DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-020928, filed on 02/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hogan et al. (US 20210032039 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hogan teaches (Fig. 9A, 10A-10B and 17-19): A rail connecting structure (joint connector 900) that connects rails (track sections 106) to be mounted on rail mounting members (Fig. 10A and annotated Fig. 18 below), the rail connecting structure (900) comprising a base block (first bracket 928 and second bracket 930) that is placed at a connecting portion of one rail (106) and the other rail (106) and is separate from the rail mounting members (Fig. 10A-10B), wherein the base block (928, 930) is fastened to the one rail and the other rail (106) with fastening members (threaded shaft 410 and springed bolt 806; Fig. 17) that are passed through mounting holes of the one rail and the other rail (para. 0092, liens 9-14; Fig. 12), and the base block (928, 930) is not fixed to the rail mounting members (annotated Fig. 18 below) and is movable relative to the rail mounting members (the blocks 928, 930 are attached only to the rails 106, and are therefore movable relative to the rail mounting members once they are detached from the rails; annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding claim 2, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 18): there is a gap between the base block (928, 930) and the rail mounting members (annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding claim 3, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 9A-9C and 14): side surfaces of the rails (106) are pressed against a reference surface of the base block (930) by use of cap screws (806) that are threadedly engaged with the base block (para. 0105; Fig. 14 shows the base block 930 having a springed bolt 806 with a cap).
Regarding claim 6, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 10A-10B and 18): the one rail (106) is mounted on one rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below), and the other rail (106) is mounted on the other rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding claim 7, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 10A-10B and 18): side surfaces of the rails (106) are pressed against a reference surface of the base block (930) by use of cap screws (806) that are threadedly engaged with the base block (para. 0105; Fig. 14 shows the base block 930 having a springed bolt 806 with a cap).
Regarding claim 8, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 10A-10B and 18): the one rail (106) is mounted on one rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below), and the other rail (106) is mounted on the other rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding claim 9, Hogan further teaches (Fig. 10A-10B and 18): the one rail (106) is mounted on one rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below), and the other rail (106) is mounted on the other rail mounting member (annotated Fig. 18 below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4 and its depending claim(s) 5 and 10-11, the prior art fails to teach that the side surfaces of the rails are pressed against the reference surface of the base block by use of the cap screws and rail retainers placed on side surfaces of the rails opposite to the reference surface. While Hogan further teaches (Fig. 9A-9C and 14): the side surfaces of the rails (106) are pressed against the reference surface of the base block (930) by use of the cap screws (806)(Fig. 14), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Hogan to further include rail retainers placed on side surfaces of the rails opposite to the reference surface. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
It is noted that while the first and second brackets (928, 930) of Hogan may be construed as the rail retainers placed on side surfaces of the rails for retaining the rails, the brackets (928, 930) were already construed as the base block to satisfy the limitation of “the side surfaces of the rails are pressed against the reference surface of the base block by use of the cap screws”. Further, it is improper to alternatively construe the lower ledge (932) of Hogan as the “base block”, since Hogan’s base block 932 is not pressed against the side surfaces of the rails by use of cap screws.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of a rail connecting structure: US-20120085833-A1, JP-2003283160-A, JP-2012100512-A, JP-5567459-B2, DE-102016107139-B4, EP-3771665-A1.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615