DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0036]: such that chassis [[202]] 302 is pivotable
[0051]: “a second gear 384 is fixedly coupled to the second spindle 306 and positioned within the gearbox 340 is [[a]] second gear 384”
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 13 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)/(2) as being anticipated by Gridley et al. (US20130106022) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Gridley discloses a tread extractor assembly comprising:
a chassis (“frame” (302), Fig 4);
a first spindle rotatably coupled to the chassis and configured to rotate in a first direction (“first nip roller” (306)); and
a second spindle rotatably coupled to the chassis and configured to rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction (“second nip roller” (314)), the first spindle and the second spindle being disposed to extend substantially in parallel to one another ([0031], Fig 4); and
the first spindle and the second spindle being separated by a gap, the gap being configured to receive a portion of a tire tread (“distance” (T), [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the first spindle includes a first engagement portion extending axially along a length of the first spindle; and the second spindle includes a second engagement portion extending axially along a length of the second spindle such that at least a portion of the second engagement portion is offset radially from the first engagement portion (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 6, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the chassis is configured to be pivotally coupled to a rail assembly such that the chassis is pivotable relative to the rail assembly ([0025] near “other end” (332)).
Regarding claim 7, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 6 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the chassis is configured to pivot relative to the rail assembly about an axis of the first spindle ([0025], Fig 4).
Regarding claim 8, Gridley discloses all limitation of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the chassis further comprises: a first end (right side of “frame” (302) Fig 6) and a second end opposite to the first end (left side of “frame” (302), Fig 6); a coupling body configured to be pivotally coupled to a rail assembly (“frame rails” (322) as a part of “frame” (302), Fig 6); a first flange extending between the coupling body and the second end (Fig 6); and a second flange extending from the first flange at the second end of the chassis, the second flange rotatably coupled to the first spindle and the second spindle (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 9, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 8 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the first spindle extends through the coupling body (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 10, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 9 as set forth above. Additionally, Gridley discloses that the first spindle is configured to rotate independently relative to the coupling body (Fig 4, [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gridley et al. (US20130106022) (of record) as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 and further in view of Adams et al. (US20120146262).
Regarding claim 2, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Gridley does not explicitly disclose that the assembly further comprises a gearbox coupled to the chassis, wherein the first spindle includes a first spindle gear positioned within the gearbox and the second spindle includes a second spindle gear positioned within the gearbox, the second spindle gear configured to be in a meshing engagement with the first spindle gear, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) Gridley teaches that, similar to the belt-driven system explicitly taught, the spindles could also be powered by “any other known motion transfer means such as chains, gears, a gearbox” ([0031]);
b) Adams, which is within the tread demolding art, teaches how a tread demolding assembly comprises of a gearbox (box attached to “drive shaft” (190) in Fig 3), wherein spindle gears for each spindle (gears attached to “drive roller” (155, 160) in Fig 6) are located in said gearbox) and, through the use of additional gears and chains, said spindle gears are in an indirect meshing engagement with one another (Fig 6); and
c) and case law that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is well within the ability of a person of ordinary skill in the art to be considered obvious (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 3, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Additionally, Adams teaches that the assembly further comprises an actuator (“drive shaft” (190)) operably coupled to the first spindle and configured to rotate the first spindle in the first direction, wherein rotation of the first spindle in the first direction causes rotation of the second spindle in the second direction via the meshing engagement between the first spindle gear and the second spindle gear (Fig 6).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gridley et al. (US20130106022) (of record) and Adams et al. (US20120146262) as set forth above in the rejection of claim 3 and further as evidenced by Wikipedia (NPL).
Regarding claim 4, Gridley discloses all limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. While Gridley shows the nip rollers being approximately the same size (Fig 4) and that said nip rollers rotate at the same angular speed, including with the use of known motion transfer means like gears and gearboxes ([0031]), modified Gridley does not explicitly teach that the first spindle gear and the second spindle gear include the same number of gear teeth such that the actuator causes rotation of both the first spindle and the second spindle at the same angular speed for the predictable result of effectively powering the nip rollers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that
a) Wikipedia teaches that the speed ratio between meshing gears can be calculated based on the number of teeth on each gear (NPL);
b) Gridley teaches that said nip rollers are arranged to rotate at the same speed ([0031]); and
c) a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious to make the gears that drive the spindles as taught in Adams have the same number of teeth to achieve the predictable result of ensuring the spindles rotate at the same speed (See MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pan et al. (US20150360395) teaches a tread extractor comprising of a rotatably coupled spindle (“roller” (32)) with said spindle extending through a coupling body (“handle” (46), [0060], Fig 3).
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749