JNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority. The certified copy has been filed in Application No. PCT/JP2022/006766, filed on 18 February 2022 AD.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2024 AD, 26 February 2026 AD, and 24 June 2026 AD were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20200106504 A1) or Noh in view of Hao et al. (US 20230353210 A1) or Hao.
Claim 6
Noh teaches,
A terminal comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from a base station,
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
configuration information including information indicating port numbers of one or more antenna ports selected from among a plurality of antenna ports for a reference signal for channel state information; and
(See Noh paragraph 0014, ...a method for a terminal is provided. The method includes receiving CSI-RS configuration information from a base station, receiving feedback configuration information from the base station, and receiving the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS configuration information, wherein an antenna port number of the CSI-RS received from the base station is determined based on a component CSI-RS configuration and a maximum number of CSI-RS antenna ports that the terminal is capable of receiving.)
a transmitting unit configured to transmit, to the base station,…
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states
corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states
corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal.
(See Hao paragraph 0096, At 1406, the UE performs CSI measurements based on the configuration. At 1408, the UE reports the CSI. The CSI may include a set of linear combination coefficients for each layer and each partial band and each coefficient is associated to combination of a particular CSI-RS port or SD-FD pair and a particular FD basis.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the received configuration
Shows the UE reporting the CSI based on the specified SI-RS ports
(See Hao paragraph 0098, At 1506, the network entity receives, from the UE, CSI measurements based on the configuration.)
Shows the base station receiving the CSI measurements from the UE
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a terminal receiving configuration information indicating port numbers of at least one antenna port selected from among multiple antenna ports for a reference signal or RS for channel state information or CSI from a base station as disclosed by Noh with transmitting CSI based on the result of measuring the CSI for the selected antenna ports as disclosed by X2 to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the energy required by the base station to transmit data to the UE).
Claim 7
Noh teaches,
The terminal according to claim 6,
wherein the receiving unit
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…is configured to receive information indicating a codebook configuration for reporting channel state information supported by the reference signal, and
wherein the codebook configuration is associated with the port numbers of the reference signal supported for use in the measurement.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…is configured to receive information indicating a codebook configuration for reporting channel state information supported by the reference signal, and
wherein the codebook configuration is associated with the port numbers of the reference signal supported for use in the measurement.
(See Hao paragraph 0007, ...receiving a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting, based on the information, wherein the configuration comprises at least two of a number of CSI-RS ports, a number of SD-FD basis pairs, a number of FD bases identified per port, or a number of partial bands, performing CSI measurements based on the configuration, and reporting the CSI.)
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Noh teaches,
The terminal according to claim 6, wherein the receiving unit…
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…is configured to receive information indicating an identifier of a resource set for reporting valid channel state information for channel measurement.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…is configured to receive information indicating an identifier of a resource set for reporting valid channel state information for channel measurement.
(See Hao paragraph 0103, ...a UE may report capability via information of SD-FD pairs that comprises reporting a max total number of SD-FD pairs Pmax′ mapped to P CSI-RS ports. In the example, the UE reports the highlighted values in the table as capability, while values to the left of those are valid configuration, and values to the right are invalid.)
Shows the UE reporting valid and invalid CSI-RS port configurations
(See Hao paragraph 0104, ...the UE may receive configuration of information of SD-FD pairs that comprises a total number of SD-FD pairs P′ mapped to p CSI-RS ports, p<=P′ or (p<=P and p<=P′<=Pmax′ if there is capability reporting of Pmax). {P, P′} may be jointly configured. The ports within the resource and the resource are counted P′/P times in active resource and port counting.)
Shows the UE receiving a configuration of a valid CSI-RS ports with resources to report CSI
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Noh teaches,
The terminal according to claim 6, wherein the transmitting unit is configured to transmit, to the base station,…
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…the channel state information based on the reference signal using the antenna ports corresponding to the port numbers, in at least one of periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic manners.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the channel state information based on the reference signal using the antenna ports corresponding to the port numbers, in at least one of periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic manners.
(See Hao paragraph 0067, The CSI report configuration may configure the UE for aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI reporting.)
Shows the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit CSI report for channel state information
(See Hao paragraph 0067, For periodic CSI, the UE may be configured with periodic CSI-RS resources.)
Shows the UE configured with periodic CSI-RS resources for periodic CSI
(See Hao paragraph 0067, For aperiodic and semi-persistent CSI on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the BS may signal the UE a CSI report trigger indicating for the UE to send a CSI report for one or more CSI-RS resources,...)
Shows the UE configured with periodic CSI-RS resources for aperiodic and semi-persistent CSI
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Noh teaches,
A base station comprising:
a transmitting unit configured to transmit, to a terminal,
(See Noh paragraph 0206, …a base station includes a controller 2110 and a transceiver unit 2120.)
Shows a base station with a transceiver
(See Noh paragraph 0208, The transceiver unit 2120 transmits and receives data, a reference signal, and feedback information from the terminal.)
Shows the transceiver unit 2120 transmitting and receiving date from the terminal
configuration information including information indicating port numbers of one or more antenna ports selected from among a plurality of antenna ports for a reference signal for channel state information; and
(See Noh paragraph 0013, ...a method for a base station is provided. The method includes transmitting CSI-RS configuration information to a terminal, transmitting feedback configuration information to the terminal, and transmitting the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS configuration information, wherein an antenna port number of the CSI-RS transmitted to the terminal is determined based on a component CSI-RS configuration and a maximum number of CSI-RS antenna ports that the terminal is capable of receiving.)
a receiving unit configured to receive, from the terminal,…
(See Noh paragraph 0206, …a base station includes a controller 2110 and a transceiver unit 2120.)
Shows a base station with a transceiver
(See Noh paragraph 0208, The transceiver unit 2120 transmits and receives data, a reference signal, and feedback information from the terminal.)
Shows the transceiver unit 2120 transmitting and receiving date from the terminal
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the one or more antenna ports of the transmitted reference signal.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the one or more antenna ports of the transmitted reference signal.
(See Hao paragraph 0096, At 1406, the UE performs CSI measurements based on the configuration. At 1408, the UE reports the CSI. The CSI may include a set of linear combination coefficients for each layer and each partial band and each coefficient is associated to combination of a particular CSI-RS port or SD-FD pair and a particular FD basis.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the received configuration
Shows the UE reporting the CSI based on the specified SI-RS ports
(See Hao paragraph 0098, At 1506, the network entity receives, from the UE, CSI measurements based on the configuration.)
Shows the base station receiving the CSI measurements from the UE
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Noh teaches,
A communication method executed by a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information including information indicating port numbers of one or more antenna ports selected from among a plurality of antenna ports for a reference signal for channel state information;…
(See Noh paragraph 0014, ...a method for a terminal is provided. The method includes receiving CSI-RS configuration information from a base station, receiving feedback configuration information from the base station, and receiving the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS configuration information, wherein an antenna port number of the CSI-RS received from the base station is determined based on a component CSI-RS configuration and a maximum number of CSI-RS antenna ports that the terminal is capable of receiving.)
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
… generating the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal; and transmitting the generated channel state information to the base station.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
… generating the channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal; and transmitting the generated channel state information to the base station.
(See Hao paragraph 0096, At 1406, the UE performs CSI measurements based on the configuration. At 1408, the UE reports the CSI. The CSI may include a set of linear combination coefficients for each layer and each partial band and each coefficient is associated to combination of a particular CSI-RS port or SD-FD pair and a particular FD basis.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the received configuration
Shows the UE reporting the CSI based on the specified SI-RS ports
(See Hao paragraph 0098, At 1506, the network entity receives, from the UE, CSI measurements based on the configuration.)
Shows the base station receiving the CSI measurements from the UE
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Noh teaches,
A communication system comprising a terminal and a base station,
wherein the terminal includes: a receiving unit configured to receive, from the base station,
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
configuration information including information indicating port numbers of one or more antenna ports selected from among a plurality of antenna ports for a reference signal for channel state information; and
(See Noh paragraph 0014, ...a method for a terminal is provided. The method includes receiving CSI-RS configuration information from a base station, receiving feedback configuration information from the base station, and receiving the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS configuration information, wherein an antenna port number of the CSI-RS received from the base station is determined based on a component CSI-RS configuration and a maximum number of CSI-RS antenna ports that the terminal is capable of receiving.)
a transmitting unit configured to transmit, to the base station,…
(See Noh paragraph 0199, …a terminal includes a transceiver unit 2010 and a controller 2020. The transceiver unit 201 transmits and receives data from an outside (e.g., base station).)
…the base station includes:
a transmitting unit configured to transmit
(See Noh paragraph 0206, …a base station includes a controller 2110 and a transceiver unit 2120.)
Shows a base station with a transceiver
(See Noh paragraph 0208, The transceiver unit 2120 transmits and receives data, a reference signal, and feedback information from the terminal.)
Shows the transceiver unit 2120 transmitting and receiving date from the terminal
the configuration information to the terminal; and
(See Noh paragraph 0013, ...a method for a base station is provided. The method includes transmitting CSI-RS configuration information to a terminal, transmitting feedback configuration information to the terminal, and transmitting the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS configuration information, wherein an antenna port number of the CSI-RS transmitted to the terminal is determined based on a component CSI-RS configuration and a maximum number of CSI-RS antenna ports that the terminal is capable of receiving.)
a receiving unit configured to receive, from the terminal,…
(See Noh paragraph 0206, …a base station includes a controller 2110 and a transceiver unit 2120.)
Shows a base station with a transceiver
(See Noh paragraph 0208, The transceiver unit 2120 transmits and receives data, a reference signal, and feedback information from the terminal.)
Shows the transceiver unit 2120 transmitting and receiving date from the terminal
However, Noh fails to explicitly teach,
…channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal, and…
…the channel state information,
which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the antenna ports indicated in the configuration information among the plurality of antenna ports of the reference signal.
Nevertheless, Hao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…channel state information, which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the one or more antenna ports selected based on the information indicating the port numbers among the plurality of antenna ports of the received reference signal, and…
(See Hao paragraph 0096, At 1406, the UE performs CSI measurements based on the configuration. At 1408, the UE reports the CSI. The CSI may include a set of linear combination coefficients for each layer and each partial band and each coefficient is associated to combination of a particular CSI-RS port or SD-FD pair and a particular FD basis.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the received configuration
Shows the UE reporting the CSI based on the specified SI-RS ports
(See Hao paragraph 0098, At 1506, the network entity receives, from the UE, CSI measurements based on the configuration.)
Shows the base station receiving the CSI measurements from the UE
…the channel state information,
which is a result of measurement of channel states corresponding to the antenna ports indicated in the configuration information among the plurality of antenna ports of the reference signal.
(See Hao paragraph 0096, At 1406, the UE performs CSI measurements based on the configuration. At 1408, the UE reports the CSI. The CSI may include a set of linear combination coefficients for each layer and each partial band and each coefficient is associated to combination of a particular CSI-RS port or SD-FD pair and a particular FD basis.)
Shows the UE performing CSI measurements on the received configuration
Shows the UE reporting the CSI based on the specified SI-RS ports
(See Hao paragraph 0098, At 1506, the network entity receives, from the UE, CSI measurements based on the configuration.)
Shows the base station receiving the CSI measurements from the UE
The motivation to combine Noh and Hao in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US 20200195329 A1) or Huang teaches a network device transmitting channel state information reference signals or CSI-RS to a terminal device and the terminal device transmitting antenna port numbers corresponding to the CSI-RS to the network device.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414