DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. In the present application, claims 1-15 are currently pending and examined below. Claims 7-10 and 13-15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim rejections of claims 7-10 and 13-15 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102/103, have been fully considered and are not persuasive because Applicant relies on features that are not recited in the rejected independent claims, (i.e., “when coupling is made, the user is not able to check whether the power of the power source is normally transmitted to the wire.”). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and not overcome the previously cited rejections.
Applicant Argues: “…[T[he present application and Kincaid have an Applicant in common, with an overlapping inventor.” (Applicant Remarks page 6).
Examiner’s Response: Examiner agrees the present application and Kincaid – the prior art cited in the non-final office action, dated 02/23/2026, as Kincaid et al. (US2020/0375682) hereinafter Kincaid – have an Applicant in common. However the inventors listed in the present application are as follows:
Motoki Ishizaki;
Mitsuharu Ezawa;
Yoshimichi Ikeda; and
Brian Ninni.
While the inventors listed in Kincaid are as follows:
Matthew Michael Kincaid; and
Takahisa Kato.
Therefore, if the present application does indeed have an overlapping inventor, Examiner is suggesting that Applicant update inventorship to maintain compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a). A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant Argues: “…[T]he present application addresses the scenario provide in paragraph [0007] of the published application, namely that ‘when coupling is made, the user is not able to check the power of the power source is normally transmitted to the wire.’… This concern is not suggested or addressed in Kincaid. … Thus, there is no teaching or suggestion in either Kincaid or Kato, either alone or in combination, of a detector to determine a state of coupling, based either on outputs from a force sensor.” (Applicant Remarks pages 5-7).
Examiner Disagrees: The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, Kincaid does teach a detector to determine a state of coupling, based either on outputs from a force sensor.
As previously stated in the non-final office action, dated 02/23/2026, Kincaid does disclose a detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) configured to detect (via a status indicator, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300. … , and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators.”) a state of coupling (via an operational status, [0032-0033, 0059]) “As part of the user interface 254, the handle 200 may include a LED for providing operational status of the robotic steerable instrument 100 to a user. In an embodiment, the LED may include, for example, different light colors for respectively indicating normal operations (green light) and abnormal operations (red light). Alternatively, the LED may include blinking codes, for example, to indicate a type of abnormal operation.”) of the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210) with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110, [0032-0033, 0059] “…In FIG. 4, a first control wire 110 a of the steerable instrument 100 is directly connected at its proximal end thereof to a corresponding first motor 311 via a moving carriage 341, and a second control wire 110 b is directly connected at is proximal end to a second motor 312 via a moving carriage 342. The moving carriages 341 and 342 are mechanically connected to corresponding motors 311 and 312 by, for example, screw-type linear shafts configured to displace the control wires 110 linearly along paths L1, L2. These screw-type linear actuators can be based on well known leadscrew, ball screw, or roller screw principles. Both the first and second control motors 311 and 312 are operatively connected to a motor controller 320. In addition, a first support wire 121 a is connected at the proximal end thereof to a first strain sensor 211, and a second support wire 121 b is connected at its proximal end to a second strain sensor 222.Each strain sensor outputs a signal corresponding to an amount of strain being applied to its nearest control wire 110 (or a signal corresponding to an average of strains forces being applied to at least two nearest control wires 110). The first strain sensor 221 output a first strain signal (Fi) and the second strain sensor 222 outputs a second strain signal (Fi+1). The output signal corresponding to an amount of strain detected by all strain sensors is fed back to the controller 320 as a feedback loop 325. In some embodiments, the controller 320 can be implemented with standard schemes like proportional integral derivative control (PID).”), wherein while the base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) is coupled with the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200), the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) detects the state of coupling using an output value (output signal or lighting of the LED [0032-0033, 0059]) of the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] while the drive wire(Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is driven by the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show the above features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “when coupling is made, the user is not able to check whether the power of the power source is normally transmitted to the wire.”) are not recited in the rejected independent claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
If applicant intends for such features to be interpreted within the claim language, it is suggested for Applicant to add a clarifying limitation to the claim language to describe such feature. For example, Applicant could add a clarifying limitation to include language similar to, but not limited to
“a detector configured to detect a first state of coupling and a second state of coupling between [[of]] the coupling portion [[with]] and the drive wire,
wherein while the base is coupled with the coupling portion, the detector detects the first state of coupling and the second state of coupling, by receiving [[using]] an output value of the force sensor while the drive wire is driven by the driving source;
wherein the first state of coupling comprises a power source configured to transmit power at a first threshold to the drive wire;
wherein the second state of coupling comprises the output value to be zero and the power source is configured to not transmit power to the drive wire.”
Applicant has support for such clarifying amendment within paragraphs [0269-0277] of the published application. Such suggested amendment would clarify Applicant’s invention and distinguish Applicant’s invention from the prior art of Kincaid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kincaid et al. (US2020/0375682) hereinafter Kincaid.
Regarding Claim 1, Kincaid discloses a device (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) comprising:
a base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) including a driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310) and a coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210);
a bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) detachably attached (via handle interface 200) to the base (Fig. 1A control system 300), the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) including a bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103) configured to bend and a drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) allowed to be coupled to the coupling portion (Fig. 1a handle interface 200 via connections 210) and configured to bend ([0011, 0035]) the bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103);
a force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] “The strain sensor detects and/or measures compressive or tensile forces F exerted in the driven control wire 110, and outputs a signal (Fi) corresponding to (indicative of) the amount of compressive or tensile force (an amount of strain) being applied to the control wire at any given point in time.”) provided in the base and that is connected to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] being connected to the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) while the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is coupled to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210); and
a detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300. … , and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators. As part of the user interface 254, the handle 200 may include a LED for providing operational status of the robotic steerable instrument 100 to a user. In an embodiment, the LED may include, for example, different light colors for respectively indicating normal operations (green light) and abnormal operations (red light). Alternatively, the LED may include blinking codes, for example, to indicate a type of abnormal operation.” And “…In FIG. 4, a first control wire 110 a of the steerable instrument 100 is directly connected at its proximal end thereof to a corresponding first motor 311 via a moving carriage 341, and a second control wire 110 b is directly connected at is proximal end to a second motor 312 via a moving carriage 342. The moving carriages 341 and 342 are mechanically connected to corresponding motors 311 and 312 by, for example, screw-type linear shafts configured to displace the control wires 110 linearly along paths L1, L2. These screw-type linear actuators can be based on well known leadscrew, ball screw, or roller screw principles. Both the first and second control motors 311 and 312 are operatively connected to a motor controller 320. In addition, a first support wire 121 a is connected at the proximal end thereof to a first strain sensor 211, and a second support wire 121 b is connected at its proximal end to a second strain sensor 222.Each strain sensor outputs a signal corresponding to an amount of strain being applied to its nearest control wire 110 (or a signal corresponding to an average of strains forces being applied to at least two nearest control wires 110). The first strain sensor 221 output a first strain signal (Fi) and the second strain sensor 222 outputs a second strain signal (Fi+1). The output signal corresponding to an amount of strain detected by all strain sensors is fed back to the controller 320 as a feedback loop 325. In some embodiments, the controller 320 can be implemented with standard schemes like proportional integral derivative control (PID).”) configured to detect a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110),
wherein while the base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) is coupled with the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200), the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) detects the state of coupling using an output value (output signal or lighting of the LED [0032-0033, 0059]) of the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] while the drive wire(Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is driven by the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 2, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the driving sources (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310, [0039] “All control wires 110 are coupled, at the proximal end thereof, to individual motors or actuators (the actuator system 310, as shown in FIG. 1B).”), a plurality of the coupling portions (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210, [0037] “In one embodiment, the handle interface 200 provides a plurality of electromechanical connections 210 (one connection for each of the control wires 110) so that an actuator system 310 can mechanically operate each control wire 310.”), and a plurality of the drive wires (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) are provided, and wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300…”) is provided to detect coupling of each of the plurality of coupling portions (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210, [0037]) with a corresponding one of the plurality of drive wires (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110).
Regarding Claim 3, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) includes a plurality of the bendable portions (Fig. 1a steerable section 103, [0034] “…a steerable section 103 made of multiple bending segments…”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] determines whether an output of the force sensor satisfies a threshold ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the threshold is not satisfied, driving of the driving source is stopped (Fig. 8 step 1708), and notification that an abnormality is detected is provided to a user ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”). .
Regarding Claim 6, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the threshold is satisfied, the bendable portion is returned to a straight state (Fig. 8 step 1702, Fig. 10B steps 1912-1916 yes / return to Fig. 8 step 1702) before detection by reversing drive of the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 7, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115) for the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110); and wherein the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) based on an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115), the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) to be pushed and pulled with a predetermined force ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, but is silent at wherein the detector determines a slidability of the drive wire in the bendable body in accordance with an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector, the displacement being caused by driving the drivewire to be pushed and pulled by the driving source with a predetermined force. (slidability of control wires on the basis of a previously measured force on the control wires is determined as shown in figure 7 A, wherein the control system 1500 is a feedback control loop that generates an error signal at comparator block 1512 from a difference between the desired and the actual positions provided by the force/position sensor block 1510, the error signal also generated from a comparison of a previo1,.1sly measured force on the control wire and a sudden change in an external force detected by the strain sensor, thus achieving a closed-loop control of sliding movements of the control wires 110 as determined by the feedback loop, the slidable control wires shown in figures 1 B, 2C; figures 1B, 2C, 7A; paragraph [0079]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kincaid discloses an actuator (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) comprising:
a driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310);
a coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210),
wherein a bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) is detachably attached to the actuator (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) via the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) including a bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103) configured to bend and a drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) allowed to be coupled to the coupling portion (Fig. 1a handle interface 200 via connections 210) and configured to bend ([0011, 0035]) the bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103);
a force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] “The strain sensor detects and/or measures compressive or tensile forces F exerted in the driven control wire 110, and outputs a signal (Fi) corresponding to (indicative of) the amount of compressive or tensile force (an amount of strain) being applied to the control wire at any given point in time.”) that is connected to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] being connected to the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) while the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is coupled to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210); and
a detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300. … , and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators. As part of the user interface 254, the handle 200 may include a LED for providing operational status of the robotic steerable instrument 100 to a user. In an embodiment, the LED may include, for example, different light colors for respectively indicating normal operations (green light) and abnormal operations (red light). Alternatively, the LED may include blinking codes, for example, to indicate a type of abnormal operation.” And “…In FIG. 4, a first control wire 110 a of the steerable instrument 100 is directly connected at its proximal end thereof to a corresponding first motor 311 via a moving carriage 341, and a second control wire 110 b is directly connected at is proximal end to a second motor 312 via a moving carriage 342. The moving carriages 341 and 342 are mechanically connected to corresponding motors 311 and 312 by, for example, screw-type linear shafts configured to displace the control wires 110 linearly along paths L1, L2. These screw-type linear actuators can be based on well known leadscrew, ball screw, or roller screw principles. Both the first and second control motors 311 and 312 are operatively connected to a motor controller 320. In addition, a first support wire 121 a is connected at the proximal end thereof to a first strain sensor 211, and a second support wire 121 b is connected at its proximal end to a second strain sensor 222.Each strain sensor outputs a signal corresponding to an amount of strain being applied to its nearest control wire 110 (or a signal corresponding to an average of strains forces being applied to at least two nearest control wires 110). The first strain sensor 221 output a first strain signal (Fi) and the second strain sensor 222 outputs a second strain signal (Fi+1). The output signal corresponding to an amount of strain detected by all strain sensors is fed back to the controller 320 as a feedback loop 325. In some embodiments, the controller 320 can be implemented with standard schemes like proportional integral derivative control (PID).”) configured to detect a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110),
wherein while the base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) is coupled with the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200), the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) detects the state of coupling using an output value (output signal or lighting of the LED [0032-0033, 0059]) of the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] while the drive wire(Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is driven by the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 11, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] determines whether an output of the force sensor satisfies a threshold ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 11, wherein in a case where the threshold ([0087]) is satisfied, the bendable portion is returned to a straight (Fig. 8 step 1702, Fig. 10B steps 1912-1916 yes / return to Fig. 8 step 1702) before detection by reversing drive of the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 13, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, further comprising: a position detector(Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115) for the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110); and wherein the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) based on an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115), the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) to be pushed and pulled with a predetermined force ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 14, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, wherein the detector determines a slidability of the drive wire in the bendable body in accordance with an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector, the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire to be pushed and pulled by the driving source with a predetermined force (slidability of control wires on the basis of a previously measured force on the control wires is determined as shown in figure 7 A, wherein the control system 1500 is a feedback control loop that generates an error signal at comparator block 1512 from a difference between the desired and the actual positions provided by the force/position sensor block 1510, the error signal also generated from a comparison of a previo1,.1sly measured force on the control wire and a sudden change in an external force detected by the strain sensor, thus achieving a closed-loop control of sliding movements of the control wires 110 as determined by the feedback loop, the slidable control wires shown in figures 1 B, 2C; figures 1B, 2C, 7A; paragraph [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahisa Kato (US2019/0090722) hereinafter Kato.
Regarding Claim 9, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, but is silent as to further disclose comprising a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source.
However Kato in the same field of endeavor teaches, a current sensor (current detection unit 82 configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source (Kato – [0132-0135] “…the load applied to the control wire 4 may be detected by detecting the driving current in the driving current detection unit 82. The detection signal of the driving current is transmitted to the controller 10. The size of the applied load may be computed in an internal computing unit (not illustrated). However, it is not necessary to calculate the load. As described above, the load detecting unit 22 may be implemented by also using the driving current detection unit 82 provided in the driving unit 21. By using the driving current detection unit 82, load applied to the inserting portion 1 may be detected without providing any special configuration in the inserting portion 1. Therefore, the size of the inserting portion 1 may be reduced and thus channels for large-sized treatment tools may be provided inside the inserting portion 1. Since the size of a current detecting sensor may be reduced, the size of the driving source may be reduced. This is important especially when a plurality of series of driving sources are required. Further, influences on the operation of the medical device caused by the detection of the load may be minimized.”
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kincaid with the teachings of Kato to include a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source for the benefit of omitting the need for special configuration of the inserting portion, reducing the size of the driving source because the current detecting sensor also reduced, and allowing additional room for a large-size treatment tools provided inside the inserting portion (Kato – [0134-135]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 10, but is silent as to further disclose comprising a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source.
However Kato in the same field of endeavor teaches, a current sensor (current detection unit 82 configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source (Kato – [0132-0135] “…the load applied to the control wire 4 may be detected by detecting the driving current in the driving current detection unit 82. The detection signal of the driving current is transmitted to the controller 10. The size of the applied load may be computed in an internal computing unit (not illustrated). However, it is not necessary to calculate the load. As described above, the load detecting unit 22 may be implemented by also using the driving current detection unit 82 provided in the driving unit 21. By using the driving current detection unit 82, load applied to the inserting portion 1 may be detected without providing any special configuration in the inserting portion 1. Therefore, the size of the inserting portion 1 may be reduced and thus channels for large-sized treatment tools may be provided inside the inserting portion 1. Since the size of a current detecting sensor may be reduced, the size of the driving source may be reduced. This is important especially when a plurality of series of driving sources are required. Further, influences on the operation of the medical device caused by the detection of the load may be minimized.”
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kincaid with the teachings of Kato to include a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source for the benefit of omitting the need for special configuration of the inserting portion, reducing the size of the driving source because the current detecting sensor also reduced, and allowing additional room for a large-size treatment tools provided inside the inserting portion (Kato – [0134-135]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Larkin et al. (US2011/0224689);
Shelton, IV et al. (US20190125476);
Darisse et al. (US2018/0228557);
Zhou et al. (US2020/0054403); and
Dennis Boulais (US2013/0090529).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795