DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10 is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an unwinding part configured to unwind”
“a drying part… configured to receive… so as to dry…”
“a slitting part… configured to receive… so as to cut…”
“a rewinding part… configured to receive… so as to wind…”
The term “part” is considered to be a generic placeholder for a “means”, MPEP 2181.I.A. The language “unwinding part” is functional language equivalent to “a part for unwinding” in addition to express functional language “configured to…” is tied to each respective part. Each part described above contains the functional language in the same format. Therefore, the language invokes 112 sixth and is interpreted in view of the specification.
The “unwinding part” 100 based on the specification [0033]-[0034] may include an unwinding roller 120 shown I fig. 1.
The “drying part” 200 based on the specification [0042]-[0044] may include a heating body 210 with space S with a plurality of heating members 220.
The “slitting part” 300 based on the specification [0058] includes a main body and at least one cutter fixed thereto.
The “winding part’ 400 based on the specification [0065] includes a roller 420.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 9 use the term “approximately”. The scope of the claim is not clear, because it is not clear how close to a value is considered “approximately”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WOO et al. (US 2019/0229324) in view of BONHOMME et al. (US 2020/0381699) and ITO et al. (US 2011/0131799).
Regarding claim 1,
WOO teaches an apparatus which unwinds an electrode 10 (unwinding part) and moves it through a heating device 210 to remove moisture (drying part) [0078]. The reference further includes a collection device for rewinding the electrode [0080] (rewinding part). The reference does not teach processing multiple electrodes on the same sheet and slicing before rewinding. However, when processing an electrode material through a heating device, BONHOMME teaches a single collector web can process multiple electrodes at the same time Fig. 7. Processing multiple strips allows for increased throughput [0063]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to process multiple lanes of electrode material on a single sheet in WOO to increase throughput.
BONHOMME does not particularly teach slitting the substrate with multiple electrode lanes. However, ITO teaches a similar system where multiple lanes are cut using slitters 104a and 104b see Fig. 3. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to separate the co-processed electrode lanes from each other by the method of ITO to produce the equivalent product in WOO of a single electrode on the substrate with the increased throughput of BONHOMME.
Regarding claim 3,
WOO teaches a heating body 210 which contains a drying space 211 and multiple heating members 220 [0053]-[0055].
Regarding claim 4,
WOO teaches the heating body 210 further includes transfers rollers 231, 232, 233, and 234 [0069].
Regarding claim 5,
WOO teaches the heating members 220 are positioned on both sides of the substrate as shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 6,
WOO teaches the heating member 220 has a heating lamp 222 which can be infrared [0065].
Regarding claim 7,
The final moisture content in the substrate is function of how the drying apparatus is used and does not limit the structure of the apparatus. The examiner notes that the structural limitations of the claim are met and it is reasonable to expect the same apparatus to be capable of reaching the same moisture content.
Regarding claim 8,
ITO teaches the cutting device can have blades (cutters) 1042 with one ste of cutters fixed in place [0168].
Regarding claim 9,
ITO teaches cutting the substrate and winding into a body before placing in a battery case [0175]. The reference does not expressly teach the width of the electrode sheets. However, the final width of the electrode sheets is determined by the size of the battery. Changing the shape/dimensions of a battery is considered prima facie obvious MPEP 2144.04.IV. A.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WOO et al. (US 2019/0229324) in view of BONHOMME et al. (US 2020/0381699) and ITO et al. (US 2011/0131799) further in view of TAMAI et al. (US 2007/0078051).
Regarding claim 2,
WOO teaches winding and unwinding with a roller using unwinding part 110 and collecting roller 320, see Figs. 1 and 3. The reference does not expressly teach synchronizing the winding and unwinding. However, as the winding and unwinding occurs, the radius of the roll changes which naturally requires a respective change in relative rotational speed (rpm). TAMAI teaches it is known to synchronize winding and unwinding actions of rollers [0057]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to synchronize winding and unwinding rollers to ensure the amount of substrate unwound is the same as amount of substrate wound helping to ensure no excess slack or tension is applied due to the changing length of substrate per rotation.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712