Note
motivation statement
112f means claim 1
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 to 7 recite (1), (2), (3), (4), (5) . Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 13, and 14 recite “…systems/devices…”. It creates ambiguity because is systems/devices directed to: systems or devices or both?
Claim 1 recites astronaut(s), It creates ambiguity because is it directed to one astronaut or more than one astronauts ?
Claim 1 recites avatars(s), It creates ambiguity because is it directed to one avatar or more than one avatars ?
Claim 1 recites user(s), it creates ambiguity because is it directed to one user or more than one users?
Claim 8 recites avatars(s), It creates ambiguity because is it directed to one avatar or more than one avatars ?
Claim 8 recites user(s), it creates ambiguity because is it directed to one user or more than one users?
Dependent claims not mentioned specifically above inherit the deficiencies from the claims stated above on which they depend.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquiring by means; generating by means in the claim 6 and claim 7. acquiring by means; generating by means in the claim 13 and claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. (Publication: US 2019/0094981 A1) in view of Rutschman et al. (Publication: US 2018/0064335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bradski discloses a method of providing a [[space]] extended reality service on earth, comprising (
[0018] , [0203] – method provide augmented reality with sensor to perform the mapping of the physical environment around the user with the following method:
[0018] , [0537] - Head-mounted augmented reality device contains memory stores instructions, processed by the processor.) :
a) acquiring, by means of one or more acquisition systems/devices (1) installed on a [[space]] platform (2), real-time data related to a surrounding [[space]] environment and/or to one or more [[astronauts]] (3) in said [[space]] environment ([0780] the AR system may receive input (e.g., visual input, sensory input, auditory input, knowledge bases, etc.) from one or more users of a particular around environment. As described previously, this may be achieved through various input devices, and knowledge already stored in the map database. The user's cameras, sensors, GPS system, eye tracking etc. ,“means”, conveys information to the system (step 5002). It should be appreciated that such information may be collected from a plurality of users to comprehensively populate the map database with real-time and up-to-date information, “real-time data related to a surrounding”.);
b) generating, by means of a computer graphics processing device/system (4), based on the acquired real-time data and on synthetic data, a three-dimensional extended reality environment reproducing the [[space]] environment and one or more three-dimensional avatar(s) of the [[astronaut(s)]] (3) reproducing movements and/or actions and/or facial expressions and/or voice of said [[astronaut(s)]] (3) ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos), “based on the acquired real-time data and on synthetic data”. The wearable local system may calculate pose using one of the pose calculation techniques mentioned. The cloud 6454 may use images and fiducials to segment 3-D objects from more static 3-D background.
[0959] virtual and/or augmented user experience is created such that remote avatars associated with users may be animated based at least in part upon data on a wearable device with input from sources such as voice inflection analysis and facial recognition analysis, as conducted by pertinent software modules. For example, referring back to FIG. 60, the bee avatar 6002 may be animated to have a friendly smile based upon facial recognition of a smile upon the user's face, “reproducing the [[space]] environment and one or more three-dimensional avatar(s) of the [[astronaut(s)]] (3) reproducing movements and/or actions and/or facial expressions and/or voice of said [[astronaut(s)]]”),
wherein the synthetic data digitally represent the [[space]] environment and/or the [[astronaut(s)]] (3) ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos)); and
c) providing one or more users (5) on earth with a [[space]] extended reality service based on the generated three-dimensional extended reality environment and avatar(s) ([0712] The AR system may render an avatar presence in a virtual space with no instrumentation, and allow virtual interaction. The passable world model allows a first user to pass a second user a copy of the first user's section of the world (e.g., a level that runs locally). If the second user's individual AR system is performing local rendering, all the first user's individual AR system needs to send is the skeletal animation.
[1279] - the first user may want to share a file with another user. This action may be animated in a playful manner by populating both the systems through avatars, “service”.
[1277] - Fig 123B, populated the avstar in 3D. Once the icon has been selected, the avatar may open up the game (using the avatar hand gesture, as shown in 12308). The game may then be rendered in 3D to the user. In one embodiment, the avatar may disappear after the user has selected the game, or in other embodiments, the avatar may remain, and the user may be free to choose other options/icons for other functionality as well, “three-dimensional extended reality environment and avatar(s)”.).
Bradski does not however Rutschman discloses
astrounaut(s) and space platform ([0014] – space station, or other crew space craft.)
space platform ([0014] – space station, or other crew space craft.);
space environment ([0014] – outer space flights);
providing a space extended reality service on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”);
space extended reality service on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”).
A space extended reality service provided on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bradski with astrounaut(s) and space platform; space platform; space environment; providing a space extended reality service on earth; space extended reality service on earth; a space extended reality service provided on earth; as taught by Rutschman. The motivation for doing is to transmitted emergency or urgent information in more timely manner.
Regarding claim 2, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 1 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the real-time data include data such as point clouds or the like that digitally represent body position and/or body attitude and/or facial expression of the [[astronaut(s)]] ( [0722] - The AR system may infer a location of a user's avatar simply based on a position of the user's head and/or hands with respect to the environment. The AR system may statistically process voice inflection (e.g., not content of utterances), and animate or modify an emotional expression of the corresponding avatar to reflect an emotion of the respective user which the avatar represents.
[1637], [0802] - the user's face is represented by a plurality of point clouds.
[0719] - The AR system may perform functions such along with real-time texture mapping, applying images (e.g., video) to the avatar, “real-time data”.).
Regarding claim 3, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 1 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the real- time data include images and/or photos and/or video data and/or audio data ([0719] - The AR system may perform functions such along with real-time texture mapping, applying images (e.g., video) to the avatar).
Regarding claim 4, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 1 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the synthetic data are produced based on one or more computer-aided design models and/or one or more digital twin models that digitally represent the [[space]] environment and/or the [[astronaut(s)]] ( [0607] - the conference room scene may be rendered on the user's table. Thus, even if there is no camera at the conference room, the passable world model, using information collected through prior key frames etc., is able to transmit information about the conference room to other users and recreate the geometry of the room for other users in other spaces, “digital twin models that digitally represent the environment”.
[0187] The data stored in one or more servers 11 within the computing network 5 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 12 and/or gateway components 14. In one embodiment, object data shared by servers may be complete or may be compressed, and contain instructions for recreating the full object data on the user side, rendered and visualized by the user's local computing device (e.g., gateway 14 and/or user device 12), “the synthetic data are produced based on one or more computer-aided design models and/or one or more digital twin models”. ).
Regarding claim 5, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 1 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the user(s) (5) use(s) one or more extended reality devices (6) to experience the [[space]] extended reality service ([0808] The system may share basic elements (walls, windows, desk geometry, etc.) with any user who walks into the room in virtual or augmented reality, and in one embodiment that person's system will take images from his particular perspective and upload those to the cloud. Then the cloud becomes populated with old and new sets of data and can run optimization routines and establish fiducials that exist on individual objects.).
Regarding claim 6, A space extended reality service provided on earth by implementing the method as claimed in any one of the preceding claims claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1.).
Regarding claim 7, Bradski discloses a system designed to provide a [[space]] extended reality service on earth, comprising:[[-]] one or more acquisition systems/devices (1) installed on a [[space]] platform (2) and configured to acquire real-time data related to a surrounding [[space]] environment and/or to one or more [[astronauts]] (3) in said [[space]] environment ([0018] , [0203] – method provide augmented reality with sensor to perform the mapping of the physical environment around the user with the following method:
[0018] , [0537] - Head-mounted augmented reality device contains memory stores instructions, processed by the processor.
[0547] - “outward facing” camera that captures images of the ambient environment) ;
and [[-]] a computer graphics processing device/system (4) configured to receive the acquired real-time data and to carry out the steps b) and c) of the method as claimed in any one of claims 1 ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos). see rejection on claim 1.).
Regarding claim 8, Bradski discloses a method of providing an earth extended reality service on a [[space]] platform, comprising ([0018] , [0537] - Head-mounted augmented reality device contains memory stores instructions, processed by the processor.
[0018] , [0203] – method provide augmented reality with sensor to perform the mapping of the physical environment around the user “platform” with the following method:):
a) acquiring, by means of one or more acquisition systems/devices installed on earth, real-time data related to a surrounding ground environment and/or to one or more ground users in said ground environment [0780] the AR system may receive input (e.g., visual input, sensory input, auditory input, knowledge bases, etc.) from one or more users of a particular around environment. As described previously, this may be achieved through various input devices, and knowledge already stored in the map database. The user's cameras, sensors, GPS system, eye tracking etc. ,“means”, conveys information to the system (step 5002). It should be appreciated that such information may be collected from a plurality of users to comprehensively populate the map database with real-time and up-to-date information, “real-time data related to a surrounding”.);
b) generating, by means of a computer graphics processing device/system, based on the acquired real-time data and on synthetic data, a three-dimensional extended reality environment reproducing the ground environment and one or more three-dimensional avatar(s) of the ground user(s) reproducing movements and/or actions and/or facial expressions and/or voice of said ground user(s) ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos), “based on the acquired real-time data and on synthetic data”. The wearable local system may calculate pose using one of the pose calculation techniques mentioned. The cloud 6454 may use images and fiducials to segment 3-D objects from more static 3-D background.
[0959] virtual and/or augmented user experience is created such that remote avatars associated with users may be animated based at least in part upon data on a wearable device with input from sources such as voice inflection analysis and facial recognition analysis, as conducted by pertinent software modules. For example, referring back to FIG. 60, the bee avatar 6002 may be animated to have a friendly smile based upon facial recognition of a smile upon the user's face, “reproducing the ground environment and one or more three-dimensional avatar(s) of the ground user(s) reproducing movements and/or actions and/or facial expressions and/or voice of said ground user(s)”),
wherein the synthetic data digitally represent the ground environment and/or the ground user(s) ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos)); and
c) providing one or more [[astronauts]] on a [[space]] platform with an earth extended reality service based on the generated three-dimensional extended reality environment and avatar(s) ([0712] The AR system may render an avatar presence in a virtual space with no instrumentation, and allow virtual interaction. The passable world model allows a first user to pass a second user a copy of the first user's section of the world (e.g., a level that runs locally). If the second user's individual AR system is performing local rendering, all the first user's individual AR system needs to send is the skeletal animation.
[1279] - the first user may want to share a file with another user. This action may be animated in a playful manner by populating both the systems through avatars, “service”.
[1277] - Fig 123B, populated the avstar in 3D. Once the icon has been selected, the avatar may open up the game (using the avatar hand gesture, as shown in 12308). The game may then be rendered in 3D to the user. In one embodiment, the avatar may disappear after the user has selected the game, or in other embodiments, the avatar may remain, and the user may be free to choose other options/icons for other functionality as well, “three-dimensional extended reality environment and avatar(s)”.).
Bradski does not however Rutschman discloses
astrounaut(s) and space platform ([0014] – space station, or other crew space craft.)
space platform ([0014] – space station, or other crew space craft.);
space environment ([0014] – outer space flights);
providing a space extended reality service on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”);
space extended reality service on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”).
A space extended reality service provided on earth ([0014], [0018] – the regina image device is incorporated into augmented reality headset on the space station.
[0109] in a space environment, the used throughout a space voyage by astronauts to monitor for and detect retinal pathologies. The image processor 412 can obtain retinal image data from the image sensor 408 and perform image analysis to detect one or more potential pathologies. Upon detection, the image processor 412 can immediately transmit via the communication interface along with astronaut-identifying information. Upon detection of an increased signal strength, such as when positioned over the Earth-based ground station, the image processor 412 can transmit retinal imagery associated with the detected pathology, send data to group station “service on earth”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bradski with astrounaut(s) and space platform; space platform; space environment; providing a space extended reality service on earth; space extended reality service on earth; a space extended reality service provided on earth; as taught by Rutschman. The motivation for doing is to transmitted emergency or urgent information in more timely manner.
Regarding claim 9, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 8 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the real-time data include data such as point clouds or the like that digitally represent body position and/or body attitude and/or facial expression of the ground user(s) ([0722] - The AR system may infer a location of a user's avatar simply based on a position of the user's head and/or hands with respect to the environment. The AR system may statistically process voice inflection (e.g., not content of utterances), and animate or modify an emotional expression of the corresponding avatar to reflect an emotion of the respective user which the avatar represents.
[1637], [0802] - the user's face is represented by a plurality of point clouds.
[0719] - The AR system may perform functions such along with real-time texture mapping, applying images (e.g., video) to the avatar, “real-time data”.).
Regarding claim 10, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 8 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the real- time data include images and/or photos and/or video data and/or audio data (([0719] - The AR system may perform functions such along with real-time texture mapping, applying images (e.g., video) to the avatar). ).
Regarding claim 11, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 8 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the synthetic data are produced based on one or more computer-aided design models and/or one or more digital twin models that digitally represent the ground environment and/or the ground user(s) ( [0607] - the conference room scene may be rendered on the user's table. Thus, even if there is no camera at the conference room, the passable world model, using information collected through prior key frames etc., is able to transmit information about the conference room to other users and recreate the geometry of the room for other users in other spaces, “digital twin models that digitally represent the environment”.
[0187] The data stored in one or more servers 11 within the computing network 5 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 12 and/or gateway components 14. In one embodiment, object data shared by servers may be complete or may be compressed, and contain instructions for recreating the full object data on the user side, rendered and visualized by the user's local computing device (e.g., gateway 14 and/or user device 12), “the synthetic data are produced based on one or more computer-aided design models and/or one or more digital twin models”.).
Regarding claim 12, Bradski in view of Rutschman disclose all the limitation of claim 8 including astrounaut(s) and space platform and a space extended reality service provided on earth.
Bradski discloses wherein the [[astronaut(s)]] use(s) one or more extended reality devices to experience the earth extended reality service ([0808] The system may share basic elements (walls, windows, desk geometry, etc.) with any user who walks into the room in virtual or augmented reality, and in one embodiment that person's system will take images from his particular perspective and upload those to the cloud. Then the cloud becomes populated with old and new sets of data and can run optimization routines and establish fiducials that exist on individual objects.).
Regarding claim 13, Earth An earth extended reality service provided on a [[space]] platform by implementing the method as claimed in any one of claims 8 (see rejection on claims 8.).
Regarding claim 14, Bradski discloses A system designed to provide an earth extended reality service on a [[space]] platform, comprising: [[-]] one or more acquisition systems/devices installed on earth and configured to acquire real-time data related to a surrounding ground environment and/or to one or more ground users in said ground environment ([0018] , [0203] – method provide augmented reality with sensor to perform the mapping of the physical environment around the user with the following method:
[0018] , [0537] - Head-mounted augmented reality device contains memory stores instructions, processed by the processor.
[0547] - “outward facing” camera that captures images of the ambient environment) ;
and [[-]] a computer graphics processing device/system configured to receive the acquired real-time data and to carry out the steps b) and c) of the method as claimed in any one of claims 8 ([0931] - a wearable system may capture image information and extract fiducials and recognized points 6452. Images may provide textures maps for objects and the world (textures may be real-time videos). see rejection on claim 1.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618