DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 and 09/17/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 39 and 41-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEC (R1-2107144 “Discussion on multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘NEC’) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 20250030512 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63277394, hereinafter ‘MURU’).
Regarding claim 1, NEC teaches a method for supporting dynamic switching between single transmit receive point (TRP) operation and multi-TRP operation for unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) for physical uplink channel signaling (
Page 1, 1 Introduction:
views on remaining issues for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements.
Page 3, Paragraphs 5-6, 8:
In Rel-17, new features are introduced for MIMO enhancements, for example, unified TCI framework …. …
Regarding the dynamic beam indication in unified TCI framework, as the DCI payloads in the repeated two PDCCH candidates are same…
Proposal 4: PDCCH repetition should be jointly considered with other features, for example, in case of dynamic beam indication with unified TCI framework
Page 3, PUSCH/PUCCH:
Agreement
indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching
Agreement
For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt.1 (modified).
Alt.1
Support 2 bits with the following combinations. ….
See also Page 5 Table 2 Table 2
(Construed that the disclosed subject matter in NEC is about PDCCH or DCI with dynamic beam indication with unified TCI framework for DL and UL transmission using STRP/MTRP, the relation between STRP/MTRP transmission and TCI under unified TCI framework is well known, see MURU below)), comprising:
a user equipment device (UE) (
Page 4, Paragraph 4: In MTRP scenario …. UE …. PUSCH),
receiving, from a base station, an indication for beam selection for an uplink transmission (
Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
The new field is 2 bits
Agreement
For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt.1 (modified).
Alt.1
Support 2 bits with the following combinations. ….
See also Page 5 Paragraph 5:
regarding the dynamic order of multi-TRP transmission, in fact the association is between the PUSCH transmission and the applied SRS resource set, for example, if the first PUSCH transmission is associated with the first SRS resource set, then the order will be TRP1, TRP2, and if the first PUSCH transmission is associated with the second SRS resource set, then the order will be TRP2, TRP1. Based on this, the number of bits for two SRI/TPMI fields can be fixed, as shown in Table. 2.
(Construed the codepoint in Table 2 indicates which SRS resource sets and SRl(s)/TPMl(s) are selected, and therefore provides an indication for SRI/TPMI
selection;
Further, beam indication for PUSCH transmission is implicit, because in the non-codebook case the SRls correspond to beams, whereas in the codebook-based case, beams are indicated by TPMls));
determining, based on the indication, whether to perform the uplink transmission according to single-TRP or multi-TRP operation (
Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
See also 2-bit indication correspondence in alt 1 and Table 2); and
performing the uplink transmission according to the determination (
See page 3, indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
(PUSCH transmission is implicit)).
NEC does not expressly disclose receiving, from a base station, an indication for beam selection for an uplink transmission, and performing the uplink transmission according to the determination.
In an analogous art, MURU teaches receiving, from a base station, an indication for beam selection for an uplink transmission (
[0036] In RAN1 #103-e meeting it was agreed to support both joint beam indication (“Joint DL/UL TCI”) and separate DL/UL beam indication (“Separate DL/UL TCI”), as can be seen in the agreements below. For Joint DL/UL TCI, a single TCI state (which for example can be a DL TCI state or a Joint TCI state) is used to determine a transmit/receive spatial filter for both DL signals/channels and UL signals/channels. For Separate DL/UL TCI, one TCI state (for example a DL TCI state) can be used to indicate a receive spatial filter for DL signals/channels and a separate TCI state (for example an UL TCI state) can be used to indicate a transmit spatial filter for UL signals/channels.
Agreement
[0037] On beam indication signalling medium to support joint or separate DL/UL beam indication in Rel. 17 unified TCI framework:
[0038] Support L1-based beam indication using at least UE-specific (unicast) DCI to indicate joint or separate DL/UL beam indication from the active TCI states
[0039] The existing DCI formats 1_1 and 1_2 are reused for beam indication
[0040] Support activation of one or more TCI states via MAC CE analogous to Rel.15/16:
Agreement
[0041] On Rel-17 unified TCI framework, to accommodate the case of separate beam indication for UL and DL:
[0042] Utilize two separate TCI states, one for DL and one for UL
[0045] For the separate UL TCI:
[0046] The source reference signal(s) in N TCIs provide a reference for determining common UL TX spatial filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH, all or subset of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC
[0047] Optionally, this UL TX spatial filter can also apply to all SRS resources in resource set(s) configured for antenna switching/codebook-based/non-codebook-based UL transmissions
[0050] In NR rel-16 mTRP (multi-TRP) reliability enhancements where specified for PDSCH by repeating PDSCH transmission (using TDM/FDM or SDM) over two different TRPs. In NR Rel-17, URLLC reliability enhancements will be extended also for PUSCH and PUCCH by using TDM repetition from two different TRPs. In order to quickly switch between sTRP (single-TRP) operation (which typically is useful for eMBB applications) and mTRP operation (which typically is useful for URLLC applications), it was agreed to support dynamic switching between these two modes of operation, see agreement below from RAN1 #105e:
Agreement
[0051] Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
[0052] For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
[0053] Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
[0054] The new field is 2 bits
Agreement
[0055] For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt. 1
(The above is same as in NEC)
[0067] Systems and methods for configured grant for multi-panel Uplink (UL) transmission are provided. In some embodiments, a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for transmitting Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) configured grant to multiple-Transmission Reception Points (TRPs) includes: receiving a configuration of at least one unified Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, indicating Multiple TRP (mTRP) operation; receiving an indication of a configured grant, indicating either mTRP operation using repetition or Simultaneous Transmission Across Multiple Panels (STxMP); and transmitting a PUSCH according to the configuration of unified TCI state and/or the configuration of configured grant.
[0068] In some embodiments, a method performed by a network node for receiving a PUSCH configured grant includes: transmitting, to a UE, a configuration of at least one unified TCI state, indicating mTRP operation; transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a configured grant, indicating either mTRP operation using repetition or STxMP; and receiving, from the UE, a PUSCH according to the configuration of unified TCI state and/or the configuration of configured grant.
[0069] In some embodiments, the received configuration comprises at least two unified TCI states.
[0070] In some embodiments, the received configuration of the at least one unified TCI state indicates UL transmission to two TRPs.
[0073] In some embodiments, the indication of the configured grant comprises a single CG PUSCH configuration which is associated with a first and a second common beam using STxMP.); and
performing the uplink transmission according to the determination (
See Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic sTRP/mTRP switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 2, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of The method of claim 1,
wherein the indication is received via a scheduling downlink control indicator (DCI), and wherein a field in the scheduling DCI indicates whether the uplink transmission is to be transmitted according to single-TRP operation or multi-TRP operation (
Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
The new field is 2 bits
Agreement
For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt.1 (modified).
Alt.1
Support 2 bits with the following combinations. ….
Codepoint
SRS resource set(s)
SRI (for both CB and NCB)/TPMI (CB only) field(s)
00
s-TRP mode with 1st SRS resource set (TRP1)
1st SRI/TPMI field (2nd field is unused)
01
s-TRP mode with 2nd SRS resource set (TRP2)
1st SRI/TPMI field (2nd field is unused)
10
m-TRP mode with (TRP1,TRP2 order)
1st SRI/TPMI field: 1st SRS resource set
2nd SRI/TPMI field: 2nd SRS resource set
Both 1st and 2nd SRI/TPMI fields
11
m-TRP mode with (TRP2,TRP1 order)
1st SRI/TPMI field: FFS
2nd SRI/TPMI field: FFS
Both 1st and 2nd SRI/TPMI fields
).
Regarding claim 5, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 2,
wherein a first value of the field indicates a first TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a second value of the field indicates a second TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a third value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the first TCI state, and wherein a fourth value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the second TCI state (
See Page 3 alt 1 2-bit codepoint values or Page 5 Table 2 2-bit codepoint values indication correspondence with SRS Resource sets and SRT/TPMI fields).
Regarding claim 6, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of The method of claim 5,
wherein the field includes two bits, wherein the first value corresponds to a value of "00", wherein the second value corresponds to a value of "01", wherein the third value corresponds to a value of "10", and wherein the fourth value corresponds to a value of "11" (
See Page 3 alt 1 2-bit codepoint values or Page 5 Table 2 2-bit codepoint values).
Regarding claim 7, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the indication is a starting control channel element (CCE) index for a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (
Page 1, 2 Discussion
Agreement
When DL DCI is transmitted via PDCCH repetition, for PUCCH resource determination for HARQ-Ack when the corresponding PUCCH resource set has a size larger than eight, starting CCE index ….. of one of the linked PDCCH candidates is applied.
See also Page 3, new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation cited above for claim 1.
(Construed UL/PUCCH transmission resource using S-TRP or M-TRP can be determined using starting CCE index of one of the candidate PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the transmission)).
Regarding claim 8, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the indication is a control channel element (CCE) size of a control resource set (CORESET) for a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (
Page 1, 2 Discussion
Agreement
When DL DCI is transmitted via PDCCH repetition, for PUCCH resource determination for HARQ-Ack when the corresponding PUCCH resource set has a size larger than eight, …. number of CCEs in the CORESET of one of the linked PDCCH candidates is applied.
See also Page 3, new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation cited above for claim 1.
(Construed UL/PUCCH transmission resource using S-TRP or M-TRP can be determined using number of CCEs in the CORESET associated with one of the candidate PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the transmission)).
Regarding claim 9, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the uplink transmission is one of a scheduled physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission or a physical uplink shared channel transmission (PUSCH) (
See Page 1, 2 Discussion
Agreement
When DL DCI is transmitted via PDCCH repetition, for PUCCH resource determination for HARQ-Ack when the corresponding PUCCH resource set has a size larger than eight, …. number of CCEs in the CORESET of one of the linked PDCCH candidates is applied.
See also Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
The new field is 2 bits
).
Regarding claim 10, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the uplink transmission comprises a scheduled physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (
Page 1, 2 Discussion
Agreement
When DL DCI is transmitted via PDCCH repetition, for PUCCH resource determination for HARQ-Ack when the corresponding PUCCH resource set has a size larger than eight, …. number of CCEs in the CORESET of one of the linked PDCCH candidates is applied.
See also Page 3, Page 3, PUSCH/PUCCH:
In RAN1#104b-e and 105-e meeting, agreements for PUSCH and PUCCH enhancements were achieved.).
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is a number of PUCCH repetitions, wherein, when a number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value of 1, single- TRP operation is used, and wherein, when a number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value greater than 1, multi-TRP operation is used.
In an analogous art, MURU teaches wherein the indication is a number of PUCCH repetitions, wherein, when a number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value of 1, single- TRP operation is used, and wherein, when a number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value greater than 1, multi-TRP operation is used (
Fig. 5, Fig. 6 HARQ A/N Occasions using PUCCH repetitions using TRP#1 and TRP#2,
[0050] In NR rel-16 mTRP (multi-TRP) reliability enhancements where specified for PDSCH by repeating PDSCH transmission (using TDM/FDM or SDM) over two different TRPs. In NR Rel-17, URLLC reliability enhancements will be extended also for PUSCH and PUCCH by using TDM repetition from two different TRPs. In order to quickly switch between sTRP (single-TRP) operation (which typically is useful for eMBB applications) and mTRP operation (which typically is useful for URLLC applications), it was agreed to support dynamic switching between these two modes of operation, see agreement below from RAN1 #105e:
Agreement
[0051] Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
[0052] For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
[0053] Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
[0054] The new field is 2 bits
(The above is also disclosed by NEC as cited above in claim 1)
[0059] In NR Rel-17, it has been proposed to introduce UL enhancement with multiple TRPs by transmitting a PUCCH or PUSCH towards to different TRPs as shown in FIG. 5, in different times (either in different slots or in different sets of symbols within a slots, also known sometimes referred to as subslot or mini-slot). FIG. 5 illustrates an example of PUCCH/PUSCH transmission towards multiple TRPs for increasing reliability.
[0060] In one scenario, multiple PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions each towards a different TRP may be scheduled by a single DCI. For example, multiple spatial relations (i.e., spatial beams) may be activated for a PUCCH resource and the PUCCH resource may be signaled in a DCI scheduling a PDSCH. The HARQ A/N associated with the PDSCH is then carried by the PUCCH which is then repeated multiple times either within a slot or over multiple slots, each repetition is towards a different TRP. An example is shown in FIG. 6, where a PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI and the corresponding HARQ A/N is sent in a PUCCH which is repeated twice in time, one towards TRP #1 and the other towards TRP #2. Each TRP is associated with a PUCCH spatial relation. FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a single DCI triggered PUCCH repetitions each towards a different TRP.
[0101] if the optional parameter ‘mTRP-transmission-Type’ is configured (for instance, the parameter is set to ‘STxMP’), then the UE applies mTRP STxMP PUSCH transmission when configured for mTRP UL transmission for the configured grant. If the optional parameter ‘mTRP-transmission-Type’ is not configured, then the UE performs PUSCH transmission to a single TRP for configured grant. This single TRP PUSCH transmission may consist of ether a single repetition or multiple repetitions depending on the number of repetitions configured as part of the ConfiguredGrantConfig configuration in 3GPP TS 38.331.
(It is obvious that when repetition value is ‘1’ STRP transmission is used, when repletion value is > 1 or 2 and mTRP-transmission-Type is configured for mTRP UL transmission for either PUSCH or PUCCH repetition as shown in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 41, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 39,
wherein the uplink transmission comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (
Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
The new field is 2 bits
Agreement
For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt.1 (modified).
Alt.1
Support 2 bits with the following combinations. ….);
wherein the indication is a mapping between an indicated unified TCI state list and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (
See Page 3 Alt. 1 or Page 5 Table 2, showing a mapping between respective SRS set with corresponding TRP1 and TRP2 for each DCI bit values, and the TCI states corresponding to TRP1 and TRP2 under unified TCI framework is well known, see MURU [0068-0070]);
wherein, when the mapping is predefined, a first TCI state is mapped to an SRS resource set with a lowest index and a second TCI state is mapped to an SRS resource set with a highest index (
See Page 3 Alt. 1 or Page 5 Table 2, showing mapping between respective SRS set with corresponding TRP1 and TRP2 for each DCI bit values, and the TCI states corresponding to TRP1 and TRP2 under unified TCI framework indicate the mapping is predefined).
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is a mapping between an indicated unified TCI state list and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set,
wherein, when the mapping is provided by higher layer signaling, when an SRS resource set shares indicated TCI states, the base station indicates a target SRS resource set for each indicated TCI state. and
wherein, when the mapping is determined by the indicated TCI state for SRS, SRS resource sets that are provided with a beam are associated with the indicated TCI state.
MURU teaches wherein the indication is a mapping between an indicated unified TCI state list and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (
See [0053-0056] Alt 1 as in NEC.
[0068] In some embodiments, a method performed by a network node for receiving a PUSCH configured grant includes: transmitting, to a UE, a configuration of at least one unified TCI state, indicating mTRP operation; transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a configured grant, indicating either mTRP operation using repetition or STxMP; and receiving, from the UE, a PUSCH according to the configuration of unified TCI state and/or the configuration of configured grant.
[0069] In some embodiments, the received configuration comprises at least two unified TCI states.
[0070] In some embodiments, the received configuration of the at least one unified TCI state indicates UL transmission to two TRPs.
(It is obvious that mapping between SRS resources sets and corresponding TRP1 or TRP2 for respective DCI bit/codepoint values indicate predefined mapping)),
wherein, when the mapping is provided by higher layer signaling, when an SRS resource set shares indicated TCI states, the base station indicates a target SRS resource set for each indicated TCI state (
[0070] In some embodiments, the received configuration of the at least one unified TCI state indicates UL transmission to two TRPs.
See also [0109] [0109] For PUSCH transmission, the UE Tx antennas or panels are defined by SRS resources. To transmit PUSCH simultaneously with two panels, the corresponding two SRS resources need to be indicated to the UE. It should be noted that when the UE is configured/indicated with multiple UL TCI states or joint TCI states for CG PUSCH transmission, the transmit spatial filters for the CG PUSCH transmission are provided by the UL TCI states or the joint TCI states….
[0110] [0110] In summary, for CG PUSCH with STxMP to two TRPs, one of more of the following additional fields may be configured under ConfiguredGrantConfig as shown below (Additional fields to configure CG PUSCH):
In the above disclosing RRC mapping between respective UL TCI states and SRS resource sets for mTRP transmissions, indicated by ConfiguredGrantConfig information element). and
wherein, when the mapping is determined by the indicated TCI state for SRS, SRS resource sets that are provided with a beam are associated with the indicated TCI state (
See [0109-0110] cited above.
[0111] In one embodiment, a CG can be associated to one or multiple common beams through RRC signaling. In a detailed embodiment, a new RRC field is included in ConfiguredGrantConfig IE as specified in TS 38.331, where the new field can indicate which common beam(s) the CG should be associated with. The new field consist of several codepoints).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 42, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 39,
wherein the uplink transmission comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (
Page 3, Agreement
Confirm the Working Assumption (with supporting two bits for the new field).
For indicating STRP/MTRP dynamic switching for non-CB/CB based MTRP PUSCH repetition,
Introduce a new field in DCI to indicate at least the S-TRP or M-TRP operation.
The new field is 2 bits
Agreement
For the new field in the DCI for dynamic switching, support Alt.1 (modified).
Alt.1
Support 2 bits with the following combinations. ….);
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is received via a radio resource control (RRC) message;
wherein a field in the RRC message indicates whether the uplink transmission is to be transmitted according to single-TRP operation or multi-TRP operation; and
wherein a first value of the field indicates a first TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a second value of the field indicates a second TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a third value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the first TCI state, and wherein a fourth value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the second TCI state.
MURU teaches wherein the indication is received via a radio resource control (RRC) message (
[0072] In some embodiments, the indication explicitly indicates mTRP operation using either STxMP or repetition. In some embodiments, the indication of mTRP operation using either repetition or STxMP is conveyed through one of the group consisting of: RRC signaling; and DCI.);
wherein a field in the RRC message indicates whether the uplink transmission is to be transmitted according to single-TRP operation or multi-TRP operation (
See [0072] above.
(It is obvious from [0072] that RRC or DCI signaling can be used to explicitly indicate sTRP or mTRP operation for UL transmission)); and
wherein a first value of the field indicates a first TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a second value of the field indicates a second TCI state for the uplink transmission, wherein a third value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the first TCI state, and wherein a fourth value of the field indicates both the first TCI state and the second TCI state with a transmission starting with the second TCI state (
See [0102] In one embodiment, a UE with two Joint/UL TCI states applied and where the UE is configured with a type 2 CG, a new (or old re-purposed) bitfield in a UL DCI is used to indicate whether the UE shall perform CG based mTRP PUSCH repetition or CG based mTRP PUSCH STxMP. ….. In one alternate of this embodiment, the new bitfield introduced for UL DCI in Rel-17 to indicate sTRP or mTRP PUSCH repetition is extended or re-purposed such that at least one codepoint in this bitfield is used to indicate CG based mTRP PUSCH STxMP. Two schematic examples of how this bitfield could look are illustrated below:
[0111] In one embodiment, a CG can be associated to one or multiple common beams through RRC signaling. In a detailed embodiment, a new RRC field is included in ConfiguredGrantConfig IE as specified in TS 38.331, where the new field can indicate which common beam(s) the CG should be associated with. The new field consist of several codepoints, where each codepoint is associated to one option, and where the candidate options for example can be one or more of:
[0112] CG PUSCH is associated to a first common beam
[0113] CG PUSCH is associated with a second common beam
[0114] CG PUSCH is associated with a first and a second common beam using repetition
[0115] In the above example, when a CG PUSCH is associated with a single common beam (either first common beam or second common beam), CG PUSCH is transmitted towards a single TRP. When a CG PUSCH is associated with two common beams, CG PUSCH is transmitted towards two TRPs. Note that the common beams in the above examples may be derived from UL TCI states or joint TCI states wherein one common beam is derived from a single UL TCI state or joint TCI state. One common beam is essentially a spatial filter used to transmit the CG PUSCH that is derived from a single UL TCI state or joint TCI state. In one specific example, to associate CG PUSCH with a single common beam, a single UL TCI state or joint TCI state is mapped to one codepoint of the RRC field. Similarly, to associated CG PUSCH with two common beams, two UL TCI states or joint TCI states are mapped to one codepoint of the RRC
(It is obvious from [0072, 0102, 0111-0115] that similar to DCI bit fields value indications for TCI state usage sequence for respective sTRP and mTRP UL transmissions, RRC bit field values indicates similar TCI state usage sequence for sTRP and mTRP UL transmissions)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 43, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 42.
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein the field includes two bits, wherein the first value corresponds to a value of "00", wherein the second value corresponds to a value of "01", wherein the third value corresponds to a value of "10", and wherein the fourth value corresponds to a value of "11" (
See [0072, 0102, 0111-0115] cited for claim 42.
(It is obvious that since STRP or mTRP operation can be indicated via RRC signaling and/or DCI disclosed in [0072], indication by RRC and DCI for corresponding bit values or codepoints are similar, and [0102] discloses respective codepoint values for 2-bit and 3-bit fields)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 44, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 42.
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein, to perform the uplink transmission according to the determination, the processing circuitry is configured to perform the PUSCH transmission based on an uplink grant configured by RRC signaling.
MURU teaches wherein, to perform the uplink transmission according to the determination, the processing circuitry is configured to perform the PUSCH transmission based on an uplink grant configured by RRC signaling (
See [0111-0115] disclosing CG PUSCH by RRC signalling, cited for claim 42.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 46, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 45,
wherein, for sounding reference signal (SRS) for non-codebook transmission (
See page 3 Alt 1).
NEC does not explicitly disclose the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to not simultaneously receive a unified TCI state for SRS when an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) is configured.
MURU teaches the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to not simultaneously receive a unified TCI state for SRS when an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) is configured (
[0009] Each TCI state contains QCL information related to one or two RSs. For example, a TCI state may contain CSI-RS1 associated with QCL Type A and CSI-RS2 associated with QCL TypeD…….
[0035] In meeting RAN1 #103-e it was agreed that the new unified TCI state framework should include a three stage TCI state indication (in a similar way as was described above for PDSCH) for all or a subset of all DL and/or UL channels/signals. ……. DCI signaling is used to select one of the TCI states (or two TCI states in case separate TCI states are used for DL channels/signals and UL channels/signals) that was activated via MAC-CE.
[0036] In RAN1 #103-e meeting it was agreed to support both joint beam indication (“Joint DL/UL TCI”) and separate DL/UL beam indication (“Separate DL/UL TCI”), as can be seen in the agreements below.
[0041] On Rel-17 unified TCI framework, to accommodate the case of separate beam indication for UL and DL: [0042] Utilize two separate TCI states, one for DL and one for UL.
(It is obvious unified TCI framework utilizing two separate TCI states, one for DL and one for UL means not receiving joint TCI states or simultaneous reception of unified TCI state for SRS in UL and CSI-RS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 47, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 45,
wherein, for sounding reference signal (SRS) for non-codebook transmission (
See page 3 Alt 1).
NEC does not explicitly disclose the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to not simultaneously receive a unified TCI state and an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an SRS resource in an SRS resource set.
MURU teaches the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to not simultaneously receive a unified TCI state and an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an SRS resource in an SRS resource set (
See [0009, 0035, 0036, 0041] cited for claim 46.
(It is obvious from separate TCI states for DL and UL indicates UE to not simultaneously receive a unified TCI state and an associated CSI-RS for an SRS resource)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
Regarding claim 48, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 45,
wherein, for sounding reference signal (SRS) for non-codebook transmission, the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to apply an indicated unified TCI to an associated for sounding reference signal (SRS) for non- codebook transmission (
See Page 3, dynamic beam indication in unified TCI framework, and Alt 1 Codepoint values for SRI (for both CB and NCB)).
See also MURU as cited for claim 1 disclosing TCI mapping with TRPs and Alt 1 as in NEC.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEC (R1-2107144 “Discussion on multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘NEC’) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 20250030512 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63277394, hereinafter ‘MURU’) and with further in view of Lim et al. (US 20250167946 A1 with priority of KR 10-2022-0024513, hereinafter ‘LIM’).
Regarding claim 40, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the uplink transmission comprises a scheduled physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, wherein the indication is a target PUCCH resource group, and
wherein the indication is per PUCCH resource group (
Page 1, 2 Discussion
Agreement
When DL DCI is transmitted via PDCCH repetition, for PUCCH resource determination for HARQ-Ack when the corresponding PUCCH resource set has a size larger than eight, starting CCE index and number of CCEs in the CORESET of one of the linked PDCCH candidates is applied.).
NEC does not explicitly disclose wherein PUCCH resources are divided into two or more PUCCH resource groups via higher layer signaling; and the indication is for the two or more PUCCH resource groups and indicates selected TCIs for each PUCCH resource group.
MURU teaches wherein PUCCH resources are divided into two or more PUCCH resource groups, the indication is for the two or more PUCCH resource groups and indicates selected TCIs for each PUCCH resource group (
Agreement
[0041] On Rel-17 unified TCI framework, to accommodate the case of separate beam indication for UL and DL:
[0045] For the separate UL TCI:
[0046] The source reference signal(s) in N TCIs provide a reference for determining common UL TX spatial filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH, all or subset of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.
Fig. 6, [0060] In one scenario, multiple PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions each towards a different TRP may be scheduled by a single DCI. For example, multiple spatial relations (i.e., spatial beams) may be activated for a PUCCH resource and the PUCCH resource may be signaled in a DCI scheduling a PDSCH. The HARQ A/N associated with the PDSCH is then carried by the PUCCH which is then repeated multiple times either within a slot or over multiple slots, each repetition is towards a different TRP. An example is shown in FIG. 6, where a PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI and the corresponding HARQ A/N is sent in a PUCCH which is repeated twice in time, one towards TRP #1 and the other towards TRP #2. Each TRP is associated with a PUCCH spatial relation. FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a single DCI triggered PUCCH repetitions each towards a different TRP.
(It is obvious that PUCCH resources are divided into at least two PUCCH resource groups and corresponding TCI/TRP indicated by PDCCH/DCI in Fig. 6 for transmission via TRP#1 and TRP#2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using of UL repetition with dynamic switching for eMBB and URLLC transmission while applying unified TCI state framework of MURU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC in order to take the advantage of a method for providing benefits such as e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, improved content resolution, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime while providing some higher layer overhead savings (MURU: [0050, 0067, 0176]).
NEC and MURU do not explicitly disclose wherein PUCCH resources are divided into two or more PUCCH resource groups via higher layer signaling.
In an analogous art, LIM teaches wherein PUCCH resources are divided into two or more PUCCH resource groups via higher layer signaling (
[0256] Hereinafter, descriptions will be provided for a PUCCH resource configuration of a base station or a UE. A base station may configure, for a specific UE, a PUCCH resource for each BWP via a higher layer. The PUCCH resource configuration may be as shown in [Table 27].
See Table 27
[0258] A higher-layer configuration for the PUCCH resource sets may be as shown in [Table 28] below.
See Table 28
[0569] Definition may be provided so that, according to an indicated TCI state based on the unified TCI scheme, the indicated TCI state is applied, collectively after a BAT, to all uplink channels and all downlink channels (e.g., when operating in the joint TCI state scheme) or to all uplink channels so as to be transmitted and received. The description above may indicate that the UE needs to transmit a corresponding channel only with the indicated TCI state even for a PUCCH and a PUSCH. If two TCI states are indicated, this may indicate that the UE unconditionally applies the two TCI states to a PUCCH or PUSCH after a BAT, which may be interpreted to be the same as indicating only multi-TRP transmission. However, in NR Release 17, a dynamic switching function has been introduced so that, when a UE supports multiple TRPs, single-TRP transmission or multi-TRP transmission during PUCCH or PUSCH transmission can be supported.
[0570] When the UE transmits a PUCCH based on scheduling information, a PUCCH resource may be determined according to a UCI payload and a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) area in the scheduling DCI. …… According to the 3-1st embodiment, a description is provided for an operation of, based on a higher-layer configuration for PUCCH transmission of a UE, transmitting a PUCCH by selecting the number of single or multiple TCI states to be applied and a method of applying the TCI states, which are indicated based on the unified TCI scheme.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of creation of multiple PUCCH resource sets to be used with corresponding TCI according to unified TCI scheme for dynamically switching between sTRP or mTRP transmission of LIM to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC and MURU in order to take the advantage of a method for efficiently providing services in a wireless communication system (LIM: [0009, 0258, 0569, 0570]).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEC (R1-2107144 “Discussion on multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘NEC’) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 20250030512 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63277394, hereinafter ‘MURU’) and with further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20230171621 A1 with priority of US provisional applications US 63284459 and US 63294288, hereinafter ‘ZHU’).
Regarding claim 49, NEC, in view of MURU, teaches the non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 45.
wherein, for sounding reference signal (SRS) for non-codebook transmission (
See page 3 Alt 1).
NEC and MURU do not explicitly disclose the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to:
simultaneously receive a unified TCI state and an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an SRS resource in an SRS resource set; and
transmit the SRS based on at least one of a first beam indicated by the associated CSI-RS or a second beam indicated by the unified TCI state;
wherein selection between the first beam or the second beam is at least one of:
predefined;
configured by higher layer signaling; or based on the associated CSI-RS, wherein, the first beam is selected when the associated CSI-RS is received after signaling for the unified TCI state and the second beam is selected when the associated CSI-RS is received before signaling for the unified TCI state.
In an analogous art, ZHU teaches the program instructions are further executable by processing circuitry of the UE to:
simultaneously receive a unified TCI state and an associated channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an SRS resource in an SRS resource set; and
transmit the SRS based on at least one of a first beam indicated by the associated CSI-RS or a second beam indicated by the unified TCI state;
wherein selection between the first beam or the second beam is at least one of:
predefined;
configured by higher layer signaling; or
based on the associated CSI-RS, wherein, the first beam is selected when the associated CSI-RS is received after signaling for the unified TCI state and the second beam is selected when the associated CSI-RS is received before signaling for the unified TCI state (
Fig. 9 showing UE communication with PCell and SCell using beams.
[0226] For one example, if a UE is provided tci-StateId-r17 indicating a joint DL and UL TCI state or separate DL or UL TCI state for first PCell or first PSCell or first SCell, after 28 symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of the second PUSCH and having a toggled NDI field value, the UE: (1) monitors PDCCH in all CORESETs, and receives PDSCH and aperiodic CSI-RS in a resource from a CSI-RS resource set associated with useIndicatedTCIState, using the same antenna port quasi co-location parameters as the ones associated with the corresponding index q_new, if any (2) transmits PUCCH, PUSCH and SRS associated with useIndicatedTCIState using a same spatial domain filter as the one corresponding to q_new, if any …… where the subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the 28 symbols could correspond to ….. (2) the smallest of the SCS configurations of all the signal(s)/channels sharing the same indicated Unified tci state/beam (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter tci-StateId_r17).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of CSI-RS reception and SRS transmission using beams corresponding to unified TCI indication for CSI-RS and SRS of ZHU to the technique of PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH enhancements of NEC and MURU in order to take the advantage of a method for beam failure recovery under a unified TCI framework in a wireless communication system (ZHU: [0002, 0226]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, NEC, MURU, LIM, ZHU or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of The method of claim 10,
wherein, when the number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value of 1, an additional bit in a downlink control information (DCI) or a starting control channel element (CCE) index for a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) indicates a beam for a scheduled PUCCH transmission, a first TCI state indicates a beam for the scheduled PUCCH transmission; and
wherein, when the number of PUCCH repetitions is set to a value greater than 1, the additional bit in the DCI or the starting CCE index for the scheduling PUCCH indicates a starting TCI state for the scheduled PUCCH transmission and an order of TCI states for the scheduled PUCCH transmission is predefined or configured via higher layer signaling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lim et al. (US 20250106845 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING UPLINK IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Yang; Yu (US 20240405956 A1), describing UPLINK TCI STATE DETERMINING METHOD AND APPARATUS, TERMINAL, AND NETWORK-SIDE DEVICE
Davydov et al. (US 20240187172 A1), describing SINGLE TRP AND MULTIPLE TRP DYNAMIC SWITCHING FOR SINGLE DCI BASED PUSCH TRANSMISSIONS
Deghel et al. (US 20240098742 A1), describing ENABLING DYNAMIC SWITCHING BETWEEN MULTIPLE TRANSMISSION RECEPTION POINTS AND SINGLE TRANSMISSION RECEPTION POINTS PHYSICAL UPLINK CONTROL CHANNEL SCHEMES
Liu et al. (US 20240039587 A1), describing System And Method For Inter-cell And Intra-cell Multiple Transmission-Reception Points Communications
Wu et al. (US 20230308246 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE IN NODES USED FOR WIRELESS COMMUNICATION
Li; Mingju (ID P202306633 A), describing RESOURCE DETERMINATION METHOD, RESOURCE DETERMINATION EQUIPMENT AND STORAGE MEDIUM
Zhu et al. (US 20230262727 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS OF BEAM INDICATION AND REPETITION
Zhou et al. (US 20230121938 A1), describing USER EQUIPMENT CAPABILITY SIGNALING FOR ENHANCED BEAM MANAGEMENT FEATURES
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413