DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (US 2017/0181433).
As concerns claim 1, Martin shows a method of maintaining seed spacing, comprising: forming a trench (paragraph 0093 & 0127; claim 1; inherent that a seed planter would have an opening assembly for forming a furrow in order to plant a seed in the furrow); depositing a foam (liquid formulation in the form of foam) into the trench (paragraph 0093, 0095, 0127 & 0153; claims 1, 9 & 12); and depositing seed from a seed tube (seed tube) or seed conveyor into the foam in the trench (paragraph 0153; claim 1), wherein the foam prevents movement of the seed in the trench so that the seed maintains spacing between seeds (paragraph 0093 & 0095; implicit effect).
As concerns claim 3, Martin shows closing the trench (paragraph 0093 & 0127; inherent that a seed planter would have a closing assembly for closing the furrow after the seed is planted in the furrow).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Levy (US 9,980,429).
As concerns claim 2, Martin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the foam is deposited in the trench from a protector disposed ahead of the seed tube or the seed conveyor along a direction travel. Levy teaches wherein a liquid formulation is deposited in a trench (60) from a protector (100, 200) disposed ahead of a seed tube or seed conveyor (28) along a direction travel (Fig. 1-11; col 2, ln 33 – col 3, ln 28). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Martin, as taught by Levy, to include a liquid applicator attachment for the expected benefit of protecting the nozzle during operation. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a liquid applicator attachment on the seed planter would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the seed planter design.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that Martin does not disclose a foam with a structure to prevent seeds from moving, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Martin discloses directly applying a liquid formulation to a furrow immediately before or during planting a seed in the furrow (claim 1), wherein the formulation comprises a foamable aqueous composition comprising at least one foaming agent and at least one foam stabilizer (claim 9). Martin further discloses in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, the foaming discharge rate can be adjusted as needed in applications in which the foam is dispensed in advance of the seed to ensure that the proper amount of foam is deposited in the furrow so as to avoid over saturating or filling the furrow and floating the seed such that there is too little contact with the soil (paragraph 0153). Thus, the foam, as taught by Martin, would be suitable for and would provide the implicit effect of preventing movement of the seed in the trench so that the seed maintains spacing between seeds. It has been held that a recitation of the intended result of the positively recited method step of the claimed invention must result in a difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of achieving the intended result, then it meets the claim. Therefore, Martin meets the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672