Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YUASA et al. (EP 3922459-Google translation).
Regarding claims 8-9, discloses a method for manufacturing a modeled object
comprising a step of laminating a plurality of single-layer structures [0048]
wherein the plurality of single-layer structures are formed of strands (thread like) [0018] resin from extruding along a tool path (claim 14), the tool path includes folded portions as claimed (Figures 3a-6b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYES et al. (2017/0136703-of record).
Regarding claims 3-4, HAYES et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a
modeled object comprising:
creating the object (102) via additive manufacturing [0042] using modeling data (156-Fig.2) prepared by selecting part of tool paths (162) from source data (computer (112)) [0033] that slices or sections the 3D model (116) into multiple model layers (126) (single-layer structures obtained by slicing a base structure at predetermined modeling pitches) [0044], wherein the selecting of tool path is performed to produce a road geometry (140) comprising raster-to-raster gap widths (146-Fig.3), [0051]. HAYES et al. is silent to the selecting is performed in such a way that the larger a change in shape between tool paths of upper and lower layers is in the source data, the shorter an interlayer spacing in the source data is made as claimed. However, HAYES et al. discloses the road geometry (140) depends on a variety of factors, such as material properties, the type of AM apparatus used, deposition conditions, deposition tip dimensions, and the like and discloses suitable raster-to-raster gap widths (interlayer spacing) may range from 0 to 5 inches [0058]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum tool path through routine experimentation because HAYES et al. teach the raster-to-raster gap widths or interlayer spacing can be varied depending on variety of factors such as material properties, the type of AM apparatus used, deposition conditions, deposition tip dimensions, and the like and discloses suitable raster-to-raster gap widths (interlayer spacing) may range from 0 to 5 inches [0058].
Regarding claims 5 and 10, HAYES et al. teach the base structure (102) (Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) US 10,467,821- teaches path data generation device for three-dimensional modeling.
b) US 10,471,665- teaches three dimensional printing with driving nozzle.
c) WO 2020/008165- teaches tool path data generation in additive manufacturing.
d) US 2021/0316367- teaches fabrication of porous scaffolds using additive manufacturing.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742