DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed July 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-17 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2017/0002981 to Carron et al. (Carron).
Regarding claim 1, Carron discloses a method ([0031]) for determining a residual supply time (“theoretical autonomy” [0054] and “actual autonomy” [0055]) for a gas contained in a pressurized container (2) through a valve group (1), the valve group comprising a main structure (shown in Fig. 1), a rotary control element (5) which is rotatably connected to the main structure (Fig. 1 and [0043])) and which is configured so as to allow a passage of a variable flow of gas through the valve group in accordance with an angular position (Fig. 8 and [0043]) thereof about a main rotation axis (X), wherein the valve group further includes a display device (8), the method comprising: a. associating with a plurality of angular positions (al .... an) respective residual time values in accordance with a selected flow ([0020] and [0054]; “the time is associated with the flow rate “set by the regulating member” which is controlled by the angular position of control member 5); b. determining a residual time value in accordance with the selected flow corresponding to the angular position of the rotary control element (see [0043] and [0046]); c. determining a pressure value of the gas inside the pressurized container (via pressure sensor 10; see [0055]); d. calculating a residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) of the pressure value (see [0055]); e. comparing (see [0059]) the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP); f. selecting a value from the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) depending on one or more operating parameters of the valve group and/or the pressurized container (see [0030], [0069]-[0072] and [0106]), wherein the operating parameters comprise one or more from: time passed from an initial time of the passage of the gas flow, pressure (P) measured inside the container (from pressure sensor 10), temperature (T) of the gas ([0066]), volume (Vb) of the container, angular position (a) of the rotary control element (from sensor 9); g. displaying on the display device the value selected from the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) or the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) depending on said one or more operating parameters of the valve group and/or the pressurized container ({0051] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Carron discloses calculating a difference (DTR) between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) (see [0059] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Carron discloses displaying the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) before a predetermined time period, independently of the one or more operating parameters of the valve group (100) and/or the pressurized container (see [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Carron discloses the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) is displayed before the predetermined time period without carrying out the calculation of the difference between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) (see [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Carron discloses the calculation of the difference (DTR) between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) is carried out after the predetermined time period has passed from an initial time of the passage of the gas flow (inherent that a predetermined time period has passed before the calculation; i.e., the calculation is carried out via a program which occurs at a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 7, Carron discloses the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) is displayed if the difference (DTR) between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) is less than a first threshold (see [0060], [0068] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Carron discloses the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) is displayed if a predetermined time period has passed and the difference (DTR) between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) is greater than the first threshold ((see [0060], [0068] and [0070])).
Regarding claim 9, Carron discloses emitting an alarm signal if the difference (DTR) between the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) and the residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) is greater than a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is greater than the first threshold (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Carron discloses wherein the angular position (a) of the control element is measured by means of a magnetic tunnel effect angle sensor TMR (see [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, Carron discloses storing in a storage unit the residual time values in accordance with a selected flow (TRV) which are associated with the plurality of angular positions (see [0046] and [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Carron discloses the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) is determined in accordance with the angular position (a) of the rotary control element independently of actual physical characteristics of the supply of the gas (see [0046] and [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Carron discloses the valve group (1) for pressurized containers comprising a main structure (fig. 1), a rotary control element (5) which is rotatably connected to the main structure (fig. 1) and which is configured so as to allow a flow of gas through the valve group in accordance with an angular position (a) thereof about a main rotation axis (X), a measuring device (9) for the angular position (a) which includes an angular position sensor ([0100]), the valve group comprising a control unit (7) which is configured to determine a pressure value (via pressure sensor 10) of the gas inside the pressurized container (B) and which is interfaced with the position sensor so as to receive the angular position (a) of the control device ([0046]), the control unit being configured to carry out the method according to claim 1, and comprising a storage unit (see [0046]) which is configured to store the residual time values in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) which are associated with each position of the control device (1) and which is configured so as to calculate a residual time value in accordance with the pressure (TRDP) on the basis of the pressure value (P) and to compare it with the residual time value in accordance with the selected flow (TRV) (see [0046] and [0053]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Carron discloses the angular position sensor comprises a magnetic tunnel effect angle sensor TMR (see [0100]).
Regarding claim 16, Carron discloses a movement conversion mechanism which is configured so as to convert the movement of the rotary control element about the main axis into a corresponding rotational movement of the movable member about an auxiliary rotation axis which is different from the main rotation axis (shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Carron discloses the angular position sensor defines a measurement axis which is aligned with the auxiliary rotation axis ([0098]; axis of the wheel).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose the specific formula recited by claim 10 and the examiner finds no evidence that the formula would be derived or applied to the teachings of Carron without the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2014/0130875 discloses a method for monitoring the remaining time for gas in a cylinder and US Patent 12,234,949 discloses a control device for calculating the remaining fluid remaining in a cylinder.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 August 4, 2026