CTNF 18/838,396 CTNF 86547 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 8-21, 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al., US 2021/0360611 A1 . Re claim 1, Manolakos discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user-equipment (UE) comprising: operating in a multi-transmission-reception point (multi-TRP) mode (paragraphs [146]-[147], Two modes for multi-TRP operation have been defined: single-DCI and multi-DCI; paragraph [169]-[170], For multi-DCI multi-TRP); engaging in a positioning session with a network entity while operating in the multi-TRP mode (paragraph [123], LTE positioning protocol (LPP) session); reporting a set of positioning capabilities for the positioning session to the network (paragraph [123], A UE may indicate the number of frequency layers it can support when it sends the network its positioning capabilities), wherein the set of positioning capabilities indicate one or more enhanced positioning capabilities of the UE to perform positioning operation based on the UE operating in the multi-TRP mode(paragraph [148]; fig 6A), and wherein the one or more enhanced positioning capabilities are greater than one or more corresponding positioning capabilities of the UE to perform positioning operation based on the UE operating in a single-transmission-reception (S-TRP) mode (paragraph [179], At 1210 , the UE receives one or more PDCCHs, one or more PDSCHs, or both from at least a first TRP, a second TRP, or both (e.g., any two or more TRPs described herein); also see fig 6A). Re claim 2, Manolakos discloses deactivating the multi-TRP during the positioning session (paragraph [143]); and maintaining the one or more enhanced positioning capabilities for the remainder of the session (paragraph [143]). Re claim 3, Manolakos discloses reducing one or more capabilities of the multi-TRP mode during the positioning session (paragraph [143]); and maintaining the one or more enhanced positioning capabilities for the remainder of the session (paragraph [143]). Re claim 4, Manolakos discloses that the one or more enhanced positioning capabilities include one or more enhanced positioning reference signal (PRS) processing capabilities, and the one or more enhanced PRS processing capabilities are greater than PRS processing capabilities of the UE in the S-TRP mode (see claim 1 above). Re claim 8, Manolakos discloses receiving assistance data from the network entity, wherein the assistance data indicates the one or more PRS resources to be measured for the positioning session (paragraph [107]); and reporting to the network entity, one or more measurement of the one or more PRS resources indicated in the assistance data (paragraph [181]). Re claim 9, Manolakos discloses receiving one or more physical download control channels (PDCCHs) carrying downlink control information (DCI) from a single TRP, and receiving one or more physical download shared channels (PDSCHs) from the single TRP (paragraph [146]-[147]; fig 6A). Re claim 10, Manolakos discloses receiving a PDCCH carrying DCI from a single TRP; and receiving multiple PDSCHs from multiple TRPs (paragraphs [146]-[147]; fig 6A). Re claim 11, Manolakos discloses receiving multiple PDCCHs from multiple TRPs, wherein each of the multiple PDCCHs carry respective DCIs and receiving multiple physical download shared channel (PDSCHs) from the multiple TRPs (paragraphs [146]-[147]; fig 6A). Re claim 12, Manolakos discloses that the network entity is a network server (paragraph [181], location server), and the set of positioning capabilities for the positioning session are reported to the location server in one or more Long-Tern Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LLP) messages (paragraph [123]). Re claim 13, Manolakos discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see at least fig. 12) comprising: engaging in a positioning session with a network entity while operating in a multi-transmission-reception point (multi-TRP) mode (paragraphs [146]-[147], Two modes for multi-TRP operation have been defined: single-DCI and multi-DCI; paragraph [169]-[170], For multi-DCI multi-TRP … Second, the UE is indicated that a specific “CORESETPoolIndex,” PDCCH, and/or scheduled PDSCH can be used to derive positioning measurements); receiving measurement request to measure a plurality of position reference signals (PRS) resource for the positioning session (paragraph [145], PRS; paragraph [178]-[180] implicitly discloses measurement request); measuring an enhanced set of the plurality of PRS resources during measurement period based on the UE being in multi-TRP mode (paragraph [180], At 1220 , the UE performs one or more positioning measurements (e.g., ToA, RSTD, RSRP, etc.) of the one or more PDCCHs, the one or more PDSCHs, or both.), wherein the enhanced set of the plurality of PRS resources includes more PRS resources than a nominal set of the plurality of PRS resources that the UE is capable of measuring during the measurement period, measure occasion, or measurement instance while operating in a single-transmission-reception point (S-TRP) mode (paragraph [179], At 1210 , the UE receives one or more PDCCHs, one or more PDSCHs, or both from at least a first TRP, a second TRP, or both (e.g., any two or more TRPs described herein).). Claims 14-16 are rejected for the same reasons as respective claims 9-11. Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 12. Re claim 18, it is drawn to the UE by the corresponding UE of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above (see at least paragraph [179], where Manolakos discloses a memory, transceiver and processor). Claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as respective claims 2-3. Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as claim 4. Claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as claim 8. Claims 26-28 are rejected for the same reasons as respective claims 9-11. Claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12. Re claim 30, it is drawn to the UE by the corresponding UE of claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13 above (see at least paragraph [179], where Manolakos discloses a memory, transceiver and processor) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-7, 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL whose telephone number is (571)270-7926. The examiner can normally be reached MON- THURS 5:30AM - 3:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amanda Lauritzen can be reached at 5712724303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/838,396 Page 2 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/838,396 Page 3 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/838,396 Page 4 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/838,396 Page 5 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/838,396 Page 6 Art Unit: 6215