DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2024 was filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 14 August 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 14 August 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18-19, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US 20230246785 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Grossmann”) in view of Sun et al. (US 20250293735 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sun”).
Regarding Claim 1, Grossmann discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
memory (¶272 & Fig. 6, Grossmann discloses a user equipment (UE) includes a memory module 620); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (¶272 & Fig. 6, Grossmann discloses that the UE further includes a processor 610 coupled to the memory module 620) and configured to:
transmit channel state information (CSI) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses transmitting, by the UE to a network node, a channel state information (CSI) report) including a first CSI part (CSI part 1) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the CSI report includes a part 1) having a fixed payload size (¶246 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that part 1 of the CSI report has a fixed payload size) and a second CSI part (CSI part 2) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the CSI report includes a part 2) having a variable payload size (¶244-245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that part 2 of the CSI report has a size smaller than or equal to a number M of selected M resources) indicated in the CSI part 1 (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the size of part 2 of the CSI report is indicated by part 1 of the CSI report), at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 indicating one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) (¶132 & ¶228, Grossman discloses that the CSI report, which includes part 1 and part 2, indicates at least one TRP).
However, Grossmann does not disclose transmit data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2.
Sun, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmit data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 (¶90, Sun discloses transmitting in a coherent joint transmission using multiple TRPs where the CJT is based upon CSI part 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann by transmitting data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 as taught by Sun because coherent joint transmissions for multi-transmission-reception-point operation in a wireless communication system is improved by providing a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (Sun, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 18, Grossmann in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Grossman further discloses [the apparatus] further comprising:
at least one transceiver or at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor and configured to transmit the CSI and the data (¶272 & Fig. 6, Grossmann discloses that the UE further includes a transceiver circuit or transceiver module 630 which may include the transmitter circuit 650 and the receiver circuit 640).
Regarding Claim 19, Grossmann discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
Memory (¶276-279 & Fig. 7, Grossmann discloses a network node (NN) includes a memory module 720); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (¶276-279 & Fig. 7, Grossmann discloses that the NN further includes a processor 710 coupled to the memory module 720) and configured to:
receive channel state information (CSI) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses receiving, by the NN to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report) including a first CSI part (CSI part 1) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the CSI report includes a part 1) having a fixed payload size (¶246 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that part 1 of the CSI report has a fixed payload size) and a second CSI part (CSI part 2) (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the CSI report includes a part 2) having a variable payload size (¶244-245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that part 2 of the CSI report has a size smaller than or equal to a number M of selected M resources) indicated in the CSI part 1 (¶245 & Fig. 4 (404), Grossmann discloses that the size of part 2 of the CSI report is indicated by part 1 of the CSI report), at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 indicating one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) (¶132 & ¶228, Grossmann discloses that the CSI report, which includes part 1 and part 2, indicates at least one TRP).
However, Grossmann does not disclose to receive data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2.
Sun, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches to receive data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 (¶90, Sun discloses receiving in a coherent joint transmission using multiple TRPs where the CJT is based upon CSI part 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann by receiving data in a coherent joint transmission using the one or more TRPs indicated in the at least one of the CSI part 1 or the CSI part 2 as taught by Sun because coherent joint transmissions for multi-transmission-reception-point operation in a wireless communication system is improved by providing a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (Sun, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 28, Grossmann in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
Grossmann further discloses [the apparatus] further comprising:
at least one transceiver or at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor and configured to receive the CSI and the data (¶276-279 & Fig. 7, Grossmann discloses that the NN further includes a transceiver circuit or transceiver module 730 which may include the transmitter circuit 750 and the receiver circuit 740).
Regarding Claim 29, Claim 29 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 30, Claim 30 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 19.
Claims 2, 13, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Hindy et al. (US 20230344486 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Hindy”).
Regarding Claim 2, Grossman in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun does not disclose wherein the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs.
Hindy, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs (¶103, Hindy discloses that CSI part 1 includes an indication that one or more TRPs in a common layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs as taught by Hindy because the efficiency of channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved (Hindy, ¶2-3).
Regarding Claim 13, Grossman in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun does not disclose wherein a TRP selection that is common to multiple layers is indicated in the CSI part 1, and a layer specific TRP selection is indicated in the CSI part 2.
Hindy, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a TRP selection that is common to multiple layers is indicated in the CSI part 1 (¶103, Hindy discloses that CSI part 1 includes an indication that one or more TRPs in a common layer), and a layer specific TRP selection is indicated in the CSI part 2 (¶103, Hindy discloses that CSI part 2 includes a CSI information corresponding to a subset of layers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that a TRP selection that is common to multiple layers is indicated in the CSI part 1 and a layer specific TRP selection is indicated in the CSI part 2 as taught by Hindy because the efficiency of channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved (Hindy, ¶2-3).
Regarding Claim 25, Grossmann in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun does not disclose wherein a TRP selection that is common to multiple layers is indicated in the CSI part 1, and a layer specific TRP selection is indicated in the CSI part 2.
Hindy, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a TRP selection that is common to multiple layers is indicated in the CSI part 1, and a layer specific TRP selection is indicated in the CSI part 2 (¶103, Hindy discloses that CSI part 1 includes an indication that one or more TRPs in a common layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs as taught by Hindy because the efficiency of channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved (Hindy, ¶2-3).
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy in further view of Rahman et al. (US 20200084006 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Rahman”).
Regarding Claim 3, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy discloses the apparatus of claim 2.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy does not disclose wherein the indication comprises at least one of: a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs, the indication of the one or more TRPs and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number, or channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs.
Rahman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the information within the CSI part 1 includes a bitmap that indicates a number (N) of TRPs),
the indication of the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the information within the CSI part 1 indicates a number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g)) and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number (¶111, Rahman discloses that the number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g) is restricted to N.sub.1), or
channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the number (N.sub.2) of TRPs in CSI part 2 is indicated by channel state information (CSI) resource indicator (CRI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy by requiring that the indication comprises at least one of: a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs, the indication of the one or more TRPs and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number, or channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs as taught by Rahman because next generation cellular systems are improved by enabling downlink (DL) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications with channel state information (CSI) acquisition (Rahman, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 20, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
Hindy further discloses wherein the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs (¶103, Hindy discloses that CSI part 1 includes an indication that one or more TRPs in a common layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of by requiring that the CSI part 1 includes an indication of the one or more TRPs that is common to each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs as taught by Hindy because the efficiency of channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved (Hindy, ¶2-3).
However, wherein the indication comprises at least one of: a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs, the indication of the one or more TRPs and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number, or channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs.
Rahman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the information within the CSI part 1 includes a bitmap that indicates a number (N) of TRPs),
the indication of the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the information within the CSI part 1 indicates a number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g)) and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number (¶111, Rahman discloses that the number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g) is restricted to N.sub.1), or
channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the number (N.sub.2) of TRPs in CSI part 2 is indicated by channel state information (CSI) resource indicator (CRI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Hindy by requiring that the indication comprises at least one of: a bitmap indicating the one or more TRPs, the indication of the one or more TRPs and the one or more TRPs are restricted with a fixed number, or channel state information reference signal (CSI) resource indicator (CRI) that indicates the one or more TRPs as taught by Rahman because next generation cellular systems are improved by enabling downlink (DL) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications with channel state information (CSI) acquisition (Rahman, ¶2).
Claims 4-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura et al. (US 20250106667 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Matsumura”).
Regarding Claim 4, Grossmann in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun does not disclose wherein an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs.
Matsumura, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs (¶238 & Fig. 18A:CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for 4 TRPs, Matsumura discloses that one or more TRPs are indicated separately for at least one layer of communication using the one or more TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs as taught by Matsumura because signal quality is improved by employing coherent joint transmission (CJT) and using four TRP joint precoding (Matsumura, ¶210).
Regarding Claim 5, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
Matsumura, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches the indication is included in the CSI part 2 (¶238 & Fig. 18A:CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for 4 TRPs, Matsumura discloses that one or more TRPs are indicated separately for at least one layer of communication using the one or more TRPs is indicated in the CSI part 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura by requiring that the indication is included in the CSI part 2 as taught by Matsumura because signal quality is improved by employing coherent joint transmission (CJT) and using four TRP joint precoding (Matsumura, ¶210).
Regarding Claim 21, Grossmann in view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun does not disclose wherein an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs.
Matsumura, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs (¶238 & Fig. 18A:CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for 4 TRPs, Matsumura discloses that one or more TRPs are indicated separately for at least one layer of communication using the one or more TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that an indication of the one or more TRPs is indicated separately for each layer of communication using the one or more TRPs as taught by Matsumura because signal quality is improved by employing coherent joint transmission (CJT) and using four TRP joint precoding (Matsumura, ¶210).
Claims 6-7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Rahman et al. (US 20200084006 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Rahman”).
Regarding Claim 6, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 5.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura does not disclose wherein the CSI part 1 indicates a total number of TRP selections for all layers and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections.
Rahman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the CSI part 1 indicates a total number of TRP selections for all layers (¶111, Rahman discloses that information within the CSI part 1 indicates a number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g)) and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections (¶111 & ¶195, Rahman discloses that information within the CSI part 1 indicates a first number (N.sub.1) of CSIs corresponding to TRPs reported in CSI part 1 and indicates a second number (N.sub.2) of CSIs corresponding to TRPs reported in CSI part 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura by requiring that the CSI part 1 indicates a total number of TRP selections for all layers and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections as taught by Rahman because next generation cellular systems are improved by enabling downlink (DL) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications with channel state information (CSI) acquisition (Rahman, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 7, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Rahman discloses the apparatus of claim 6.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Rahman does not disclose wherein the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs.
Rahman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the payload size of CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator (if reported in CSI part1) and a number of TRPs of a total number of TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Rahman by requiring that the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs as taught by Rahman because next generation cellular systems are improved by enabling downlink (DL) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications with channel state information (CSI) acquisition (Rahman, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 22, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Matsumura, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication is included in the CSI part 2 (¶238 & Fig. 18A:CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for 4 TRPs, Matsumura discloses that one or more TRPs are indicated separately for at least one layer of communication using the one or more TRPs is indicated in the CSI part 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura by requiring that the indication is included in the CSI part 2 as taught by Matsumura because signal quality is improved by employing coherent joint transmission (CJT) and using four TRP joint precoding (Matsumura, ¶210).
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura does not disclose the CSI part 1 indicating a total number of TRP selections for all layers and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections, and wherein the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs.
Rahman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the CSI part 1 indicating a total number of TRP selections for all layers (¶111, Rahman discloses that information within the CSI part 1 indicates a number (N) of TRPs out of a total number of TRPs (N.sub.g)) and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections (¶111 & ¶195, Rahman discloses that information within the CSI part 1 indicates a first number (N.sub.1) of CSIs corresponding to TRPs reported in CSI part 1 and indicates a second number (N.sub.2) of CSIs corresponding to TRPs reported in CSI part 2), and wherein the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs (¶111, Rahman discloses that the payload size of CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator (if reported in CSI part1) and a number of TRPs of a total number of TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Rahman by requiring that the CSI part 1 indicating a total number of TRP selections for all layers and a number of different TRPs in the TRP selections, and wherein the variable payload size of the CSI part 2 is based on a rank indicator and a number of TRPs in the one or more TRPs as taught by Rahman because next generation cellular systems are improved by enabling downlink (DL) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications with channel state information (CSI) acquisition (Rahman, ¶2).
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Gao et al. (US 20220094399 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Gao”).
Regarding Claim 9, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura does not disclose wherein the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs.
Gao, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs (¶257, Gao discloses that CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator of each TRP of the K TRPs where K is greater than 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura by requiring that the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs as taught by Gao because channel state information (CSI) feedback for multi-transmission point (TRP) transmission is improved by lowering signaling overhead (Gao, ¶1).
Regarding Claim 23, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura does not disclose wherein the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs.
Gao, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs (¶257, Gao discloses that CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator of each TRP of the K TRPs where K is greater than 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in further view of Matsumura by requiring that the CSI part 1 includes a rank indicator per TRP of the one or more TRPs as taught by Gao because channel state information (CSI) feedback for multi-transmission point (TRP) transmission is improved by lowering signaling overhead (Gao, ¶1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in view of Gao in further view of Sun et al. (US 20250330222 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sun”).
Regarding Claim 10, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in view of Gao discloses the apparatus of claim 9.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in view of Gao does not disclose wherein a minimum rank indicator is 1.
Sun2, a prior art reference int eh same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a minimum rank indicator is 1 (¶110, Sun discloses that the rank indicator may have a minimum value of 1; specifically, Sun discloses that the RI may have a 2-bit indicator where {0,0} maps to rank value 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Gao by requiring that a minimum rank indicator is 1 as taught by Gao because performing coherent joint transmissions for multi-transmission-reception-point operation in a wireless communication system is improve by performing uplink control information omission (Sun2, ¶2).
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura in further view of Faxer et al. (US 20220247459 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Faxer”).
Regarding Claim 12, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura does not disclose wherein the indication is included in the CSI part 1, and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank.
Faxer, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication is included in the CSI part 1 (¶176-179 & Equation (21), Faxer discloses that a non-zero coefficients (NNZC) indicator is included in CSI part 1), and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank (¶176-179 & Equation (21), Faxer discloses that the fixed payload size of the CSI part 1 is based upon a maximum rank).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura by requiring that the indication is included in the CSI part 1, and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank as taught by Faxer because the data rates and reliability of a wireless communication system is improved by transmitting CSI report including a CSI part 1 and CSI part 2 (Faxer, Abstract & ¶3).
Regarding Claim 24, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
However, Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura does not disclose wherein the indication is included in the CSI part 1, and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank.
Faxer, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication is included in the CSI part 1 (¶176-179 & Equation (21), Faxer discloses that a non-zero coefficients (NNZC) indicator is included in CSI part 1), and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank (¶176-179 & Equation (21), Faxer discloses that the fixed payload size of the CSI part 1 is based upon a maximum rank).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun in view of Matsumura by requiring that the indication is included in the CSI part 1, and the fixed payload size is based on a maximum rank as taught by Faxer because the data rates and reliability of a wireless communication system is improved by transmitting CSI report including a CSI part 1 and CSI part 2 (Faxer, Abstract & ¶3).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann view of Sun in further view of Faxer.
Regarding Claim 26, Grossmann view of Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
However, Grossmann view of Sun does not disclose wherein a number of NZCs indicated in the CSI part 1 corresponds to a total across the one or more TRPs.
Faxer, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a number of NZCs indicated in the CSI part 1 corresponds to a total across the one or more TRPs (¶176-179 & Equation (21), Faxer discloses that the fixed payload size of the CSI part 1 is based upon a maximum rank).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grossmann in view of Sun by requiring that a number of NZCs indicated in the CSI part 1 corresponds to a total across the one or more TRPs as taught by Faxer because the data rates and reliability of a wireless communication system is improved by transmitting CSI report including a CSI part 1 and CSI part 2 (Faxer, Abstract & ¶3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, 15-17, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474