DETAILED ACTION
Applicant cancelled claims 1-15 and added claims 16-35 in the preliminary amendment filed on 06/17/2026.
The claims 16-35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0175836 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Li teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE 115) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, first configuration information of a first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0011; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the network entity 905 may transmit one or more reference signals that may be received at other devices within a coverage area of the network entity 905. For example, the reference signals may include one or more CSI-RSs that may be transmitted on different beams. In other examples, the reference signals may be transmitted via one or more SSBs, such as DMRSs transmitted in PBCH transmissions of one or more SSBs. In further examples, one or different reference signals may be transmitted by the network entity 905 and used for measurements at one or more receiving devices); performing layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurements associated with the first reference signal resource group
(paragraph 0011; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the UE 115-b may measure the reference signals transmitted by the network entity 905. The UE 115-b may measure, for example, one or more channel parameters such as RSRP or SINR. In some implementations, the measurements at the UE 115-b may be performed according to a measurement configuration); determining a time instance based on an offset between the time instance and a slot associated with a last measurement timing corresponding to a reference signal resource in the first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0098 disclose the one or more future time instances may be indicated by the UE through selection of a bit point of the uplink resource request field 675, where different bit points are mapped to different time offsets relative to a timing of an initial measurement report with the first set of measured RSRPs 670), wherein the offset is indicated from the base station (where different bit points are mapped to different time offsets relative to a timing of an initial measurement report with the first set of measured RSRPs 670); determining predicted L1-RSRP corresponding to the time instance based on the L1- RSRP measurements (paragraph 0098; 0118 disclose the UE 115-b may predict measurement changes associated with the measured reference signals. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may implement a predictive algorithm to estimate expected changes in measurements for one or more future time periods); and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including the predicted L1-RSRP (paragraph 0085-0087; 0102; 0110; 0135 disclose the UE reporting measurement report (CSI report) including predicted or measured future L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or multiple second groups of CSI-RS or SSB resources of the CSI-RS or SSB resource set).
With respect to claim 17, Li teaches wherein the time instance is determined based on a CSI reference resource corresponding to the CSI report (paragraph 0103 disclose an indication of one of the remaining bit-points may indicate that for the future time instance, at least the CSI-RS or SSB resource ID associated with the strongest L1-RSRP or L1-SINR among the CSI-RS or SSB resources within the CSI-RS or SSB resource set, is predicted to be different from the strongest that is reported in the measured parameters 710. In some implementations, the future time instance may be a predetermined time instance, or may be configured with the measurement report configuration).
With respect to claim 18, Li teaches wherein the last measurement timing is no later than the CSI reference resource (paragraph 0103 disclose an indication of one of the remaining bit-points may indicate that for the future time instance, at least the CSI-RS or SSB resource ID associated with the strongest L1-RSRP or L1-SINR among the CSI-RS or SSB resources within the CSI-RS or SSB resource set, is predicted to be different from the strongest that is reported in the measured parameters 710. In some implementations, the future time instance may be a predetermined time instance, or may be configured with the measurement report configuration).
With respect to claim 19, Li teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station, second configuration information of a second reference signal resource group associated with the first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0011; 0110; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the network entity 905 may transmit one or more reference signals that may be received at other devices within a coverage area of the network entity 905. For example, the reference signals may include one or more CSI-RSs that may be transmitted on different beams. In other examples, the reference signals may be transmitted via one or more SSBs, such as DMRSs transmitted in PBCH transmissions of one or more SSBs. In further examples, one or different reference signals may be transmitted by the network entity 905 and used for measurements at one or more receiving devices), wherein the predicted L1-RSRP is for reference signal resources in the second reference signal resource group (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping), wherein each of the reference signal resources in the first reference signal resource group is one of a CSI reference signal resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping), and wherein each of the reference signal resources in the second reference signal resource group is one of a CSI reference signal resource or an SSB resource (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping).
With respect to claim 20, Li teaches wherein the first reference signal resource group is configured with a repetition parameter (paragraph 0102 disclose a UE may be configured with a first periodic or SP CSI report setting with report quantity that includes a set of measured L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with a first group of CSI-RS or SSB resources of a CSI-RS or SSB resource set as channel measurement resource (CMR) for the CSI report setting).
The limitations of claim 21 are rejected in the analysis of claim 16 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 17 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 23 are rejected in the analysis of claim 18 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 24 are rejected in the analysis of claim 19 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 25 are rejected in the analysis of claim 20 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
With respect to claim 26, Li teaches a method performed by a base station (network entity 305) in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information of a first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0011; 0102; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the network entity 905 may transmit one or more reference signals that may be received at other devices within a coverage area of the network entity 905. For example, the reference signals may include one or more CSI-RSs that may be transmitted on different beams. In other examples, the reference signals may be transmitted via one or more SSBs, such as DMRSs transmitted in PBCH transmissions of one or more SSBs. In further examples, one or different reference signals may be transmitted by the network entity 905 and used for measurements at one or more receiving devices); receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph 0085-0087; 0102; 0110; 0135 disclose the UE reporting measurement report (CSI report) including predicted or measured future L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or multiple second groups of CSI-RS or SSB resources of the CSI-RS or SSB resource set); and obtaining predicted layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) in the CSI report, wherein the predicted L1-RSRP is associated with L1-RSRP measurements and a time instance (paragraph 0085-0087; 0102; 0110; 0135 disclose the UE reporting measurement report (CSI report) including predicted or measured future L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or multiple second groups of CSI-RS or SSB resources of the CSI-RS or SSB resource set), wherein the L1-RSRP measurements are associated with the first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0011; 0084; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the UE 115-b may measure the reference signals transmitted by the network entity 905. The UE 115-b may measure, for example, one or more channel parameters such as RSRP or SINR. In some implementations, the measurements at the UE 115-b may be performed according to a measurement configuration), wherein the time instance is configured based on an offset between the time instance and a slot associated with a last measurement timing corresponding to a reference signal resource in the first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0098 disclose the one or more future time instances may be indicated by the UE through selection of a bit point of the uplink resource request field 675, where different bit points are mapped to different time offsets relative to a timing of an initial measurement report with the first set of measured RSRPs 670), wherein the offset is indicated to the UE (where different bit points are mapped to different time offsets relative to a timing of an initial measurement report with the first set of measured RSRPs 670).
With respect to claim 27, Li teaches wherein the time instance is associated with a CSI reference resource corresponding to the CSI report (paragraph 0103 disclose an indication of one of the remaining bit-points may indicate that for the future time instance, at least the CSI-RS or SSB resource ID associated with the strongest L1-RSRP or L1-SINR among the CSI-RS or SSB resources within the CSI-RS or SSB resource set, is predicted to be different from the strongest that is reported in the measured parameters 710. In some implementations, the future time instance may be a predetermined time instance, or may be configured with the measurement report configuration).
With respect to claim 28, Li teaches wherein the last measurement timing is no later than the CSI reference resource (paragraph 0103 disclose an indication of one of the remaining bit-points may indicate that for the future time instance, at least the CSI-RS or SSB resource ID associated with the strongest L1-RSRP or L1-SINR among the CSI-RS or SSB resources within the CSI-RS or SSB resource set, is predicted to be different from the strongest that is reported in the measured parameters 710. In some implementations, the future time instance may be a predetermined time instance, or may be configured with the measurement report configuration).
With respect to claim 29, Li teaches transmitting, to the UE, second configuration information of a second reference signal resource group associated with the first reference signal resource group (paragraph 0011; 0110; 0116-0117; 0120 disclose the network entity 905 may transmit one or more reference signals that may be received at other devices within a coverage area of the network entity 905. For example, the reference signals may include one or more CSI-RSs that may be transmitted on different beams. In other examples, the reference signals may be transmitted via one or more SSBs, such as DMRSs transmitted in PBCH transmissions of one or more SSBs. In further examples, one or different reference signals may be transmitted by the network entity 905 and used for measurements at one or more receiving devices), wherein the predicted L1-RSRP is for reference signal resources in the second reference signal resource group (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping), wherein each of the reference signal resources in the first reference signal resource group is one of a CSI reference signal resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping), and wherein each of the reference signal resources in the second reference signal resource group is one of a CSI reference signal resource or an SSB resource (paragraph 0110 disclose the measurement report configurations for reporting L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources within CSI-RS or SSB resource sets may be determined or otherwise ascertained, obtained, or selected from the mapping).
With respect to claim 30, Li teaches wherein the first reference signal resource group is configured with a repetition parameter (paragraph 0102 disclose a UE may be configured with a first periodic or SP CSI report setting with report quantity that includes a set of measured L1-RSRPs or L1-SINRs associated with a first group of CSI-RS or SSB resources of a CSI-RS or SSB resource set as channel measurement resource (CMR) for the CSI report setting).
The limitations of claim 31 are rejected in the analysis of claim 26 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 32 are rejected in the analysis of claim 27 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 33 are rejected in the analysis of claim 28 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 34 are rejected in the analysis of claim 29 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 35 are rejected in the analysis of claim 30 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
8/5/2026