CTNF 18/838,279 CTNF 70787 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fayazbakhsh (US 2023/0021768) . As to claim 1, Fayazbakhsh discloses a radio wave control system 200 (see at least figure 2) comprising: a reflective plate 204 (see paragraph [0044]) configured to reflect an undesired radio wave (see legends “IRS reflection from Jammer”) that causes interference for a communication apparatus 202; at least one memory 516 (see at least figure 5) storing instructions, and at least one processor 512 configured to execute the instructions to: cause a reflected wave of the undesired radio wave (see figure 2, legends “IRS reflection from Jammer”) to be transmitted in a direction in which the communication apparatus 202 is present; and receive interference information indicating an interference state in the communication apparatus (see figure 8, step 802; paragraphs [0069], [0095]), determine a phase of the reflected wave reaching the communication apparatus by using the interference information (see figure 8, steps 804, 808; paragraphs [0070], [0096]). As to claims 2, 13, Fayazbakhsh discloses increasing an amount of change in the phase of the reflected wave as the interference state in the communication apparatus worsens (see paragraphs [0077], [0095], [0096]). As to claim 11, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4, 6-8, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayazbakhsh (US 2023/0021768) in view of Balasubramanian (US 2023/0232239) . As to claims 3, 14, Fayazbakhsh fails to disclose acquiring position information of the communication apparatus 202, and determine the phase of the reflected wave on the basis of the change amount in a position of the communication apparatus 202. Balasubramanian discloses acquiring position information of a communication apparatus, and determine the phase of a reflected wave on the basis of the change amount in a position of the communication apparatus (see paragraphs [0072], [0119], [0181], [0224]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Balasubramanian to Fayazbakhsh, in order to improve signal quality at the intended receiving node 202 (see Fayazbakhsh, figure 2). As to claims 4, 15, Fayazbakhsh fails to disclose acquiring position information of the communication apparatus 202, and increasing an amplitude of the reflected wave as the position of the communication apparatus 202 is farther from the reflective plate 204. Balasubramanian discloses acquiring position information of a communication apparatus, and increasing an amplitude of a reflected wave as the position of the communication apparatus is farther from a reflective plate (see paragraphs [0072], [0188]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Balasubramanian to Fayazbakhsh, in order to improve signal quality at the intended receiving node 202 (see Fayazbakhsh, figure 2). As to claim 6, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 4 as set forth above. The combination of Fayazbakhsh and Balasubramanian further discloses determining a phase of the reflected wave reaching the communication apparatus by using information indicating a phase when the undesired radio wave reaches the communication apparatus (see Fayazbakhsh, paragraph [0077]), and information indicating a distance from the reflective plate to the communication apparatus (see Balasubramanian, paragraphs [0072], [0176]). As to claim 7, the combination of Fayazbakhsh and Balasubramanian discloses calculating the phase of the reflected wave so that the reflected wave reaches the communication apparatus (see Fayazbakhsh, paragraph [0077]); but fails to disclose shifting the reflected wave by half a wavelength compared to the undesired radio wave reaching the communication apparatus. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary amount of phase shift of the reflected wave. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from shifting the reflected wave by half a wavelength. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fayazbakhsh as claimed, in order to provide predictable results such as introducing a wave’s crests align with the troughs of another which provides destructive interference. As to claim 8, the combination of Fayazbakhsh and Balasubramanian discloses determining a phase of a carrier wave component of the reflected wave (see Fayazbakhsh, paragraphs [0035], [0045]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayazbakhsh (US 2023/0021768) . As to claims 5, 16, Fayazbakhsh fails to disclose determining the phase of the reflected wave by electrically controlling reflective elements periodically disposed on the reflective plate 204 (see figure 2). Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on how often the phase of the reflected wave is determined (for example, either continuously or periodically). In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from determining the phase of the reflected periodically. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fayazbakhsh as claimed, in order to provide predictable results such as reducing power consumption . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dutta (US 2023/0188170), Sun (US 2023/0199734), Dai (US 2022/0322321), Sridharan (US 2019/0181560), and Sun (US 2023/0199734) disclose reducing interference using reconfigurable intelligent surface. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NGUYEN THANH VO whose telephone number is (571)272-7901. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette J Parker can be reached at (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 5 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 6 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/838,279 Page 7 Art Unit: 2646