DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21 & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 19-20 & 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 19-20 & 22 for fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend as said limitations amount to a mere reiteration the claim from which they depend as no further limitations are present in the body. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 12-16, & 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Michelazzi et al. (US 2022/0319776).
In regards to claim 1, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 1; [0021]),
a first terminal (20 – fig. 1; [0022]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (20 – fig. 1; [0022]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element (fig. 1; [0021]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 2; [0017]).
In regards to claim 4, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the dielectric material is selected from PET (Polyethylene terephthalate), PEN (polyethylene naphthalate), PPS (polypropylene sulphide), PTFE (polytetrafluoroethylene), PS (Polystyrene), PC (polycarbonate) and PET HT ([0038]).
In regards to claim 5, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, further comprising a heat shield (24 or 26 – fig. 2-3; [0022-0023] & [0016]) arranged below the capacitance element.
In regards to claim 9, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, comprising a housing ([0043]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged.
In regards to claim 12, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 9, further comprising a filler in the housing such that the capacitance element is arranged in the filler ([0043]).
In regards to claim 13, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 12, wherein the filler comprises an epoxy resin ([0043]).
In regards to claim 14, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the capacitor is essentially free from air and/or humidity (fig. 2; [0043]).
In regards to claim 15, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, being usable with a pick-and-place machine (fig. 2 – the capacitor is capable of being used with a pick and place machine).
In regards to claim 16, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
A method of manufacturing the capacitor of claim 1, comprising the steps of:
providing a material for the first electrode, for the second electrode and for the dielectric (fig. 1-3; [0043]);
providing a first surface mountable terminal and a second surface mountable terminal (fig. 1-3; [0043]);
providing a housing ( [0043]);
winding the material for the first electrode, the material for the second electrode and the dielectric to obtain a wound-type capacitance element ([0021] & [0043]);
connecting the electrodes of the capacitance element to the surface mountable terminals (fig. 1-2; [0043]); and
arranging the capacitance element in a housing ([0043]).
In regards to claim 18, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The method according to claim 16, further comprising filling a remaining volume in the housing with a filler to remove air and/or humidity ([0043]).
In regards to claim 19, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
An EMI reduction circuit comprising the capacitor of claim 1 ([0024] & claim 1).
In regards to claim 20, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
A DC-Link circuit comprising the capacitor of claim 19 ([0024] & claim 19).
In regards to claim 21, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The EMI reduction circuit of claim 19 wherein voltages > 630V ([0024] – it is noted that circuit is useable at voltage greater than 630 V).
In regards to claim 22, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
An EMI filter circuit, comprising the EMI reduction circuit of claim 19 ([0024] & claim 19).
In regards to claim 23, Michelazzi ‘776 discloses
The EMI reduction circuit of claim 19 wherein AC voltages >100Vac ([0024] – it is noted that circuit is useable at voltage greater than 100 Vac).
Claim(s) 1-3 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US 2006/0104006).
In regards to claim 1, Saito ‘006 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0027]),
a first terminal (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0027]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0030]).
In regards to claim 2, Saito ‘006 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, having a capacity lager than 1.0 µF ([0030]).
In regards to claim 3, Saito ‘006 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a material selected from steel, copper, brass, aluminum, a coating with Tin or a tin alloy ([0030]).
In regards to claim 8, Saito ‘006 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the first and second terminal have a length > 1 mm in the vertical direction (fig. 1; [0032]).
Claim(s) 1 & 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2010/0128410).
In regards to claim 1, Lee ‘410 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (1 – fig. 2-3; [0026] – it is noted that a film capacitor cell has two electrodes with a dielectric therebetween),
a first terminal (17 – fig. 3; [0027]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (17 – fig. 3; [0027]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element (fig. 2-3) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 4).
In regards to claim 6, Lee ‘410 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, further comprising a heat sink (9 – fig. 3-4; [0027]) arranged below the capacitance element.
In regards to claim 7, Lee ‘410 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, further comprising a heat sink (9 – fig. 3-4; [0027]) arranged between the capacitance element and the connection side of the terminals.
Claim(s) 1, 3, & 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano (US 2019/0267191).
In regards to claim 1, Sano ‘1914 discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a first electrode, a second electrode and a dielectric material arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0036-0037]),
a first terminal (22 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the first electrode, and
a second terminal (23 – fig. 1; [0038]) electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein
the first electrode material, the second electrode material and the dielectric material establish a wound-type capacitance element ([0036-0037]) and
the first terminal and the second terminal are surface mountable terminals (fig. 5; [0038]).
In regards to claim 3, Sano ‘1914 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a material selected from steel, copper, brass, aluminum, a coating with Tin or a tin alloy ([0039]).
In regards to claim 9, Sano ‘1914 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, comprising a housing (3 – fig. 1; [0041]) in which the wound capacitance element is arranged.
In regards to claim 10, Sano ‘1914 discloses
The capacitor of claim 9, wherein the housing comprises an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a gap (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]).
In regards to claim 11, Sano ‘1914 discloses
The capacitor of claim 10, wherein the gap is filled with air or with another thermally insulating material (fig. 1 & 9; [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelazzi ‘776 in view of Ward (US 2008/0232026).
In regards to claim 17,
Michelazzi ‘776 fails to disclose further comprising annealing the capacitor.
Ward ‘026 discloses annealing the capacitor ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anneal the capacitor of Michelazzi ‘776 as taught by Ward ‘026 to fuse the plastic layers together thus recuing air in the capacitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2003/0053285 – [0023] US 2009/0141419 – fig. 1-2
US 11,622,478 – fig. 4 US 6,356,431 – fig. 3-4
US 8,018,712 – fig. 1 JP2000323352A – fig. 1-2
JP2014135327A – fig. 1-5 WO2020137041A1 – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848