DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 11-28 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit” provided in claim 1
The specification and drawings were used to define the generic placeholder specified above (item a):
Specification – “a method for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit … determining trip data for a multiplicity of trips by one or more motor vehicles … The trip data for a trip of a vehicle may in this instance comprise odometry information relating to a motion, in particular relating to a speed, of the vehicle during the trip. The method furthermore comprises determining, on the basis of the trip data, a subset of the multiplicity of trips during which a stop request (detected by the vehicle) from the signaling unit to stop at the signaling unit was not heeded. Additionally, the method comprises detecting a bypass lane of the signaling unit on the basis of the determined subset of trips… SW program may be configured to be executed on a processor (e.g., on a control unit of a vehicle and/or on a vehicle-external unit) and to thereby carry out at least one of the methods described in this document…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 11 and 28 are directed to an apparatus (i.e., a machine) and a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 11 and 28 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 11 and 28 include limitations that recite an abstract idea and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Independent claims 11 and 28 recite the following information:
An apparatus/method for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit, wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine trip data for a plurality of trips by a motor vehicle in surroundings of the signaling unit, wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip;
determine, based on the trip data, a subset of the plurality of trips during which a stop request from the signaling unit to stop at the signaling unit was not heeded; and
detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit based on the determined subset of trips.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute an abstract idea of a mental process that gathers and organizes information related to the motion of a vehicle obtained using sensors and information on instances where the vehicle did not maintain a stop at a red light traffic signal based on observation of the vehicle moving through a road section and determines, based on the obtained information, a lane at the traffic signal for which the vehicle does not need to adhere to a red light signal condition.
Each of the limitations can be performed in the mental realm or by using pen and paper to gather and organize information based on visual observation of displayed sensor data obtained for a vehicle driven at a road section and visual observation of instances where the vehicle did not maintain a stop at a red light traffic signal as the vehicle passes through the road section, and analyzes the gathered information to determine a lane at the traffic signal for which the vehicle does not need to adhere to a red light signal condition.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
Claims 11 and 28 do contain additional elements of an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit and wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip. However, these additional elements do not add to significantly more than the abstract idea of a mental process.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional elements of an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit and wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip, the examiner submits that these limitations merely describe how to generally apply the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general-purpose vehicle traffic monitoring system environment. The an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit and wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the vehicle odometry data receiving and data analyzing to determine a bypass lane of a signaling unit components of the system. As for the additional elements specifying an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit and wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip, the examiner submits that these limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., describe general means of the determining/gathering trip data for a plurality of trips by a vehicle in surroundings of a signaling unit, determining a subset of trips where a stop request was not heeded, and detecting/determining a bypass lane of the signaling unit steps) and therefore amount to mere transmission of data between computer processing components which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity that merely uses computing components to perform the process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claims 1 and 28 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit and wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip amount to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of gathering/transmitting data, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of gathering/transmitting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the computer is anything other than a conventional computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 12-27 (apparatus claims) do not recite and further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The limitations of the dependent claims are directed towards additional aspects of the judicial exception that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The dependent claims further narrow the scope of independent claim 11, however, the identified additional limitations and elements still do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the identified abstract ideas. Therefore, dependent claims 12-27 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claims 11 and 28. Therefore, claims 11-28 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wedajo DE 102019130947 A1 (“Wedajo”) in view of Cardona et al. US 11526711 B1 (“Cardona”).
For claim 11, Wedajo discloses an apparatus for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit (See at least Abstract of Wedajo – “… The present invention relates to … assigning one or more traffic lights (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d) of a traffic light system (10) to a corresponding lane (12a, 12b, 12c, 12d) of a street … The present invention also relates to a driving assistance system … a computer program with instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method…”), wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine trip data for a plurality of trips by a motor vehicle in surroundings of the signaling unit, wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion of the motor vehicle during the trip (See at least page 3-6 of Wedajo – “… the present invention specifies a method for assigning one or more traffic lights of a traffic light system to a corresponding lane of a road, with the steps… Detection of a driving behavior of one or more vehicles in a respective lane by the detection system; Assigning a respective traffic light to a corresponding lane, the specific state of the respective traffic light being processed together with the driving behavior of the one or more vehicles… The recording of the driving behavior of one or more vehicles in the respective lane by the recording system is necessary in order to be able to record a corresponding drive through… data can be collected and used as comprehensively as possible. When a vehicle drives through a region for the first time, it can benefit from assignments previously made by other vehicles…”);
determine, based on the trip data, a subset of the plurality of trips during which a stop request from the signaling unit to stop at the signaling unit was not heeded (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… Optionally, the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data. This means that there is an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through …”); and
detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit based on the determined subset of trips (See at least pages 6-10 of Wedajo – “…the detection system has at least one front camera… can easily capture the traffic light system in front of the vehicle and the surrounding lanes… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d…”).
Wedajo fails to specifically disclose wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip.
However, Cardona, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip (See at least Col. 6 lines 62-67 of Cardona – “… a vehicle telematics system may capture vehicle sensor data (e.g., speed, position, heading, braking, etc.) while a vehicle is at the road segment during the given time-period…”). Thus, Wedajo discloses a driving assistance system for vehicles that records the driving behaviors of vehicles relative to the states of surrounding traffic lights in order to reliably assign a traffic light to a corresponding lane in a situation when a vehicle drives through a red traffic light, while Cardona teaches a system for collecting vehicle telematics data including the speed of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus and method as disclosed in Wedajo to include the feature of the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle including odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip as taught by Cardona, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to capture vehicle sensor data while a vehicle is at a road segment during the given time-period as specified in at least Col. 6 lines 62-67 of Cardona.
For claim 12, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the trip data, a basic set of the plurality of trips during which there was the stop request from the signaling unit (See at least Abstract of Wedajo – “… The present invention relates to … detection the one or more traffic lights … determining each state … the specific state (T, F) of the respective traffic light (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d) together with the Driving behavior of the one or more vehicles (14, 16) is processed…”); and
compare the subset with the basic set in order to detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d …”).
For claim 13, Wedajo discloses wherein
the trip data for the trip of the motor vehicle include environment data relating to an environment of the motor vehicle during the trip that were acquired by one or more environment sensors of the motor vehicle (See at least page 6 of Wedajo – “…the detection system has at least one front camera… can easily capture the traffic light system in front of the vehicle and the surrounding lanes…”); and
the apparatus is configured to determine the basic set based on the environment data for the plurality of trips (See at least Abstract of Wedajo – “… The present invention relates to a method... with the following steps: detection the one or more traffic lights (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d) by a detection system of a vehicle (14) and determining each state (T, F)… the specific state (T, F) of the respective traffic light … together with the Driving behavior of the one or more vehicles (14, 16) is processed… relates to a computer-readable medium with instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method…”).
For claim 14, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the environment data relating to the environment of the motor vehicle during the trip, whether or not the signaling unit signaled a 1 during the trip (See at least Abstract – “… The present invention relates to a method... with the following steps: detection the one or more traffic lights (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d) by a detection system of a vehicle (14) and determining each state (T, F)… the specific state (T, F) of the respective traffic light …” and pages 9-10 of Wedajo – “… it is provided that the traffic lights 10a , 10b , 10c , 10d at least two states T , F. have a state T that is green and allows vehicles to pass through, and at least the second state F. , which is red and prohibits the passage of vehicles… The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d...”); and
include the trip in the basic set in a case in which the signaling unit did signal the stop request (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… there is an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through…”); and/or
not include the trip in the basic set in a case in which the signaling unit did not signal the stop request.
For claim 15, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the subset, a proportion of trips from the basic set during which there was the stop request from the signaling unit but the request was not heeded by the motor vehicle (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d…”); and
compare the determined proportion with a proportion threshold value in order to detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit (See at least pages 10-11 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d… the assignment of a respective traffic … to a corresponding … takes place by means of an algorithm… generates a threshold value which must be exceeded in order to assign a respective traffic light 10a , 10b , 10c , 10d to a corresponding lane 12a , 12b , 12c , 12d … So it could be that the vehicle 16 a third party drives over red… It therefore makes sense to use suitably configured algorithms in order to increase reliability…”).
For claim 16, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the subset, a proportion of trips from the basic set during which there was the stop request from the signaling unit but the request was not heeded by the motor vehicle (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d…”); and
compare the determined proportion with a proportion threshold value in order to detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit (See at least pages 10-11 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d… the assignment of a respective traffic … to a corresponding … takes place by means of an algorithm… generates a threshold value which must be exceeded in order to assign a respective traffic light 10a , 10b , 10c , 10d to a corresponding lane 12a , 12b , 12c , 12d … So it could be that the vehicle 16 a third party drives over red… It therefore makes sense to use suitably configured algorithms in order to increase reliability…”).
For claim 17, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the subset, a proportion of trips from the basic set during which there was the stop request from the signaling unit but the request was not heeded by the motor vehicle (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d…”); and
compare the determined proportion with a proportion threshold value in order to detect the bypass lane of the signaling unit (See at least pages 10-11 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d… the assignment of a respective traffic … to a corresponding … takes place by means of an algorithm… generates a threshold value which must be exceeded in order to assign a respective traffic light 10a , 10b , 10c , 10d to a corresponding lane 12a , 12b , 12c , 12d … So it could be that the vehicle 16 a third party drives over red… It therefore makes sense to use suitably configured algorithms in order to increase reliability…”).
For claim 18, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine that there is the bypass lane at the signaling unit for which the signaling unit is not relevant where the determined proportion is equal to or greater than the proportion threshold value (See at least pages 10-11 of Wedajo – “… the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through… The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you… the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d… the assignment of a respective traffic … to a corresponding … takes place by means of an algorithm… generates a threshold value which must be exceeded in order to assign a respective traffic light 10a , 10b , 10c , 10d to a corresponding lane 12a , 12b , 12c , 12d … So it could be that the vehicle 16 a third party drives over red… It therefore makes sense to use suitably configured algorithms in order to increase reliability…”); and/or
determine that there is no bypass lane at the signaling unit where the determined proportion is less than the proportion threshold value.
For claim 19, Wedajo fails to specifically disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip; and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip.
However, Cardona, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-16 of Cardona – “… vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running … indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM…” Examiner notes that the sensor detects when a vehicle is moving at a speed in a road segment, as opposed to the vehicle not moving at a speed); and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona – “… a vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running a red light and may record the relevant timestamp according to a first clock associated with the vehicle sensor 120 … e.g., indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM… it may be desirable to synchronize the first and second sets of parameters such that a given event reflected in both sets of parameters (e.g., the point at which the traffic signal turned red) will have timestamps consistent with each other… the system 100 may … analyze the first and second sets of road segment parameters to identify one or more vehicle events… As an example, a set of parameters from the vehicle sensors (e.g., speed, heading, brake status, steering wheel orientation, etc.) and a set of parameters from an infrastructure device (e.g., a traffic signal status, a radar gun, a motion sensor, etc.) may each correspond to a vehicle driving through an intersection (e.g., while speeding, while running a red light…”). Thus, Wedajo discloses a driving assistance system for vehicles that records the driving behaviors of vehicles relative to the states of surrounding traffic lights in order to reliably assign a traffic light to a corresponding lane in a situation when a vehicle drives through a red traffic light, while Cardona teaches a system for collecting vehicle telematics data including the speed of the vehicle and determining when a vehicle runs a red light at a speed associated with a time stamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus and method as disclosed in Wedajo to include the feature of determining based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip as taught by Cardona, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify when a vehicle runs past a red light as specified in at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona.
For claim 20, Wedajo fails to specifically disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip; and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip.
However, Cardona, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-16 of Cardona – “… vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running … indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM…” Examiner notes that the sensor detects when a vehicle is moving at a speed in a road segment, as opposed to the vehicle not moving at a speed); and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona – “… a vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running a red light and may record the relevant timestamp according to a first clock associated with the vehicle sensor 120 … e.g., indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM… it may be desirable to synchronize the first and second sets of parameters such that a given event reflected in both sets of parameters (e.g., the point at which the traffic signal turned red) will have timestamps consistent with each other… the system 100 may … analyze the first and second sets of road segment parameters to identify one or more vehicle events… As an example, a set of parameters from the vehicle sensors (e.g., speed, heading, brake status, steering wheel orientation, etc.) and a set of parameters from an infrastructure device (e.g., a traffic signal status, a radar gun, a motion sensor, etc.) may each correspond to a vehicle driving through an intersection (e.g., while speeding, while running a red light…”). Thus, Wedajo discloses a driving assistance system for vehicles that records the driving behaviors of vehicles relative to the states of surrounding traffic lights in order to reliably assign a traffic light to a corresponding lane in a situation when a vehicle drives through a red traffic light, while Cardona teaches a system for collecting vehicle telematics data including the speed of the vehicle and determining when a vehicle runs a red light at a speed associated with a time stamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus and method as disclosed in Wedajo to include the feature of determining based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip as taught by Cardona, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify when a vehicle runs past a red light as specified in at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona.
For claim 21, Wedajo fails to specifically disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip; and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip.
However, Cardona, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine, based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-16 of Cardona – “… vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running … indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM…” Examiner notes that the sensor detects when a vehicle is moving at a speed in a road segment, as opposed to the vehicle not moving at a speed); and
determine that the motor vehicle has not stopped at a stop position of the signaling unit during the trip, based on a determination that the motor vehicle has not dropped below the predefined limit speed for the entirety of the trip (See at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona – “… a vehicle sensor 120 may detect a speed parameter of the vehicle 108 while the vehicle is running a red light and may record the relevant timestamp according to a first clock associated with the vehicle sensor 120 … e.g., indicating the speed was detected/collected at a time 4:28:23 PM… it may be desirable to synchronize the first and second sets of parameters such that a given event reflected in both sets of parameters (e.g., the point at which the traffic signal turned red) will have timestamps consistent with each other… the system 100 may … analyze the first and second sets of road segment parameters to identify one or more vehicle events… As an example, a set of parameters from the vehicle sensors (e.g., speed, heading, brake status, steering wheel orientation, etc.) and a set of parameters from an infrastructure device (e.g., a traffic signal status, a radar gun, a motion sensor, etc.) may each correspond to a vehicle driving through an intersection (e.g., while speeding, while running a red light…”). Thus, Wedajo discloses a driving assistance system for vehicles that records the driving behaviors of vehicles relative to the states of surrounding traffic lights in order to reliably assign a traffic light to a corresponding lane in a situation when a vehicle drives through a red traffic light, while Cardona teaches a system for collecting vehicle telematics data including the speed of the vehicle and determining when a vehicle runs a red light at a speed associated with a time stamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus and method as disclosed in Wedajo to include the feature of determining based on the odometry information for the trip of the motor vehicle, that the motor vehicle has not dropped below a predefined limit speed for an entirety of the trip as taught by Cardona, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify when a vehicle runs past a red light as specified in at least Col. 17 lines 6-67 through Col. 18 lines 1-6 of Cardona.
For claim 22, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
create and/or update map data relating to the signaling unit based on the detected bypass lane; and/or include a map attribute for a virtual signal group of the signaling unit for the detected bypass lane in the map data (See at least pages 5-6 of Wedajo – “… it is provided that the data relating to the association between a relevant traffic light and a relevant lane are stored in a memory system. This ensures that the assignment of traffic lights and lanes is saved accordingly and can be called up at any time. This storage system can optionally be transferred so that vehicles can benefit from the data even when they approach a new traffic light for the first time… the storage system is a cloud-based storage system with a crowd-based database. In this way, data can be collected and used as comprehensively as possible. When a vehicle drives through a region for the first time, it can benefit from assignments previously made by other vehicles…”).
For claim 23, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
create and/or update map data relating to the signaling unit based on the detected bypass lane; and/or include a map attribute for a virtual signal group of the signaling unit for the detected bypass lane in the map data (See at least pages 5-6 of Wedajo – “… it is provided that the data relating to the association between a relevant traffic light and a relevant lane are stored in a memory system. This ensures that the assignment of traffic lights and lanes is saved accordingly and can be called up at any time. This storage system can optionally be transferred so that vehicles can benefit from the data even when they approach a new traffic light for the first time… the storage system is a cloud-based storage system with a crowd-based database. In this way, data can be collected and used as comprehensively as possible. When a vehicle drives through a region for the first time, it can benefit from assignments previously made by other vehicles…”).
For claim 24, Wedajo discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to:
create and/or update map data relating to the signaling unit based on the detected bypass lane; and/or include a map attribute for a virtual signal group of the signaling unit for the detected bypass lane in the map data (See at least pages 5-6 of Wedajo – “… it is provided that the data relating to the association between a relevant traffic light and a relevant lane are stored in a memory system. This ensures that the assignment of traffic lights and lanes is saved accordingly and can be called up at any time. This storage system can optionally be transferred so that vehicles can benefit from the data even when they approach a new traffic light for the first time… the storage system is a cloud-based storage system with a crowd-based database. In this way, data can be collected and used as comprehensively as possible. When a vehicle drives through a region for the first time, it can benefit from assignments previously made by other vehicles…”).
For claim 25, Wedajo discloses wherein the bypass lane is a lane for which a signal group of the signaling unit detected by the motor vehicle is not relevant (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d …”).
For claim 26, Wedajo discloses wherein the bypass lane is a lane for which a signal group of the signaling unit detected by the motor vehicle is not relevant (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d …”).
For claim 27, Wedajo discloses wherein the bypass lane is a lane for which a signal group of the signaling unit detected by the motor vehicle is not relevant (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red F… the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d …”).
For claim 28, Wedajo discloses a method for detecting a bypass lane of a signaling unit (See at least Abstract of Wedajo – “… The present invention relates to … assigning one or more traffic lights (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d) of a traffic light system (10) to a corresponding lane (12a, 12b, 12c, 12d) of a street … The present invention also relates to a driving assistance system … a computer program with instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method…”), the method comprising:
determining trip data for a plurality of trips by a motor vehicle in surroundings of the signaling unit, wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion of the motor vehicle during the trip (See at least page 3-6 of Wedajo – “… the present invention specifies a method for assigning one or more traffic lights of a traffic light system to a corresponding lane of a road, with the steps… Detection of a driving behavior of one or more vehicles in a respective lane by the detection system; Assigning a respective traffic light to a corresponding lane, the specific state of the respective traffic light being processed together with the driving behavior of the one or more vehicles… The recording of the driving behavior of one or more vehicles in the respective lane by the recording system is necessary in order to be able to record a corresponding drive through… data can be collected and used as comprehensively as possible. When a vehicle drives through a region for the first time, it can benefit from assignments previously made by other vehicles…”);
determining, based on the trip data, a subset of the plurality of trips during which a stop request from the signaling unit to stop at the signaling unit was not heeded (See at least page 10 of Wedajo – “… Optionally, the assignment can also be made passively, for example with a corresponding amount of data. This means that there is an association between a traffic light 10b and the corresponding lane 12b can be made when the ego vehicle 14th explicitly in front of the traffic lights 10b that stops on red… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through …”); and
detecting the bypass lane of the signaling unit based on the determined subset of trips (See at least pages 6-10 of Wedajo – “…the detection system has at least one front camera… can easily capture the traffic light system in front of the vehicle and the surrounding lanes… as in FIG 4th is shown, provided that the driving behavior of a vehicle 16 a third party is recorded. The ego vehicle 14th thus has a red traffic light 10b in front of you and that captured a vehicle 16 of a third party in the right lane 12d drives through, being at the traffic lights 10d a green signal T lights up. The ego vehicle 14th has a red traffic light 10b in front of you. Therefore, the right traffic light is assigned accordingly 10d to the right lane 12d…”).
Wedajo fails to specifically disclose wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip.
However, Cardona, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle include odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip (See at least Col. 6 lines 62-67 of Cardona – “… a vehicle telematics system may capture vehicle sensor data (e.g., speed, position, heading, braking, etc.) while a vehicle is at the road segment during the given time-period…”). Thus, Wedajo discloses a driving assistance system for vehicles that records the driving behaviors of vehicles relative to the states of surrounding traffic lights in order to reliably assign a traffic light to a corresponding lane in a situation when a vehicle drives through a red traffic light, while Cardona teaches a system for collecting vehicle telematics data including the speed of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus and method as disclosed in Wedajo to include the feature of the trip data for a trip of the motor vehicle including odometry information relating to a motion, including a speed, of the motor vehicle during the trip as taught by Cardona, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to capture vehicle sensor data while a vehicle is at a road segment during the given time-period as specified in at least Col. 6 lines 62-67 of Cardona.
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668