DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1, 3-9 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 6 are currently amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claim 2 features are included in claim 1 and have the effect of narrowing the claim scope of the claim set, thus requiring further search and/or consideration.
The amendments to the claims have overcome some of the 35 USC 112 second paragraph rejections as seen below. The rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph to claim 2 is maintained as applied to claim 1 as modified based on the amendments.
The remarks are not found persuasive, as the remark merely argue a technical effect, and it cannot be said that Hinz does not perform this technical effect, especially given that all of the structural features of Hinz read on the limitations in the claims and that in operation Hinz provides such technical effect to a greater or lesser degree as broadly claimed.
As mentioned above, the clarity rejection is maintained. Applicants response also indicates a narrower interpretation of the claims than is commensurate in scope therewith. Considering the breadth, an alternate obviousness rejection is required to address the amended claim language and the breadth, all in context with the written description of course.
Considering that the amendments to the claims have required further search and/or consideration and adjustment of the rejections to meet those limitations as seen below, this action must be made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 “wherein a filling device is configured to reduce the free space and to increase a coupling capacitance between the coil winding, the housing and the valve dome of each solenoid valve so as to effect low impedance feedback for interference signals from the hydraulic block to the control electronics and produce a plurality of electrically parallel feedback paths between the hydraulic block and the control electronics” where there is a lack of clarity or objective meaningful reference as to how or in what way that some byproduct (i.e. effect) of the low ac resistance (i.e. impedance) from the hydraulic bloc to the control electronics feedback in parallel paths to the control electronics when the coupling capacitance that is only between the coil winding, housing and valve dome (as claimed) occurs when the filling devices (i.e. the insulation) fills a space that somehow increases coupling capacitance (when electrical insulation normally reduces coupling capacitance) between the winding, housing and valve dome through the filling device, and all especially considering that it is improper to import limitations from the written description without proper means plus function nonce style language or special definitions, and so the office must take the most reasonably broad interpretation in context with the written description. MPEP 2111, 2173.05(q)
Claim 3 and 6 each recite “much greater than 1” but there is a lack of objective meaningful reference as to the measure of much greater;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6 and 9 is/are rejected (as indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hinz (US 5662392) or in the alternative as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Hinz;
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected (as indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinz as applied to claims 1 and 3 (as indefinitely understood) above, and further in view of Prettl (US 2016/0298582);
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected (as indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinz as applied to claims 1 (as indefinitely understood) above, and further in view of Day (US 5362209.)
Hinz discloses in claim 1: (see annotated figure 1 below)
A solenoid valve assembly (see figure 1 and Col 1 ln 59-65) for a vehicle dynamics system (technical field Col 1 ln 5-8, the previous considered a statement of intended use under MPEP 2114), the solenoid valve assembly comprising: a hydraulic block (15); a number of solenoid valves (solenoid valves as discussed Col 1 ln 62) which each comprise a valve dome (4) and a magnet assembly (at 1002); and control electronics (via 11/12), wherein the magnet assembly of each solenoid valve comprises a housing (2/6) and a winding carrier (at 1004 a bobbin/winding carrier), which is located in the housing and onto which a coil winding (1) connected to the control electronics via connection lines (11) is wound, wherein a free space (defined by 6 at 1006) is formed between the housing and the winding carrier of the magnet assembly of each solenoid valve, and wherein a filling device (at 9, insulating material Col 2 ln 14) is configured to reduce the free space (i.e. fill it) and to increase a coupling capacitance between the coil winding, the housing, and the valve dome (the insulation material will have the effect of inhibiting magnetic flux and eddy currents onto the coil winding, so that the generated flux path travels about the coil, casing 6/steel yoke/housing) of each solenoid valve so as to effect low-impedance feedback for interference signals from the hydraulic block to the control electronics (via the casing 6 and not the winding 1) and produce a plurality of electrically parallel feedback paths (along 1008 at 1006 as indicated) between the hydraulic block (15) and the control electronics (11/12 and all for the purpose of reducing for example eddy currents amplifying or reducing the current signals in the coil winding itself.)
If it could be persuasively argued at some future unforeseen date that Hinz does not explicitly disclose: parallel low impedance feedback paths from the hydraulic block to the control electronics, or coupling capacitance between coil winding, housing and valve dome;
Considering the above teaching of Hinz, and considering that one of ordinary skill in the solenoid valve arts would provide: using an electrical insulation filling material device (the plastic resin material of 9) to provide an increased electromagnetic flux coupling between the coil winding, housing and valve dome by increasing the capacitance (i.e. reducing the effective distance) there between, and also as one of ordinary skill in the art would consider, to separate any feedback path that occurs to and from the control electronics and the hydraulic block and that would create interference such as signal current eddy effects so as to bypass in a parallel fashion and reduce such secondary current dampening or amplitudes on the coil current signals, provided for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the magnetic flux capacity of the solenoid valve itself.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide and arrange as either taught or suggested in Hinz and as suggested by those skilled in the solenoid valve arts with an electrical insulation filling material device such as a plastic resin material as taught in Hinz, so as to provide an increased electromagnetic flux coupling between the coil winding, housing and valve dome of Hinz by increasing the capacitance or in other words by reducing an effective distance there between the coil winding, housing and valve dome, and also provide for separate feedback paths to and from the control electronics and the hydraulic block that may originate there between and that may create interference such as signal current eddy effects so as to bypass such in a parallel fashion and reduce secondary current dampening or amplitudes on the coil current signals as arguably taught in Hinz and as suggested by those skilled in the art, all provided for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the magnetic flux capacity of the solenoid valve itself.
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 1, wherein the filling device comprises a filling material (9 is an insulator where under MPEP 608.02 IX the material is indicated as a synthetic resin or plastic material, an 2 is also indicated the same, and is called out as plastic injection molded part Col 2 ln 25) having a predetermined permittivity which is much greater than 1 (plastics and resins have a permittivity between 2 to 4 and is “much” greater than 1 (i.e. 200 to 400 percent greater.))
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 3, wherein the filling material is an adhesive, a silicone, or a heat-conducting medium (the preceding considered an alternative grouping under MPEP 2131; and where 9 is an electrical insulator that still can conduct heat in some fashion) introduced into the free space; but does not disclose, although Prettl teaches: introducing liquid form medium and being cured (66 is a thermoplastic injection molded adhesive fluid filler material, ph 0098, for the purpose of over-molding and insulating the coil for filling the gaps therein);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Hinz as taught in Prettl a thermoplastic injection molded adhesive fluid filler material, for Hinz as taught in Prettl, all for the purpose of over-molding and insulating the coil for filling the gaps therein.
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 1, wherein the filling device comprises a sleeve (9 is a sleeve material) inserted into the free space between the coil winding and the housing.
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 5, wherein said sleeve is made of a plastic material (9 is an insulator where under MPEP 608.02 IX the material is indicated as a synthetic resin or plastic material, an 2 is also indicated the same, and is called out as plastic injection molded part Col 2 ln 25) having a permittivity much greater than 1 (plastics and resins have a permittivity between 2 to 4 and is “much” greater than 1 (i.e. 200 to 400 percent greater.))
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose, although Day teaches: an additional edge portion (edge of the coil of 32) enlarges an overall cross section of the coil winding and forms the filling device (and see 32 figure 2 where the coil steps to enlarge and fill the cavity therein, for the purpose of for example maximizing coil windings and generating the magnetic flux thereabout.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Hinz as taught in Day, an additional edge portion of the coil as taught in Day enlarges an overall cross section of the coil winding and forms the filling device as taught in Day, and where the coil can step to enlarge and fill the cavity therein, all for the purpose of for example maximizing coil windings and generating the magnetic flux thereabout.
Hinz discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8: The solenoid valve assembly according to claim 7, wherein the additional edge portion of the coil winding has a trapezoidal or (the use of alternative language “or” indicating alternative grouping under MPEP 2131) rectangular cross-section (rectangular in cross section.)
Hinz discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 9: A vehicle dynamics system (a brake pressure control system as discussed Col 1 ln 5-8), comprising: the solenoid valve assembly according to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753