DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1 and 6-10 in the reply filed on 4 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Chang-Wook teaches away from providing a transport mechanism since it has multiple discrete transmitter coils at different heights. The Examiner disagrees, noting that providing multiple discrete coils at different heights, or moving a single coil to different heights, are simply obvious alternative mechanisms for achieving the same result of providing transmission from different heights. Nevertheless, whether or not this is agreed upon, it is noted that the newly applied Seo renders the claimed invention of independent claim 1 obvious as set forth below. As such, the claims further fail to recite a common special technical feature.
The requirement is thus deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
The application includes the limitation “means for determining” in claim 8.
This application also includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transport mechanism” in claim 1 and 6-10.
For the record:
“Means for determining” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at para. 0021 as being limit switches, encoders, sensors, etc., or equivalents thereof.
“Transport mechanism” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at para. 0021 in that it can include “a belt, cable, gear rack, screw or any other means used for the linear transport of components,” or equivalents thereof. Note that these are listed simply as examples, and that the key feature of the transport mechanism is that provides linear transport.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At lines 2-3 of claim 9, the claim recites “so to as to” which is grammatically incorrect, and renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2018/0313556 A1).
As per claim 1, Seo discloses a humidifier 100 comprising: a water tank 120;
a humidifying module 130 positionable in the water tank (Fig. 1, etc.), the humidifying module including a wireless power receiver (paras. 0047, 0055 re. receiving wireless power; receiver is implicit) and an ultrasonic transducer (para. 0057) in electrical communication with the wireless power receiver (paras. 0055, 0057; etc.);
a wireless power transmitter 110 configured to wirelessly transmit electrical power through a wall of the water tank to the wireless power receiver (through inner wall at 124 (Figs. 1 and 3; etc.); and
a transport mechanism (insert guide portion of 124 discussed at para. 0050) configured facilitate movement of the wireless power transmitter with respect to the water tank. Note that while the guide portion of 124 facilitates linear transport of the power transmitter 110, it does not itself actively move the transmitter into place. However, such placement/assembly can easily be performed either manually by pushing the transmitter into place, or by a mechanical device to provide such movement. It is considered a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize a mechanical device (e.g., “a belt, cable, gear rack, screw or any other means used for the linear transport of components” as listed by applicant) for the purpose of facilitating movement of the wireless power transmitter 110 of Seo into place within the cavity defined by 124.
As per claim 6, Seo do not teach wherein the transport mechanism includes at least one of a belt, a cable, gear rack and a screw configured for moving the wireless power transmitter along a vertical axis with respect to the water tank. Again, it is considered a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize a mechanical device (e.g., “a belt, cable, gear rack, screw or any other means used for the linear transport of components” as listed by applicant) for the purpose of facilitating movement of the wireless power transmitter 110 of Seo into place within the cavity defined by 124, and further that such movement occurs along a vertical axis with respect to the water tank (Figs. 1, 3; etc.).
As per claim 7, Seo further does not teach wherein the transport mechanism includes a motor operably connected with the at least one of the belt, the cable, gear rack and the screw. However, official notice its taken that providing a motor to facilitate the placement of the transmitter 110 into the cavity within 124 of Seo would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application as a simple mechanical expedient constituting a basic automation of a known manual activity.
As per claim 8, Seo also does not teach wherein the transport mechanism includes include means for determining at least one position of the wireless power transmitter along a vertical axis. Official notice is taken that addition of a means for determining (see interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f), above) would have been a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply to the arrangement of Seo for the simple purpose of determining that the transmitter 110 is properly positioned within the cavity formed by 124.
As per claim 9, Seo also does not teach the arrangement further comprising a carriage carried by the transport mechanism, wherein the wireless power transmitter is fixed to so as to move along with the carriage with respect to the water tank. However, the provision of a carriage to hold the transmitter 110 is considered a further simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply to the arrangement of Seo for the purpose of facilitating the movement of the transmitter as it is positioned into place.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 10, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to modify the system of Seo to further comprise a transport-side magnetic component connected with the transport mechanism and configured to move with respect to the water tank, and a humidifying module-side magnetic component associated with the humidifying module, wherein the transport-side magnetic component cooperates with the humidifying module-side magnetic component to move the humidifying module to move up and down in the water tank.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763