Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 and 07/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 16-20, 22-25, 31, 34-35 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Narayanan et al. (US 20250016593).
Regarding claim 1, Narayanan discloses a method for determining a channel state information (CSI) processing unit, performed by a user equipment (CSI processing unit (CPU) may be referred to as a minimum CSI processing unit and a WTRU may support one or more CPUs (e.g., N CPUs); [0109]), comprising:
determining a number of CSI processing units occupied by a CSI report of at least one of a first type set or a second type set (a first CPU type may be used for a CSI reporting based on a conventional CSI compression and a second CPU type may be used for a CSI reporting based on an AIML based CSI compression. A WTRU may report or indicate its capability of number of CPUs supported for a first CPU type and a second CPU type, respectively; [0162-0163]);
wherein the number of CSI processing units occupied by the CSI report in the first type set cannot exceed a first value, and the number of CSI processing units occupied by the CSI report in the second type set cannot exceed a second value (WTRU may report its capability of N1 CPUs (e.g., first CPU type) and N2 CPUs (e.g., second CPU type), wherein N1 CPUs may be used for processing first CSI reporting type (e.g., conventional CSI compression) and N2 CPUs may be used for processing second CSI reporting type (e.g., AIML based CSI compression); [0163]).
Regarding claim 2, Narayanan discloses the first type set comprises at least one of a first type of CSI report or a second type of CSI report (WTRU may apply AIML based CSI feedback if the codebook type is not specified or configured. The WTRU may apply legacy CSI feedback if the codebook type is type1 or type2; [0154-0155]);
wherein the first type of CSI report corresponds to at least one of a first number of processing units or a second number of processing units, and the second type of CSI report corresponds to at least one of a third number of processing units or a fourth number of processing units (WTRU may report its capability of N1 CPUs (e.g., first CPU type) and N2 CPUs (e.g., second CPU type), wherein N1 CPUs may be used for processing first CSI reporting type (e.g., conventional CSI compression) and N2 CPUs may be used for processing second CSI reporting type (e.g., AIML based CSI compression); [0163]).
Regarding claim 3, Narayanan discloses wherein the first type set comprises at least one of a first type of CSI report or a second type of CSI report (WTRU may apply AIML based CSI feedback if the codebook type is not specified or configured. The WTRU may apply legacy CSI feedback if the codebook type is type1 or type2; [0154-0155]),
wherein the first type of CSI report of the first type set corresponds to a first number of processing units, and the second type of CSI report of the first type set corresponds to a third number of processing units (WTRU may report its capability of N1 CPUs (e.g., first CPU type) and N2 CPUs (e.g., second CPU type), wherein N1 CPUs may be used for processing first CSI reporting type (e.g., conventional CSI compression) and N2 CPUs may be used for processing second CSI reporting type (e.g., AIML based CSI compression); [0163]); and
the second type set comprises at least one of a first type of CSI report or a second type of CSI report, wherein the first type of CSI report of the second type set corresponds to a second number of processing units, and the second type of CSI report of the second type set corresponds to a fourth number of processing units (O.sub.CPU.sup.AI1—Number of CPUs occupied when a first type of AIML model is used for CSI processing. O.sub.CPU.sup.AI2—Number of CPUs occupied when a second type of AIML model is used for CSI processing; [0211-0212]).
Regarding claim 6, Narayanan discloses determining a CSI report type reserved in the first type set based on a CSI report priority rule, wherein a first number of CSI processing units occupied by the CSI report of the first type set is greater than the first value (if (e.g., when) the number of unoccupied CPU (N_u) is less than the number of required CPU (N_r) for one or more CSI reporting triggered or configured, a WTRU may perform any of the following: [0201] The WTRU may prioritize a CSI reporting with AIML based compression over a CSI reporting with conventional CSI compression. The CSI reporting with no CPU assigned may be dropped or dummy information may be reported; [0200-0201]);
wherein the number of CSI processing units occupied by the first type of CSI report is the first number of processing units or the second number of processing units, the number of CSI processing units occupied by the second type of CSI report is the third number of processing units or the fourth number of processing units, and the first number of CSI processing units comprises at least one of the number of CSI processing units occupied by the first type of CSI report or the number of CSI processing units occupied by the second type of CSI report (one or more AIML models may be used for CSI compression and each AIML model may require a number of CPUs, wherein the required number of CPUs may be different per AIML model. When N_u<N_r, the WTRU may determine an AIML model which may minimize or reduce the gap N_g=N_r−N_u. WTRU may determine to fall back to conventional CSI compression when N_u<N_r, wherein the number of CPUs required for a conventional CSI compression may be smaller than the number of CPUs required for an AIML based CSI compression; [0203-0204]).
Regarding claim 7, Narayanan discloses the first type set further comprises at least one third type of CSI report, and the first number of CSI processing units further comprises a number of CSI processing units occupied by the at least one third type of CSI report (WTRU may determine an AIML model for an AIML based CSI reporting based on the number of unoccupied CPUs (N_u) when one or more AIML based CSI reporting are triggered. For example, if (e.g., when) an AIML based CSI reporting is triggered, requested, or determined, a WTRU may determine AIML model for the AIML based CSI reporting based on the number of unoccupied CPUs. The WTRU may determine a first AIML model when N_u is less than a threshold (N_u<threshold) and the WTRU may determine a second AIML model when N_u is equal to or greater than the threshold (N_u≥threshold); [0206]).
Regarding claim 8, Narayanan discloses at least one of:
determining a CSI report type reserved in the first type set based on a CSI report priority rule, wherein a first number of CSI processing units occupied by the CSI report of the first type set is greater than the first value (if (e.g., when) the number of unoccupied CPU (N_u) is less than the number of required CPU (N_r) for one or more CSI reporting triggered or configured, a WTRU may perform any of the following: [0201] The WTRU may prioritize a CSI reporting with AIML based compression over a CSI reporting with conventional CSI compression. The CSI reporting with no CPU assigned may be dropped or dummy information may be reported; [0200-0201]), and the first number of CSI processing units comprises at least one of the first number of processing units or the third number of processing units (one or more AIML models may be used for CSI compression and each AIML model may require a number of CPUs, wherein the required number of CPUs may be different per AIML model. When N_u<N_r, the WTRU may determine an AIML model which may minimize or reduce the gap N_g=N_r−N_u. WTRU may determine to fall back to conventional CSI compression when N_u<N_r, wherein the number of CPUs required for a conventional CSI compression may be smaller than the number of CPUs required for an AIML based CSI compression; [0203-0204]); or
determining a CSI report type reserved in the second type set based on the CSI report priority rule, wherein a second number of CSI processing units occupied by the CSI report of the second type set is greater than the second value, and the second number of CSI processing units comprises at least one of the second number of processing units or the fourth number of processing units.
Regarding claim 9, Narayanan discloses at least one of:
the first type set further comprising at least one third type of CSI report, and the first number of CSI processing units further comprising a number of CSI processing units occupied by the at least one third type of CSI report; or
the second type set further comprising the at least one third type of CSI report, and the second number of CSI processing units further comprising a number of CSI processing units occupied by the at least one third type of CSI report (O.sub.CPU.sup.AIx, O.sub.CPU.sup.AIy, O.sub.CPU.sup.AIz—Number of CPUs occupied when different types of AIML models X, Y and Z are used for CSI processing—each type of AIML model may differ in at least one of compression ratio and/or of resolution CSI processing and/or input dimension and/or output dimension and/or processing complexity. WTRU may be configured to select AIML model for CSI processing such that the number of generated CSI reports is maximized. According to embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to select AIML model for CSI processing such that the latency to generate CSI reports are minimized. For example, If L CPUs are occupied for calculation of CSI reports in a given OFDM symbol, the WTRU has N.sub.CPU−L unoccupied CPUs; [0213-0214]).
Regarding claim 10, Narayanan discloses reporting a CSI report corresponding to the CSI report type reserved based on the CSI report priority rule (WTRU may be configured to determine AI model for CSI processing based on the priority CSI reports. For example, the WTRU may be configured for AI model X for highest priority CSI reports and AI model Y for the next priority CSI reports so on, until model Z for lowest priority CSI reports; [0274]).
Regarding claim 16, Narayanan discloses reporting capability information of the CSI processing unit; wherein the capability information of the CSI processing unit carries at least one of whether the user equipment supports an Al-based CSI processing unit; or a number of the Al-based CSI processing units that can be supported (WTRU may report or indicate its capability of number of CPUs supported for a first CPU type and a second CPU type, respectively. For example, a WTRU may report its capability of N1 CPUs (e.g., first CPU type) and N2 CPUs (e.g., second CPU type), wherein N1 CPUs may be used for processing first CSI reporting type (e.g., conventional CSI compression) and N2 CPUs may be used for processing second CSI reporting type (e.g., AIML based CSI compression); [0163]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 17.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saber er al. (US 20250132846), “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR AI AND ML BASED CSI PREDICTION IN NR.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413