DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the present application, claims 1-15 are currently pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire” in lines 3-4. However Claim 1, which claim 7 directly depends from, also introduces the same limitation in lines 12-13. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 7 is introducing a new and distinct state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire or merely referencing the same limitation of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 7 to state, “the state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the displacement" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the amount of displacement.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the position detector" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend claim 8 to depend from claim 7 or amend the limitation to state, “a position detector.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the displacement" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the amount of displacement.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire” in lines 4-5. However Claim 1, which claim 9 directly depends from, also introduces the same limitation in lines 12-13. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 9 is introducing a new and distinct state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire or merely referencing the same limitation of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 9 to state, “the state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the base" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “a base.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the output value" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “an output value.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire” in lines 3-4. However Claim 10, which claim 13 directly depends from, also introduces the same limitation in lines 12-13. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 13 is introducing a new and distinct state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire or merely referencing the same limitation of claim 10. It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 13 to state, “the state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the displacement" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the amount of displacement.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the position detector" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend claim 14 to depend from claim 13 or amend the limitation to state, “a position detector.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire” in lines 4-5. However Claim 10, which claim 15 directly depends from, also introduces the same limitation in lines 12-13. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 15 is introducing a new and distinct state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire or merely referencing the same limitation of claim 10. It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 15 to state, “the state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kincaid et al. (US2020/0375682) hereinafter Kincaid.
Regarding Claim 1, Kincaid discloses a device (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) comprising:
a base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) including a driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310) and a coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210);
a bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) detachably attached (via handle interface 200) to the base (Fig. 1A control system 300), the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) including a bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103) configured to bend and a drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) allowed to be coupled to the coupling portion (Fig. 1a handle interface 200 via connections 210) and configured to bend ([0011, 0035]) the bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103);
a force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] “The strain sensor detects and/or measures compressive or tensile forces F exerted in the driven control wire 110, and outputs a signal (Fi) corresponding to (indicative of) the amount of compressive or tensile force (an amount of strain) being applied to the control wire at any given point in time.”) provided in the base and that is connected to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] being connected to the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) while the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is coupled to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210); and
a detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300. … , and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators. As part of the user interface 254, the handle 200 may include a LED for providing operational status of the robotic steerable instrument 100 to a user. In an embodiment, the LED may include, for example, different light colors for respectively indicating normal operations (green light) and abnormal operations (red light). Alternatively, the LED may include blinking codes, for example, to indicate a type of abnormal operation.” And “…In FIG. 4, a first control wire 110 a of the steerable instrument 100 is directly connected at its proximal end thereof to a corresponding first motor 311 via a moving carriage 341, and a second control wire 110 b is directly connected at is proximal end to a second motor 312 via a moving carriage 342. The moving carriages 341 and 342 are mechanically connected to corresponding motors 311 and 312 by, for example, screw-type linear shafts configured to displace the control wires 110 linearly along paths L1, L2. These screw-type linear actuators can be based on well known leadscrew, ball screw, or roller screw principles. Both the first and second control motors 311 and 312 are operatively connected to a motor controller 320. In addition, a first support wire 121 a is connected at the proximal end thereof to a first strain sensor 211, and a second support wire 121 b is connected at its proximal end to a second strain sensor 222.Each strain sensor outputs a signal corresponding to an amount of strain being applied to its nearest control wire 110 (or a signal corresponding to an average of strains forces being applied to at least two nearest control wires 110). The first strain sensor 221 output a first strain signal (Fi) and the second strain sensor 222 outputs a second strain signal (Fi+1). The output signal corresponding to an amount of strain detected by all strain sensors is fed back to the controller 320 as a feedback loop 325. In some embodiments, the controller 320 can be implemented with standard schemes like proportional integral derivative control (PID).”) configured to detect a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110),
wherein while the base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) is coupled with the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200), the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) detects the state of coupling using an output value (output signal or lighting of the LED [0032-0033, 0059]) of the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] while the drive wire(Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is driven by the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 2, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the driving sources (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310, [0039] “All control wires 110 are coupled, at the proximal end thereof, to individual motors or actuators (the actuator system 310, as shown in FIG. 1B).”), a plurality of the coupling portions (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210, [0037] “In one embodiment, the handle interface 200 provides a plurality of electromechanical connections 210 (one connection for each of the control wires 110) so that an actuator system 310 can mechanically operate each control wire 310.”), and a plurality of the drive wires (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) are provided, and wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300…”) is provided to detect coupling of each of the plurality of coupling portions (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210, [0037]) with a corresponding one of the plurality of drive wires (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110).
Regarding Claim 3, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) includes a plurality of the bendable portions (Fig. 1a steerable section 103, [0034] “…a steerable section 103 made of multiple bending segments…”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] determines whether an output of the force sensor satisfies a threshold ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the threshold is not satisfied, driving of the driving source is stopped (Fig. 8 step 1708), and notification that an abnormality is detected is provided to a user ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”). .
Regarding Claim 6, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the threshold is satisfied, the bendable portion is returned to a straight state (Fig. 8 step 1702, Fig. 10B steps 1912-1916 yes / return to Fig. 8 step 1702) before detection by reversing drive of the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 7, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115) for the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110); and wherein the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) based on an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115), the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) to be pushed and pulled with a predetermined force ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, but is silent at wherein the detector determines a slidability of the drive wire in the bendable body in accordance with an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector, the displacement being caused by driving the drivewire to be pushed and pulled by the driving source with a predetermined force. (slidability of control wires on the basis of a previously measured force on the control wires is determined as shown in figure 7 A, wherein the control system 1500 is a feedback control loop that generates an error signal at comparator block 1512 from a difference between the desired and the actual positions provided by the force/position sensor block 1510, the error signal also generated from a comparison of a previo1,.1sly measured force on the control wire and a sudden change in an external force detected by the strain sensor, thus achieving a closed-loop control of sliding movements of the control wires 110 as determined by the feedback loop, the slidable control wires shown in figures 1 B, 2C; figures 1B, 2C, 7A; paragraph [0079]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kincaid discloses an actuator (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) comprising:
a driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310);
a coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210),
wherein a bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) is detachably attached to the actuator (Fig. 1a continuum robot system 1000) via the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the bendable body (Fig. 1a instrument 100) including a bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103) configured to bend and a drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) allowed to be coupled to the coupling portion (Fig. 1a handle interface 200 via connections 210) and configured to bend ([0011, 0035]) the bendable portion (Figs. 1a-4 steerable section 103);
a force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] “The strain sensor detects and/or measures compressive or tensile forces F exerted in the driven control wire 110, and outputs a signal (Fi) corresponding to (indicative of) the amount of compressive or tensile force (an amount of strain) being applied to the control wire at any given point in time.”) that is connected to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210), the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] being connected to the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) while the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is coupled to the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200 via connections 210); and
a detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] “…a data/digital acquisition (DAQ) system for interfacing the steerable instrument 100 with the control system 300. … , and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators. As part of the user interface 254, the handle 200 may include a LED for providing operational status of the robotic steerable instrument 100 to a user. In an embodiment, the LED may include, for example, different light colors for respectively indicating normal operations (green light) and abnormal operations (red light). Alternatively, the LED may include blinking codes, for example, to indicate a type of abnormal operation.” And “…In FIG. 4, a first control wire 110 a of the steerable instrument 100 is directly connected at its proximal end thereof to a corresponding first motor 311 via a moving carriage 341, and a second control wire 110 b is directly connected at is proximal end to a second motor 312 via a moving carriage 342. The moving carriages 341 and 342 are mechanically connected to corresponding motors 311 and 312 by, for example, screw-type linear shafts configured to displace the control wires 110 linearly along paths L1, L2. These screw-type linear actuators can be based on well known leadscrew, ball screw, or roller screw principles. Both the first and second control motors 311 and 312 are operatively connected to a motor controller 320. In addition, a first support wire 121 a is connected at the proximal end thereof to a first strain sensor 211, and a second support wire 121 b is connected at its proximal end to a second strain sensor 222.Each strain sensor outputs a signal corresponding to an amount of strain being applied to its nearest control wire 110 (or a signal corresponding to an average of strains forces being applied to at least two nearest control wires 110). The first strain sensor 221 output a first strain signal (Fi) and the second strain sensor 222 outputs a second strain signal (Fi+1). The output signal corresponding to an amount of strain detected by all strain sensors is fed back to the controller 320 as a feedback loop 325. In some embodiments, the controller 320 can be implemented with standard schemes like proportional integral derivative control (PID).”) configured to detect a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110),
wherein while the base (Figs. 1A-4 control system 300) is coupled with the coupling portion (Figs. 1a-4 handle interface 200), the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059]) detects the state of coupling using an output value (output signal or lighting of the LED [0032-0033, 0059]) of the force sensor (Figs. 1b-4 strain sensor 221, [0054-58] while the drive wire(Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) is driven by the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 11, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, wherein the detector (Fig. 1b controller 320, [0032-0033, 0059] determines whether an output of the force sensor satisfies a threshold ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 11, wherein in a case where the threshold ([0087]) is satisfied, the bendable portion is returned to a straight (Fig. 8 step 1702, Fig. 10B steps 1912-1916 yes / return to Fig. 8 step 1702) before detection by reversing drive of the driving source (Fig.1b – 4 actuator system 310).
Regarding Claim 13, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, further comprising: a position detector(Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115) for the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110); and wherein the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) based on an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector (Figs. 3 position sensor 231/232, sensors 115), the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire (Figs. 1a-4 control wires 110) to be pushed and pulled with a predetermined force ([0087] “The determination at step 1706 can be based on a comparison made by the system controller between of a desired or recorded wire position (or a desired or recorded driving force on the control wire) against the actual force or position measured by the sensor. The determination at step 1706 can include a threshold value. Specifically, to prevent kinking of the steerable instrument and ensure patient comfort and safety, the user can set a threshold of the amount of linear displacement, twist, rotation (or amount strain force) in the software. For example, if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding Claim 14, Kincaid discloses the actuator according to claim 10, wherein the detector determines a slidability of the drive wire in the bendable body in accordance with an amount of displacement of a position detected by the position detector, the displacement being caused by driving the drive wire to be pushed and pulled by the driving source with a predetermined force (slidability of control wires on the basis of a previously measured force on the control wires is determined as shown in figure 7 A, wherein the control system 1500 is a feedback control loop that generates an error signal at comparator block 1512 from a difference between the desired and the actual positions provided by the force/position sensor block 1510, the error signal also generated from a comparison of a previo1,.1sly measured force on the control wire and a sudden change in an external force detected by the strain sensor, thus achieving a closed-loop control of sliding movements of the control wires 110 as determined by the feedback loop, the slidable control wires shown in figures 1 B, 2C; figures 1B, 2C, 7A; paragraph [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahisa Kato (US2019/0090722) hereinafter Kato.
Regarding Claim 9, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 1, but is silent as to further disclose comprising a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source.
However Kato in the same field of endeavor teaches, a current sensor (current detection unit 82 configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source (Kato – [0132-0135] “…the load applied to the control wire 4 may be detected by detecting the driving current in the driving current detection unit 82. The detection signal of the driving current is transmitted to the controller 10. The size of the applied load may be computed in an internal computing unit (not illustrated). However, it is not necessary to calculate the load. As described above, the load detecting unit 22 may be implemented by also using the driving current detection unit 82 provided in the driving unit 21. By using the driving current detection unit 82, load applied to the inserting portion 1 may be detected without providing any special configuration in the inserting portion 1. Therefore, the size of the inserting portion 1 may be reduced and thus channels for large-sized treatment tools may be provided inside the inserting portion 1. Since the size of a current detecting sensor may be reduced, the size of the driving source may be reduced. This is important especially when a plurality of series of driving sources are required. Further, influences on the operation of the medical device caused by the detection of the load may be minimized.”
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kincaid with the teachings of Kato to include a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source for the benefit of omitting the need for special configuration of the inserting portion, reducing the size of the driving source because the current detecting sensor also reduced, and allowing additional room for a large-size treatment tools provided inside the inserting portion (Kato – [0134-135]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kincaid discloses the device according to claim 10, but is silent as to further disclose comprising a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source.
However Kato in the same field of endeavor teaches, a current sensor (current detection unit 82 configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source (Kato – [0132-0135] “…the load applied to the control wire 4 may be detected by detecting the driving current in the driving current detection unit 82. The detection signal of the driving current is transmitted to the controller 10. The size of the applied load may be computed in an internal computing unit (not illustrated). However, it is not necessary to calculate the load. As described above, the load detecting unit 22 may be implemented by also using the driving current detection unit 82 provided in the driving unit 21. By using the driving current detection unit 82, load applied to the inserting portion 1 may be detected without providing any special configuration in the inserting portion 1. Therefore, the size of the inserting portion 1 may be reduced and thus channels for large-sized treatment tools may be provided inside the inserting portion 1. Since the size of a current detecting sensor may be reduced, the size of the driving source may be reduced. This is important especially when a plurality of series of driving sources are required. Further, influences on the operation of the medical device caused by the detection of the load may be minimized.”
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kincaid with the teachings of Kato to include a current sensor configured to measure a drive current of the driving source; and wherein, the detector determines a state of coupling of the coupling portion with the drive wire based on an output of the current sensor during a driving of the driving source for the benefit of omitting the need for special configuration of the inserting portion, reducing the size of the driving source because the current detecting sensor also reduced, and allowing additional room for a large-size treatment tools provided inside the inserting portion (Kato – [0134-135]).
Conclusion
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795