Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qasem (2022, Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing) and Perrine (2010, IEEE).
Regarding claim 1, Qasem teaches a receiving method comprising:
detecting a position of a first sequence and a position of a second sequence in a received signal of each of a plurality of channels received by [a receiver] [[pg. 11, col. 1] a cross-correlation between the received signal and the well-known preamble and postamble segments is first performed; [pg. 2, col. 2] rest of this paper is structured as follows: the system model, including the transmitter and the receiver of the proposed schemes, is presented in Section 2; [pg. 1, col. 1] main challenges of underwater acoustic channels are represented by the long-delay effect and doubly selective channel caused by the oceanic environment [1, 2] [sec 4] proposed precoded IM-OFDM-SS performance is evaluated in terms of BER and PAPR based on simulation and real experimental underwater channels];
calculating, for each of the plurality of channels, a time period which has been required to receive a predetermined part of the received signal [[eq. 8] describes length of received signal β’ as compared to transmitted signal length β], based on the detected position of the first sequence and the detected position of the second sequence [[pg. 11, col. 1] the first resulted peak was used for synchronization while the difference between the first and the second peaks is utilized to evaluate the DSF as in (8)];
performing a correcting process of correcting one or both of an outlier included in the position of the first sequence having been detected for each of the plurality of channels and an outlier included in the time period having been calculated for each of the plurality of channels [[pg. 1, col. 1-2] use of correcting coding can also provide communication with better quality [4]];
estimating Doppler shift by using the time period after the correcting process for each of the plurality of channels [[eq. 8] shows ratio of length of received signal β’ to transmitted signal length β; [pg. 4, col. 1] Also, a Doppler shift ej2πβf n t is affecting every subcarrier. The frequency-dependent Doppler shift causes a critical ICI in the UWAC. To mitigate the ICI effect, the two-step Doppler estimation and compensation in [21] are adopted in this paper where two low-frequency modulation (LFM) segments are used as preamble and postamble to coarsely estimate the DSF at the receiver end. The DSF is estimated by a cross-correlation between yðtÞ and those two known segments, preamble and postamble. Crosscorrelation operation will give a signal with two peaks; the first one is utilized for synchronization. The difference between first and second cross-correlation peaks is used to find the length of the received signal β′. By comparing β′ with the length of transmitted signal length β which is supposed to be known, the DSF can be estimated as]; and
offsetting the received signal by using the Doppler shift having been estimated for each of the plurality of channels and outputting the received signal divided based on the position of the first sequence after the correcting process to an equalizer [[pg. 1, col. 1] exhaustive processing must be employed at the receiving end for equalizing and estimating the channel to ensure the reliability of UWA communication; [pg. 4, col. 2] orthogonal matching pursuit (OMP) [22] is adopted in this paper for underwater channel estimation, and the minimum means square error (MMSE) is used for equalization. After removing the overhead packets from the MMSE equalizer output; [pg. 748, col. 2] payload data is then processed by (1) the static DFE or (2) a decision-directed adaptive DFE with a learning rate of 0.01].
Qasem does not explicitly teach and yet Perrine teaches a plurality of receivers [[title] doppler estimation and correction for shallow underwater acoustic communications; [abstract] doppler correction with static versus adaptive equalizers … packet transmission samples (each 0.5s long) from a five-channel receiver array.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to replace the receiver as taught by Qasem with the receivers array as taught by Perrine so that directional hydrophones may cover more area [[pg. 748, col. 1]].
Regarding claim 2, Qasem teaches the receiving method according to claim 1, wherein the received signal includes a payload sandwiched between a preamble and a postamble [[fig. 7] shows preamble followed by zeros and OFDM #n packets and finally postabmle], the first sequence is a preamble data included in the preamble, the second sequence is a postamble data included in the postamble [[pg. 4, col. 1] two low-frequency modulation (LFM) segments are used as preamble and postamble to coarsely estimate the DSF at the receiver end. The DSF is estimated by a cross-correlation between yðtÞ and those two known segments, preamble and postamble.], and the predetermined part of the received signal is from a predetermined position of the preamble to a predetermined position of the postamble [[pg. 11, col. 1] the first resulted peak was used for synchronization while the difference between the first and the second peaks is utilized to evaluate the DSF as in (8)].
Regarding claim 3, Qasem teaches the receiving method according to claim 1, wherein one or both of the outlier included in the position of the first sequence and the outlier included in the time period are is corrected using a robust regression method [note: instant para. 0028 prediction using an iterative reweighted least square (IRLS) method as the robust regression; [pg. 1, col. 1] single-carrier modulation was proven to be capable of dealing with the ISI since the adaptive equalizer can be employed, e.g., a decision feedback equalizer with a recursive least squares algorithm [3]].
Regarding claim 4, Qasem teaches the receiving method according to claim 3, wherein the robust regression method is one or more of an iterative weighted least square method, a least median method, a random sample consensus method, convex relaxation, a greedy method for a purpose of Ip norm minimization, a proximity gradient method for a purpose of Ip norm minimization, logistic regression, ridge regression, and LASSO regression [[pg. 1-2 bridging] single-carrier modulation was proven to be capable of dealing with the ISI since the adaptive equalizer can be employed, e.g., a decision feedback equalizer with a recursive least squares algorithm [3]. Furthermore, the use of correcting coding can also provide communication with better quality [4]; [4] E. Sozer, J. G. Proakis, and F. Blackmon, “Iterative equalization and decoding techniques for shallow water acoustic channels,” in MTS/IEEE Oceans 2001. An Ocean Odyssey. Conference Proceedings (IEEE Cat. No.01CH37295), vol. 4, pp. 2201–2208, Honolulu, HI, USA, December 2001.].
Regarding claim 5, Qasem does not explicitly teach and yet Perrine teaches the receiving method according claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of receivers receives a sound wave propagating in water [[title] doppler estimation and correction for shallow underwater acoustic communications; [abstract] doppler correction with static versus adaptive equalizers … packet transmission samples (each 0.5s long) from a five-channel receiver array.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to replace the receiver as taught by Qasem with the receivers array as taught by Perrine so that directional hydrophones may cover more area [[pg. 748, col. 1]].
Regarding claim 6, Qasem teaches a synchronization device comprising:
a detector that detects a position of a first sequence and a position of a second sequence in a received signal of each of a plurality of channels received by a [receiver] [[pg. 11, col. 1] [pg. 2, col. 2]];
a calculator that calculates, for each of the plurality of channels, a time period which has been required to receive a predetermined part of the received signal, based on the detected position of the first sequence and the detected position of the second sequence [[eq. 8][pg. 11, col. 1]];
a correcting circuitry that performs a correcting process of correcting one or both of an outlier included in the position of the first sequence having been detected estimated for each of the plurality of channels and an outlier included in the time period having been calculated for each of the plurality of channels [[pg. 1, col. 1-2] use of correcting coding can also provide communication with better quality [4]];
a Doppler estimation circuitry that estimates Doppler shift by using the time period after the correcting process for each of the plurality of channels [[eq. 8] [pg. 4, col. 1]]; and
an offsetting circuitry that offsets the received signal by using the estimated Doppler shift having been estimated for each of the plurality of channels and outputs the received signal divided based on the position of the first sequence after the correcting process to an equalizer [[pg. 1, col. 1] exhaustive processing must be employed at the receiving end for equalizing and estimating the channel to ensure the reliability of UWA communication; [pg. 4, col. 2] orthogonal matching pursuit (OMP) [22] is adopted in this paper for underwater channel estimation, and the minimum means square error (MMSE) is used for equalization. After removing the overhead packets from the MMSE equalizer output; [pg. 748, col. 2] payload data is then processed by (1) the static DFE or (2) a decision-directed adaptive DFE with a learning rate of 0.01].
Qasem does not explicitly teach and yet Perrine teaches a plurality of receivers [[title] doppler estimation and correction for shallow underwater acoustic communications; [abstract] doppler correction with static versus adaptive equalizers … packet transmission samples (each 0.5s long) from a five-channel receiver array.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to replace the receiver as taught by Qasem with the receivers array as taught by Perrine so that directional hydrophones may cover more area [[pg. 748, col. 1]].
Regarding claim 7, Qasem teaches a receiving apparatus comprising:
a [receiver] that receive signals of different individual channels [[pg. 2, col. 2] rest of this paper is structured as follows: the system model, including the transmitter and the receiver of the proposed schemes, is presented in Section 2; [pg. 1, col. 1] main challenges ofUWA channels are represented by the long-delay effect and doubly selective channel caused by the oceanic environment [1, 2]];
a detector detecting unit that detects a position of a first sequence and a position of a second sequence in a received signal of each of a plurality of the channels, the received signals is each of the signals having been received by the plurality of receivers reception units [[pg. 11, col. 1] [pg. 2, col. 2];
a calculator calculation unit that calculates, for each of the plurality of channels, a time period which has been required to receive a predetermined part of the received signal, based on the detected position of the first sequence and the detected position of the second sequence [[eq. 8][pg. 11, col. 1];
a correcting circuitry that performs a correcting process of correcting one or both of an outlier included in the position of the first sequence having been detected estimated for each of the plurality of channels and an outlier included in the time period having been calculated for each of the plurality of channels [[pg. 1, col. 1-2] use of correcting coding can also provide communication with better quality [4]];
a Doppler estimation circuitry that estimates Doppler shift by using the time period after the correcting process for each of the plurality of channels [[eq. 8] [pg. 4, col. 1];
an offsetting circuitry that offsets the received signal by using the estimated Doppler shift having been estimated for each of the plurality of channels and outputs the received signal divided based on the position of the first sequence after the correcting process [[pg. 1, col. 1] exhaustive processing must be employed at the receiving end for equalizing and estimating the channel to ensure the reliability of UWA communication; [pg. 4, col. 2]]; and
an equalizer equalization unit that performs an equalizing process by using the received signal of each of the plurality of channels output from the offsetting circuitry unit [[pg. 4, col. 2] orthogonal matching pursuit (OMP) [22] is adopted in this paper for underwater channel estimation, and the minimum means square error (MMSE) is used for equalization. After removing the overhead packets from the MMSE equalizer output].
Qasam does not explicitly teach and yet Perrine teaches a plurality of receivers [[title] doppler estimation and correction for shallow underwater acoustic communications; [abstract] doppler correction with static versus adaptive equalizers … packet transmission samples (each 0.5s long) from a five-channel receiver array.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to replace the receiver as taught by Qasem with the receivers array as taught by Perrine so that directional hydrophones may cover more area [[pg. 748, col. 1]].
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645