Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12-14, 16-17, 19-20, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 2023.0368709).
Regarding claim 1, Jung disclose:
A display panel, comprising: a base substrate, which comprises a display region and a bezel region located at a periphery of the display region, wherein the bezel region comprises: a second bezel region located on a side of the display region, and a first bezel region located on remaining sides of the display region; a display structure layer disposed on the base substrate, which comprises: a plurality of sub-pixels and a plurality of data lines located in the display region, at least one first crack detection line located in the first bezel region, and a plurality of data leading-out lines located in the second bezel region, wherein the plurality of data lines are connected with the plurality of sub-pixels and configured to provide data signals to the plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of data leading-out lines are configured to provide data signals to the plurality of data lines; and a touch structure layer located on a side of the display structure layer away from the base substrate, which comprises at least one second crack detection line located in the first bezel region (see Fig. 1-3, 5; display panel 100; display region DA; base substrate 110; bezel region PA/BA/PDA; first bezel region BA/PDA; second bezel region PA; display structure layer 200 with pixels PX; data lines within LN; crack detection line HDC2; data lead out lines CL1; where data lines are connected to PX to provide data signals to PX; where CL1 provides data signal to data lines LN; touch layer 300/400 located above 200 away rom 110 has second crack detection line HCD1 in first bezel BA/PDA)
wherein the at least one first crack detection line and the at least one second crack detection line are connected in series in the second bezel region through a plurality of detection connection lines, an orthographic projection of at least one of the plurality of detection connection lines on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of at least one of the plurality of data leading-out lines on the base substrate, and at least two insulation layers are provided between at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line and the at least one data leading-out line (see Fig. 1-3, 5; where HCD1 and HCD2 are connected in series and the orthographic projection of CL1 and HCD1 overlap on substrate 110; where data line LN and lead lines CKL1 are disposed on substrate 110 and Fig. 5 shows at least two insulating layers 120, 130a, 130b, between 110 and HCD1).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the touch structure layer comprises at least one touch conductive layer, and at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line is located in a touch conductive layer of the touch structure layer (see Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the second bezel region comprises a first signal access region, the first signal access region comprises a plurality of data contact pads, at least one first detection contact pad, and at least one second detection contact pad; the at least one first detection contact pad and the at least one second detection contact pad are located on both sides of the plurality of data contact pads along a first direction; the plurality of data contact pads are connected with the plurality of data leading-out lines; the plurality of detection connection lines comprise: two second detection connection lines and at least one first detection connection line; the first detection connection line is connected in series with the first crack detection line and the second crack detection line; one end of the first crack detection line and the second crack detection line connected in series is connected with the at least one first detection contact pad through one second detection connection line, and the other end is connected with the at least one second detection contact pad through the other second detection connection line; and an orthographic projection of a part of line segments of the at least one first detection connection line on the base substrate is partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate (see Fig. 1, 3, 5, 7-10; [0065-0067, 0127-0128]; a signal access region PDA with contact pads to allow input from driving chip to provide electrical signals to display connection lines connected in series; where data lead outlines overlapping connection lines over base substrate).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the two second detection connection lines, an orthographic projection of one second detection connection line on the base substrate is partially overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate; and a distance between an orthographic projection of the other second detection connection line on the base substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of data leading-out lines on the base substrate is greater than 0 (see Fig. 1, 3)
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
a part of line segments of the first detection connection line whose orthographic projection is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate, and a part of line segments of the second detection connection line whose orthographic projection is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate are of a same layer structure (see Fig. 1, 3)
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the at least one first detection connection line comprises: a first extension segment, a second extension segment, and a third extension segment connected sequentially; and an extension direction of the second extension segment intersects with an extension direction of the first extension segment and an extension direction of the third extension segment, an orthographic projection of the second extension segment on the base substrate is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate, and a distance between orthographic projections of the first extension segment and the third extension segment on the base substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of data leading-out lines on the base substrate is greater than 0 (see Fig. 1, 3, 5)
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the second extension segment is located on a side of the first extension segment and the third extension segment away from the base substrate, and the second extension segment is connected with the first extension segment or the third extension segment through a second connection electrode (see Fig. 5; segments of HCD)
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the display structure layer comprises a plurality of first crack detection lines, the plurality of first crack detection lines are symmetrically disposed with respect to a centerline of the display panel in a first direction; and the touch structure layer comprises a plurality of second crack detection lines, and the plurality of second crack detection lines are symmetrically disposed with respect to the centerline of the display panel in the first direction (see Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
an orthographic projection of each data leading-out line located in the second bezel region on the base substrate is overlapped with orthographic projections of a same number of detection connection lines on the base substrate (see Fig. 1, 3)
Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
the second bezel region further comprises a bending region, the bending region comprises: a plurality of detection bending lines; the plurality of detection connection lines are connected with the at least one first crack detection line and the at least one second crack detection line through the plurality of detection bending lines; and the plurality of detection bending lines are of a same layer structure (see Fig. 1-2; bending region BA)
Regarding claim 23, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung further disclose:
A display apparatus, comprising a display panel (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Kim (US 2020.0135595).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. While Jung has multiple insulating layers in, it is not explicit as to, but Kim disclose:
the at least two insulation layers comprise at least one organic insulation layer and at least one inorganic insulation layer (see [0084]; at least one organic and inorganic insulating layers 141/142).
Therefore, in light of the Kim disclosure, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., using organic and inorganic insulating layers) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. While Jung is not explicit as to the minimum thickness between a part of the line segments of the detection connection lines and the data lead out lines to be greater than 2.1 microns, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the minimum thickness between a part of the line segments of the detection connection lines and the data lead out lines to be greater than 2.1 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Gao (US 2024.0111376 as a translation of WO 2022/236680, published 17 November 2022).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Jung is not explicit as to, but Gao disclose:
at least one shielding electrode located in the second bezel region; in a direction perpendicular to the display panel, the shielding electrode is located between at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line and the at least one data leading-out line; and an orthographic projection of the shielding electrode on the base substrate covers an overlapping portion of an orthographic projection of the at least one detection connection line on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the at least one data leading-out line on the base substrate (see [0109, 0118-0119]; shield electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Gao to that of Jung to provide a shield electrode which would predictably improve touch and display effects of the device ([0109]).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Jung as modified by Gao disclose:
a plurality of first power lines located in the display region and a first electrical power supply line located in the second bezel region, wherein the plurality of first power lines are electrically connected with the plurality of sub-pixels and are connected with the first electrical power supply line, and the at least one shielding electrode is connected with the first electrical power supply line (see Jung [0064]; power lines CL2; see Gao [0062] allowing power to display elements while continuing to improve touch and display effects).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Gao further disclose:
a first sub-electrical power supply line and a second sub-electrical power supply line connected with each other, and the first sub-electrical power supply line is located on a side of the second sub-electrical power supply line close to the base substrate; and the at least one shielding electrode and the first sub-electrical power supply line are of an interconnected integral structure (see [0141])
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Gao further disclose:
at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line and the second sub-electrical power supply line are of a same layer structure (see Fig. 3, 8; [0081-0082]; elements 42, 43 display structure layer)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Gao further disclose:
the first electrical power supply line comprises a first sub-electrical power supply line and a second sub-electrical power supply line connected with each other, and the first sub-electrical power supply line is located on a side of the second sub-electrical power supply line close to the base substrate; the at least one shielding electrode and the second sub-electrical power supply line are of an interconnected integral structure; and at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line is located on a side of the second sub-electrical power supply line away from the base substrate (see [0106])
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Jung as modified by Gao disclose:
display structure layer at least comprises: a first gate metal layer, a second gate metal layer, a first source-drain metal layer, and a second source-drain metal layer which are disposed on the base substrate; an interlayer dielectric layer is provided between the second gate metal layer and the first source-drain metal layer, and at least a first planarization layer is provided between the first source-drain metal layer and the second source-drain metal layer; at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line is located in the second source-drain metal layer, and the shielding electrode is located in the first source-drain metal layer; the insulation layer between at least a part of line segments of the at least one detection connection line and the at least one data leading-out line at least comprises: the interlayer dielectric layer and the first planarization layer (see Jung Fig. 5; [0086-0089]; where Goa provides the shield electrode)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as modified by Gao and in view of Kim (US 2017.0288002).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Jung and Gao are not explicit as to, but Kim disclose:
the plurality of data leading-out lines comprise a plurality of first data leading-out lines located in the first gate metal layer and a plurality of second data leading-out lines located in the second gate metal layer, and the plurality of first data leading-out lines and the plurality of second data leading-out lines are alternately disposed (see Fig. 10; [0168-0169]; data connection line in different layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Kim to that of Jung as modified by Goa to predictably allow for spacing between each to be reduced, providing a more compact design in the non display area ([0169]).
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621