of: (Fig. 13 & ¶0138-¶0141);
transmitting sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching capability information to a network device, wherein the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises first information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0100 - Some exemplary embodiments provide antenna-port-specific resource configurations and transmission procedures for an uplink reference signal, such as UL SRS. ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations);
receiving SRS configuration information transmitted by the network device, (Fig. 3, 6 & ¶0108 - The base station indicates 604, to the UE, the UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS);
wherein the SRS configuration information is determined by the network device based on the SRS antenna switching capability information; (Fig. 6 & ¶0103 - In order to obtain power balance between the plurality of UL RS antenna ports associated with the UE, the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns …);
and transmitting an SRS based on the SRS configuration information, (Fig. 3, 6 & ¶0108 - The base station indicates 604, to the UE, the UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns and/or the one or more antenna-port-specific uplink power control target values for transmitting UL RS);
wherein the first information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
user equipment (UE) not supporting SRS antenna switching patterns in a first set;
UE not supporting SRS antenna switching;
one SRS antenna switching pattern supported by UE in the first set;
or a plurality of SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set (Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Re. Claim 45, Karjalainen teaches Claim 16.
Karjalainen further teaches a network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform operations of claim 16 (Fig. 14 & ¶0146-¶0149 (base station such as a gNB). Please also see Fig. 6 & ¶0100-¶0101, ¶0103, ¶0108 and ¶0114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 11 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen, and further in view of Gopal et al. (US 2021/0329508), Gopal hereinafter
Re. Claim 5, Karjalainen teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern indicated by the first information.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern indicated by the first information (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. Please also see ¶0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 6, Karjalainen teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises third information, and the third information is for indicating one or more of the following information: the UE supporting a downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern; the UE not supporting any downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern; or a downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises third information, and the third information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
the UE supporting a downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern;
the UE not supporting any downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern;
or a downgrading pattern of an SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1. The configuration may be dependent on the Tx-antenna ASDIV antenna switch function for the LTE Tx antenna. That is, when reducing a capability of the NR SRS antenna-switching configuration, the UE may select a configuration (e.g., T1R3) that is not enumerated in the supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field. Please also see ¶0088. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 11, Karjalainen teaches Claim 2.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and the number of receiving antennas corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of receiving antennas corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns; or in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and the number of SRS resources indicated by SRS configuration information corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of SRS resources indicated by SRS configuration information corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns; or in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and a ratio of the number of receiving antennas to the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than a ratio of the number of receiving antennas to the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and the number of receiving antennas corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of receiving antennas corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0063 - The UE 215 may also include means for transmitting an SRS to the base station via a reduced SRS antenna-switching capability or the maximum SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0067 - For example, in an NR system, such as an NR sub-6 GHz (NRsub6) system, NR SRS antenna-switching may be performed across different UE antennas to transmit an SRS on the uplink. Different NR SRS antenna-switching configurations may be specified … An NR sub-6 GHz system with uplink-MIMO may have a two-transmit-four-receive (2T4R) configuration for SRS antenna-switching. An LTE system may have a 1T4R or 1T2R configuration. ¶0081 - That is, although the UE is capable of transmitting the SRS from one of four antennas, the UE may only transmit the SRS on one of two antennas. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1);
the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, (¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability);
wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns; (¶0055 - According to some implementations, the UE 115 may transmit SRSs with the maximum SRS antenna-switching capability when an NR network connection is prioritized over an LTE network connection. Conversely, according to some implementations, the UE 115 may transmit SRSs with a reduced SRS antenna-switching capability when an LTE network connection is prioritized over an NR network connections. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
or in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and the number of SRS resources indicated by SRS configuration information corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of SRS resources indicated by SRS configuration information corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns;
or in case that the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to a second SRS antenna switching pattern, and a ratio of the number of receiving antennas to the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to the first SRS antenna switching pattern is not greater than a ratio of the number of receiving antennas to the number of transmitting antenna ports corresponding to the second SRS antenna switching pattern, the first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of the second SRS antenna switching pattern, wherein the first SRS antenna port switching pattern and the second SRS antenna port switching pattern are any two different SRS antenna port switching patterns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 24, Karjalainen teaches Claim 16.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises third information, and the third information is for indicating one or more of the following information: the UE supporting a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern; the UE not supporting any downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern; or a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches the SRS antenna switching capability information further comprises third information, and the third information is for indicating one or more of the following information:
the UE supporting a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern;
the UE not supporting any downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern;
or a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1. The configuration may be dependent on the Tx-antenna ASDIV antenna switch function for the LTE Tx antenna. That is, when reducing a capability of the NR SRS antenna-switching configuration, the UE may select a configuration (e.g., T1R3) that is not enumerated in the supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field. Please also see ¶0088. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 25, Karjalainen and Gopal teach Claim 24.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining SRS configuration information based on the SRS antenna switching capability information comprises: determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information (Fig. 6 & ¶0101 - Referring to FIG. 6, a UE transmits 601, to a base station such as a gNB, antenna-port-specific capability information associated with UL RS antenna switching for a plurality of antenna ports associated with the UE. In other words, the plurality of antenna ports may be UL RS antenna ports associated with antenna switching … The antenna-port-specific capability information comprises UL RS antenna-port-specific RF capabilities related to UL RS antenna-switching configurations. Please also see ¶0064-¶0077 and ¶0080);
However, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach and the third information; or determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information, the second information and the third information.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches and the third information; (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1. The configuration may be dependent on the Tx-antenna ASDIV antenna switch function for the LTE Tx antenna. That is, when reducing a capability of the NR SRS antenna-switching configuration, the UE may select a configuration (e.g., T1R3) that is not enumerated in the supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field. Please also see ¶0088. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
or determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information, the second information and the third information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 26, Karjalainen and Gopal teach Claim 25.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information and the third information comprises: in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0114 - For example, the UE may transmit the first UL RS transmission from one or more antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports at a time, and switch between the different antenna ports at different time instants according to the one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns. Please also see Fig. 3 & ¶0064-¶0077 and ¶0080);
determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information (Fig. 3, 6 & ¶0103 - … the base station determines 603, based at least partly on .. the antenna-port-specific capability information received from the UE, an UL RS antenna switching resource configuration comprising one or more antenna-port-specific repetition patterns …);
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach and the third information is for indicating a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE, and downgrading patterns of the one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches and the third information is for indicating a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern supported by the UE, (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1. The configuration may be dependent on the Tx-antenna ASDIV antenna switch function for the LTE Tx antenna. That is, when reducing a capability of the NR SRS antenna-switching configuration, the UE may select a configuration (e.g., T1R3) that is not enumerated in the supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field. Please also see ¶0088);
and downgrading patterns of the one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information (¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0067 - Various configurations may be specified for the ENDC mode. For example, in an NR system, such as an NR sub-6 GHz (NRsub6) system, NR SRS antenna-switching may be performed across different UE antennas to transmit an SRS on the uplink. Different NR SRS antenna-switching configurations may be specified … An NR sub-6 GHz system with uplink-MIMO may have a two-transmit-four-receive (2T4R) configuration for SRS antenna-switching. An LTE system may have a 1T4R or 1T2R configuration. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. Please also see ¶0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Re. Claim 27, Karjalainen and Gopal teach Claim 25.
Karjalainen further teaches the determining the SRS configuration information based on the first information, the second information and the third information comprises one or more of the following: Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
in case that the first information is for indicating that UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the first set, the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns in the second set supported by the UE, and the third information is for indicating that UE does not support a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information;
in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, the second information is for indicating that the UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the second set, and the third information is for indicating that the UE does not support a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information; in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, and the third information is for indicating that the UE does not support a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information;
in case that the first information is for indicating that the UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the first set, the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, and the third information is for indicating that the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information and downgrading patterns of the one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information;
in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, the second information is for indicating that the UE does not support SRS antenna switching patterns in the second set, and the third information is for indicating that the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information and downgrading patterns of the one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information;
or in case that the first information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the first set, the second information is for indicating SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the UE in the second set, determining the SRS configuration information based on one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information, one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the first information, (Fig. 3-5, 6, 9, 11-12 & ¶0080 - NR Rel-17 may specify enhanced mechanisms for UL SRS to enable more flexible triggering on aperiodic SRS sets, for example by specifying SRS switching for up to 8 antenna ports. In NR Rel-17, for example the following additional antenna-switching configurations may be supported: 1T6R, 1T8R, 2T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R. ¶0083 - To enable enhanced system performance, as discussed above, NR Rel-17 may provide support for UL SRS antenna-switching configurations with 6 and 8 UE RX antenna ports. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of UL SRS resource configuration for 1T6R with 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) and a corresponding resource allocation in time. As shown in FIG. 3, two different resource sets 301, 302 (SRS-set #1 and SRS-set #2) can be configured. Fig. 12 & ¶0134 - FIG. 12 illustrates an example of an UL SRS antenna-switching resource set configuration for 4T8R comprising antenna-port-specific repetition pattern sets 1201, 1202).
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach and the third information is for indicating that the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, and downgrading patterns of one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information.
However, in the analogous art, Gopal explicitly teaches and the third information is for indicating that the UE supports a downgrading pattern of the SRS antenna switching pattern, (Fig. 3-5, 10-12 & ¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. ¶0084 - Still, from the UE's point of view, if the UE signals T1R4 to network via RRC signaling procedure, the UE may use a less capable NR SRS antenna-switching configuration such as T1R3, T1R2, or T1R1. The configuration may be dependent on the Tx-antenna ASDIV antenna switch function for the LTE Tx antenna. That is, when reducing a capability of the NR SRS antenna-switching configuration, the UE may select a configuration (e.g., T1R3) that is not enumerated in the supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field. Please also see ¶0088);
and downgrading patterns of one or more SRS antenna switching patterns indicated by the second information (¶0055 - In particular, the UEs 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may be configured to determine whether SRSs are to be transmitted using a maximum SRS antenna-switching capability supported by the UE 115, or a reduced-SRS antenna-switching capability. ¶0067 - Various configurations may be specified for the ENDC mode. For example, in an NR system, such as an NR sub-6 GHz (NRsub6) system, NR SRS antenna-switching may be performed across different UE antennas to transmit an SRS on the uplink. Different NR SRS antenna-switching configurations may be specified … An NR sub-6 GHz system with uplink-MIMO may have a two-transmit-four-receive (2T4R) configuration for SRS antenna-switching. An LTE system may have a 1T4R or 1T2R configuration. ¶0071 - For each ENDC band combination, the UE may be configured for SRS antenna-switching via a supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field in the 3GPP standard. The supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch field specifies whether the UE is configured for antenna-switching and the type of switching supported. Please also see ¶0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gopal to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention generally relate to wireless communications, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for managing fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching concurrency (¶0002, Gopal).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen, and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 2024/0080086), Nilsson hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Karjalainen teaches Claim 7.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach the SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the system comprise t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4 and t4r8.
However, in the analogous art, Nilsson explicitly teaches the SRS antenna switching patterns supported by the system comprise t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4 and t4r8 (Fig. 11 & ¶0097 - FIG. 11 illustrates examples of different SRS UE capabilities for a UE with 4 TX and 8 RX chains. The first row illustrates a preferred example of a UE capability signaling, where a number of ASCs are supported. In the rows below, other possible UE capabilities with additional ASCs are included).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Nilsson to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention relates to sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching user equipment (UE) capability signaling.
Re. Claim 9, Karjalainen teaches Claim 7.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4 and t4r8; or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8, and t4r8; or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8; or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8, t4r8, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8; or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6, t1r8-t2r8-t4r8, t1r8-t2r8, t1r8-t4r8, t1r8- t4r8, t2r8-t4r8; or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8-t4r8.
However, in the analogous art, Nilsson explicitly teaches the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4 and t4r8; (Fig. 5-17 & ¶0171 - In particular embodiments, the one or more ASCs at least comprise at least one of t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6, t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t2r4-t4r4-t4r8, t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t2r4-t4r4-t4r6, t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t2r4-t2r6, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t2r2-t2r4-t2r6-t2r8, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6-t1r8, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t2r2, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6-t2r2, t1r1-t1r2-t1r6-t2r2, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r8-t2r2, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6-t1r8-t2r2, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r8-t2r2-t2r4-t4r4, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6-t1r8-t2r2-t2r4-t4r4, t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t1r4-t2r4-t1r6-t2r6, t1r1-t1r2-t1r4-t1r6-t1r8, t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t1r4-t2r4-t1r6-t2r6-t1r8-t2r8, and t1r1-t1r2-t2r2-t1r4-t2r4-t1r6-t2r6-t1r8-t2r8-t4r8. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8, and t4r8;
or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8;
or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8, t4r8, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8;
or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6, t1r8-t2r8-t4r8, t1r8-t2r8, t1r8-t4r8, t1r8- t4r8, t2r8-t4r8;
or the preset SRS antenna switching patterns comprise at least t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6, t2r8, t4r4, t4r8, t1r4-t2r4, t1r6-t2r6 and t1r8-t2r8-t4r8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Nilsson to the teaching of Karjalainen. The motivation would be because the invention relates to sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching user equipment (UE) capability signaling.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen, and further in view of Shahmohammadian et al. (US 2024/0187163), Shahmohammadian hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Karjalainen teaches Claim 2.
Yet, Karjalainen does not explicitly teach whether a first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of a second SRS antenna switching pattern is determined by a preset mapping relationship, wherein the preset mapping relationship comprises at least one of the following: downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna port switching pattern t1r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2 and t1r4; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t1r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4 and t1r6; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4, and t4r4; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r2 comprises t1r1 and t1r2; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r4 comprises t1r1, t1r2, tlr4 and t2r2; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t2r2, t2r4; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r4 comprises t1r1, t2r2, t1r4 and t2r4; or downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4, t4r4, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8.
However, in the analogous art, Shahmohammadian explicitly teaches whether a first SRS antenna switching pattern is a downgrading pattern of a second SRS antenna switching pattern is determined by a preset mapping relationship, wherein the preset mapping relationship comprises at least one of the following: downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna port switching pattern t1r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2 and t1r4; (Fig. 1 & ¶0120 - However, in order to increase the number of SRS antenna ports to 8 in Rel. 17, a new UE capability parameter supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch xTyR for x={1, 2, 4} and y={6, 8} should be defined. ¶0121 - In accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure, for an xTyR scenario with x={1, 2, 4} and y={6, 8}, a gNB should be able to configure a downgrading configuration of an SRS for antenna switching with allowing new UE capability design for SRS antenna switching as follows: ¶0122 - {t1r1, t1r2, t1r6} ¶0123 -{t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r6} ¶0124 - {t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t1r6, t2r6} ¶0125 - {t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r8} ¶0126 - {t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4, t4r4, t4r8} ¶0127 - {t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t1r4, t2r4, t1r8, t2r8, t4r8} ¶0131 - Therefore, in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure, an alternative is to introduce a new optional RRC parameter only for antenna switching usage that would allow RRC configured downgraded SRS resource set with specific number of antenna ports, as will be described below. With this new additional RRC parameter, the gNB can then use MAC CE or DCI to dynamically select/activate a downgraded configuration. Please also see ¶0133-¶0134. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following”);
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t1r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4 and t1r6; downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4, and t4r4;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r2 comprises t1r1 and t1r2;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r4 comprises t1r1, t1r2, tlr4 and t2r2;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r6 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t2r2, t2r4;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t2r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r2, t2r4, t2r6;
downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r4 comprises t1r1, t2r2, t1r4 and t2r4;
or downgrading patterns corresponding to the SRS antenna switching pattern t4r8 comprises t1r1, t1r2, t2r2, t2r4, t4r4, t1r4, t1r6, t1r8, t2r6, t2r8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jacobsson et al. (US 2024/0372667) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-29.
Cui et al. (US 2023/0337229) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-16.
Liu et al. (US 2021/0194735) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-9.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465