DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “introducing water containing PFAS to an adsorption media to promote loading of the adsorption media with PFAS;” in lines 3-4. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “introducing water containing PFAS to an adsorption media to promote loading of the adsorption media with PFAS thereby producing an adsorption media containing PFAS;” for clarification purposes.
Claim 1 recites “to promote mineralization of the PFAS” in line 8. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “to promote mineralization of the PFAS in the waste stream” for clarification purposes.
Claim 21 recites “wherein polishing comprises” in line 1. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “wherein the polishing comprises” for clarification purposes.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tow et al. (Managing and treating per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) in membrane concentrates, AWWA Wat Sci. 2021; e1233, hereinafter “Tow”), in view of Siriwardena et al. (Regeneration of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance-laden granular activated carbon using a solvent based technology, Journal of Environmental Management 289 (2021) 112439, hereinafter “Siriwardena”) and Orman et al. (US 5,424,045, hereinafter “Orman”).
In regard to claim 1, Tow discloses a method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) (pages 1-2, Abstract), comprising:
(i) introducing water containing PFAS to an adsorption media, such as granulated activated carbon (GAC) (page 7, Section 2.8 Adsorption), to promote loading of the adsorption media with PFAS; and
(ii) directing the waste stream containing PFAS (residual stream) treatment comprising a long-term sequestration or a destructive defluorination approach (page 15, Section 5 Summary and Conclusion 1st and 2nd paragraphs), wherein the residual stream containing PFAS is treated through incineration in a thermal reactor at a reaction temperature greater than 800 [Symbol font/0xB0]C or 1100 [Symbol font/0xB0]C and the spent GAC is thermally regenerated (page 11, Section 3.10 Incineration, 1st paragraph).
But Tow does not explicitly disclose the features of: (I) introducing an eluent to the adsorption media containing PFAS to produce a waste stream containing PFAS; and (II) directing the waste stream containing PF AS to an internal combustion engine with a source of oxygen and a source of fuel to promote mineralization of the PFAS.
Regarding the feature of (I), Siriwardena discloses a method for regeneration of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance-laden granular activated carbon using a solvent based technology (page 1, Title; Abstract). Siriwardena discloses introducing an eluent (organic solvents comprising methanol, ethanol, isopropyl alcohol, and ammonium hydroxide (NH4OH)) to the GAC adsorption media containing PFAS to produce a waste stream containing PFAS (pages 3-4, Section 2 Materials and Methods).
It is noted that both the Tow and Siriwardena references direct a method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) using adsorbent such as GAC.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) taught by Tow to provide the feature of “(I) introducing an eluent to the adsorption media containing PFAS to produce a waste stream containing PFAS” as taught by Siriwardena, because the recited feature of introducing an eluent to the adsorption media containing PFAS to produce a waste stream containing PFAS is a known, effective method of regenerating per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance-laden granular activated carbon taught by Siriwardena (page 1, Title; Abstract; pages 3-4, Section 2 Materials and Methods).
Regarding the feature of (II), Tow discloses treating the waste stream containing PFAS (residual stream) incineration in a thermal reactor at a reaction temperature greater than 800 [Symbol font/0xB0]C or greater than 1100 [Symbol font/0xB0]C thereby achieving mineralization of PFAS (page 11, Section 3.10 Incineration, 1st paragraph thru page 12, left column, 1st paragraph).
Orman discloses a process for remediating combustible hydrocarbon contaminated soil and/or ground water through a combined use of internal combustion engine and catalytic oxidation, thereby remediating vapors from the subsurface zone at all conditions of flow and concentration (col. 1, lines 5-12). The invention achieves abating at least 99% of the hydrocarbons removed from soil and/or mixed with groundwater (col. 3, lines 46-48). Orman discloses a combustion of vadose gas (contaminant hydrocarbon gases) by supplying air (37, Fig. 1) and auxiliary fuels such as methane, ethane, propane, or butane (26, Fig. 1) into an internal combustion engine (14, Fig. 1).
It is noted that both the Tow and Orman references direct a method of incinerating (combusting) contaminant hydrocarbon gases in order to reduce its impact on environment.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) taught by Tow, in view of Siriwardena, and further in view of Orman, to provide the feature of “(II) directing the waste stream containing PFAS to an internal combustion engine with a source of oxygen and a source of fuel to promote mineralization of the PFAS”, because the recited feature is a known, effective method of achieving mineralization of PFAS by incinerating waste stream containing PFAS (residual stream) in a thermal reactor as taught by Tow (page 11, Section 3.10 Incineration, 1st paragraph thru page 12, left column, 1st paragraph), and combusting of contaminant hydrocarbon gases by supplying air (37, Fig. 1) and auxiliary fuels such as methane, ethane, propane, or butane (26, Fig. 1) into an internal combustion engine (14, Fig. 1) is well known as taught by Orman (Fig. 1; col. 4, line 1 thru col. 5, line 18).
In regard to claim 2, Tow discloses per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) comprises perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) and perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS) (page 2, left column, 1st paragraph).
In regard to claims 3 and 4, Tow discloses an incineration temperature of greater than 1100 [Symbol font/0xB0]C (page 11, Section 3.10 Incineration, 1st paragraph) which overlaps the recited temperature range of greater than 1000 [Symbol font/0xB0]C or greater than 1500 [Symbol font/0xB0]C. Therefore, the recited temperature ranges are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regard to claim 5, Tow discloses introducing water containing PFAS to an adsorption media, such as granulated activated carbon (GAC) (page 7, Section 2.8 Adsorption).
In regard to claim 7, Tow discloses adsorbent comprises ion exchange resin (page 2, right-column, 1st paragraph).
In regard to claim 8, Tow discloses the residual stream containing PFAS is treated through incineration in a thermal reactor at a reaction temperature greater than 800 [Symbol font/0xB0]C or 1100 [Symbol font/0xB0]C and the spent GAC is thermally regenerated (page 11, Section 3.10 Incineration, 1st paragraph).
In regard to claim 10, Tow discloses further concentration of PFAS-laden concentrates may be beneficial to reduce the volume of wastewater for PFAS destruction or sequestration (page 4, Section 2. Further Concentration of Membrane Concentrates, 1st paragraph). This renders the recitation of claim 10 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 11, Tow discloses further treatment of foam fractionation for the PFAS-laden concentrates (page 4, Section 2. Further Concentration of Membrane Concentrates, 1st paragraph; pages 5-6, Section 2.4. Foam fractionation).
In regard to claim 12, Orman discloses a use of a vacuum-spray unit (59, Fig. 1) for vaporizing combustible hydrocarbon contaminated water prior to transport it to the internal engine (col. 4, lines 30-46). This renders the recitation of claim 12 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 13, Siriwardena discloses eluent (solvent-base mix) by mixing alcohol and NH4OH (basic solvent) (page 5, left column, 1st paragraph) which directs a basic nature of the eluent.
In regard to claims 14, 17 and 18, Siriwardena discloses organic solvents (eluent) comprising methanol (pages 3-4, Section 2 Materials and Methods).
In regard to claim 19, Orman discloses directing an exhaust stream associated with the internal combustion engine to a catalytic converter (16, Fig. 1) (col. 4, lines 17-29).
In regard to claims 20 and 21, Orman discloses an exhaust gas from the internal engine is transported to catalyst bed for further combustion (i.e., thermal oxidization which also meets the recited polishing) (col. 5, lines 41-66).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (WO 2020/247029 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
In regard claim 6, Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, does not explicitly disclose the adsorption media is coated with a positively charged surfactant.
However, Chen discloses a method and a system for treating a source of water contaminated with PFAS (Title; Abstract). Chen discloses the system may comprise a PFAS separation stage having an inlet fluidly connectable to the source of water contaminated with PFAS, a diluate outlet, and a concentrate outlet and a PFAS elimination stage positioned downstream of the PFAS separation stage having an inlet fluidly connected to an outlet of the PFAS separation stage (page 2, lines 11-18), wherein the system using an adsorbent materials comprising GAC (pages 11-12). Chen discloses the GAC may be coated in a positively charged surfactant that preferentially with the negatively charged PFAS in solution (page 12, lines 12-17).
It is noted that both the Tow and Chen references direct a method/a system of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) using adsorbent such as GAC.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) taught by Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, to provide the feature of the adsorption media is coated with a positively charged surfactant as taught by Chen, because the recited feature of the adsorption media is coated with a positively charged surfactant is a known, effective method for separating/attracting the negatively charged PFAS in solution as taught by Chen (page 12, lines 12-17).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ball (US 2019/0241452 A1).
In regard claim 15, Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, does not explicitly disclose the eluent is a cyclodextrin.
However, Ball discloses methods, apparatuses and systems for the remediation of contaminated soils, groundwater, water, and/or waste using a combination of reagents (Abstract). Ball discloses soil and groundwater may be contacted with cyclodextrin or its derivatives to remove PFAS from the ground or ground water before any degradation or destruction method is employed (paragraph [0076]). Ball discloses use of granular or powered activated carbon in treatment process (paragraph [0110]).
It is noted that both the Tow and Ball references direct a method/a system of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) using adsorbent such as GAC.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) taught by Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, to provide the feature of the eluent is a cyclodextrin as suggested by Ball, because soil and groundwater may be contacted with cyclodextrin or its derivatives to remove PFAS from the ground or ground water before any degradation or destruction method is employed as taught by Ball (paragraph [0076]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 108187365 A, please refer to the attached English translation document, hereinafter “Chen”).
In regard claim 16, Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, does not explicitly disclose the eluent is supercritical carbon dioxide.
However, Chen discloses a kind of methods that perfluorooctanoic acid in fluoropolymer is removed using supercritical carbon dioxide, it is first dissolved under the temperature and pressure of setting using supercritical carbon dioxide and extracts the perfluorooctanoic acid in fluoropolymer, achieve the purpose that perfluorooctanoic acid is detached and removed from fluoropolymer (Abstract; pages 1-2).
It is noted that both the Tow and Chen references direct a method/a system of treating (reducing or destructing) sample containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) using.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of treating (reducing or destructing) water containing a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) taught by Tow, in view of Siriwardena and Orman, to provide the feature of the eluent is supercritical carbon dioxide as suggested by Chen, because supercritical carbon dioxide is an effective solvent for removing PFAS from samples as taught by Chen (Abstract; pages 1-2).
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772