DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sano does not teach the newly added claim limitations as Sano is drawn to reducing noise not preventing thermal damage. The examiner disagrees. While Sano ‘191 focuses on noise reduction, the double-walled housing of Sano ‘191 will inherently provide thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing (based on the structure and material) and said thermal insulation is considered to be high, furthermore the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall when filled with air (as claim in claim 11and taught by Sano) or rock wool (as taught by Sano) will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside and protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicants arguments relating to the 103’s based on a Michelazzi in view of Sano, Saito ‘006 in view of Sano, and Lee ‘410 in view of Sano are that the primary references fail to teach the newly added limitations and Sano fails to cure the deficiencies for the reasons stated above. Said arguments are addressed above as Sano clearly teaches the newly added limitations.
Lastly, applicant argue that motivation was not provided for the combination of Michelazzi ‘776 with Ward. The examiner disagrees with applicant. The Office action clearly stated it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anneal the capacitor of Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 as taught by Ward ‘026 to fuse the plastic layers together thus reducing air in the capacitor.
All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11-15, & 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano (US 2019/0267191).
In regards to claim 1, Sano ‘191 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]),
a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]),
a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein
the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]), and
the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing ([0071] – a double-walled housing will inherently provide thermal insulation and the thermal insulation provided by the housing of Sano is considered to be high),wherein
the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside), and wherein
the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process). When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent.
In regards to claim 3, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a material selected from steel, copper, brass, aluminum, a coating with Tin or a tin alloy ([0039]).
In regards to claim 11, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the gap is filled with air or with another thermally insulating material (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]).
In regards to claim 12, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 9, further comprising a filler in the housing such that the capacitance element is arranged in the filler (7 – fig. 6; [0056-0057]).
In regards to claim 13, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 12, wherein the filler comprises an epoxy resin (7 – fig. 6; [0056-0057]).
In regards to claim 14, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the capacitor is essentially free from air and/or humidity (7 – fig. 6; [0056-0057]).
In regards to claim 15, Sano ‘191 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, being usable with a pick-and-place machine (fig. 1 – the capacitor is capable of being used with a pick and place machine).
In regards to claim 24, Sano ‘191 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]),
a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]),
a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein
the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]), and
the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing ([0071] – a double-walled housing will inherently provide thermal insulation and the thermal insulation provided by the housing of Sano is considered to be high),wherein
the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside), and wherein
the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element at least temporarily for the duration of a reflow process from reaching critical temperatures ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will protect the capacitance element at least temporarily for the duration of a reflow process from reaching critical temperatures). When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 12-16, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelazzi et al. (US 2022/0319776) in view of Sano ‘191.
In regards to claim 1,
Michelazzi ‘776 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 1; [0021]),
a first terminal (20 – fig. 1; [0022]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (20 – fig. 1; [0022]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element (fig. 1; [0021]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 2; [0017]),
a housing (PPS box – [0043]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein
the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall ([0043] – inner surface of box constitutes the inner wall and outer surface of box constitutes the outer wall). Michelazzi ‘776 fails to disclose wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap, and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing, wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside, and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process.
Sano ‘191 discloses a capacitor comprising: a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]), a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]), a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]), and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing ([0071] – a double-walled housing will inherently provide thermal insulation and the thermal insulation provided by the housing of Sano is considered to be high), wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside), and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process). When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent.
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing of Michelazzi ‘776 to be a double-walled house as taught by Sano ‘191 to obtain a capacitor with improved noise protection.
In regards to claim 4,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses wherein the dielectric material is selected from PET (Polyethylene terephthalate), PEN (polyethylene naphthalate), PPS (polypropylene sulphide), PTFE (polytetrafluoroethylene), PS (Polystyrene), PC (polycarbonate) and PET HT ([0038] of Michelazzi ‘776).
In regards to claim 5,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses further comprising a heat shield (26 – fig. 2-3; [0022-0023] & [0016] of Michelazzi ‘776) arranged below the capacitance element.
In regards to claim 12,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses further comprising a filler in the housing such that the capacitance element is arranged in the filler ([0043] of Michelazzi ‘776 & [0056-0057] of Sano ‘191).
In regards to claim 13,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses wherein the filler comprises an epoxy resin ([0043] of Michelazzi ‘776 & [0056-0057] of Sano ‘191).
In regards to claim 14,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses wherein the capacitor is essentially free from air and/or humidity (fig. 2; [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776).
In regards to claim 15,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses being usable with a pick-and-place machine (fig. 2 of Michelazzi ‘776 – the capacitor is capable of being used with a pick and place machine).
In regards to claim 16,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses a method of manufacturing the capacitor of claim 1, comprising the steps of:
providing a material for the first electrode, for the second electrode and for the dielectric (fig. 1-3; [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776);
providing a first surface mountable terminal and a second surface mountable terminal (fig. 1-3; [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776);
providing a housing ( [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776);
winding the material for the first electrode, the material for the second electrode and the dielectric to obtain a wound-type capacitance element ([0021] & [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776);
connecting the electrodes of the capacitance element to the surface mountable terminals (fig. 1-2; [0043] of Michelazzi ‘776); and
arranging the capacitance element in a housing ([0043] of Michelazzi ‘776).
In regards to claim 18,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses further comprising filling a remaining volume in the housing with a filler to remove air and/or humidity ([0043] of Michelazzi ‘776 & [0056-0057] of Sano ‘191).
Claim(s) 1-3 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 2006/0104006) in view of Sano ‘191.
In regards to claim 1,
Saito ‘006 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0027]),
a first terminal (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0027]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]),
a housing (8 – fig. 1; [0032]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein
the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall (fig. 1 – inner surface constitutes the inner wall and outer surface constitutes the outer wall). Saito ‘006 fails to disclose wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap, and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing, wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside, and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process.
Sano ‘191 discloses a capacitor comprising: a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]), a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]), a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]), and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing ([0071] – a double-walled housing will inherently provide thermal insulation and the thermal insulation provided by the housing of Sano is considered to be high), wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside), and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process). When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent.
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing of Saito ‘006 to be a double-walled house as taught by Sano ‘191 to obtain a capacitor with improved noise protection.
In regards to claim 2,
Saito ‘006 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses having a capacity lager than 1.0 µF ([0030] of Saito ‘006).
In regards to claim 3,
Saito ‘006 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses wherein the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a material selected from steel, copper, brass, aluminum, a coating with Tin or a tin alloy ([0030] of Saito ‘006).
In regards to claim 8,
Saito ‘006 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses wherein the first and second terminal have a length > 1 mm in the vertical direction (fig. 1; [0032] of Saito ‘006).
Claim(s) 1 & 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2010/0128410) in view of Sano ‘191.
In regards to claim 1,
Lee ‘410 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (1 – fig. 2-3; [0026] – it is noted that a film capacitor cell has two electrodes with a dielectric therebetween),
a first terminal (17 – fig. 3; [0027]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (17 – fig. 3; [0027]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element (fig. 2-3) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 4),
a housing (3 – fig. 2-3; [0026]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein
the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall (fig. 2 – inner surface constitutes the inner wall and outer surface constitutes the outer wall). Lee ‘410 fails to disclose wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap, and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing, wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside, and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process.
Sano ‘191 discloses a capacitor comprising: a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]), a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]), a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged, wherein the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]), and the housing is configured to provide high thermal insulation of the capacitance element arranged in the housing ([0071] – a double-walled housing will inherently provide thermal insulation and the thermal insulation provided by the housing of Sano is considered to be high), wherein the gap between the inner wall and the outer wall is configured to act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will act as a heat absorption element absorbing heat entering the housing from the outside), and wherein the gap is configured to protect the capacitance element and reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process ([0071] – the gap is either filled with air or a filler material such as rock wool – it is noted that both air and rock wool will reduce heat transfer towards the capacitance element temporarily during a reflow soldering process). When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent.
In regards to claim 6,
Lee ‘410 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses further comprising a heat sink (9 – fig. 3-4; [0027] of Lee ‘410) arranged below the capacitance element.
In regards to claim 7,
Lee ‘410 as modified by Sano ‘191 further discloses comprising a heat sink (9 – fig. 3-4; [0027] of Lee ‘410) arranged between the capacitance element and the connection side of the terminals.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ward (US 2008/0232026).
In regards to claim 17,
Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 fails to disclose further comprising annealing the capacitor.
Ward ‘026 discloses annealing the capacitor ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anneal the capacitor of Michelazzi ‘776 as modified by Sano ‘191 as taught by Ward ‘026 to fuse the plastic layers together thus reducing air in the capacitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Double-Wall Vacuum Insulation Explained: How It Works and Why It Matters
Study on the Properties of Rock Wool for External Thermal Insulation of Buildings under the Soaking and Hot & Humid Conditions
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847