DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 7–8, 13–14, 16, 20–21, 23–24, 27, 29, 31–33, 35–36, 38–40, 42–43, 45–46, 48, 51, 54, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2019/0329929 A1; “Pang”) in view of Ismail (WO 2021/019220 A1; “Ismail”, of record) and further in view of Dias et al. (2015; “Dias”, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Pang teaches a drinking cup for receiving a beverage (para [0022]), having a sidewall, a rim, and a bottom (paras [0023]-[0027], Fig. 1, cup/container 10 having sidewall 12, rim 14, bottom 18);
- wherein the sidewall has a first edge and a second edge which are arranged in an overlapping manner at a side seam area (paras [0023]-[0027], in an overlapping manner at side seam 36; Fig. 2);
- wherein the sidewall is composed of a multilayer cardboard (para [0027], multilayer paperboard structure 40, substrate 46 and coatings 52, 54, 56, Fig. 4, Fig. 5) further comprising:
- a pigment coating or barrier coating layer [B] (para [0028]-[0033], barrier coating 56) having an area weight of about 2-20 lb/3,000 ft², which is about approximately 3.26-32.55 g/m², which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of having an area weight within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m²;
- a fiber based substrate layer [C] (paras [0028]-[0030], paperboard substrate 46) having an area weight of about 40 to 300 lb/3000 ft2, which is about 65 to 488 g/ m² (para [0030]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of from 50 to 750 g/m²; (In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05); and
- a printed layer [E] comprising at least one of a printed image and a decoration (para [0022], [0027] printed topcoat).
Regarding the limitations “… optionally, a pigment coating layer [D] having an area weight within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m²” and “…optionally, one or more crosslinked polysiloxane layers [F] having a total area weight within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m²” of claim 1, the Examiner considers claim 1 does not require those limitations.
Pang teaches its drinking cup includes a layer [A] faces the interior of the drinking cup (i.e., an interior heat-sealable coating 56, paras [0039]-[0040], Fig. 4).
However, Pang does not specifically teach the inclusion of one or more crosslinked polysiloxane layers [A] having a total area weight, determined according to EN ISO 536, within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m².
Ismail teaches a silane-derived sol-gel coating suitable for applying to the interior of a cardboard drinking cup (para [0012] [0014], [0043] also see Example 10, sol formulation; sol prepared from TEOS and phenyltriethoxysilane, also see Example 35, para [0074], application to cup interior and liquid-retention test). Ismail teaches sol coatings may form through extensive crosslinking between reactive functional groups (para [0014]). Ismail further teaches precursors can form Si-O-Si networks by hydrolysis and condensation (Example 10, para [0043]), of which such crosslinked coating layer of Ismail reads on the instantly claimed crosslinked polysiloxane layer [A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Ismail, to apply to the cup interior over the surface of the interior coating (i.e., heat-sealable coating 56) of Pang, with an silane-derived sol-gel barrier coating taught by Ismail, to provide improved resistance to liquid penetration as taught by Ismail, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane layer formed from the silane precursors taught by Ismail faces the interior of the drinking cup.
Modified Pang does not specifically teach the total area weight of the crosslinked polysiloxane coating layer.
Dias teaches TEOS-based sol-gel silica coatings, and that Dias teaches applying TEOS-based sol-gel silica formulations to paperboard at a suitable total area weight of 2-3 g/m² that provides improved oxygen and water-vapor barrier performance (abstract, page 123, first and second para, section 2.2, Equations (1)-(2); Fig. 1, silica network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modified paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Dias, to adjust the amount/the total area weight amount of the crosslinked polysiloxane layer through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., barrier properties) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Pang does not specifically teach or require any layer or the entirety of the multilayer carboard for its drinking cup must include specific polyolefin polymer, and thus is considered substantially free of polyolefins, and considered meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane layer interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail), and further includes layer [B] (para [0033], layer B/barrier coating 52), layer [C] (paras [0028]-[0030], paperboard substrate 46), layer [E] (para [0022], [0027] printed topcoat) in this order (Fig. 5, paras [0022] [0027]-[0030], [0033]), meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 7, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane layer interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail), and in direct contact with layer [B] (para [0033], layer B/barrier coating 52), meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Pang teaches as in one of its embodiments a paperboard cup having printed layer [E], and that the printed layer could be in direct contact with coating layer [D] (coating layer 52 includes pigment, para [0033]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 13, Pang teaches fiber substrate [C] comprises cellulose fibers (i.e., paperboard substrate 46, para [0027] [0057][0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Pang teaches the inclusion of fiber substrate [C] (i.e., paperboard substrate 46, para [0027] [0057] [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the area weight of the fiber substrate through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., total basis weight, stiffness, structural integrity) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Pang teaches its carrier coating layer/layer [B] and optional [D] includes suitable pigments such as clay pigment, calcium carbonate (para [0037] [0038]), meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 20, Pang teaches its pigment/barrier coating [B] may include suitable binder and suitable pigment (para [0034]). Pang teaches the ratio of binder and pigment is about 1:2 by weight (para [0034]). Pang teaches the ratio of binder and pigment is about 1:1 to 1:10 by weight (para [0041]), of which the calculated wt % of binder is about 9 to 50 wt %, which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of binder of 5–20 wt.%; and the calculated wt % of pigment is about 50 to 90 wt %, which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of pigment of about 80–95 wt.%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 21, Pang teaches the pigment coating or barrier coating layer [B] (para [0028]-[0033], barrier coating 56) having an area weight of about 2-20 lb/3,000 ft², which is about approximately 3.26-32.55 g/m², which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of have an area weights within the range of 10.0±5.0, 12.5±5.0, or 15.0±5.0 g/m². In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 23, Pang does not specifically teach or require the barrier coating layer [B] (para [0028]-[0033], barrier coating 56) must include polyolefin, and thus is considered as meeting the claimed limitations, i.e., free of polyolefins.
Regarding claim 24, Pang teaches the inclusion of printed layer over the multilayer cardboard area (para [0022], [0027], printed topcoat, i.e., up to 100% cover), and thus is considered as meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 27, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Pang and Ismail both do not teach or require such crosslinked polysiloxane layer interior layer/layer A must include the specified pigments, thus is considered as meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 29, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes a non-functionalized silane of formula (I) (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043], TEOS is a non-functionalized alkoxysilane), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 31, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes a non-functionalized silane of formula (II) (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043], phenyltriethoxysilane), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 32, modified Pang does not specifically teach non-functionalized alkyl trialkoxy silane oligomer of formula (III).
Dias teaches TEOS-based sol-gel silica coatings, and that Dias teaches using an aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) as a silica precursor in an TEOS-based sol gel formulation suitable for applying to paperboard (abstract, page 123, first and second para, section 2.2, Equations (1)-(2); Fig. 1, silica network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modified paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Dias, to select suitable silica precursor material as taught by Dias, such as using aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) as a silica precursor in an TEOS-based sol gel formulation suitable for applying to paperboard as taught by Dias (abstract, page 123, first and second para), to provide paperboard cup with improved oxygen and water-vapor barrier performance. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 33, Dias teaches TEOS-based sol-gel silica coatings, and that Dias teaches using an aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) as a silica precursor in an TEOS-based sol gel formulation suitable for applying to paperboard (abstract, page 123, first and second para, section 2.2, Equations (1)-(2); Fig. 1, silica network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modified paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Dias, to select suitable silica precursor material as taught by Dias, such as using aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) as a silica precursor in an TEOS-based sol gel formulation suitable for applying to paperboard as taught by Dias (abstract, page 123, first and second para), to provide paperboard cup with improved oxygen and water-vapor barrier performance. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 35, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes metal alkoxide (example 9 of Ismail, para [0042]), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 36, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes TEOS which is tetraalkoxy silane (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043]), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 38, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes TEOS which is tetraalkoxy silane (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043]), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 39, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes TEOS which is tetraalkoxy silane (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043]), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 40, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel composition includes TEOS which is tetraalkoxy silane (Ismail, Example 10, para [0043]), meeting the claimed compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 42, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the content weight % of the crosslinked polysiloxane in the layer through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., resistance, barrier properties) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 43, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the total area weight of the crosslinked polysiloxane layer through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., resistance, barrier properties) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 45, modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail). Ismail teaches sol-gel compositions generally forming clear/transparent and colorless coating (para [0003] [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Ismail, to apply to the cup interior over the surface of the interior coating (i.e., heat-sealable coating 56) of Pang, with a transparent silane-derived sol-gel barrier coating taught by Ismail, to provide improved resistance to liquid penetration as taught by Ismail, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory paperboard cup that is the same as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 46, Pang teaches sealing the side-seam surfaces with primer to form the cup, and wherein the surface of the side seam area that is opposite the interior is an exterior of the drinking cup (paras [0023]-[0027], Fig. 2, cup/container 10 having sidewall 12, rim 14).
Regarding claim 48, Pang does not specifically teach specific side-seam primer strip and partial layer coverage configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the paperboard cup of Pang, to provide a side-seam primer strip at the side seam, for the obvious benefit of providing improved bonding and seal at the seam, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory paperboard cup that is the same as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 51, Pang teaches various embodiments of its the multilayer cardboard having various Cobb 600 value and Pang teaches Cobb 600 value is a result effective variable that affects water absorption properties, water resistance (Table 5, 6, para [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and to adjust the Cobb 600 value of the multilayer cardboard through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., water absorption properties, water resistance) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable Cobb 600 value that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 54, Pang teaches various embodiments of its the multilayer cardboard having various outside Cobb 600 value of 10.9 to 28.5 g/m² (Table 5, and para [0050], which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.8–44 g/m². In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 58, Pang does not specifically teach or require any layer or the entirety of the multilayer carboard for its drinking cup must include specific polyolefin polymer, and thus is considered substantially free of polyolefins, and considered meeting the claimed limitations. Modified Pang teaches a paperboard cup having a crosslinked polysiloxane interior layer/layer A (taught by Ismail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the total area weight of the crosslinked polysiloxane layer through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., resistance, barrier properties) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the content weight % of the crosslinked polysiloxane in the layer through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (i.e., resistance, barrier properties) of the paperboard cup once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount that falls within the broad range as instantly claimed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2019/0329929 A1; “Pang”) in view of Ismail (WO 2021/019220 A1; “Ismail”, of record)
Regarding claim 59, Pang teaches a method of forming a paperboard cup, the process comprising the steps:
- providing a laminate of a pigment coating or barrier coating layer [B] (para [0028]-[0033], barrier coating 56) having an area weight of about 2-20 lb/3,000 ft², which is about approximately 3.26-32.55 g/m², which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of having an area weight within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m²;
- a fiber based substrate layer [C] (paras [0028]-[0030], paperboard substrate 46) having an area weight of about 40 to 300 lb/3000 ft2, which is about 65 to 488 g/ m² (para [0030]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of from 50 to 750 g/m²; (In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05); and
- a printed layer [E] comprising at least one of a printed image and a decoration (para [0022], [0027] printed topcoat)
Pang teaches obtaining an element from the thus obtained laminated cardboard and forming the drinking cup from said the element (paras [0023]-[0027], Fig. 1, cup/container 10 having sidewall 12, rim 14, bottom 18).
Regarding the limitations “… optionally, a pigment coating layer [D] having an area weight within the range from 0.1 to 50 g/m²” of claim 59, the Examiner considers claim 59 does not require those limitations.
Pang teaches its drinking cup includes a layer [A] faces the interior of the drinking cup (i.e., an interior heat-sealable coating 56, paras [0039]-[0040], Fig. 4).
Pang does not specifically teach applying a specific sol-gel composition to the surface of the pigment coating or barrier coating layer [B], wherein the sol-gel composition comprises at least one of a crosslinkable non-functionalized silane and a crosslinkable functionalized silane; (d) crosslinking at least one of the non-functionalized silane and the functionalized silane.
Ismail teaches a silane-derived sol-gel coating suitable for applying to the interior of a cardboard drinking cup (para [0012] [0014], [0043] also see Example 10, sol formulation; sol prepared from TEOS and phenyltriethoxysilane, also see Example 35, para [0074], application to cup interior and liquid-retention test). Ismail teaches sol coatings may form through extensive crosslinking between reactive functional groups (para [0014]). Ismail further teaches precursors can form Si-O-Si networks by hydrolysis and condensation (Example 10, para [0043]), of which such crosslinked coating layer of Ismail reads on the instantly claimed crosslinked polysiloxane layer [A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the paperboard cup of Pang in view the teachings of Ismail, to including the step of applying to the cup interior over the surface of the interior coating (i.e., heat-sealable coating 56) of Pang, with an silane-derived sol-gel barrier coating taught by Ismail, to provide improved resistance to liquid penetration as taught by Ismail.
Conclusion
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782