This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/062662 02/15/2023, PCT/US2023/062662 has PRO 63/310,432 02/15/2022.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18, 21, and 29 remain for examination, wherein claims 1, 21, and 29 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. In the instant case, The term “at low temperature ” on lines 1-2 in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Proper clarification/amendment is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-18, 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (Design of bulk nanocrystalline tungsten alloys via nano-phase separation sintering, Thesis, MIT, 2015, Feb.112 pages, listed in IDS filed on 5/29/2025, thereafter NPl-1).
Regarding claim 1, NPL-1 teaches design of bulk nanocrystalline tungsten alloys via nano-phase separation sintering from metal alloy powder by milling (Title, abstract and conclusions of NPL-1), which reads on the designing a metal alloy having a miscible gap as claimed in the instant claim. NPL-1 provides examples of W-Ti-Cr alloy (table 5.2 of NPL-1) with milling micron-scale polycrystalline particles with nanoscale grain (Page 87 and Fig.5.7 of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd metal with miscibility gap (Refer to Fig.3.5A of NPL-1) as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, NPL-1 teaches phase separation (cl.2) (Fig.3.5 of NPL-1) and redissolves at transition temperature (cl.3) (Fig.3.15, Fig.2.13, and Fig.2.14 of NPL-1).
Regarding claim 4, NPL-1 teaches a nano phase separating powder.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 11, NPL-1 indicates including Cr-Ni powder in the W alloy nano-phase separation sintering process (Page 20, section 2.1 of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed metal elements as claimed in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 7-10 and 12-14, NPL-1 indicates including Ti, Sc, Zn, Mn, Th, Cr, Au, and In to help stabilize a nanocrystalline state (2nd paragraph of Page 25) and NPL-1 indicates different alloy system including different metal elements satisfy three thermodynamic conditions (Page 71, 4th paragraph of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed elements as included in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 15, NPL-1 provides examples of W-Ti-Cr alloy (table 5.2 of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed ternary powder as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 17-18, NPL-1 provides examples of W-Ti-Cr alloy including W-30Ti-10Cr (table 5.2 of NPL-1) with milling micron-scale polycrystalline particles with nanoscale grain (Page 87 and Fig.5.7 of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed 1st alloy amount (cl.17) or 2nd alloy amount (cl.18).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, NPL-1 teaches design of bulk nanocrystalline tungsten alloys via nano-phase separation sintering from metal alloy powder by milling (Title, abstract and conclusions of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed mechanical alloyed powder (cl.29) and method of nano-phase separation (cl.21). NPL-1 provides examples of W-Ti-Cr alloy (table 5.2 of NPL-1) with milling micron-scale polycrystalline particles with nanoscale grain (Page 87 and Fig.5.7 of NPL-1), which reads on the claimed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd metal with miscibility gap in Cr rich phase (Refer to Fig.3.5A of NPL-1) as claimed in the instant claims. Since NPL-1 teaches all of the limitations in the instant claims 21 and 29, claims 21 and 29 are anticipated by NPL-1,
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 14-18, 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuh et al (US -PG-pub 2014/0271325 A1, updated as US 10407757 B2, thereafter PG’325).
Regarding claim 1, PG’325 teaches sintering a plurality of nanocrystalline particulates to form a nanocrystalline alloy, wherein at least some of the nanocrystalline particulates may include a non-equilibrium phase comprising a first metal material and a second metal material, and the first metal material may be soluble in the second metal material. The sintered nanocrystalline alloy may comprise a bulk nanocrystalline alloy (Abstract examples, and claims of PG’325) in powder form by ball milling (Par.[0082] and Figs.16-22 of PG’325), which reads on the designing a metal alloy having a miscible gap as claimed in the instant claim. PG’325 provides examples of W-Cu-Ni alloy (table 2 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd metal with miscibility gap (Refer to Figs.30-35 of PG’325) as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, PG’325 teaches phase separation and redissolves at transition temperature (cl.3) (Figs.30-35 of PG’325).
Regarding claim 4, PG’325 teaches a nano phase separating powder (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’325).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 11, PG’325 provides examples of W-Cu-Ni alloy (table 2 of PG’325) with nano-phase separation sintering process (Abstract, Examples, and claims of PG’325), which reads on the claimed metal elements as claimed in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 14, PG’325 indicates including at least one of Pd, Pt, Ni, Co, Fe, Ti, V, Cr, and Sc in the alloy (cl.3 of PG’325), which reads on the V (cl.9), Fe (cl.14).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, PG’325 provides examples of W-4Mo-7Ni-3Fe alloy (table 2 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed quaternary powder as claimed in the instant claim 16 including Mo (cl.10).
Regarding claim 15, PG’325 provides examples of W-Cu-Ni alloy (table 2 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed ternary powder as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 17-18, PG’325 indicates adjusting the 1st and 2nd alloy amount in the alloy with the amount within the claimed ranges (par.[0105]-[0109] of PG’325), which are within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 21 and 29, PG’325 teaches sintering a plurality of nanocrystalline particulates to form a nanocrystalline alloy, wherein at least some of the nanocrystalline particulates may include a non-equilibrium phase comprising a first metal material and a second metal material, and the first metal material may be soluble in the second metal material. The sintered nanocrystalline alloy may comprise a bulk nanocrystalline alloy (Abstract examples, and claims of PG’325) in powder form by ball milling (Par.[0082] and Figs.16-22 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed mechanical alloyed powder (cl.29) and method of nano-phase separation (cl.21). PG’325 provides examples of W-Ni-Cu alloy (table 2 of PG’325) with milling micron-scale polycrystalline particles with nanoscale grain (Figs.30-35 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd metal with miscibility gap as claimed in the instant claims. Since PG’325 teaches all of the limitations in the instant claims 21 and 29, claims 21 and 29 are anticipated by PG’325,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL-1 alone or further in view of in view of PG’325.
Regarding claim 16, NPL-1 does not specify quaternary nano-phase separating powder as claimed in the instant claim. NPL-1 indicates including Ti, Sc, Zn, Mn, Th, Cr, Au, and In to help stabilize a nanocrystalline state (2nd paragraph of Page 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add proper metal element(s) to form quaternary nano-phase separating powder in order to stabilize a nanocrystalline state (2nd paragraph of Page 25). In alternately, PG’325 provides examples of W-4Mo-7Ni-3Fe alloy (table 2 of PG’325), which reads on the claimed quaternary powder as claimed in the instant claim 16. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add proper metal element(s) to form quaternary nano-phase separating powder as demonstrated by PG’325 for the alloy of NPL-1 since PG’325 and NPL-1 teach the same nano-phase powder by separation sintering as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-18, 21, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 and 23 of copending application No. 18/838584 (US-PG-pub 2025/0144707 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 1-18, 21, and 29, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-18 and 23 of copending application No. 18/838584 (US-PG-pub 2025/0144707 A1) teaches the same nano-phase separating powder with 1st, second and 3rd alloy elements. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 1-18 and 23 of copending application No. 18/838584 (US-PG-pub 2025/0144707 A1).
This is a provisional obvious-type double patenting rejection since the conflict claims in the copending application have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734