DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 15 August 2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-15 is currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13, as currently written, is dependent upon claim 11, however, based on the currently provided claim limitation (and potential antecedent basis issues), it appears that claim 13 should be dependent upon claim 12, and has been examined as such below. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al (US 2022/0007590 A1, hereinafter Alexander) in view of Huang et al (CN 110393107 A, hereinafter Huang; Examiner notes wherein an attached translation is provided with the referenced prior art, and further wherein referenced sections of the translation have been provided in the below rejection for the supporting teachings of Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Alexander teaches an automated system (Figures 1 & 4, system 100) for multiple plant transplantation, comprising:
a first robotic apparatus (Figures 1 & 4, robotic plant manipulator 150) for (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0010 and 0018-0020, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can further include a robotic plant manipulator 150 arranged at the transfer station 140, including an optical sensor 152 proximal the end effector 154, and configured to…sequentially transfer a first subset of plants from the first module 110 to the second array of plant slots 121 in the second module 120, the first subset of plants including the first plants; and sequentially transfer a second subset of plants from the first module 110 to the third array of plant slots 123 in the third module 122 in response to filling the second set of plants slots in the second module 120, the second subset of plants succeeding the first subset of plants in the first module 110”); and
a second robotic apparatus (Figures 1 & 4, vehicle 130) for placing the second set of trays comprising transplanted plants coming from a processing room in the grow room, and for picking up of the second set of trays from the grow room to the processing room for further transplantation, once the transplanted plants outgrow the second set of trays (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020, 0027 and 0032-0033, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can also include a vehicle 130 configured to: autonomously navigate throughout the agricultural facility 102, autonomously deliver the first module 110 from the first grow location to the transfer station 140, autonomously deliver the second module 120 to adjacent the first module 110 at the transfer station 140, and autonomously deliver the third module 122 to adjacent the first module 110 in replacement of the second module 120 at the transfer station 140”, and further as in paragraph 0027, wherein “The vehicle 130 can thus detect these optical fiducials 114 to align itself to the latch, engage the latch accordingly, and then pull or push the module between its assigned location on the facility 102 floor and a module docking location adjacent a transfer station 140”). That said, Alexander is silent specifically regarding wherein the first robotic apparatus “simultaneously” picks up and places “2n plants at a time” as part of the transplantation between the first set of trays and second set of trays. Huang in the same field of endeavor of utilizing robotic systems and methods for transplanting plants, teaches a robotic manipulator that includes a camera for identifying one or more plants and further wherein said robotic manipulator is further configured to transplant said one or more plants between two respective locations. Huang goes on to teach wherein the robotic manipulator may be configured to pick up two or more plants at a time for transferring said plants from a first location to a second location (Figures 3 & 4; at least as in page 2, “summary of the invention” section, paragraph 3, beginning with “Further, the dividing device comprises a robot main body, a driving mechanism, a module fixing plate and a fixing base…” and further as in pages 5-6, “Specific Implementation methods” section, paragraphs 3 & 4, beginning with “In the present embodiment, the load distributing device…” and “the jaw device 105…” paragraphs respectively, and further as shown in reproduced Figure 4 below, which shows the robotic manipulator with a plurality of plant handling elements (105) provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the robotic plant manipulator of Alexander to include Huang’s plural plant handling robotic elements with said robotic manipulator, since Huang teaches wherein such an arrangement is good for reducing labor costs as well as improving the transplanting efficiency, thereby providing a more dynamic and efficient plant transplantation system/method.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the first robotic apparatus is an articulated robotic arm and is operatively positioned in the processing room (Figures 1 & 4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020 and 0032-0033, at least as shown in the referenced Figures).
Regarding claim 3, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the second robotic apparatus comprises an entry side and exit side transport robot and is operatively positioned in the grow room (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020, 0027 and 0032-0033, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can also include a vehicle 130 configured to: autonomously navigate throughout the agricultural facility 102, autonomously deliver the first module 110 from the first grow location to the transfer station 140, autonomously deliver the second module 120 to adjacent the first module 110 at the transfer station 140, and autonomously deliver the third module 122 to adjacent the first module 110 in replacement of the second module 120 at the transfer station 140”).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the first set of trays are densely packed trays and the second set of trays are less densely packed trays in comparison to the densely packed trays (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0010-0012, 0018-0020 and 0034, specifically at least wherein “plants are autonomously inspected and transferred from a first module no (e.g., a nursery-type module) containing a higher density of plants slots to a second module 120 (e.g., a finishing module) containing a lower density of plants slots”).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Huang further teaches wherein the first robotic apparatus comprises a plurality of extensions or fingers at the end of the said robotic apparatus to facilitate picking up and placing the plants from the first set of trays arriving from the grow room to the second set of trays for transplantation of the said plants (Figures 3 & 4; at least as in page 2, “summary of the invention” section, paragraph 3, beginning with “Further, the dividing device comprises a robot main body, a driving mechanism, a module fixing plate and a fixing base…” and further as in pages 5-6, “Specific Implementation methods” section, paragraphs 3 & 4, beginning with “In the present embodiment, the load distributing device…” and “the jaw device 105…” paragraphs respectively, and specifically as shown in Figure 4, as provided in claim 1 above, which shows the robotic manipulator with a plurality of plant handling elements (105) provided).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the entry side transport robot facilitates placing of trays coming from the processing room in the grow room, and the exit side transport robot facilitates picking up of trays from the grow room to the processing room for transplantation (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020, 0027 and 0032-0033, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can also include a vehicle 130 configured to: autonomously navigate throughout the agricultural facility 102, autonomously deliver the first module 110 from the first grow location to the transfer station 140, autonomously deliver the second module 120 to adjacent the first module 110 at the transfer station 140, and autonomously deliver the third module 122 to adjacent the first module 110 in replacement of the second module 120 at the transfer station 140”, and further as in paragraph 0027, wherein “The vehicle 130 can thus detect these optical fiducials 114 to align itself to the latch, engage the latch accordingly, and then pull or push the module between its assigned location on the facility 102 floor and a module docking location adjacent a transfer station 140”).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the entry side and exit side transport robots move along x and y-axes (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020, 0027 and 0032-0033, wherein the vehicle 130 includes the ability to move in x, y & z axes, including traveling throughout the agricultural facility while also having the ability to adjust its height).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the first robotic apparatus is positioned in between conveyor belts, which perform continuous transportation of trays and wherein the first robotic apparatus performs transplantation of the plants (Figures 1, 5 & 6; at least as in paragraphs 0024, 0127-0130, 0156 and 0160-0166).
Regarding claim 9, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the articulated robotic arm further comprises machine vision capability and a plurality of sensors (Figures 1 & 4; at least as in paragraphs 0018, 0022, 0034-0036, 0039 and 0046-0048).
Regarding claim 10, Alexander teaches a process for multiple plant transplantation, the process comprising:
(Figures 1 & 4, robotic plant manipulator 150) for transplantation of the said plants (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0010 and 0018-0020, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can further include a robotic plant manipulator 150 arranged at the transfer station 140, including an optical sensor 152 proximal the end effector 154, and configured to…sequentially transfer a first subset of plants from the first module 110 to the second array of plant slots 121 in the second module 120, the first subset of plants including the first plants; and sequentially transfer a second subset of plants from the first module 110 to the third array of plant slots 123 in the third module 122 in response to filling the second set of plants slots in the second module 120, the second subset of plants succeeding the first subset of plants in the first module 110”); and
placing the second set of trays comprising transplanted plants coming from a processing room in the grow room and picking up of the second set of trays from the grow room to the processing room using a second robotic apparatus (Figures 1 & 4, vehicle 130) for further transplantation, once the transplanted plants outgrow the second set of trays (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0018-0020, 0027 and 0032-0033, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “The system 100 can also include a vehicle 130 configured to: autonomously navigate throughout the agricultural facility 102, autonomously deliver the first module 110 from the first grow location to the transfer station 140, autonomously deliver the second module 120 to adjacent the first module 110 at the transfer station 140, and autonomously deliver the third module 122 to adjacent the first module 110 in replacement of the second module 120 at the transfer station 140”, and further as in paragraph 0027, wherein “The vehicle 130 can thus detect these optical fiducials 114 to align itself to the latch, engage the latch accordingly, and then pull or push the module between its assigned location on the facility 102 floor and a module docking location adjacent a transfer station 140”). That said, Alexander is silent specifically regarding wherein the first robotic apparatus “simultaneously” picks up and places “2n plants at a time” as part of the transplantation between the first set of trays and second set of trays. Huang in the same field of endeavor of utilizing robotic systems and methods for transplanting plants, teaches a robotic manipulator that includes a camera for identifying one or more plants and further wherein said robotic manipulator is further configured to transplant said one or more plants between two respective locations. Huang goes on to teach wherein the robotic manipulator may be configured to pick up two or more plants at a time for transferring said plants from a first location to a second location (Figures 3 & 4; at least as in page 2, “summary of the invention” section, paragraph 3, beginning with “Further, the dividing device comprises a robot main body, a driving mechanism, a module fixing plate and a fixing base…” and further as in pages 5-6, “Specific Implementation methods” section, paragraphs 3 & 4, beginning with “In the present embodiment, the load distributing device…” and “the jaw device 105…” paragraphs respectively, and further as shown in reproduced Figure 4 below, which shows the robotic manipulator with a plurality of plant handling elements (105) provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the robotic plant manipulator of Alexander to include Huang’s plural plant handling robotic elements with said robotic manipulator, since Huang teaches wherein such an arrangement is good for reducing labor costs as well as improving the transplanting efficiency, thereby providing a more dynamic and efficient plant transplantation system/method.
Regarding claim 11, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches the process further comprising continuing the transplantation process until the growing plants reach their lifetime growth capacity and are grown plants, subsequent to which packaging and marketing of the grown plants is done (Figures 1-4; at least as in paragraphs 0017, 0024 and 0050-0056, at least wherein the visual growth targets and/or plant size(s) is/are analyzed prior to transplantation between respective modules).
Regarding claim 12, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Huang further teaches wherein the articulated robotic arm comprises a plurality of extensions or fingers at the end of the said robotic apparatus to facilitate picking up and placing the plants from the first tray arriving from the grow room to the second tray for transplantation of the said plants (Figures 3 & 4; at least as in page 2, “summary of the invention” section, paragraph 3, beginning with “Further, the dividing device comprises a robot main body, a driving mechanism, a module fixing plate and a fixing base…” and further as in pages 5-6, “Specific Implementation methods” section, paragraphs 3 & 4, beginning with “In the present embodiment, the load distributing device…” and “the jaw device 105…” paragraphs respectively, and specifically as shown in Figure 4, as provided in claim 10 above, which shows the robotic manipulator with a plurality of plant handling elements (105) provided).
Regarding claim 13, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the plurality of extensions or fingers slide under structures holding the growing plants within the number of holes of the plurality of trays and lift up the growing plants without touching roots of the growing plants (Figures 1 & 4; at least as in paragraphs 0034-0036, 0091-0092 and 0160-0166, specifically at least wherein the robotic manipulator(s) is/are configured to engage with the respective plant cup(s)).
Regarding claim 14, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Huang further teaches wherein the plurality of extensions or fingers enable simultaneous lifting and placing of 2n growing plants at a time, thereby enhancing efficiency of the transplantation process (Figures 3 & 4; at least as in page 2, “summary of the invention” section, paragraph 3, beginning with “Further, the dividing device comprises a robot main body, a driving mechanism, a module fixing plate and a fixing base…” and further as in pages 5-6, “Specific Implementation methods” section, paragraphs 3 & 4, beginning with “In the present embodiment, the load distributing device…” and “the jaw device 105…” paragraphs respectively, and specifically as shown in Figure 4, as provided in claim 1 above, which shows the robotic manipulator with a plurality of plant handling elements (105) provided).
Regarding claim 15, in view of the above combination of Alexander and Huang, Alexander further teaches wherein the articulated robotic arm further comprises machine vision capability and a plurality of sensors (Figures 1 & 4; at least as in paragraphs 0018, 0022, 0034-0036, 0039 and 0046-0048).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention and also reads on many of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2016/0144408 A1, issued to Struijk et al, which is directed towards an automated apparatus and method for sorting plant material units.
US 2016/0057942 A1, issued to Ohshimo et al, which is directed towards a plant management system and corresponding method for inspecting plants in a container (i.e. tray, module, etc.) and based on said inspection transplanting said plants to another container with more space (i.e. density).
US 2019/0307077 A1, issued to Lert, JR. et al, which is directed towards an automated vertical farming system that utilizes mobile robots for transporting containers and/or plants between respective locations.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657